Kapoho house rental - Front view towards ocean
Front view towards ocean
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 full Baths,(Huge)- (Sleeps 8)

Your stay begins with cool breezes on the lanai and the beautiful ponds of Kapoho Bay few minutes away. Newly built home is four bedroom two-story, spacious and simple home is perfect for families, or those who just want to get away without the fanfare and resort prices and crowds.

Our upstairs master suite loft features cool breezes and a spacious lanai. Master suite has 863 square feet. The downstairs unit has three bedrooms with 1,800 square feet and private catwalk to the upstairs lanai. Also has a 650 sq.ft lanai. The downstairs bathroom has both a shower and a tub with a travertine marble, Granite & porcelain surround. (HUGE).

Just 5 minutes away is the Isaac Hale State Park where you can catch the boat or walking tour to a unbelievable lava tour of Kilauea Valcanoe flowing into the ocean. (WOW!!) a must thing to do, once in a lifetime experience.

Just 30 miles from Hilo on the Big Island of Hawaii, the location is known for some of the safest snorkeling in the Hawaiian Islands and is unsurpassed by none! Sitting on the edge of the Puna rainforest and 35 minutes away from the awesome Hawaii Volcanoes National Park you have the best of both worlds. Boat tours are available.

Whether taking in the majesty of the volcano erupting in the uplands or the crystal clear waters of Kapoho Bay and the Champagne Ponds you are sure to let the day-to-day struggles of life melt away below the horizon.

Attractions in the area include: swimming, scuba diving, spelunking, a public swimming pool in Pahoa, fishing, restaurants, reefs, surfing, snorkeling, and a black sand beach and many more.

With our warmest aloha we invite you to visit us soon!

Keywords: Partial ocean View, Vacation Rental Home, Champagne Ponds, Tide pools,Kapoho, Big Island Hawaii,Snorkeling,Kayaking, Surfing,Swimming,Diving, warm natural springs in ponds, tide pools, vacationland,Lava ocean & walking Tours, lodging, Ocean front, condo, rentals, vacation rentals, hawaiian, bungalow, cottages, flat, casita, scuba, fishing, Kona, Waikiki, Maui, Oahu, Honolulu, Kauai, Molokai, fish, sea turtles, Volcano, lava, viewing, water falls, steam vents, Volcano National Park, Paradise, lava, volcano, park, Sandy Beaches, Black Sand Beach, Beaches, Bed and Breakfast, 4 BR, sleeps up to 8.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I are local residents, we were born and raised in Kailua, Oahu. My wife is a teacher and I am a contractor. We have two kids, and two dogs. We love to travel and meet new friends!

Jack & Kealoha purchased this house in 2012

We chose this location because of the peacefulness, tranquility, and relaxation you cannot find anywhere else and to get away from the hustle and bustle. Not to mention the amazing and refreshing Tide Pools &Champagne Ponds! And approximately an 35 minute drive to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Boat & walking tours to see lava flowing into the ocaen are available.

The biggest benefit is that our home is just down the road from the Wai Opai Tide Pools and Champagne Ponds and swimming with all types of sea life. Also you will be staying in a brand new built home starting in Dec. Also just a 5 minute drive to Isaac Hale State Park for Boat & Lava Tour. (WOW!!) a must see.

11 Reviews of Property 413530 in Kapoho, Hawaii

New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
5

It's Perfect, but not for everyone

It's Perfect, but not for everyone
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I found the owners to be easy to work with and their advice very helpful. I recommend you trade some emails with them before you get there and read the guest book when you do get there.

The house is well-appointed and spacious. The six of us never felt cramped together. It is in a neighborhood that is a mix of locals and other houses built primarily for vacation rentals. I think someone else noted that there is no dishwasher; that is true, but I came to think it made good sense for the climate. It is very humid, and warm enough during the day that you do not want to be adding the heat and humidity that a dishwasher creates. I would put more towel racks up, but that is a minor thing.

We never made it to the champagne ponds, but the snorkeling in the tidal pools was fantastic. Several of us hit the pools most of the days and we never got tired of it. Saw turtles, schools of moorish idols, zebras, several varieties of parrotfish, trumpetfish, and lots of other fish I can't remember the names of. The pools are a bit different each visit with time of day and tide. The end nearer the house has shallower pools and is appropriate for kids and those who are not strong swimmers. The farther end has larger, deeper pools appropriate for stronger swimmers. The closer to the open ocean you get, the colder the water gets, and you see different things. Generally well warmer than the beaches at Hilo. It was seldom crowded, despite the fact that it attracted both locals and vacationers. Walk there in the early morning and it may be just you. Lava rock is sharp. Try to not touch the coral with fin or glove.

There are lots of things to see and do within an hours drive or so, but there is not a lot close by. A couple of the teenagers were a little bored, or a little tired of riding in a car to go do something. Hilo is about an hour off; lots to do there. We learned that the good whale watching is on the Kona side; so, we took an overnight there. Laughed when I saw the sunburned people snorkeling in murky water, excited about seeing some dull fish. General impressions are that the Kona side is fake and more expensive, and the Puna side is more real.

It rained, I think, every day, but it never rained long enough to stop us from doing whatever we wanted.

Cooking some fresh ahi steaks on the grill, adding some fruit from the farmer's market, and eating with family in the tropical breeze is a good way to spend an evening.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your staying at our home and enjoying the beauty and adventure activities that the Big Island has to offer. Sounds like you all needed more time to see so many other things to do in a short period of time.

Mahalo,
Property Owners-Kapoho
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
5

Cannot wait to get back to this beautiful house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The house was exactly as advertised. Except, we were warned it would rain every day at Hilo, and it did not rain once. Good job Jack! :-)
Seriously the house was large comfortable and well furnished. I do not understand the review of one star only, the only thing I would agree with that reviewer was there is no dishwasher.
But that's why you bring your entire family. We had eight total persons and this large house afforded everybody space to relax. And there is a nice Grass lawn. Exceptional snorkeling is only three blocks away. There was a large selection of snorkel mask, but only one pair of fins. And there were two nice new mountain bikes for cruising around. A park with a large heated swimming area On the shore between the jungle and sea is only five minutes away. Jack answered every phone call and message promptly, even the dumb questions I had which were already answered in the description. There is so much to do on the Hilo side we never even got to the north or south shore. Many sites are an hours drive but we enjoyed driving around the island.
I thought perhaps the neighbors would be noisy but they were not. You do have to get used to the "jungle noises" but I suspect that is true everywhere on the island. Tree frogs and singing birds throughout the night. The house is not air-conditioned but we left all the windows and fans on and it was totally doable. The only mistake we made in planning was not to stay longer.

Again this house was exactly as pictured and as advertised and Jack was a joy to work with. Have fun.
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to do whatever we can to make our guest have the utmost best experience possible. We are proud to hear when guest have a wonderful time and experience here on the Big Island in Kapoho Vacationland.

Mahalo,
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
Mililani, Hawaii
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our party consisted of four girls ready for the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived at the house we were eager to go inside. The house was beautiful, clean and very spacious. The hammock on the outside lanai was very comfortable, and it was big enough for two! We often found ourselves fighting over who was lucky enough to relax on it. The ones who got booted off the hammock got to relax on the living room couches. They were comfortable enough to sleep on! All of the televisions had Direct TV with a lot of channels to choose from. Having three flat screen TV's in the house was perfect because everyone could watch a different channel.
The upstairs loft was where we spent most of our time. It was very open, and it was easy for us to all be together. Since there was a California King, three girls were able to sleep on the bed while the other preferred the couch. Having two kitchens (no stove upstairs) was convenient for us to store our snacks and late night cravings. Although there is a bathroom upstairs, we found ourselves showering downstairs. The dual shower head was a luxury we don't have at home, and the jacuzzi tub was very relaxing.
We had planned a set of activities prior to arriving, however we found the "Kapoho Hale Binder" filled with many suggestions. One of our unexpected stops were the tide pools located 5 minutes away from the house. The house provided snorkels, tubbies, and fins for us to use on our adventure. The tide pool water was very clear, beautiful and we got to see an array of fish!
At the end of our trip, we were sad to leave our "Home Away From Home". We will definitely keep this house in mind when traveling back to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
Keaau, HI
5

AMAZING!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I want to say that we had an unbelievable stay at this amazing home! It was very spacious and very accommodating for us! The home is located very close to the tide pools which are absolutely AMAZING & a nice neighborhood for a bike ride, walk or run & very relaxing to stay. Everything in the home was high end & we felt like we were in a very luxurious place. We will definitely be staying here again & referring this place to everyone we know!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
5

Beautiful Home Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I recently had the chance to stay here for a girls get away and would recommend this place to others. This home is big and very spacious. There were 6 of us and we all had a very comfortable bed. The kitchen was big enough for a few of us to be preparing food at the same time and everything we needed was right there. Loved being able to walk to walk around a very safe neighborhood and enjoying all the beautiful scenery as well as having a picnic at the tide pools. If your there on a Wednesday night you gotta check out the Kalapana open market.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
Colorado
5

BJ, Colorado

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a wonderful new property. The master bedroom occupied the entire 2nd floor with a kitchen and two large flat screen TV's. The living area on the main floor also had a large flat screen TV. I was very pleased that the TV service was Direct TV. The kitchen is well appointed with granite tops along with a granite top breakfast island. Since there were only 4 of us in our party, we didn't miss having a dishwasher. There was plenty of hot water, but it took a couple minutes for it to fully reach the faucet. This was a plus as if there were small children visiting they would not be burned. The owners were quick to tell us since the property is brand new the yard is black lava rock but will be replaced. The tide pools were amazing. Snorkeling nearby was outstading. A nearby State Park offered us a lovely stroll to see where the lava surrounded trees and hardened. So many sights are nearby. The farmers market in downtown Hilo every Saturday was a shoppers dream. Our overall experience was amazing. We can't wait to return. Our experience with the owners was a renters dream. They provided information for places to visit, etc. Mahalo owners for offering us the very special vacation we experienced by opening up their amazing house for others to enjoy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
Brevard, NC
5

Great Property at a Great Price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We recently had the opportunity to rent this wonderful home. Being new construction, this home had it all, great floor plan, new appliances, location and yes, everything worked. The house is large, there was 5 of us and we had more than enough room. The house has well equipped kitchen and the flat screen tv's were state of the art. The master suite on the second floor was like an apartment in itself. We were on the big island for a wedding and many of the guests rented homes but everyone envied this property. The proximity to the tidal pools (the best snorkeling around) was really a plus. The owners made it easy. They were terrific communicating with us and and answered all of our questions promptly and clearly.
We strongly recommend this property. It's a perfect getaway for a family, a couple or 2 couples.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for enjoying our home it makes us really happy and proud that all our hard worked payed off. Great comments like this makes us want to do even more for our home to make our guess the best vacation possible.

Mahalo,
Property Owners Kapoho
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
MN
1

Unreasonable and Rude Owner

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I would not recommend this property. Although it is new, it was designed poorly for those who want a restful vacation. The house was so noisy especially in the upstairs loft where there are 3 large open windows. Hot water was hard to come by for showers and our days were spent doing dishes because there was NO DISHWASHER. The lawn was ALL rocks so the children couldn't play outside. The washer and dryer were located outside at the back of the house. Since it rained all week, it was very inconvenient and wet to do your laundry. Worst of all, the owner was so rude and unreasonable. He falsely accused us of ruining his property and stealing the towels (hmmm, did you check the washing machine??) He cited spilled peas in the freezer (left by the previous renters) and Cheerios in couch as reasons NOT to return our deposit. We had made arrangements for a late check-out at noon and were eating lunch when the housekeeper arrived at 11:00AM. She immediately whipped out a camera and started taking pictures of dirty dishes in the sink. On the way to the airport, the owner called and started to rant and rave. Oh, did I forget to mention the cops came to check on why there were people in the house? We asked the owner why the cops came and he said you must have the proper permits to rent a house because the property is taxed differently. Not sure if that meant he hadn’t filed appropriately or what. None-the-less, we didn’t appreciate all this drama and stress during our much awaited vacation.
Owner's Response: IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT THEY FELT THIS WAY. IT TOOK 8 HOURS TO CLEAN OUR HOME.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
Colorado
5

Very nice house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is one of the nicest houses in all of Kapoho with granite, travertine and all new appliances. The layout was so well thought out and comfortable. The pictures do not do this house justice at all. The upstairs is amazing. We enjoyed a once in a lifetime boat ride of the lava flowing into the ocean where the boat dock is only 5 minutes away! Other guests on the boat with us had to drive 2-3 hours back to the Kona side after we got back around 10pm. If your tired of all the hustle and bustle, high prices and tourist traps of the Kona side, I would really encourage you to check this place out in "Sunny Kapoho". Yes I did say "Sunny" with an amazing micro climate on this side of the island with the benefits of peace and quite away from all the tourist traps while experiencing the best of Hawaii. This is probably the most unique and safest snorkeling in Hawaii and the neighborhood is so friendly and laid back. This is our third time to Kapaho and think it is the best hidden secret in all the Hawaiian islands. Some of our best lifetime memories as a family. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Huge 4 Bedroom Home with cool ocean breezes, partial ocean view.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413530vbi
808-478-1950
Kapoho Puna District
4

Giant new house in great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This home was brand new when we stayed, and was larger than necessary for 3 people- though we didn't mind all of the extra space! We had only good things to say about the house overall. It has all of the amenities, including giant tvs, nice kitchen and second upstairs kitchen, enormous bathrooms, 4 bedrooms and a nice upstairs lanai. The owner and manager were both very responsive and helpful with directions to nearby sites. The location can't be beat - we walked to the Kapaho tidepools every day (less than 10 minutes) and were a short 5 minute drive and 15 minute walk (or 45 minute walk) from the Champagne ponds. If you stay here, we'd also recommend you check out the night market at Uncle Robert's which happens every Wednesday at the end of the kapaho-kalapana rd (137) with great food, vendors, live music and a family friendly atmosphere. The Puna area tends to be much drier than Hilo, and this was true for us, but we did have rain showers many evenings. We really enjoyed our time here and are already discussing a future stay at this house with a larger group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1