Nevada City house rental - Spacious Cottage in the Woods
Spacious Cottage in the Woods
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Nevada City House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This Victorian-syle farmhouse, situated on 2 1/4 acres of forested property in the Sierra Foothills, provides a serene setting for family vacations, romantic getaways, wine tasting trips with friends, or outdoor enthusiasts. Listen to the birds, watch the deer, play croquet..... whatever suits your fancy.

Three bedrooms are located upstairs, including: large master suite with queen bed and full bath, bedroom with queen bed, and bedroom with full bed. A bath with shower is shared by two of the bedrooms. All linens are provided. Two twin airbeds are available upon request for placement in the loft or den. Please bring sleeping bags for airbeds.

A large, open family room adjoins the dining area and kitchen to provide a comfortable living area. The kitchen is fully equipped. A laundry room with washer and dryer are available for guest use. A den, with sofa bed and desk, and bath are also located on the ground floor.

A spacious deck opens out from the family room, overlooking the 'field of dreams', perfect for Wiffle ball and croquet tournaments. Adjoining the deck is a covered porch with comfortable wicker furniture. All you need to provide is the lemonade and a good book.

We are located within easy access of town, about 6 minutes away. Nevada County offers many historical sites, adventure activities, and is home to many new wineries.

Keywords: Three Bedroom, Rural Home, Two-and-a-half bath, Acreage, Forest, quiet, relaxing, large yard, covered porch, large deck, 8 minutes to town, level walking/cycling trail nearby, Retreat, Pet-Friendly, Family Vacation, Croquet, Bocce Ball, Romantic Getaway, Family Reunions, Small Family Weddings, Catering available, Sierra Vintners Wine Trail

More Details
Hide Details

Tim and Leslie are retired school teachers who keep their hands in education by continuing to provide professional development to educators. We enjoy traveling and all sorts of adventure sports, including cycling and kayaking.

The Owner purchased this house in 1987

We enjoy sharing our Nevada City home with others who travel and appreciate comfortable, welcoming lodging. The stars are amazing! We are proud to say we built this home out of cedars logged from the property by horses.

Relaxing in the solitude our home, enjoying a glass of wine under the stars; daily cycling or walking on the trail below our house; hiking and swimming at the Yuba River;enjoying the many music and art venues in the area; day trips to Lake Tahoe for cycling, hiking, or playing at the lake; drives up Highway 49 to rivers and historic sites;

10 Reviews of Property 413443 in Nevada City, California

CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
Oakland, CA
5

Beautiful, well equipped home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just what we were looking for and then some! Beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great house! Warm and inviting, and very well cared for. Quiet, beautiful setting with birdsongs, wildlife, and gentle afternoon breezes through the trees. When we pulled up on the first day a deer greeted us in the driveway, and we saw more deer and other wildlife throughout our stay. Sunny open lawn area and rope swing is great for the kids. The house has everything you could ever need, including excellent wifi service. We were very comfortable and felt very much at home in this beautiful house.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Fell in love with Nevada City!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
As a Bay Area native I was embarrassed to admit I had never been to Nevada City, and boy, was I missing out! The accomodations were perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. We had our 2 and 4 yo girls who loved the outdoor stomping grounds, nearby lakes and hiking trails, and with downtown just a short drive away we were away from it all yet close enough to do a morning donut run. We were lucky enough to meet the owners Tim and Leslie upon pulling into the driveway and they were kind as could be, ensuring any remaining questions were answered and we had enough dishwasher soap! We grilled, we sat in the sun, took a bath with a view and more. Only regret was that it was so hot in May we didn't get to use the outdoor fire pit or indoor wood burning fire place....this we plan on our return visit in the winter!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
Penn Valley, CA
4

Paula Farrell, Penn Valley, California

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a wonderful house for my 28th annual reunion with six of my childhood girlfriends! The rural setting was lovely and we so enjoyed talking morning walks in the neighborhood, sitting outside on the patio with our coffee, and sipping afternoon cocktails on the covered porch. The home offered exactly the relaxed atmosphere we wanted for our "girl" time. The kitchen was well equipped so our meal preparations were fun with plenty of room for conversation in the spacious kitchen/dinning room areas. The sleeping accommodations were very satisfactory. We all felt "right-at-home" in Leslie and Tim's Nevada City home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
Northern CA
5

A Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented this home with two other couples..it was perfect! The house was set up well with everything we needed and we were able to take great walks just out our front door. Nevada City was close by. We even enjoyed a quick trip up highway 20 to play in the new snow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
Vacaville
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at your home. With the high level of activity associated with our son's wedding in downtown Nevada City, it was perfect to be able to spend the time up to and after the wedding at the house. The beauty, peacefulness and plenty of space for our family was refreshing and such a delightful experience. I saw our son walk through the spacious back yard practicing his wedding vows. We can't wait to come back another time (without a wedding :)). Thanks for openng your home to our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
reno, nv
5

Beautiful Home and Lovely Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Upon arriving we met the owners and they were extremely gracious and welcoming. The home was accommodating for the needs of our entire family and two dogs. Everyone had a wonderful time! The home was beautiful, welcoming, and we had the most restful vacation. Thank you for such a lovely vacation! :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
Berkeley, Ca
5

Simply the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
As we pulled up to our rental house at the end of a country road passing a doe and fawn peering through the firs, my grandchildren spilled out of the car. At the sight of a basketball standard, ping pong table, and capacious lawn my grandson declared with breathless excitement that he never wanted to leave.

I was equally thrilled. The picture of the house in the on line description does not do justice to its beauty and design. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say there are graciously comfortable outdoor areas for every time of day, and the indoor spaces have been designed with equal care for usability and comfort. The "mud room" contains all the kids equipment and the large kitchen was a dream to use while visiting or monitoring the badminton and softball games on the lawn.

Many activities are moments away despite the feeling that you're miles away from the hub bub of life. Nevada City is a picturesque page out of history, my grandkids enjoyed the city pool almost as much as they did playing in the nearby Yuba River.

Leslie and Tim have done a truly remarkable job building this home and attending to every detail. It's so beautifully landscaped that I kept imagining how wonderful the spot would be for a wedding or celebration.

As we reluctantly pulled away from what had truly been our home for five days, we all agreed this was where we'd return every summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
Maryland
5

Very nice home in a secluded setting.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed our stay very much. The house is nicely secluded - down a long driveway, very private, yet a convenient drive to town. The kitchen is nicely equipped, the family room comfortable, and dining on the deck very enjoyable. We certainly recommend this home, and hope to return when we're back out to California one of these days. Thank you, enjoyed it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
CedarSong: Quiet, Forested Acreage - Secluded yet close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413443vb
Nevada City Gold Country / High Sierra
San Francisco
5

Nevada City getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house is gorgeous and very accomodating. It is tucked away from the neighbors, with a huge beautiful backyard and awesome deck!! Very clean and open layout with a big kitchen for dinner parties. It was the perfect house for a group or family.
It's about a 5 minute drive into town, so very easy to get to restaurants/bars, trails and the river.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're happy to share our house with others and love to hear about their stay. Thanks.