Carmel Valley apartment rental - WELCOME to my 'Artist's Library' apartment in sunny Carmel Valley!
WELCOME to my 'Artist's Library' apartment in sunny Carmel Valley!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Carmel Valley Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The 'Library' apartment is light, clean and filled with books. It opens onto a patio and garden area and overlooks an acre filled with large oak trees. It is adjacent to the Artist's 'Treehouse' Studio Apartment #290731 and lends itself as the place for the kids or another couple vacationing together BUT– in their own place!

Keywords: Budget-conscious but very clean, sunny, garden view, covered parking.

I am a full time artist making illuminated shell sculpture and lampshades from natural seashells. Since 1974! I still find them absolutely beautiful. Then there's the gardens– when I need a 15 minute work break I snip and pluck, rake and squirt. As much as I love to squirt water– I shouldn't be living in California!!

Desiree purchased this apartment in 1982

–MONTEREY BAY AQUARIUM passes are included with your stay. Good for two people with a 49.00 value. Go over and over again instead of trying to see it all in one day!

–WINE TASTING is big here because we have such an excellent wine growing appelation– ask me about Tasting Rooms.

–WILD TURKEYS and deer heavily populate the area and are wonderful to observe.

–FIND AN INTERESTING BOOK and read it while you're here. Ask me for recommendations and tell me where your interests lie.

12 Reviews of Property 413352 in Carmel Valley, California

Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
5

Excellent, as expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A relaxing get away, with fun wineries nearby, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium tickets were a fantastic bonus. The Artist's Library worked well for the two of us, plus a baby. We'd definitely come back to visit.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
San Jose
5

Fantastic Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Library was perfect for my BF and I. We wanted someplace quiet and peaceful. This place was Perfect. Desiree is wonderful, and very helpful!! We cant wait to come back for a visit!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
toronto ontario canada
5

3 R's Relax. Read. Recreate.

3 R's Relax. Read. Recreate.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The two of us loved looking through the many volumes of fine books and art that filled the studio. We spent late afternoons sitting in the sunshine, right until the last rays disappeared below the mountain. We golfed at Rancho Cañada. We hiked hills and canyons.
And the owner was most helpful, friendly and accommodating.
Life was simple, tranquil and very enjoyable. TERRIFIC!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Reflection on Library stay

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
"Hi Desiree,

Hope this finds you well. I stayed in your Library apartment last October with my husband Fred. We were only with you about 3 nites, but we had a great stay and I know we told you so before we left. However, since back in NJ, I have often thought about what a beautiful, magical place you live in and would be remiss not to tell you how the experience of meeting you and seeing how you live impacted me in a very positive way. NJ--if you've never been, is quite different.

Not sure when we'll get the chance to get back to Carmel Valley, as you well know there's a lot of world to see (we leave for Spain next week). In any event, I just wanted to tell you how fantastic it was to meet you and learn a little bit about your life--as well as poke thru a few of your books!

Thanks again,
Nina"
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Berlin, Germany
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a wonderful, peaceful stay. The library is a beautiful, charming place in an amazing location, just a few minutes by car to Carmel, Monterey, and Big Sur. The local restaurants are great, too, so there's no need to go far. A really good price for this area, too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
5

A wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
What a welcoming and comfortable place! Desiree is a wonderful person. Very accommodating and friendly. We had a great time with her.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
5

Lovely apartment, lovely owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend in the "library". From the moment we arrived we could tell that we were in for a treat. The space is wonderfully charming: eclectic, clean, and comfortable. The outdoor space is expansive and pleasant with some lovely chairs and a table to sit at under the many mature and beautiful trees. We felt right at home, and relaxed, immediately.

The real treat, however, was Desiree herself. She was exceptionally warm and welcoming and soon we were chatting like old friends. She poured us a couple glasses of wine and we spent the next few hours in the garden, talking about everything from country living to food to books and art.

We had hoped to find a retreat from city life, and this was the perfect place. We enjoyed our time there immensely and look forward to being able to return sometime in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Canada
5

Enchanting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We have travelled a lot this year and stayed in several VRBO rentals. The Library is special, enchanting and an escape that is highly recommended. We had a list of sightseeing opportunities in the area, but at times didn't want to leave our garden get-away. On our next stay, and that is on our priority list, we will stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Ocean, NJ
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent 6 wonderful nights at the "Artist's Library" apartment and were thoroughly enchanted! This spotlessly clean and spacious cottage apartment met or exceeded our expectations in every respect and offers fantastic value. After a short but breathtaking trip from the main roads, be prepared for some out-of-this world scenery!. The apartment itself is charming and has everything you need including,of course, a wonderfully eclectic library. The owner, Desiree, is friendly, informative, entertaining and respectful of your privacy. She is also a fantastic artist and her whimsical style permeates the property. Make sure to check out her beautiful shell shades! We purchased one for my Jersey Shore home and can't stop staring. It's so pretty! I imagine you could have an enjoyable and relaxing stay just curling up with a good book while gazing at the gorgeous lamps and gardens and sipping some local wine; however, this was our first trip to the Monterey Peninsula and there is just so much to see and enjoy. Highlights for us included Big Sur, Point Lobos and the Monterey Aquarium (Desiree provides free passes!). Also enjoyed the Steinbeck Center in Salinas. Staying a few miles inland in Carmel Valley was a good move as the coastal area was gorgeous but very cold and windy at times. The weather at the rental house was perfect every day - warm and sunny wth cool nights - great for sleeping. If you prefer to have a full kitchen for cooking, Desiree has another rental on the same property which has a full kitchen and is equally charming. Two couples travelling together would also be well served by this property as would solo travelers, book lovers, nature lovers and just about anyone. We look forward to visiting again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artist's Library/Garden Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413352vb
(831) 659-4055 (California, USA)
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Texas
5

Charming, serene, comfortable - GREAT value, GREAT Host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I agree with everything in the two reviews ahead of mine. Very clean and comfortable, extremely peaceful. Desiree is personable and helpful with everything. DO look through her gallery and studio - the art is stunning and unique! You'll wish you could stay a long time and read her collection of books - great literature, biographies, travel books, and more. As posted above, the kitchenette is perfect for coffee, tea, snacks and reheatables, but the larger slightly more expensive "Tree House" next door is better if you need a kitchen.

One thing I love about the location is that it's inland so it stays warmer than near the coast - just enough early morning fog to remind me how close we are to the water. The drive from the coast is beautiful.

Oh, and screaming fast WiFi meant I could get a bit of work done on the side! No TV, no phone, no need for such distractions. Lovely gardens, and pleasant to sit outside.

One tip: If you like a massage and hot/cold spa treatment, check out The Refuge a few miles west for a relaxing afternoon. Next year we'll take advantage of Desiree's offer of tickets to the Aquarium, too!

Note: a small step from the sitting room to the bedroom, and a narrow entrance to the bathroom could be a challenge for the mobility impaired. Otherwise, no steps and you can pull right up to the door to load your car.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1