Fontaine l'Abbe house rental - House and terrace viewed from garden
House and terrace viewed from garden
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Fontaine l'Abbe House Rental Photos and Description
Large 3 bedroom (2 en-suite) house to sleep 6, in Normandy village with WiFi

Loving conversion of traditional Normandy style building which originally housed a cider press.

The ground floor has a sitting room (pictured), a large dining area with wood burning fire which leads into the spacious well equipped kitchen with modern appliances. The three bedrooms are all upstairs (two en suite).

The house has lots of character with its half timbered walls, oak beamed ceilings, open staircases and original tile and wooden floors. All rooms are very different and each has its own features.

Large terrace and very large secluded orchard garden - a wonderful place for barbecues and relaxing (hammock and large number of chairs/sun loungers provided).Also swings for the young at heart

A wide variety of fruits are grown and you can help yourself if you are lucky enough to be there when they are in season.Many birds are to be found in the garden and horses graze in the adjacent field .

How to find us:-

Fontaine l'abbe is situated just off the D133. If approaching from Bernay then proceed along the D133 for about 7km-the village is signposted to the right.If approaching from Beaumont-le-Roger/Serquigny then follow the D133 for 2km after Serquigny and we are signposted on the left hand side. Take the turnoff and after about 1km you will come to a STOP sign and crossroads-turn right and our entrance gate is 50 metres away on your right hand side opposite the village school.

Ample on site parking is provided for up to 3 cars.There is a converted barn approx 20 metres from the house which is retained by the owners for their occasional personal use. The barn has its own garden area which is completely secluded from the main house.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 413329 in Fontaine l'Abbe, France

Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

A wonderful family holiday in Normandy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent 2 wonderful weeks in this stunning property - the house is full of character and has been beautifully renovated, and the orchard garden was just perfect for our 2 little boys to run around in. Ian and Sue welcomed us so warmly and we were touched by the generosity and thoughtfulness of the provisions and supplies available to us in the house. There was an interesting collection of books, CDs and DVDs at our disposal for when the weather wasn't quite so good. Mostly we had wonderful weather and were able to make trips to Bayeux, the Normandy beaches, Caen, and Giverny (Monet house and garden), as well as more local places, and even the local town of Bernay is interesting with a museum and historic abbey. We also had a few quieter days just enjoying the house and garden - the children also enjoyed the swings, the horses and cows in the adjoining field and the hammock.
There is a choice of supermarkets in local areas. A car is essential, although cycling in the local area would be lovely (our children are currently still too young for this).
This was a really wonderful holiday, and meeting Ian and Sue was a highlight. Many thanks indeed.
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

Des vacances normandes inoubliables

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Le Pressoir est une très jolie propriété à colombage normande soigneusement rénovée, présentant tous les avantages du confort moderne et le charme de l'ancien. Elle est entourée d'un jardin magnifique. Nous avons eu la chance d'y passer deux semaines de grand été avec presque chaque soir un barbecue sur la terrasse au calme, entourés de verdure et de chants d'oiseaux.
Après 800 km de route, Sue et Ian nous ont accueillis très cordialement, nous donnant toutes les informations nécessaires dans les meilleurs délais, mettant à notre disposition une cuisine de rêve et une quantité surprenante de provisions.
Nous avons pu profiter pendant deux semaines de cette très belle propriété, de son confort et de son calme, avons fait nos courses à l'Intermarché de Bernay, avec de très bons produits du terroir, sommes allés à Deauville, à Etretat, à Rouen, à Lisieux et avons eu beaucoup de peine à quitter Le Pressoir, que nous ne sommes pas près d'oublier.
Très à recommander pour des vacances à la campagne, en famille ou en amoureux.
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
Doddington, Cambridgeshire, England
5

'Le Pressoir' revisited - and we;d come again!

'Le Pressoir' revisited - and we;d come again!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
When friends, who had never enjoyed the delights of Normandy, expressed an interest in joining us there for a holiday, we had no hesitation in suggesting 'Le Pressoir' as the perfect location from which to explore the region. We had stayed here before, with other friends, when we’d had a wonderful time and we have little more to add to our review written in July 2010!

On our arrival we were greeted by the owners, Ian & Sue, more like family than customers. As before, we had been provided with some basic provisions although we had taken the opportunity before our arrival, to visit Le Clerc's in Bernay. (Their opening hours are much improved!). As expected, here were all the necessary facilities to make us feel at home, with the added bonus of a fire-pit on the terrace around which to sit and sip wine in the cool night air.

To us, Le Pressoir' epitomises the unique flavour of Normandy with just a little hint of quirkiness which adds to its charm!! We love it, our friends loved it too, and we have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy this lovely part of France.

PS. The excellent boulangerie in Servigny is still there!
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
Minneapolis, MN USA
5

A marvelous spring week in Normandy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Le Pressoir was a perfect base for a group of four to take in the sights of Normandy. Sue and Ian made sure we were well-equipped with information about the region (which roads to take, driving times, etc.) and tips on restaurants and attractions. The house is very comfortable, and its tranquil location makes for great sleeping. The gardens were lush and green in May, with flowers in bloom. The only drawback is that you'll never want to leave!
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

Wonderful Holiday at this stunning Normandy house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a lovely week at the wonderful home of Sue and Ian, we could not have asked for a more beautiful and comfortable home to stay in for our week in Normandy. Not only is this stunning house set in wonderful grounds, the inside is lovingly decorated in a sympatheticly traditional style. Sue and Ian have equiped the house so it feels like a home from home, there is everything you need such as a wonderfully equiped kitchen, lots of information/ travels guides to find all the main atttractions in the local are and some hidden gems for when the weather is warm and sunny and enough films,books and games for when it is not so pleasent.

The local area has many amenities which include a nice little Patisserie in Serquigny, which is only a few minutes drive from the house. In Bernay there are many lovely shops and on the outskirts a very large supermarket, which has everything you need including reasonablly priced petrol/ diesel.

Sue and Ian were very welcoming oweners who made every effort both before our arrival and during our stay to ensure that we had the best holiday possible, always on hand with the local information that is always missing in the guide books.

Everything added up to make a wonderful week in a wonderful house, and all being well somewhere where we will go again next year.

Thank you Sue and Ian for your hospitality and forsharing your lovely home with us.

Neil, Anna, Heather, Oliver and Emily.

Hope to see you next year.
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

Definitely a home away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Just back from two weeks at this lovely home. Le Pressoir was all that we hoped it would be - full of character and set in beautiful, private, secure ground.The house had excellent facililties and was spotlessly clean; the kitchen had every utensil you could possibly need!

Ian and Sue were excellent hosts and were able to provide us with all the info we could possibly need about the area including tourist guides and maps which came in useful.

The house and gardens were also perfect for our 3 year old daughter, offering her plenty of safe and secure exploring space, as well as swings and a hammock.

A car is recommended as the house is set in a small hamlet so nearest shops are 5-10 minutes away; however this is a great location from which to see a number of attractions including one of France's largest national studs, Monet's house and gardens at Giverny, the port of Honfleur, a number of historic buildings including the Basilica at Lisieux; the beautiful old town of Bernay, and we were even able to take a trip to Disneyland Paris, about 2.5 hours away by car.

le Pressoir was definitely a 'home away' which we would highly recommend. My daughter is also delighted with her new 'Aunty Sue' in France! Our thanks to you both for your kind hospitality and a holiday in Normandy which will be fondly remembered.
Owner's Response: Many thanks Deborah & Martin. Would just add that it is also a great base for cycling--we do provide 2 bikes and bike rental is also available in Bernay( 7 km away).
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
Farnborough, Hampshire
5

Our Norman Holiday at Le Pressoir!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
After a journey from Le Havre via the wrong route courtesy of our Tiguan GPS, we finally arrived at Fontain Le-Abbe to a very warm welcome from Sue and Ian. Our co-travellers had arrived ages before courtesy of a modern Tomtom and had already been made to feel at home by our hosts. The children were in seventh heaven, Sue guiding them to find the various berries to be picked and devoured in the huge garden. The children spent their days when we were not touring enjoying the garden, an absoulte paradise for young ones, with the games they invented and encouraged by Sue and Ian.

The house is very spacious, eclectic and very homely and on some of the very cool evenings in mid July gave us the opportunity to ignite the wonderful large french fire in the dining room.

The well equipped kitchen provided the ladies with plenty of scope to provide for the family - so much so that we rarely dined out. The Bernay market gave us the opportunity to sample the local cidre and other delicacies. Duck breasts a must from the local InterMarche .

Normandy made us equally welcome over the next eleven days and we toured the district to our hearts content visiting places as far apart as Giverny, Deauville, Paris and Arromanche.

One of our party a keen cyclist toured the area most mornings on his cycle or running - someone has to do the exercises on our behalf and collect the daily bread. Being a very keen cyclist, he was disappointed to find that the Tour de France had passed by locally just before we got there but we were delighted to be able to view the daily highlights on the TV.

On our last evening, Ian and Sue entertained us with local dishes, wines and liquers that made it even more difficult to leave the following day, we had enjoyed ourselves so much so that we will definately return.

Would highly recommend this wonderful home with the most congenial of hosts
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

Wonderful Stay in Normandy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Delightful house and property with very gracious hosts who provided everything listed, especially all that was needed for cooking. Great location for D-Day beaches, Rouen, calvados tasting and cheeses as well as beautiful Norman river valleys and towns. No extra costs and 2 hours from CDG airport. HIghly recommended.
J. Perkins
Gloucester, VA
Owner's Response: Thankyou Jody. Should add that we are happy to accept payments in USDollars.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

'Le Pressoir' – great location, home and hosts

'Le Pressoir' – great location, home and hosts
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Le Pressoir, a renovated half-timbered house in Fontaine L’Abbe, is a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing vacation in the country (bike rides, backyard BBQs and fruit picking, DVD movies, board games, wireless internet) or to settle in as a home base for driving trips to Normandy sites (1 ½ hr to D-Day Beaches, 2 hr to Paris, 2 ½ hr to Mont St Michelle.)

Ian and Sue are friendly and generous hosts who warmly welcomed us on the first day, were available by email throughout our 7 day stay and saw us off on the last day. The fully equipped kitchen included all the basics for cooking, the washing machine was useful and the large tub was delightful for soaking in. Our family of 5 could easily spread around to all parts of the multi-level house and spacious yard or gather at the large dining room table indoors or at the picnic table outdoors. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property!

Sure Family
California, USA
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming half timbered Normandy house set in secluded orchard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p413329
+33 (0)2 32445501
Fontaine l'Abbe Eure
5

Paradijs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Acht commentaren en acht keer de volle vijf sterren.
Dit negende commentaar vormt daarop geen uitzondering. Zelfs als je moeite doet, valt nog niet het kleinste bezwaartje te bedenken. Ach ja, die trein die eens per uur voorbij komt, vooruit. Een kleinigheid, vergeleken bij de Slangen en Satans in de oorspronkelijke Hof van Eden.

Het terrein is groot en doet nog het meeste denken aan een prachtig park. Je zit er volkomen privé, op de vogels, de koeien en de paarden na. Muggen hebben we twee weken lang niet gehoord. De inrichting van het huis verdient wat ons betreft een prijs. De foto's op deze site verklappen slechts een deel.

Zowel huis als tuin zijn volledig uitgerust. Van de veertien dagen hebben we er twaalf zelf gekookt, wat in die keuken alleen maar aan het vakantieplezier heeft bijgedragen. Het nabijgelegen Bernay is voorzien van uitgebreide supermarkten. Het dorpje Fontaine L'Abbé is sowieso een uitgelezen centrale plek om van daaruit geheel Normandië te verkennen.

De eigenaren Ian en Sue zijn - zeer attent - aanwezig op de dag van aankomst en de dag van vertrek. Ze verblijven dan in het tweede (!) huis op het terrein (ja, het privépark is groot). Hun hartelijkheid is een bonus op deze toch al aan volmaaktheid grenzende locatie.

De onverbiddelijke kalender verdreef ons uit het paradijs, maar we komen terug, we komen terug...

Loek (7), Marleen (9), Lenneke en Paul
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I hope our potential Dutch guests will enjoy this review. Tot sins !
Helpful votes: 1/1