Sao Miguel Island villa rental - Manor House - Formal living room
Manor House - Formal living room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Sao Miguel Island Villa Rental Photos and Description
Near Ponta Delgada, 5 min. to beach, close to golfing and sight seeing

An exciting lodging option in the Açores, on São Miguel, near Ponta Delgada: Quinta de Santa Rosa. Whether your travels bring you for a weekend getaway or a month of adventure and relaxation, Quinta de Santa Rosa is the perfect home away from home.

During your stay at Quinta de Santa Rosa, no matter which accommodations package you choose, you will experience centuries-old elegance and opulence—just like São Miguel's wealthy and elite.

The Quinta de Santa Rosa estate offers a unique lodging experience where guests are romanced by lush surroundings and solitude. A fenced 11 acre estate with private formal gardens and high quality amenities offer a completely relaxing experience all its’ own.

Conveniently located near Ponta Delgada, Quinta de Santa Rosa provides the perfect start and end to a day of island tourism.

A resplendent destination with true old world charm.

Details for Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2, 1 Bathroom

Quinta de Santa Rosa’s Manor house will offer you the ultimate experience. This accommodation is to an experience for two in total elegance and opulence. The Manor has a formal entry if you care to accept guests. The formal living room has an enchanting fireplace and baby grand piano. There is a formal dining room with seating for eight. The kitchen with its hand painted tile, indoor barbecue and island that will wow even the most spoiled chef. The master suite has a regal king size bed,with memory foam mattress overlay, desk, antique dresser, fireplace, sofa sitting area and large flat screen TV with multi-region DVD player. Enjoy the morning view from the glass roofed sun room. The master suite will offer a completely unique experience in relaxation. A sculptured waterfall will help fill the 8 foot bathtub through the winding creek in the floor. The master shower has a rainfall shower head.

6 Reviews of Property 412920 in Sao Miguel Island, Portugal

Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412920?uni_id=1009683
Sao Miguel Island Azores
5

Santa Rosa - Azores

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Beautiful property; plenty of room for a large group to stay but intimate enough for two.
Old world charm but updated amenities. Close to island fun.
Rooms are large and comfortable. Property in pristine condition and maintained.

Enjoyed my stay very much - I will be a return customer!
Owner's Response: Thank you
business
Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412920?uni_id=1009683
Sao Miguel Island Azores
5

Our stay at Santa Rosa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
OMG this place was beautiful, palatial I would call it. We had the whole top apartment (if you could call it that) It was more than that but hard to explain.
The rooms were full of history of the owwners as such, it was the most loveliest place to stay. Kitchen could of done with a washing machine instead of dishwasher, but really no complaints. We could also use the Courtyard and Gardens downstairs. Thought we were 'Lord and Lady' of the manor Ha Ha. Also had its own Chapel. 4 poster bed, big big bath and more!!! Beautiful.
business
Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412920?uni_id=1009683
Sao Miguel Island Azores
Washington, DC, USA
5

Visited twice, can't wait to return

Visited twice, can't wait to return
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We stayed at Quinta Santa Rosa on two different occasions. The first time we went for 7 nights and stayed in the small apartment. It was absolutely charming - like stepping back in time to a quieter more simple world, but with all of the modern conveniences. The apartment views out of the back were of the beautiful formal gardens and from the front was the magnificent court yard of the main villa, which we had full access to use and enjoy. The apartment was very comfortable with a large sitting room and a small kitchen in the corner. The bathroom walls are beautifully tiled; it has a large tub and lots of natural light. The bedroom was cozy and romantic, with a comfy queen sized bed, thick stucco walls and lots of privacy. We loved it so much we didn't want to leave.

During our second trip we decided to spoil ourselves and rent the Manor House – what a treat!!! We felt like royalty. There is a fantastic veranda across the front of the house overlooking the courtyard, perfect for relaxing on in the evening while enjoying a glass of port. The living room is huge with a massive fireplace at one end and a baby grand piano at the other. There is an incredible formal dinning room with beautiful built in cabinets. The kitchen is fantastic, it is enormous, completely covered with beautiful hand painted tiles and has an indoor wood barbeque that we used almost every night we there. The rooms the totally blew us away though, were the bedroom and the master bath!!!! It was like something out of my dreams – absolutely incredible and so amazingly romantic. The bedroom has a huge king sized four poster bed, situated in front of a wood burning fireplace, the walls are painted a deep rich red, but there is lots of natural light and beautiful vistas out the window. To the left of the fireplace is a little sun room which we found perfect to sit in and enjoy our morning coffee. The bathroom has a huge soaking tub with plenty of room for two and filling it is a sight to behold, the water pours out of the mouths of two golden swans, cascades down as a waterfall, flows across a floor in a tiny trough and then into the tub.

We love Santa Rosa so much we consider it a second home we can’t wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412920?uni_id=1009683
Sao Miguel Island Azores
Roswell, GA, USA
5

Great Honeymoon Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
My wife and I got married (we're Americans) and stayed at "Santa Rosa" for our honeymoon. It was incredible. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The interior was updated while managing to keep its old world charm. Santa Rosa is centrally located on the island and everything is just short trip away. I highly recommend it to any potential denizen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412920?uni_id=1009683
Sao Miguel Island Azores
Washington DC, USA
5

Outstanding accomodations at Quinta de Santa Rosa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We enjoyed a terrific weekend in the manor house at Quinta de Santa Rosa. The sense of history, ornate architecture, and extensive grounds helped make our first trip to the Azores unforgetable. Although it's located on the outskirts of Sao Miguel, where automobile traffic is sometimes held up briefly by cattle drives(!), it's still only a few minutes to downtown by car, taxi, or bus. There is also a full-service grocery store within a kilometer, so provisioning was simple.

The description of the property is spot-on. The place is very clean and well maintained. The caretakers were extremely friendly and helpful and the customer service was great. I never would have known about bolo levedo if we didn't find some in our suite upon arrival. It was a very nice, simple touch.

We recommend the Azores and Quinta de Santa Rosa whenever talk turns to travel. From the villa, it's never more than an hour to the hot springs at Furnas, the hot hole in the ocean, and other must-see spots. There was also that fabulous little restaurant the caretakers told us about (forget finding it on your own, but it's well worth the taxi ride). The tea farms and pottery factories are also terrific, and not far away.

I highly recommend Quinta de Santa Rosa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Penthouse/Honeymoon/Manor House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412920?uni_id=1009683
Sao Miguel Island Azores
Fort Worth, Tarrant, USA
5

unforgettable vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Quinta Santa Rosa has only 3 rental units from inexpensive to luxurious...we chose the high-end "big House"...it has its own sweeping entrance, high ceilings, a living room with a fireplace at one end and baby grand piano at the other. The kitchen is large, made for entertaining, full of light. But the bedroom is what sold us. The big 4 postered bed is situated in front of a fireplace in the beautiful red painted room trimmed in gold. In front of the sitting area is a lovely small sunroom especially made for drinking your morning coffee as you look out over the formal gardens. The bathroom is one of a kind with a tiled bathtub for 2...the hot water comes from regular faucets, but the cold water turns on a waterfall...the water follows a trough in the floor before tumbling into the tub...INCREDIBLE. The 3 rentals are situated around the enclosed terrace of the old hacienda built in 1740. It is a lovely pale salmon rose color, accented in the volcanic rock found everywhere. The formal gardens have a gorgeous fountain in the middle with tables and chairs on the outside terrace to enjoy the view and a bottle of wine or port. The other 2 rental units of the Quinta are very reasonably priced, but we felt the Big House was worth the extra money...a truly unforgettable vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4