Little Gasparilla Island house rental - Large Screened porch
Large Screened porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Little Gasparilla Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 6

Breath taking views of Gasparilla Sound. 1200 square foot living area, newly built home. Creatively decorated very comfortable. All the conveniences of home yet surrounded by the pristine natural elements of a remote island community. Spacious kitchen, dining and living room, cathedral ceilings, french doors open to a 450 square foot screened front porch with ceiling fans outdoor lighting and music. FREE Wi-Fi

Steps away from the dock on the bay, and a short walk to the beach.

Private dock and boardwalk.

Master bedroom has king-size bed with adjoining bath, TV/Satellite Second bedroom with queen bed, third bedroom with set of twin beds, TV/Satellite.

Pack-n-Play, high chair, futons. GREAT WATER - Fresh water, safe to drink.

email for more photos and information

Keywords: Family Home

Mike is born and raised in Florida, Duffy was transplanted at an early age and has 'sand between her toes'. Both of us have loved and enjoyed the Florida coastal waters all of our lives, whether it is fishing, scuba diving, boating, or relaxing on the beach, we truly love the coastal life together along with our children and grandchildren. We have long time friends that fished this area and built and/or bought their own homes here, so when we were invited 20 years ago it was love at first sight. We bought this little piece of salty land 15 years ago, we designed it our selves and a local custom home builder built it 5 years ago. We put many hours of our own sweat & tears into completing our dream ... our island home retreat. This is the only home we have on the island. We do not own or manage any other homes. We hope to retire here some day, in the meantime, we are very happy to share our little slice of paradise with guests who also favor the coastal waters of Florida.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

We find the most unique benefit of our house is the location on the island. We have a phenomenal view of the Bay, magnificent sunrises over the water. We have a private dock and fish cleaning station for boating and fishing, then we have the luxury of the beach only steps away from the house. We have the best of both worlds!

23 Reviews of Property 41282 in Little Gasparilla Island, Florida

Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Provo, UT
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This was one of the most amazing vacations I've ever had-- traveling by boat to a beautiful island, a shell-filled, picturesque beach just a hop down the path, and an amazing house to top it all off made this trip absolutely perfect. The house was not only clean and cute, the owners have thought of EVERYTHING you could possible need, especially if you have children. This is the most family friendly vacation ever, and it made things that much more enjoyable. There is a pack-and-play for babies, plenty of children's movies to choose from, a toy chest, a high chair, and the best part was the screened in porch for the little ones to play on safely and independently.

The kitchen was another part of the house that wowed me-- again, it had everything I could have possibly thought of, it was like cooking in my own home. I have to say, tho, that by far my favorite amenity was the outdoor shower. It is a huge, secluded, warm water shower that is perfect for hosing down all the kids after the beach, or for a late night romantic rendezvous.

Aside from the house, this island was amazing. The water is warm, the beach is filled with shells, and you can watch the sun set into the ocean every evening. There are turtles, cute little lizards, dolphins, manatees, fiddler crabs; and if you rent yourself a golf cart you can cruise all over the island in search of these critters. The house also has a private dock with a dock light for fishing at night. My husband and I caught at least ten or twelve ocean trout, and kept two for grilling.

I could not have had a better vacation, and it is in large part due to the thoughtfulness and care the owners have put into this home. If you want a stress-free, wonderful vacation for the whole family, this is where you want to be.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Miss Em,
We are so blessed to have families like yours stay at our island home. We are so happy to be able to share our place with people that so much appreciate and enjoy it. Your comments clearly let us know how much you liked the house and enjoyed your total experience. Thank You! And please come again soon. Mike&Duffy
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

This was a perfect vacation for our family!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Everything is just as the pictures appear. The house was very clean. Duffy was actually leaving when we arrived so we were able to meet her and spend some time with her. There was a problem with the Wi-Fi because the tropical storm the previous week has knocked it out. She went above and beyond to try to fix this problem for us. She called and checked on us to make sure everything was ok after we had a problem with the fridge. This was by far the best vacation we have gone on. The island is marvelous. And don't worry about being stranded on an island if you forget something......she's got you covered. The house is stocked with everything you may have forgotten...
Thanks Duffy for making our family vacation so easy and memorable..Emily and Jeremy Dupuy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Once again, the perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is the second time my family has stayed in this beautiful home. The home itself is immaculate, not a spec of dust. All you have to do is come in, unpack and relax. It feels like home the moment you arrive and the homeowners always make you feel welcome. We've decided the outdoor shower is our favorite spot! Like being in a spa. The private dock is peaceful and a beautiful place to watch the dolphins swim by. Every morning I watched the sunrise from the kitchen table (my makeshift office while I was there!) and we walked the 2 minutes to watch the sunset on the beach every evening. It is a wonderful little community. This year we rented a golf cart and had a chance to see some of the other areas we missed last year. I couldn't recommend a change if I had to. Thanks Duffy and Mike for the perfect home once again!
Owner's Response: Thank you Robin for sharing your experience at our island home. You are so thoughtful to do this for us and I am sure it will benefit others when trying to make a decision. We are SOO fortunate to have your lovely family stay and want to come back again and again.
Take care and hello to the rest of the family! Duff & Mike
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Awesome Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had the best time at Duffy and Mike's island home! We can't say enough good things about this beautiful home and fantastic Island. It was my favorite summer vacation ever. Our two boys are 8 & 11 and they had a blast finding sharks teeth on the beach and catching fish in the bay. The private dock is a huge plus and the house is clean and stocked with everything to make your stay enjoyable. The owners were outstanding to deal with and had everything set up and ready as promised. I would recommend this vacation to anyone who asked.
Thanks again
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

It truely is an Island Home Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
I expected a cottage, but it is a very comfortable home. There are many homes on the island, but it is a peaceful getaway. It is very clean, Has three comfortable bedrooms, modern bathrooms and spacious living room, with a modern kitchen. It's fun to take the boat from the mainland to the island. The marine life is totally awsome. My granddaughter and I enjoyed dinner on the mainland. Very good.! The water on the Gulf is beautiful and warm. Thank you Mike and Duffy. You are gracious hosts and friends.
Bev
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Lexington, Kentucky
5

Relaxation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What can I say? From the moment the water taxi left our wonderful get away began! This is my kind of relaxation! The house is fully stocked with supplies. From kitchen gadgets to first-aid! Plenty of emergency prevention and provisions supplies. And this is coming from a nurse! Mike and Duffy have prepared for the unexpected. The have a book of info!
My favorite parts were getting up and watching the sun rise with a great cup of coffee on the porch while listening to the wildlife scurry around. After that we would turn on the outside speakers on the stereo and jam while making breakfast and head to the beach for the morning. There are so many shells to gather and clean up at the fish cleaning station! You can find the BEST shells! In the afternoon we enjoyed golf cart rides around the island, we saw tons on turtles, snakes and armadillos!
The evening always end like the mornings began. After kayaking around the bay and relaxing till your exhausted you fall into a comfortable bed and start again the next day.
This house, this remote location and the amenities make this the ideal vacation for anyone who wants to reset their rhythm of life.
Owner's Response: Susie B .....you are so elequent and descriptive with your review! THANK You so much. You describred exactly how it feels to be there...and I feel this way every time we have a chance to go. It never gets old. Thanks again and hope to have you guys back again next year. Take care. Duff and Mike
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Lexington, Kentucky
5

Vacation bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is one of the best vacations I've ever had. The owners had everything in order. They have paid great attention to details with all the amenities a person would want- the outdoor shower, wireless, speakers on the porch, a fish cleaning station. Fantastic! I would recommend this home to anyone wanting quite relaxing time with family. The beach is fantastic as is the bay. If you want relaxation this is the place. I had a couple of things I needed to find out and the owners were prompt and helpful. Wonderful place!

Thanks
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Totally Awesome and Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
One of the best vacations I have ever had! Beautiful home, excellent beach. We really enjoyed the screened in porch. Kitchen is fully equipped. We will definitely be back!! So relaxing strolling to the beach or sitting on the dock enjoying the view. Access was so easy. Everything is perfect!
Owner's Response: Thank You Pam for taking the time to post your review for us. We really appreciate couples like you guys! You are always welcome back. Take care. Duffy and Mike
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Paradise Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was our second stay with Duffy and Mike. The house was spotless and well maintained. My family and I enjoyed the whole week. The beach is just out the back door and your own boat dock is just steps away. The fishing around the island is incredible. We had our boat so it made the stay that much more enjoyable. The house has everything that you need. It is truly a home away from home. The screened in outside porch makes it nice to enjoy the sea breeze without being bothered by flying critters. The island is beautiful and quiet. I look forward on returning next year just to get away from it all. Again thanks Duffy for letting us enjoy a little bit of paradise. JS
Owner's Response: Hey Jerry, thanks for taking the time to share your visit with others and letting us know again how much you enjoyed your stay. We are so fortunate to have wonderful families like you come back year after year. Look forward to hearing from you again! By the way, we have 2 new additions to the house: Ocean Kayaks. My first trip out and caught 2 NICE redfish.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Island House Retreat- Free Wi-Fi Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p41282vb
+1 813-355-6156
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Perrysburg Ohio
5

A wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We just returned from our week at Little Gasparilla Island, and this wonderful home. We never rented from VRBO or had even heard of this island but we feel like we won the lottery discovering this wonderful vacation spot. The house is well appointed and the owners are great to work with! We rented a boat for the week and loved having the great boat slip and dock to hang out on in the evenings. We can't wait to visit again, this was one of our favorite vacations. Our 3 teenage daughters loved the island and the house as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2