Chastleton house rental - Fox End
Fox End
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Chastleton House Rental Photos and Description
A charming, self-catering Cotswolds holiday cottage rental, sleeps 8, no pets

Best described as a typical 'chocolate box' picture of an English country cottage, this stunning 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom, thatched Cotswold's cottage, accommodates 8 people. The original building dates back to the 1650’s and has been sensitively added on to over the years, creating all the benefits of a spacious contemporary home but with many original features. There are two twin bedrooms, one bedroom with a queen size bed and one bedroom with a super king size bed. There are three spectacular bathrooms, two en suite, one family bathroom.

If you are looking for that perfect self-catering holiday in the Cotswolds, you couldn't have chosen a better property. Fox End really is the ultimate quality vacation rental. Whether you are looking for a venue for a family reunion, a luxury base from which to explore this most beautiful part of England, or need a sanctuary to escape your busy daily life and immerse yourself in rural splendour, this house is the one for you.

Fly Fishing: There are ample opportunities for Fly Fishing for trout and grayling in The Cotswolds. From charming still water to elegant chalk streams it's all here. Visit the Orvis store in Burford for up to the minute info on where to fish, what flies to use and how to get permits. There is a great Put 'n' Take lake only 5 minutes drive from the cottage which is in a gorgeous setting and has abundant rainbow and brown trout on two small waters. You can buy a half day or day ticket on site (please, do not hesitate to contact owner for further information or link of the website).

Horse Riding: There is a wonderful riding school 300 yd from the cottage. It is excellent for both beginners and small children as well as the more experienced rider who may wish to canter out into the Cotswold countryside and see the local rural splendour first hand. Do please contact us for more details at the time of booking.

What to do in the Cotswolds: We have many years experience of all the Cotswolds has to offer. That quaint pub with excellent ales and home cooked food, the dates of the best local markets, the whereabouts of the best butcher, ideas for young children, where you can get the best spa treatment (yes, spa treatment!) we can help you. Please ask for our 'What To Do In The Cotswolds' info sheet and we will arm you with everything you could possibly need for a successful stay at Fox End and The Cotswolds.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 412435 in Chastleton, United Kingdom

Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

A beautiful holiday home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Excellent country cottage for an extended family holiday . Very high quality house and garden with comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. We were 5 adults and 2 babies from 6mths to 65 years and we all loved it . Car essential but plenty of interesting places nearby. Castleton House fascinating and enjoyed croquet on the lawn. Highly recommended and we plan to return.
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

Charming Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The moment we walked in, we immediately felt at home in Fox End. This charming cottage is beautifully and tastefully furnished with a perfect eye for detail. We loved the fully equipped kitchen, viewing the field and the beautiful garden. We were especially impressed by the master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. When turning off the light, it dimmed slowly, how cool!
The owners provided us with a very helpful 'user guide', with detailed information on pubs, shops en excursions. Lots to see and do in the area. We had a wonderful time in Fox End and were sorry to have to leave.
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

Snowy Cotswald Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We enjoyed a lovely stay at this beautiful home in the Cotswolds. The interior design and appointments brought a smile to everyone in the house. The house and its belongings were clean and neat and well-maintained. We spent our mornings in the kitchen around the farm table and loved seeing the cows and ducks from the window while we discussed our pending plans for the day. We relaxed in the evening in the living room, reading or watching a movie. There was plenty of space for 8 of us to be comfortable throughout the house.
The unexpected snowfall and the coldest spring in 50 years in England just added to the charm. By weeks end, with snow gone, we were riding bikes and sharing lanes with horseback riders. The local pubs and inns were wonderful dining experiences and the residents very friendly. We especially enjoyed the meals at the Fox Inn and Red Lion Inn. There are quaint little towns throughout the area and all well worth the visits; Broadway, Stow on the Wold, Bourne on the Water, Moreton-in Marsh, Chipping Camden. Our visits ranged from falconry sites to jewelry making, from roman ruins to castles and palaces. We would love to return to the English countryside and do it all again!

from our family to yours, New Jersey, USA
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

Snowy Cotswald Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We enjoyed a lovely stay at this beautiful home in the Cotswolds. The interior design and appointments brought a smile to everyone in the house. The house and its belongings were clean and neat and well-maintained. We spent our mornings in the kitchen around the farm table and loved seeing the cows and ducks from the window while we discussed our pending plans for the day. We relaxed in the evening in the living room, reading or watching a movie. There was plenty of space for 8 of us to be comfortable throughout the house.
The unexpected snowfall and the coldest spring in 50 years in England just added to the charm. By weeks end, with snow gone, we were riding bikes and sharing lanes with horseback riders. The local pubs and inns were wonderful dining experiences and the residents very friendly. We especially enjoyed the meals at the Fox Inn and Red Lion Inn. There are quaint little towns throughout the area and all well worth the visits; Broadway, Stow on the Wold, Bourne on the Water, Moreton-in Marsh, Chipping Camden. Our visits ranged from falconry sites to jewelry making, from roman ruins to castles and palaces. We would love to return to the English countryside and do it all again!

from our family to yours, New Jersey, USA
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

We love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Fox End is a magical place to stay. The cottage itself is perfect, really comfortable with fantastic gardens (the trampoline is a huge bonus for energetic kids) and peaceful surroundings. We loved the bikes that we could all use and being able to cycle from the front door to the super-friendly local pub for lunch. There are beautiful walks galore in the vicinity, Daylsford for great food, Stratford for rainy days, a national trust property round the corner, pony riding up the road.... This was our second stay and we will be back.
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

breathtaking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed at Fox End over my girls spring break. What a sight this cottage was coming from Missouri. We loved the thatched roof and it was equally beautiful inside and out. My entire family of 7 went and we each had our own bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen was very well equipped and the living and dining rooms were beautiful. My girls aged 8 and 11 enjoyed playing the kinect in the playroom. We really enjoyed bike riding in the morning which were provided and the girls enjoyed playing soccer outside as well. There was a couple pubs that were excellent and a few miles away. The Fox Inn and Greedy Goose were wonderful and the food was great. We took a couple days exploring nearby places like Bourton on the Water and Stow in the Wold. We also took a few days to go to Warwick Castle, Blenheim Palace, Windsor and Hever Castle, Stonehenge and Bath. You are situated where many sites are just a short drive away. If you want a memorable trip and one you won't ever forget I recommend you staying at the Fox End. It's like taking a trip back in history with all the modern conveniences. You will not be disappointed!
Sincerely,
Amy Black
Missouri, USA
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

Cotswold Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We were so anxious to see the cottage after viewing the on-line photos. It did not disappoint! We loved staying at Fox End. The granddaughters enjoyed the play room with x-box and even had Grandma dancing up a storm. The aminities were great, too. You had everything needed and we had several dinner meals on the nice dining table, by candlelight, (which was provided). You don't forget a thing.

I enjoyed going to see the ChastletonHouse, just around the bend. I think it was worth seeing, just wish I would have had time to actually have the time to hear all the tour guide had to say about it.

The girls loved the bikes and one of them wanted to ask if she could buy the ankle boots, she wore when we went fly fishing, near by.

We enjoyed the Red Lion Pub, The Greedy Goose and Fox Inn. Fox Inn had a fantastic steak on their menu.

What memories we made and will always cherish!

If there are any draw backs for people not particularly country folk, there is a dairy across the street. We are past farmer/cattle ranchers, and it brought back fond memories for me.

As far as a tip that would be a positive for those of us who spent so much time sight seeing, a microwave would be a good investment, for use in a hurry.

We have had no regrets renting the cottage. If you are a traveler and want to really experience the Cotswold English countryside, do it right and make great memories for you and your family, book it today!!!!

Thanks for the opportunity to stay in your beautiful, well appointed home.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time at Fox End. Sounds like you did some serious sightseeing! Thanks for the tip on the microwave. We have just bought one for the kitchen.

Kind regards,

Marcus Vere.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

Fantastic Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Fox End was a beautiful place to stay, totally peaceful and quiet, truly shows off the rural part of England. Horses clopped by each morning outside which was so great. The house was perfect in every way. Every amenity you need is there.
There wasn't one detail overlooked, from books, games, information. The house itself is beautiful and relaxing in each room. The beds are all comfortable and showers are great as well. I would highly recommend anyone wanting a get-away from the hectic noise of London, to rent this place for an amazing relaxing time and close to other neat attractions as well.
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
5

Immaculate

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
It is a rare find to rent a house that is kept so beautifully. We wished that we had had more time to just enjoy the house. The kitchen is perfectly charming , with views into the surrounding fields. The appointments of the rooms are all lovely, with a minimalist modern flair, antiques added, and the bathrooms all modern and fitted with the best shower and bath appliances. Really lovely - one did not want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous, large 17th Century Thatched Cottage In The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412435
+44 (0)7956 294326
Chastleton West Oxfordshire
Worthing, West Sussex
5

Fabulous Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Fox End is a charming property, bursting with all the modern luxuries you could wish for, yet remaining full of original features. My family and I stayed for the May half term 2011. We chose the location of this property for its superb access to many of the stunning villages and attractions in the Cotsworld District. The playroom and gardens entertained my children aged 8 & 11, along with my 20 mth nephew. The swing and trampoline were very popular! The whole house is decorated and finished to a very high standard. Beds extremely comfortable, bathrooms are all newly refurbished and very relaxing. Great for pampering yourself in. All around the house you will see beautiful views of the countryside, each window frames its own picture. Even the cows in the meadow next door come up to say hello! On a practical note the house has a very well equiped kitchen and there is also a very useful utility room with washing machine and dryer. The owners have done a fabulous job of making your stay as perfect as possible. You can't help but find yourselves relaxing and unwinding. I would highly reccomend this house and my family and I would not hesitate to return. If you are unsure of where to stay in the Cotsworlds, I am confident you will not be disappointed with Fox End.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3