Berkeley cottage rental - KIWI COTTAGE WITH GARDEN
KIWI COTTAGE WITH GARDEN
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Berkeley Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Bonus Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

WELCOME TO KIWI COTTAGE! All the charm of classic California Bungalow style is enhanced by contemporary interior furnishings by a NY/CA-based furniture designer, and a gorgeous garden setting.

Patio offers golden light in late afternoons/early evenings - a perfect place to unwind and grill dinner. Cozy and clean interior is perfect for much-deserved lazy mornings with a good book and cup of Peet's coffee.

Keetsa organic foam Queen size mattress in master bedroom, natural foam Twin size mattress in EXTRA SLEEPING ROOM. Custom shutters in both rooms for minimum/maximum light.

BONUS: A fantastic, work space for two with use of Epson printer, Wifi, iPod dock.

FABULOUS LOCATION!

Plenty of street parking right in front of your cottage gate.

8 minute walk to BART

1 block walk to UC buses, 10 minute drive to CAL Campus

5 minute drive to 580/80 freeways

See 'Map' of terrific walking neighborhood tips to top-notch dining and shopping.

Keywords: bungalow, garden home, house

Established and well-traveled Bay Area artist who raised 3 kids all educated in the UC system. Now enjoying 3 grand-children and introducing them to the rich diversity of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Tiffany Wheat purchased this cottage in 1970

I purchased this property in the 1970's from the italian family who built and owned it. I love the colorful history of this neighborhood, the proximity to wonderful Bay Area places, and the convenient walkability!

My home and properties reflect my life's work as an artist. I have loved living in my Berkeley neighborhood for the past 40 years. I am pleased to have my daughter's family in Kiwi Cottage during the school year, and to share it with world travelers during the summer!

5 Reviews of Property 412322 in Berkeley, California

Kiwi Cottage: Walking & Bird-Lover's Paradise! Cozy and Modern
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Kiwi Cottage: Walking & Bird-Lover's Paradise! Cozy and Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412322vb
6465843531
Berkeley The Bay Area
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I spent six weeks at Kiwi Cottage and enjoyed every minute of my stay.
The cottage was wonderful: tastefully decorated, with comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, modern appliances, office space, laundry facilities, and, of course, a gorgeous garden.
The location was wonderful: within walking distance of great shops and restaurants, close to public transportation-- getting around was incredibly easy.
Finally, the owners /family were wonderful: interesting, gracious, generous, helpful people. They made my visit to Berkeley an unforgettable pleasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: We are so, so glad that your winter respite was taken at Kiwi Cottage, and that you were comfortable on all fronts. It's inspiring to share our home with traveler's open to adventure and taking in all that Berkeley and the Bay Area has to offer! Very happy that you found Kiwi to be a wonderful home base for your stay. All our best, Sharon, Tiffany and family.
business
Kiwi Cottage: Walking & Bird-Lover's Paradise! Cozy and Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412322vb
6465843531
Berkeley The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lovely with great location!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Thank you for the delightful place to stay (near) San Francisco. We loved it. So convenient. So near our niece whom we were visiting. We walked to her house. Once we learned the walk, we could use the BART with ease - just like the natives! Now that we know where you are, we hope to return. Thanks again for a lovely stay!
business
Kiwi Cottage: Walking & Bird-Lover's Paradise! Cozy and Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412322vb
6465843531
Berkeley The Bay Area
Milford CT
5

Unbelievable Find! Far Surpassed Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I have used VRBO many times and Kiwi Cottage is the first place I have stayed that surpassed my expectations! Not only is it beautiful and cozy but very well appointed. Excellent pots and pans as well as sharp chef's knives. It roomy enough for 3 adults to live comfortably for a month.

It turns out to be a full 2-bedroom but the owners can't bill it as such because the 2nd bedroom has a closet outside the room, rather than inside. It was a charming kids room, which worked well for one adult.

I would be remiss if I didn't express just how delightful Sharon and John are as hosts. From sharing their garden veggies, to some fresh caught salmon to attending to any detail. I was truly sad to leave such a charming home. I was looking for a place that I could call home for a month and found it at Kiwi Cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so, so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Many thanks for the special gift left behind for our granddaughter, and for making Kiwi Cottage's first season so special!
business
Kiwi Cottage: Walking & Bird-Lover's Paradise! Cozy and Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412322vb
6465843531
Berkeley The Bay Area
-
5

Gated Garden Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were looking for a Berkeley comfortable and affordable location to attend a conference at the Edible School Yard and found so much more. The owners were so gracious to share the spoils of their little eden right in walking distance of lovely city. We took advantage of the comfortable garden space for enjoying conversations, wine and yoga. I would highly recommend this house to a couple or family with one child. It is perfectly appointed with everything you will need for a great stay! We would love to come visit again but until then will dream of that garden!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very grateful that Kiwi's guests enjoy the garden as much as we do! We are happy to be able to share it with interesting people and amazing traveler's such as your group that stayed with us this summer. Thanks for making our first season so successful!
business
Kiwi Cottage: Walking & Bird-Lover's Paradise! Cozy and Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p412322vb
6465843531
Berkeley The Bay Area
Atlanta, GA
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I stayed at Kiwi Cottage on a recent visit home to see my parents and it was wonderful! The owner welcomed us with a sweet note and fruit from her garden. She even left bubbles for my young children! The cottage was crisp and comfortable--the perfcet blend of modern and cozy. And it was actually much larger than I thought it would be. We daily sat on the patio enjoying coffee or lunch and looked out over the common garden. We walked to Gilman St. for shops and groceries, down to Picante for Mexican food, and to the nearby park. Kiwi Cottage was the perfect place for our home base!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review - we are so happy that you and your children found comfort in Kiwi Cottage, and fun adventures in our wonderful neighborhood!
Helpful votes: 1/1