Moorea house rental - The main living room area.
The main living room area.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Moorea House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

The only vacation rental in the beautiful surfing village of Teahupoo, this four-bedroom two-bathroom house is ideally located a five-minute walk from the shore break and a two-minute walk to a crystal clear river pool. Surfers can be in the lineup in less than a half an hour by a jog to the point and a quick paddle out. This quiet community is unique in Tahiti both for its laid back surfing atmosphere and for its uncommonly welcoming and traditional Polynesian ambiance.

The artistic wooden house is 1,250 square feet plus a huge 270 square foot deck so you can practically live outdoors. The house is an octagon with an open-air area at its center - a mangosteen tree grows out of the middle and the area brings in lots of light as well as views of the mountains, and at night, the moon.

All the main rooms have teak floors while the bathrooms and kitchen are tiled. The custom made windows and kitchen cabinetry are made from hardwoods and the house is furnished with Bali style teak furniture. The home is designed to catch tropical breezes so it's often noticeably cooler than outside even without air-conditioning.

Over 18 types of fruit grow in the 3/4 acre garden including the usual suspects like mango, papaya, pineapple, passion fruit, banana and lime but also rare species to Polynesia such as giant South American pink pomelos, cinnamon and cocoa.

Hiking trails, kayaking, snorkeling, surfing and swimming are literally right outside the door. One third of a mile from the main road, the house is quiet, far from any traffic and is perfect for children and active families.

Keywords: Tropical villa, bungalow, bungalo, house, house with veranda

More Details
Hide Details

We designed and built the house for our family of four.

I own a pearl farm in the Tuamotus and also shoot photos for NatGeo Creative. My wife Celeste is a travel writer for Lonely Planet guide books. We are currently based in Portland, Oregon USA until our kids (15 and 17) get through high school.

I love to spearfish and surf. I was the president of the local surf club and really enjoyed getting to know the kids and their families who are sprinkled throughout the village.

We raised our kids in our home in Teahupo'o and will forever return for its peace and beauty.

We built our house here because the community is unique in that the people are warm and welcoming to foreigners. The 'End of the Road' has everything we were looking for: tranquility, safety, easy access to the ocean and a river with crystal clear water coming from the mountain.

Unlike other hotels or hostels in the area, ours is the only one that is in the village of Teahupo'o and within easy walking distance of the river, the beach and The Point.

Be sure to wave hello to the friendly neighbors as is the local custom.

8 Reviews of Property 411295 in Moorea, Polynesia

The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 8 reviews
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
Key Largo
5

Total Relaxation. This place is a hidden gem !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Where do I start ? My wife and I arrived after a quick and easy flight from
Los Angeles and rented a car and drove down to this rental. It took us
roughly 1 hour and 15 minutes to get down to Teahupoo and the scenery along
the way so just breathtaking. This house is nestled in front of a beautiful
green lush mountain with a view from the porch of the Pacific Ocean. Its
located in a gated community full of really friendly people and you feel
very safe. The neighbors were extremely nice to us. They even stopped over
to share some of the local food which was really tasty. You are so close to
the ocean you can hear the waves crashing in the distance and after a while
the sound becomes really hypnotizing and puts you in the best mood. Its
really nice to open the windows and sleep to this sound if you choose. There
is a giant porch with table and chairs to have breakfast or dinner, we did
this every morning and started our day off listening to the chirping birds
and other sounds of the animals on the islands. I felt more connected to
nature than I ever have in my life. The house is clean and comfortable and
has everything you need. A kitchen with all the usual appliances, Bathrooms
with hot water, comfortable beds, etc.... The house always stayed cool and
had lots of fans and great ventilation. There was basic Wi-Fi and small
grocery stores only minutes away, or a large grocery store about 25 minutes
away. We ate at some of the local restaurants some nights and other nights
cooked at the house. We had NO complaints about our decision to stay here...

This house really is a Paradise getaway !! We hope to go back again next
year but this time stay a bit longer...
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
Key Largo
5

Total Relaxation ! This place is a true hidden gem !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Where do I start ? My wife and I arrived after a quick and easy flight from
Los Angeles and rented a car and drove down to this rental. It took us
roughly 1 hour and 15 minutes to get down to Teahupoo and the scenery along
the way so just breathtaking. This house is nestled in front of a beautiful
green lush mountain with a view from the porch of the Pacific Ocean. Its
located in a gated community full of really friendly people and you feel
very safe. The neighbors were extremely nice to us. They even stopped over
to share some of the local food which was really tasty. You are so close to
the ocean you can hear the waves crashing in the distance and after a while
the sound becomes really hypnotizing and puts you in the best mood. Its
really nice to open the windows and sleep to this sound if you choose. There
is a giant porch with table and chairs to have breakfast or dinner, we did
this every morning and started our day off listening to the chirping birds
and other sounds of the animals on the islands. I felt more connected to
nature than I ever have in my life. The house is clean and comfortable and
has everything you need. A kitchen with all the usual appliances, Bathrooms
with hot water, comfortable beds, etc.... The house always stayed cool and
had lots of fans and great ventilation. There was basic Wi-Fi and small
grocery stores only minutes away, or a large grocery store about 25 minutes
away. We ate at some of the local restaurants some nights and other nights
cooked at the house. We had NO complaints about our decision to stay here...

This house really is a Paradise getaway !! We hope to go back again next
year but this time stay a bit longer...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The perfect way to spend the day on our honeymoon!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
"My wife and I absolutely loved our time in Teahupoo at Josh's place. It was relaxing, comfortable/clean accommodations, and a nice change-of-scenery and pace from Moorea. We took advantage of the spacious deck by eating dinner outside and passed our time reading in the hammock while taking in the panoramic view of the ocean. The perfect way to spend the day in paradise on our Honeymoon!"
Tyler
San Francisco
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
Virginia Beach
5

Teahupo'O Tahiti paradise

Teahupo'O Tahiti paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Some of the best days of my life. What more can I say? Sitting out on the expansive veranda, overlooking a tropical paradise. A short, scenic walk to a grougeous blue lagoon with fabulous snorkeling. Not to mention the best surfing spot on the planet! Next to a pretty stream that originates on a magical Tahitian mountain. There is public transportation nearby. There are great eating places around the area. Commuting to the other areas around Tahiti provide unforgetable views where mountains meet the sea.

The accomodations are very nice; kitchen quite adequate. The architecture interesting. I'll never forget the Mangosteen tree popping up in the middle of the house in a Roman villa style mini-courtyard.

I highly recommend this place!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
France
5

Charming villa in beautiful seaside village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We loved the Green Room Villa. Beautiful location so near to a mythical surf spot. Tropical rainforest just behind the house. A garden full of fruit and coconuts. In short, a tropical paradise. The house had everything we needed and we really enjoyed the stay. Very calm and peaceful. If you have a car, there are lots of things to do in the area. The owner was very helpful with anything we needed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
Truckee, CA
5

The Green Room Villa was just what the doctor ordered...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The Green Room Villa exceeded my expectations. I was looking for a beautiful location in Teahupoo to wind down after a long stint of work, and The Green Room proved to be ideal. It's safe, private, lush, and serene. With fresh fruit growing on the property, a beautiful view, and a 1 min walk to a safe lagoon that I could snorkel, boogie board, or surf in sealed the deal. If you are an avid traveler that is looking to find a place that is relaxing and off the beaten path, then look no further. I can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
kailua-kona, HI
4

Amazing location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
If you want to experience the magic of Teahupoo, then I highly recommend staying here! This place is nestled back inside the village and you feel like you are in the heart of Tahiti! Such a cool house and location!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
The Green Room Villa: Teahupo'O, Tahiti Vacation Rental.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411295vbi
+1 5038964459
Moorea Polynesia
delaware
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I just wanted to thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home in Teaupoo. The family that tended to the home and grounds were very welcoming. They would even leave fresh cut up fruit from the grounds on the table for us.
The vast front porch was perfect for eating outside and there was always a slight breeze going which made it so comfortable. The open floor plan provided easy cooking while socializing. I can't say enough about the live tree growing thru the roof...just amazing! Thanks again for sharing your paradise island with me.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7