Walpole house rental - Beautiful southern view of Mt. Monadnock
Beautiful southern view of Mt. Monadnock
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Walpole House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2.5 Baths, Hot Tub (Sleeps 10)

A private road leads you up to Four Winds Farm - which sits upon 7 acres in the middle of a 200+ acre working hay farm. Fields and woods surround the south facing house providing you with an amazing view of Mt. Monadnock. Every room has at least one sliding glass door to take advantage of the beautiful views and making the house bright and airy.

On the 1st floor is a large, fully equipped kitchen leading to a dining room on one side, and living room on the other. The cherry dining table comfortably seats 10. Attached to the kitchen is a laundry room with washer/dryer and a half bath.

The north end of the house has a large family room with a wood burning fireplace, built-in bar & bar table, 52' flatscreen TV with a DVR & DVD player and a leather sectional sofa. A large dvd library is provided.

The south-facing living room has a floor-to-ceiling stone wood burning fireplace, a built-in bookcase filled with books & games and a Bose CD player.

The first floor bedroom wing, which can be closed off by a door in order to provide privacy, consists of a bunk room with 2 sets of bunks, a room with 2 twin beds, and a Queen bedroom. Each bedroom has a sliding glass door facing south and its own outdoor seating. At the end of the hall is a full-size bath with a tub/shower and double sinks. A port-a-crib is available for little ones.

The 2nd floor contains the master wing, consisting of a king-size bedroom, en suite bath with a shower and a separate sitting area with a tv/dvd and sliding door leading to a small balcony overlooking the pool.

A patio runs the full length of the bedroom wing and leads to a large wrap-around deck which has direct access to the living room and kitchen through 4 sliding glass doors. There is a gas grill, and wrought iron tables and chairs to seat 10.

There is a large game room in the finished basement. We have a pool table, ping pong table, foosball, darts and a sitting area.

The brand new 20' x 40' in-ground pool is located on the southwest side, providing you with a beautiful sunset view. The fenced-in pool has its own patio area and lounge chairs. Here there is also a separate hot tub, apple trees, a pear tree and blueberry bushes. Since we are the only house on this hill, it is very peaceful and quiet.

The cul de sac driveway provides plenty of parking, along with a 2 car garage. The large basement has a foosball table and a ping pong table.

Keywords: House, Farmhouse

More Details
Hide Details

We moved to Walpole 22 years ago to raise our 4 kids, and just love the area. It's a fantastic location - in the countryside but only 10 minutes to downtown Keene or Walpole. Tons of great restaurants, movie theaters, and wonderful live shows at the Colonial Theater.

Head North 6 miles, and you're in downtown Walpole - one of the most picturesque NE towns. Here you have the award winning Burdicks Chocolates & Cafe for amazing dinners, Murrays for breakfast & lunch, the town common for summertime band concerts & the weekly farmer's market.

3 great golf courses are within 10 miles, and for winter activities, Okemo and Stratton Mtn are both within an hour's drive - excellent family-friendly downhill ski areas. Grafton Ponds has beautifully maintained cross-country ski trails, and if it's a family sledding outing you're searching for, head 12 miles south to Granite Gorge.

We purchased this home because of the location. Located high on a hill on its own road with amazing views of Mt. Monadnock and the surrounding area, every visitor comments on how incredibly peaceful it feels. And the fact that it's midway between 2 lovely towns - Keene & Walpole, and 6.7 miles to Alyson's Orchard, makes it a wonderful place to stay.

Four Winds is private and peaceful yet within 15 minutes of 2 towns. There is plenty of room for kids to run around. People come with plans to visit attractions, and find they love just hanging around the property and relaxing.

13 Reviews of Property 411273 in Walpole, New Hampshire

Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
Belchertown, MA
5

Family Time & Wedding Celebration

Family Time & Wedding Celebration
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This lovely home made a wonderful place for our family to spend time together and celebrate our son's wedding at nearby Alyson's Orchard. It was very clean and comfortable, and there was something for everyone to enjoy, from games, books, ping pong, and the hot tub. The owners were very accommodating and provided us with information on the area. It's in a very peaceful setting and the views are amazing. We would love to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
New York City
5

Had a GREAT TIME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The place was beautiful and the owners Mike and Heidi were extremely nice and accommodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
brooklyn NY
5

Escape from NY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This past weekend some friends and I rented out this house on some pretty amazing property. The view is incredible! The pool is the perfect getaway from the humidity of NYC and the hot tub is great for nights. The owners were very accommodating and even brought over an extra grill because we wanted to grill all weekend for 10 of us. They checked in with us to see if we needed anything or if we had any problems with house - which we didnt - and were overall just very nice. The house is very large and secluded. We spent almost the entire time outside in the yard and didnt see anyone the entire time. Would definitely rent this house again - we had a blast.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
Claremont NH
5

Amazing place to celebrate with family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
In mid-June my family and I were able to celebrate my dads 70th birthday as well as fathers day. My sister and her husband decided to rent this lovely home so we could all enjoy the time together. We had an amazing time at Four Winds! The home is so beautiful and peaceful. To wake up to the sunrise as though it's on your front porch was such a wonderful experience. There was plenty of room for all of us to be together and enough rooms for that needed break for some time alone as well. This would be a lovely place for any event that you want to become a special memory. It was very private but, not too far from local store to do some shopping. I am so glad we chose to make our special memories here at Four Winds.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
Keene, NH/USA
5

A Magnificent Home; the Very Definition of a Hidden Gem!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Earlier this year, a large portion of my family which lives in Florida planned their first-ever vacation to New England to visit me. Naturally, they commissioned me to find a suitable rental for which they were to stay for the week. I spent a good deal of time making calls & visiting websites, anxious to find a property that I felt could meet their satisfaction. I literally was at my wit's end, frustrated with everything I came across whether it had to do with pricing, amenities, location, etc. I had almost given up hope & was going to settle for convincing the family to go to a nearby hotel.

Then I stumbled across this particular website & this particular listing. I must say that in hindsight---and I am not exaggerating--- it was as if this was a gift from Heaven itself.This property is absolutely wonderful!

From the moment I set foot inside it felt like a palace. From the relaxing living room rooms to the cozy dining room to the spacious kitchen to the ultra-comfortable bedrooms to the elegant design, I can honestly say that it was perfect for what my family was looking for. Throw in the gigantic parcel of land surrounding the property, the spectacular views of the mountains as well as the pool, hot tub & grill, and there was no questioning this house had it all. The fact that this property was located close to the big city of Keene was just icing on top of a delicious cake!

And you might ask: well, what did my folks think of this place? They all unanimously congratulated me on a job well-done for finding great deal! In fact, we ended up having a big family cookout that included my wife's family & everyone had such a great time we didn't want to leave. To a person they never uttered a single bad word.

As as extra bonus, the owners were especially gracious & courteous in their hospitality. The place exceeded any & all expectations I could have possibly imagined thanks to them.

I strongly suggest to anybody out there looking for a rental that will make you feel like home away from home with a price that will give you more bang for your buck than anything else out there, to please check out this sparkling home. You won't regret it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
Berkeley, CA
5

Family Trip to a Wedding in Walpole

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful, relaxing time at Four Winds Farm! Our family of five had never been to New Hampshire and we were invited to a family wedding in Walpole. We found this property on VRBO and shared it with my brother and sister in law a their two adult daughters. So there was a total of 6 adults and 3 kids/teens and we all had plenty of room. First of all the landscape and the surroundings are beautiful. It was so peaceful and lovely. The whole family gathered around the pool and we cooked big meals every night in the spacious kitchen. With the 3 bathrooms there was plenty of bathroom space for everyone to use which came in handy when we were all getting ready for the wedding. The house is very clean and new feeling and the kitchen is well equipped. It was a great place to stay and I would recommend it highly for families with kids and adults of all ages.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed Four Winds! We hope to see you back in NH some day. Thank you.
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
New York
5

Great place with nice views and skiing too!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We were very comfortable and warm in this beautiful house. After skiing at Okemo for the day, it was great to sit by the fire and then have a glass of wine and look out at the stars in the hot tub. It was a pleasure to cook in the gourmet kitchen. The owners were very nice and we look forward to doing this again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
San Diego CA
5

Great place to relax with the family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We flew out from CA to meet up with my entire family from ME, MA and VT. It was a nice central location for all of the East Coast families to meet. There were 10 of us all together, including children (ages 3-6). We had a wonderful time, there was plenty of room for all of us to comfortably be together or be separate and enough privacy for people to go to bed early or late and not disturb others.
The saltwater pool was amazing and it was great to have the fence around it so the little ones could not get in themselves. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. The house and property were clean and homey and we had an amazing time! We hope to return again for our next family gathering. I highly recommend Four Winds to anyone looking for a comfortable vacation with a large diverse group.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are pleased the property worked so well for your reunion. We enjoyed meeting your families, and hope to see you again some day!
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
Reading, MA
5

50th Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My high school girlfriends and I were looking for a place to celebrate our collective 50th birthdays. We landed on the perfect spot with this house!! We had all the amenities we could hope for - - state of the art kitchen for a home cooked meal, two fireplaces, plenty of spaces for us to gather either collectively or by ourselves. We journeyed to nearby Mt Monadnock and had a gorgeous hike. After our hike we enjoyed/relaxed in the outdoor hot tub as we gazed at a star filled sky. Every room of the house has a beautiful view. We also enjoyed a trip to Keene to check out a little shopping/dining. This is a great house, I would highly recommend checking it out if you are looking for a spacious house with attention to detail to ensure a comfortable stay. We are all planning to return with other friends/family. The owners were gracious and wanted to be sure we had everything we needed for our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Privacy, ~In~-Ground Pool & Gorgeous Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411273vbi
603 756-3108
Walpole Monadnock Region
St. Louis Missouri
5

Wonderful home outside Walpole

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent the Labor Day weekend at this great home ouside Walpole. It was better than the listing or pictures described. We were in the area for a wedding and this home gave us a wonderful place to relax with family, swim, hot tub, and enjoy the view of Mt. Monadnock. The owners were very gracious and provided a clean, well supplied property and with all the amenities we needed. The home is located between Walpole and Keene on rather rural roads....more difficult driving at night, but that did not cause a problem. I would recommend this stay to anyone who wants to kick back and relax, take in the surrounding scenery and local attractions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway