Puerto Jimenez house rental - Pelican House at dusk
Pelican House at dusk
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Puerto Jimenez House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Pelican House is situated on the Osa Peninsula, an area of Costa Rica that has remained remarkably untouched – a nature-lover’s paradise. We are right on the water, very private and romantic. When you walk the beach, you'll feel that you’ve been dropped on a deserted island. Pelican House offers uninterrupted ocean views from every room, the gentle lull of the surf day and night, and a calm, warm ocean just steps away. The house is open and airy, with floor to ceiling louvered doors, and a soaring cathedral ceiling. Wild parrots, scarlet macaws and howler monkeys are the first sounds of the morning. You’ll awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Gulfo Dulce (Sweet Gulf)... and then you'll have to choose from the endless beauty and fun that the Osa has to offer. Of course, you can always opt to stay home and nap in the hammock between dips in the ocean...

Low-impact...Living Off The Grid: We believe in living lightly and are off the grid, completely solar-powered – even the fridge. There are ceiling fans to stir the air in the heat of the day, ocean breezes to keep it fresh at night, and screens on all the beautiful louvered doors. Our kitchen is open, airy and fully equipped. Each of the two spacious bedrooms has a stunning ocean view.

It’s a perfect setting for a honeymoon – beautiful, romantic and private. It’s also perfect for a small family or two couples. The bedrooms and two private baths are separated by a large, open great room. On the best beach in the Osa - Pelican House is great for kids (and great without them!)...

It's perfect for adventurers - or hammock potatoes: A beautiful, pristine beach is steps away. World-famous Corcovado Park is only a short drive, as are a few of the world’s most celebrated ecolodges. Hire a guide and tour the park, take a zip line through the canopy, sign up for a dolphin tour, take surf lesson, or hire a private boat to carry you to the wildlife rescue center across the Gulf. Here you can meet many of the Osa’s unique animals: howler monkeys, toucans, scarlet macaws… Or just veg at the house and swim between naps in the hammock. The beach is sandy, and the water is warm and gentle. The bird watching from our deck is great: scarlet macaws and flocks of parrots regularly grace the sky, while kites and local hawks hunt for prey in the nearby pastures. Because we are completely solar-powered, you can feel good (or at least better) about your carbon footprint!

Utterly Private - but convenient: Although remarkably private, we are only 10 minutes from the small town of Puerto Jimenez where you’ll find a vibrant community, choice of grocery stores, a handful of good restaurants and even internet cafes. We love walking 25 minutes down the deserted beach to The Pearl of the Osa restaurant to enjoy a first-class meal! You can rent a car in town, rent bicycles or simply take taxis when needed

Keywords: paradise, osa, nature, romantic, ocean front, costa rica, honeymoon, vacation, holiday, ideal holiday, Puerto Jimenez, villa, private, green, solar, environmentally friendly

More Details
Hide Details

I am a wildlife filmmaker and Jim is an artist (he designed Pelican House). When we vacationed on the Osa 7 years ago, it was love at first sight!

We live on Cape Cod when we're not in Costa Rica. We care deeply about the natural world and doing all we can to protect it.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

The Osa is still untouched. It is a nature-lover's paradise.

We love to unplug and settle into our natural surroundings. We love to cook our meals at home and swim at least once a day. Watching wildlife is always a favorite pastime. It's a great place to read and write. Quiet and inspiring.

9 Reviews of Property 411092 in Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica

Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
5

Costa Rica holidays on the beach and at the door of the jungle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We've enjoyed the house for 10 nights - it is a paradise - the nature, the beach, the comfort of the house and the best caretaker - Rafa. The place is perfect to go all around the Osa: the national park, Puerto Jimenez, and Drake. (if you have a 4 Wheels).
The house is open - just the nature around - so well designed - everything you need, even some fruits available in the garden: pineapple, coconut,...
Thanks to the owners!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
United States
5

Blissfully remote family destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
At risk of tipping other travelers off to one of our favorite places in the world, we are in love with this home, the location and especially the caretakers who have become good friends. We first stayed at Pelican House when our son was just shy of three years old (and again when he was almost four) and we had the most wonderful time. The beach is close and generally kid-friendly with lots of sand to play in and waves that aren’t too big. The house is spacious and comfortable. And we adore caretaker Rafa, his wife Yorly and their daughter Suyen, who is a year older than our son. They are big-hearted people who welcomed us with kindness and open arms as they looked after us and the house. responsive to our questions during planning. The town of Puerto Jiminez is close enough to be convenient for picking up groceries, diapers and ice cream, necessities at the drug store, or a bite to eat at one of the restaurants. But we completely disconnect from Internet and connection to the outside world when we’re down there, which is a wonderful thing. Our favorite excursions from the house have included: The spectacular beaches and fun surfing waves at Matapalo, hiking into Corcovado national park, and driving over to Drake Bay for a day of hiking and swimming from beach to beach. We also love just meandering down to the beach for a morning or evening swim, saying hi to the iguanas, and watching the howler monkeys swing in the trees near the house. We can’t recommend enough this part of the world and particularly this house. It really is paradise. We plan to return again and again – next time with our new son, who was too little to travel with this winter.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Ohio
5

In the Garden of Eden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed at the Pelican House for a week with another couple. Both couples were celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary. The house is a comfortable, secluded oasis, with a setting that is tranquil and restful but relatively convenient to town via taxi. The property seems to be on a superhighway for the birds, who travel towards the water in the morning and back to land in the evening. Many birds also stop over in the small lagoon behind the house so you get a closer look at some amazingly colorful species. Allison and Jim--assuredly with Rafa's help--have planted a yardful of fruit and flowering trees that probably are productive year round. We enjoyed lemonade every day along with some starfruit. Rafa brought us some yucca roots and coconuts, one of the many extra efforts he made to help us enjoy our stay. The beach, as others have described, is easily accessed and always quiet. We planned 3-4 major excursions into the region--the biodiversity of the Peninsula may be unmatched elsewhere in the world, and sitting in a boat in a swirl of 200 dolphins was an amazing experience--but found that we equally enjoyed sitting on the beach or resting in a hammock with a cool very fresh lemonade and a pair of binoculars. The Osa Peninsula is not a highly developed area filled with resorts catering to every physical need. The Peninsula is for those who seek wildlife and the beauty of nature, and staying at the Pelican House allows you to fulfill your sense of adventure and still enjoy comfort with very minimal impact on the pristine ecology of the Osa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Wellington, New Zealand
5

Beautiful Pelican House - highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed here in December 2011 and felt thoroughly spoiled! It's such a
beautiful place, an easy walk to the beach and a short ride to Jimenez
township.
The accommodation itself is private, ecologically friendly and in keeping with
its natural surroundings, yet provides luxurious living. Our stay was further
enhanced by Rafa, the property manager who lives on site (in a separate
dwelling away from the main house) - he could not have been more helpful :-)
We recommend Pelican House to anyone heading to Osa.
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our special place! You are welcome back anytime!!
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Wellington, New Zealand
5

A beautiful stay in Osa - high recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed here in December 2011 and felt thoroughly spoiled! It's such a beautiful place, an easy walk to the beach and a short ride to Jimenez township.

The accommodation itself is private, ecologically friendly and in keeping with its natural surroundings, yet provides luxurious living. Our stay was further enhanced by Rafa, the property manager who lives on site (in a separate dwelling away from the main house) - he could not have been more helpful :-)

We recommend Pelican House to anyone heading to Osa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Yarmouth MA
5

Tropical Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My wife and I had a fantastic week at Pelican House this winter. Everything about it was perfect: the house is open and elegant, the kitchen is great for cooking, there are plenty of comfortable hammocks, and the ocean is calm and beautiful. The best part of it for us was that it is utterly private. The scarlet macaws and parrots were our only neighbors. It was our anniversary, and this was exactly what we wanted. We swam three times a day, took long walks on the beautiful, deserted beach, watched the monkeys and birds, cooked and read. Rafa, the caretaker, is a wonderful human being. He lives on the premises and is there if you need him, but never imposing. We’re already planning our return visit to Pelican House!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
Needham, ma
5

Great home in the Osa for family of five.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We are a family of five and loved having our own pace in the Osa, let our hair down and let the moment dictate the agenda. Explored all iver the Osa but loved the Pelican House and its beach the most, an easy place to launch from too. Spent alot of comfortable house time playing cards, Swinging in hammocks, exploring the grounds, making fruit smoothies and chillaxing. And Rafa the caretaker is an awesome person, its a great property, and the architecture & clean design are terrific.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
5

unplug and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
If you're looking for a romantic getaway, or just a place off the beaten path for a quiet, relaxing week away, you can't do better than Pelican House. Located about five kilometers south of Puerto Jimenez, the house is a just far enough away from town that you don't see or hear any neighbors (except the monkeys)! Every room looks out at the tranquil blue waters of the Gulfo Dulce, and the sound of the waves crashing is a constant soundtrack for your visit.

As far as the amenities are concerned, the house is fully-functional. The water is safe to drink (all four of our party drank it for two weeks with no ill effects), the kitchen is plenty usable for cooking elaborate meals, and there's even a blender for making daiquiries and margaritas (make sure to buy your booze at the airport's duty free, though...it's absurdly expensive to buy locally)!

It's a short walk to the beach, which you will have to yourself most of the time. Sometimes local workers will drive down to enjoy the scenery during their lunch hours, but with that exception the beach will almost always be yours alone!

My wife and I spent two weeks with another couple at Pelican House, and we had a fantastic experience. The house is the perfect size for a two-couple getaway. Bedrooms (with separate half-baths) at opposite ends of the house ensure that you can get privacy when you need it. There is a lot to do in the nearby area, but with the beach so close and the continual allure of Pelican House's many hammocks, couches, and rocking chairs, you may find it hard to leave the property. I know we did!

If all that solitude sounds frightening, don't stress: Puerto Jimenez is only a ten-minute drive away, and it's got a handful of really great restaurants. Personal favorites of our group were the Il Giardino and Corcovado Marisqueria, which are right next door to each other down along the water front. If you'd prefer to walk to a restaurant, the Pearl of the Osa is just a half-hour stroll down the beach.

Lastly, there's Rafa, the caretaker and groundskeeper of Pelican House. It's difficult to explain just how wonderful Rafa is, but you will be grateful for his presence. He's always nearby if you need him, but he is great at keeping out of the way and leaving you your privacy. If you take the time to seek him out, you will be rewarded with a kind and gentle spirit. He doesn't speak English, but he has an uncanny way of making himself understood.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Awesome Oceanfront--Romantic!! Feb/Mar Avail (due to cancellation)!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p411092vb
508-240-1955
Puerto Jimenez Puntarenas
5

Very Special

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Pelican House was far beyond our expectations. The house was so incredibly comfortable. We will never forget the sound of crashing waves while swinging in the hammocks. If you are looking for a peace, this is a great destination. My boyfriend and I stayed for two weeks! We would swim and surf in the morning and then head back to the house for some hammock time- napping and reading. The kitchen is a fully-functioning kitchen. We had no trouble whipping up our meals. But the local restaurants were a lot of fun too. Puerto Jimenez is a great little town but the house and it's associated property is just stunning. Very clean. The property manager (Rafa) was so charming and sweet. We definitely hope to return to the Osa and stay at the Pelican House again.