Beara Peninsula (Cork) house rental - One section of the stunning view from our house - Bere Island, the Atlantic and Mizen Head .
One section of the stunning view from our house - Bere Island, the Atlantic and Mizen Head .
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Beara Peninsula (Cork) House Rental Photos and Description
This house enjoys panoramic views of Bear Island, Bantry Bay and the Atlantic

Our house is called 'DOMHAIN EILE' which is the Gaelic for 'another world' and that's just what it is !

PANORAMIC VIEWS - The house is bright and spacious with beautiful contemporary styling throughout. The house enjoys SPECTACULAR views of Bear Island and it's lighthouse, the Atlantic and Bantry Bay. . N.B. Please review the photographs provided to see the breathtaking views and sheer beauty of this location.

HIGH SATISFACTION RATINGS - We invite you to read the reviews of previous very happy guests - 'Domhain Eile' is a stunning house and location for your holiday but don't just take our word for it !

The local area : The rugged and unspoiled Beara Penninsula in South West Cork is often described as one of the most untamed and beautiful parts of Ireland. 'Domhain Eile' provides an opportunity to experience this lovely part of Ireland . This is a fantastic house with superb facilities , stunning views and in a unique and special part of Ireland .

The house is 1.5 miles from the fishing port of Castletownbere (well served with supermarket, restaurants and pubs) and is on the famous Beara Walking and Cycling Trail. There are a couple of good restaurants in Castletownbere - The Olde Bakery and Cottage Heights serving a selection of fresh local fish but with a varied menu. A bit further away in Glengarriff there are several restaurants ranging from fine dining to casual bar food. Kenmare is famous for it's gastronomic delights and is teeming with superb restaurants.

Local life: Although it is a small town, Castletownbere is the largest white fish port in Ireland and is a bustling workin

Golfing: There are three golf course's in the immediate area (caveat - the author is not herself a golfer!) There is Bantry Bay Golf Club which is open to visitors and is a Christy O'Connor Junior designed course and I am told there are stunning views across the bay at many of the holes. There is another golf course at Glengarriff which is a 9 hole park land course with terrific views across Glengarrif Harbour. The Club President is none other than the former film actress Maureen O'Hara who lives locally. There is a links course in Castletownbere itself and at least 2 other courses within 20 km of Glengarriff. Enjoy your golf!

Capacity: Although 'Domhain Eile' is advertised as a house for 8 people there is capacity for up to 10 persons so the house could suit two families. There is an extra table in the Lounge area which will seat 4 persons and the dining room table will seat 8. There is comfy seating throughout the house to include an example of the 'Beara Chair' and footstool which can be used outside if the weather permits. This is a great house for children - they will love exploring it and will have lots of room to play indoors and outdoors.

Broadband - wireless broadband available for the use of guests for a small additional charge per week.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 410633 in Beara Peninsula (Cork), Ireland

'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Cheshire, UK
5

Second visit .... Just as fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We said we'd be back....... and once again the house and area were everything we could have wanted. If you want a real get away from it holiday, this is the place, with the added benefit with a small town minutes drive away. Scenic drives, picturesque towns and villages, walks for all levels with stunning views, friendly people, fantastic food, not as expensive as everyone seems to think and a comfortable well equipped house to relax in....... already planning dates for our return next year
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

...One of the best holidays we've had !

...One of the best holidays we've had !
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What can I say......... fantastic, superb, amazing, our stay is one of the best holidays we've had. "Domhain Eile" and the area has left an indelible footprint on us, relaxing in such a fantastically situated house, with views that we never tired of getting lost in...... it was all we could do some days to make the effort to go out. The rugged beauty of the area was totally stunning, we explored so much around the Penninsula, from coastal walks to single track mountain roads.
We felt instantly at home, everyone we met was so friendly and willing to help.
I am so very glad that we found your beautiful property and hope that you continue to make it available for holiday makers to enjoy and of course we do plan to return :)

Couple from England ( who took the house for the entire month of September)
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Penticton, British Columbia
5

Wonderful Irish Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We enjoyed our stay in Domhain Eile tremendously!! The home was clean and well-maintained - the caretaker met us upon arrival and showed us how everything worked. When we had to call her regarding the internet she came over immediately and fixed it for us. We were so thankful to have such a beautiful and well-stocked kitchen that we ate in almost every night and then enjoyed a cozy evening reading by the fireplace. The Beara Peninsula was stunning and we took every opportunity to walk on the Beara Walking Trails. Thank-you Cora and Laura for a wonderful relaxing week!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

What a wonderful house !

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
What a wonderful house - a peaceful place ... the point of view is amazing. We'll never forget it. We feel so good that we don't want to leave this place. A big applause to Laura for her efficiency and her availability. The Beara Penninsula is superb - so wild and the Irish people are very nice.

French Family of 3
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
5

Get away from it all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed for a family holiday in early August 2011, the house is excellent with beautiful views of castletownbere, and the owner and her local representative were very helpful. This part of West Cork is away from the main tourist trail and so is very much unspoilt and if you want a holiday to get away from it all and an extremely nice house to stay in this is the place for you.
We had a great time and will be back again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

One of the most beautiful places on the planet !

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
"Your house is absolutely beautiful and so comfortable. I love the decor and what a view ! It must be awfully difficult to leave . The Beara penninsula has to be one of the wildest and most beautiful places on the planet ! "
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
California, USA
5

Our stay in Another World

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We had a wonderful short stay at the end of September. The town of Castletownbere is charming, the Ring of Beare challenging to drive and well worth the effort, especially the Healy Pass. The wonderful accommodations of the house make for a relaxing visit in the countryside. It was clean, well furnished and quiet, with great views of Bantry Bay. A garden rabbit visited us each morning. The fresh seafood at Murphy's was well prepared and promptly served. The 30 minute drive to Glenfarriff seemed to get shorter each time we made the journey and the sweaters we purchased in town get noticed by all our friends. Laura was prompt on our arrival, showed us the house, all the features and was there to see us off. Warm towels in the bathrooms, fluffy duvets on the beds and well appointed kitchen made for a stay we'll remember forever.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
53320 LOIRON FRANCE
5

Excellente appréciation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Maison confortable et idéalement située pour une découverte de la péninsule de Beara
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Kilkenny, Ireland
5

Fabulous Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
A beautiful holiday home on a beautiful penninsula - it doesn't come any better than this. We have just completed a week's holiday here. Domhain Eile is everything one expects of a first class holiday home and more! With a family of 4 children aged 2/12 to 11, the house was very well equiped with kids games, puzzles and DVDs, and being spacious, was very suited to giving everyone their own space and time. It has superb views out over Bere Island and its lighthouse. It is equipped to a very high standard, meeting all the possible needs of a family on holiday. The outstanding natural beauty of the area will complete a perfectly relaxing holiday for all. We enjoyed our holiday so much in Domhain Eile that I have already rebooked it for 2 weeks in July 2011. In reality, that counts for more than all the words I have just written.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Domhain Eile' - luxury house - the stunning views are breath taking !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410633
+353 872393320
Beara Peninsula (Cork) County Cork
Auvelais, Belgium
5

Marvellous flowerish views !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Irish people met are very friendly, thanks Laura ! The ways are beautifull and flowerish, very clean. The house is very spacious, cosy and more than well fitted out ! But a car is needed.
We liked visiting Kenmare, and passing time at Twomey's ivy bar for an irish set dancing !
We absolutely recommand this location !
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3