Dominical house rental - Paradise in the jungle - ocean view at 1000 ft. looking due west from pool patio
Paradise in the jungle - ocean view at 1000 ft. looking due west from pool patio
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Dominical House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Casa de los Sueños is a 3 bedroom/2 bath home on 13 very private, quiet and secluded acres nestled beside a rainforest reserve in the Escaleras Mountains. The property offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. View year round breath taking sunsets over the ocean from two of the three bedrooms, the great room and pool patio, since the back of the house faces due west. The house sits 1000 feet above sea level and is surrounded by lush rainforest and tropical gardens. Much of the terrain was reforested with native Costa Rican hardwoods, and fruit and flowering trees. There are ample opportunities to spot wildlife on the property such as toucans, white faced-monkeys, howler monkeys, coati, two- toed sloths, the rare ant-eater and the stunning morpho butterfly.

The property has its own private “above the rainforest canopy” observation platform 100 feet above the jungle floor in a majestic Ceiba tree with a girth of around 35 feet at its base and about 12 feet at the level of the platform. The ancient Maya of Central America believed that a great Ceiba tree stood at the center of the earth, connecting the terrestrial world to the spirit world above. The platform can be reached by single rope climbing technique with a hired professional guide. The guide will train you with the skills you will need for this amazing, rewarding and fun activity. Arrangements can be made at the time of reservation for your private platform climbing adventure tour.

The three bedrooms are air conditioned and will comfortably sleep six. The great room includes the dining room, living room, a fully equipped kitchen, and wet bar. A laundry room with washing machine and dryer is located off the kitchen. The house has all new furnishings, Satellite TV service, WiFi internet service, DVD and CD players. The master bedroom suite has a king size bed and sliding glass doors to the pool and patio. It also has a large bathroom with shower and a Jacuzzi bathtub. Another full bathroom is conveniently located between the other two bedrooms, one with queen bed and the other with two twin beds. Housekeeping service is provided once a week, as well as a full time caretaker/gardener six days a week. There is also a large gate at the entrance to the property.

The house is less than 4 kilometers south of the village of Dominical. Located in a very unique region of Costa Rica where the mountains meet the sea, Casa de los Sueños is about 2 kilometers up into the Escaleras Mountains. Therefore, a four-wheel drive vehicle is recommended.

Whether you choose to go tree climbing or enjoy the many activities available in the area, you will certainly not be disappointed with your stay at Casa de los Sueños.

Keywords: Jungle, house, villa, private, secure, quiet, family compound, ocean view, mountain, tree climb, observation platform, infinity pool, abundant wildlife, fruit and flowering trees, hardwood trees

More Details
Hide Details

Jim and Tracy live in southern Massachusetts. Jim is a small business owner and Tracy is an artist. Some of her works are on display in the house. Casa de los Sueños is professionally operated and maintained by Costa Ballena Management (CBM), the premier property management company in the area.

Once a reservation is established with us, you will be working with Massi and Adriano from CBM to complete all the remaining details of the rental arrangement including; payments, deposits, check-in and check-out. CBM also offers concierge services to facilitate any additional sightseeing or adventure tours requested.

Tracy purchased this house in 2002

15 Reviews of Property 410630 in Dominical, Costa Rica

Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
5

First Class - Stunning Views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We rented this home for a week with our two teenage boys. I wish I could have stayed another week. Everything about the house was perfect. Lovely decorations, immaculate, well stocked kitchen with everything you need for a very enjoyable stay. Free wake-up calls in the morning via howler monkeys, parrots and toucans! The basket of goodies provided was a nice surprise as well. We appreciated the beach chairs, boogie boards, beach towels and cooler. We would spend our early afternoons at the beach or other excursion, only to return to the house to spend some pool time and watch the incredible sunsets each evening. No need to go anywhere else for a sunset view. Everything you need is located within 5-10 driving minutes of the house. There is fresh fruit and vegetables at the bottom of the hill (which after a few drives up and down became no big deal) - La Macha for fresh fish. Dominical is the coolest little beach town around. If you are into resorts and casinos, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a laid back, peaceful "local" experience, this is the place. We enjoyed the fact that you couldn't see a neighboring house - it was very private, yet we felt very safe. I would highly recommend staying at this house. Massi and Gerardo were very helpful and responsive via email. We didn't have cell phone service (we didn't purchase a Costa Rican plan for our phones), but felt that using the WiFi with email was sufficient.
Overall, exceeded my expectations.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed Casa de los Sueños. We are also glad that you enjoyed many of the activities and beaches that the area offers. Thank you for noticing the great work that Costa Ballena Management does for us, we pride ourselves on always being able to deliver a high level of service to our renters. Thank you again and we hope that you will be able to return to Casa de los Sueños some day.
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Montreal
2

Great view but secluded and removed - snake in house!!!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Unfortunately our experience was quite different than that described in other reviews.
The correspondence was excellent before we arrived, however once we arrived other than for booking tours our emails and phone calls were not answered. The property was 15 minutes off the main road up a steep dirt road. We were traveling with young children so had questions about where to buy groceries, milk etc which were not answered for more than 2 days. Unfortunately, we were not greeted with the fruit baskets, coffees etc that seem to be mentioned in other reviews. There is no information book in the house with this kind of information. Finally after sending numerous emails about this we received a response the evening before we left.
Early in the morning, one of my kids woke up to a snake crawling below his bed. The snake had crawled under the front door as there is a space between the door and the floor.
I recognize that we are in the jungle and really appreciate Costa Rica for this, but prefer for the jungle to be outside of the house. Traveling with young children we were uncomfortable and worried for the duration of outstay. The person we were supposed to call with enquiries did not answer nor did he call back(apparently he only speaks Spanish and did not understand the message we left).
The owner did not address any of these issues when they were brought up.
This may be suitable for people who do not have such young children and who do not mind being isolated knowing the support may be mediocre.
The one thing I do appreciate is tegu bought a pack'n play to help accommodate our sleeping arrangements.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Casa de los Sueños. We take all our renters feedback seriously, so I want to respond in detail.
To begin, the title of your review implies that you were surprised that the house was “secluded and removed”. The very first sentence on this web site describing the house clearly states that “Casa de los Sueños is a 3 bedroom/2 bath home on 13 very private, quiet and secluded acres nestled beside a rainforest reserve in the Escaleras Mountains.” All our marketing highlights the house’s private secluded setting. CDLS is exactly 2.5 km from the main coast road, about a 5 minute drive on a well maintained gravel mountain road.
As you mentioned, communications before your trip were excellent and our track record over the years has been that the same level of excellent communications has been maintained throughout a renter’s stay. I am confused about your comments because I did not receive any emails from you until after your stay and our property managers, who are both very fluent in English, answered your emails when they were received. We do acknowledge, however, that the internet service in our area of CR can be problematic at times.
Because of its added cost, a complimentary food basket is only provided to rentals of 7 nights or more. It was cost prohibitive to offer you the basket, especially since you were afforded a very generous discount for your 3 night stay.
Regarding the small snake found in a bedroom, it is impossible to perfectly seal all the doors and windows in CR from intrusion from insects and small reptiles, especially in jungle locations. The gap under the front door is extremely small and this was the first time in 11 years that such an intrusion has been reported.
Finally, I am glad you appreciated the pack’n play we purchased for you because one of our property managers made the 2 hour plus round trip to San Isidro to buy it prior to your arrival. It was yet another example of the lengths we are willing to go to make our renter’s experience at CDLS the very best possible.
Again I’m sorry your short stay at CDLS was not an enjoyable one.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Beautiful home with great ocean view.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is our first trip to CR and we have had quite the adventure! The house has been a wonderful place to relax and recharge with the beautiful pool. The staff has been so great and responded to all of our needs. It was a life saver having the fruit basket and coffee upon arrival because we came in after dark and did not stop at the store.

The house is very clean with lots of beach towels and other necessary things that make it easy to make trips to the beach.

We will rent this house again when we come back to CR.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. We feel very fortunate to have a great staff for Casa de los Sueños, they have been very helpful in maintaining and keeping our home in it's best shape possible. Since many of our guests do arrive after dark and many are unfamiliar with the area, we like to provide a gift basket of food and beverages. We hope that you will one day return to Casa de los Sueños and enjoy another adventure, thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Pure Vida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Loved everything about our vacation home. The entire staff was terrific to work with. The views were spectacular! Loved lounging in and around the infinity pool before and after exploring the beauty of CR. Ideal set up for 3 couples. We saw toucans, sloth and howler monkeys from the yard, what a treat! The property is in a great location to visit key areas of Southern Costa Rica. We all loved our stay and highly recommend Casa de la Sueno
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we are so happy that you and your group had a great time staying at Casa de los Sueños. It is also special that you were able to see toucans, Howler monkeys and a sloth. The sloths visit the Guarumo tree near the pool patio, they like to eat the lowers when they are blooming. Jim and I hope that some day you will come back to visit Costa Rica and stay in our home. Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Just the right balance of elegance, comfort, wildlife and nature…perfecto.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our December visit was the fourth stay at this super comfortable house in Escaleras, looking out over the pacific above Costa Ballena National Park. We had howler and capuchin monkeys on the doorstep, tree frogs, geckos, whiptail lizards, morpho butterflies, a green parrot snake (non venomous), parrots, toucans and a choir of other birds to keep us amused in between dips in the crystal clear pool and outings to the beach, ocean, Baru nature reserve etc. This is a perfect location to enjoy the South Pacific region which is the most unspoilt and verdant area of CR. Maintenance and cleaning is top notch, comfortable furnishings and beds, good bedroom AC, beautiful old growth jungle at the back of the property. Great supermarket down the road in Uvita, gourmet restaurants in Ojochal, swimming beach at Pinuela, snorkelling at Uvita ("the whale's tale"), beer and wings at the Jolly Rodger pub 10 minutes (4x4) drive away (in season). Cant recommend this place enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being a return renter, we appreciate your business and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Jim & I, the management company, the concierge, the caretaker and the cleaning crew work hard in hopes that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you again and I hope that you will one day return to our home should you decide on another Costa Rican visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Detroit
5

All That was Promised ... and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We (6 people total - Myself, wife, our two children - 6 and 7 yrs old, my brother and my neice) traveled to Costa Rica for 9 days. We stay at Casa De Los Suenos for 4 days at the end of our trip, and it was the most incredible place we stayed on our trip (not to take anything away from the other places we stayed - as they we also both fantastic!). Prior to our arrival Tracy, Massi, and Silvia did everything to make us feel welcome and to schedule our time in Dominical. When we arrived at the house we were just amazed at how beautiful the house, grounds and view were (even the kids commented on how beautiful the pool was and they started swimming at 6:00am evey morning!). The pictures posted on VRBO are accurate and the house is really that beautiful - so beautiful in fact that it would be entirely possible to just stay at the house and relax for weeks! The house (pool and grounds) are very clean and comfortable. There were no bugs worth mentioning (incredible for being in the middle of the jungle !). Monkeys are visible from the pool and are fun to just listen to as they yell to/at each other.

Tracy was fantastic to communicate with before we arrived in Costa Rica, and even when we were at the house (through email she responded immediately to assist us with special requests we had). Also, Massi was helpful with directions prior to arrival, and Silvia was fantastic with helping us schedule activities before our arrival and also after our arrival for last minute activities. Nothing fell through the cracks and they were always easy and enjoyable to deal with.

A car is a must (I feel that way when traveling anywhere in Costa Rica - as it is a great experience to drive there - GPS is very helpful). The market in Uvita - a bit to the south, is very good. The house is stocked with all of the cooking supplies you need. The restuarant Como No has a great view, tide pools, great staff, and expensive pizza (but very good!).


Thanks again Tracy for sharing your house with us! We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The wildlife in Costa Rica is amazing and it's nice to hear that you and your family were able to see and hear the monkeys from the pool. We are fortunate that they do come near our house often with the jungle situated nearby. I am glad that you felt that Massi was helpful with his directions and also happy that you contacted Silvia for help with scheduling your activities. She is local and knows the area very well. Thank you for staying at Casa de los Sueños and we do hope that you and your family will return someday!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Prince George B.C. Canada
5

Missing the perfect sunsets!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My wife and I arrived in the mid afternoon. It was a wonderful warm sunny day. As soon as we arrived on the property we were amazed. The grounds are kept perfectly, and the house was very clean. There were even towels neatly laid out by the poolside for us. The layout of the house itself is amazing. Everything needed to make cooking easy as far as utensils, pots, pans, and bowls (More importantly a corkscrew and wine glasses.) were there and easy to find.

During our stay we were fortunate enough to be visited by monkeys and toucans. There are lots of small lizards to keep you entertained while lounging by the pool even the odd tarantula and scorpion if you dare to head out at night armed with a flashlight. There is no need to go anywhere to watch the sunset. the evening views are very intense.

As far as activities go we were occupied. There are so many local attractions it was almost hard to decide what to do for the day. Go surfing, visit a park or reserve, go fishing, stay around the house and watch wildlife or sit by the pool and enjoy the sun. We did not make it to the Poza Azul swimming hole until our last day, but it is a great spot to cool off in the afternoons.

The only downside is that we had to leave.

Thank you very very much for maintaining such a beautiful and relaxing place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time on your stay in Costa Rica. The sun alway sets over the Pacific in front of our house and dry season is the best time of year for viewing beautiful, brilliant orange sunsets. It's nice that you were able to visit the waterfall on your last day, it is 'an oasis' for cooling off after hiking or other activities. We hope you will someday return to Costa Rica to enjoy more of the activities offered in the area. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Canada
5

Miss it Already!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a wonderful experience at your home during our 2 week stay there. We could not have asked for a better home, a better pool, a better view or better weather! The directions to the house were very good, though we did have the help of a GPS to Dominical, however one thing I would point out is that the restaurant road sign marking the turn off to the village of Poza has fallen down and is not visible when coming in from the north! We passed the sign the first time, and realizing we had gone too far turned around! The sign is visible when coming from the south direction so we did see it and made the correct turn to venture up the highway to the house! We were so impressed with the home and its grounds, so well kept and so beautiful with flowers, trees, shrubs. And so well maintained by the gardener, who is more than happy to help with whatever he can for you. I only wish I spoke fluent spanish so that I could have communicated with him better - however we did manage! Also the house was extremely clean and it was kept so by the weekly visit from the housekeeper! Our young children, ages 3 and 6 loved their vacation and would have been happy to sit by the pool all day long! They had a great time, and my daughter was reluctant to come out of the pool, only to eat, or to view a bird or a gecko that may have been spotted in the yard! We were lucky to spot many toucans, some white faced capuchin monkeys, a plethora of butterflies, including the blue morpho, and even a very large tarrantula lounging on the gate post one morning! We did venture on a few excursions, including a visit to some of the beaches and also to Manuel Antonio to the nature park. Costa Rica can become quite warm during mid day and so we found that when venturing out to tour it was best to do it early in the morning and then come home for the afternoon to lounge by the pool. We did enjoy quite a few restaurants in the area including San Clemente, Tortilla Flats, Marina Ballena, el Coco as well as a few in Manuel Antonio. We generally had no problems getting around Costa Rica by car, and everyone is friendly and willing to help if they can. At no time did we ever feel unsafe. It was a wonderful family vacation and we were very fortunate to have chosen such a beautiful location and a beautiful home. Thank you as well for the Welcome Basket we found on our arrival to the home, it was a welcome sight as we had arrived later than expected! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time in Costa Rica. We will also tell the Care Taker and Housekeeper how much you appreciated the beautiful gardens and the cleanliness of the house. They are very much an asset for Casa de los Sueños. I'm sorry you had problems finding the turn off to the house, I talked with our property manager and he said the sign had recently been taken down and put back in a different direction. Unfortunately this occurred on your visit. He said that problem has been resolved. We hope you and your family will return to Costa Rica for future vacations, the locals are friendly and the views are spectacular. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Colorado
5

Costa Rica ocean area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Beautiful property inside and out. A little tricky to find but worth the effort. Everyone connected to the property were helpful and friendly. I would love to return and stay longer next time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's so wonderful that you enjoyed Costa Rica and our home. Thank you and we hope that you will some day return to enjoy more of the beauty and activities that Costa Rica offers.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Private, Jungle Observation Platform!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p410630vb
Dominical Puntarenas
Fairview, TX USA
5

Dream vacation in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We were totally blown away by our stay at Casa de los Suenos! The property is beyond fabulous! The pictures we saw on the website truly do not do it justice, even though they are beautiful. The pool with view out to the ocean was something to wonderful to describe. The gorgeous flowers, birds and other wildlife seen around the property were outstanding.
Inside the home, you felt like the beauty of the outside was reflected within. The use of floor to ceiling glass throughout the back of the house gave one a constant view of the Pacific and the well maintained grounds. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, as were the bathrooms and other areas of the house and the entire facility was spotless. It is laid out perfectly, so that with two couples, each had privacy and a wonderful view of the pool & ocean.
We have stayed at many, supposedly 5 star properties with RCI, and this is far superior to any of those. We would love to return to this paradise again sometime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ann, it sounds like you, Jerry and your guests had a wonderful time. We are happy that you were able to spot lots of wildlife on the property, sightings can usually be similar to ones at National Parks in Costa Rica. We are very lucky to have a wonderful 'team' to help keep Casa de los Sueños clean and running smoothly. We are happy that you noticed. Thanks again Ann!
Helpful votes: 1/1