Marquette cottage rental - Saint's Rest
Saint's Rest
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Marquette Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy both seclusion and easy access to downtown Marquette. Saint's Rest is one of the last houses on a dead-end street within City limits, north of the downtown area, on the beach between Presque Isle Park and Middle Island Point. The beach from Saint''s Rest to Presque Isle is residential, but westward to Middle Island Point is uninhabited. Shallow water to 100 feet out makes an ideal children's bathing spot. The little-used street offers a safe connection to the bicycle trail network which can take you throughout the city. The view of Lake Superior with it's two uninhabited islands in front of the house is stunning. Marquette's Upper Harbor, Marina and Presque Isle Park are all within easy walking distance, allowing one to view Great lakes ore boat traffic. Though some enjoy the shipping activity, light sleepers may wish to block out night-time train traffic by closing windows or sleeping in the lakeside alcove sofa-bed. We are an easy drive to such points as Harlow Lake, Little Presque Isle and Sugarloaf Mountain, all of which have hiking trails.

Keywords: cabin, Lake Superior, Marquette

More Details
Hide Details

Our cottage, built in 1926, was one of the first on the beach. My dad came here during a memorable summer in 1939. My brothers and I spent countless weekends at Saint's Rest, often bringing little buddies with us to swim, climb around the islands, pick blueberries and make up our own adventures. Our parents winterized the house in 1979 and made it their retirement home. We all enjoy fond memories of this very special place. We are pleased to continue the tradition of simplicity, welcome and relaxation!

Robert purchased this cottage in 1952

12 Reviews of Property 409843 in Marquette, Michigan

Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
chicago
5

great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
an absolutely beautiful setting, we couldn't have asked for more
the owner was very quick in answering any questions or concerns
the pictures don't really do the place justice
the house is not fancy but very comfortable and well cared for
the beauty, peace and tranquillity of the setting are as superior as that great lake
there were lots of activities out in the snow and an opportunity for rest and relaxation inside
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Columbus, OH
5

Great place to stay in Marquette

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Well maintained family cottage with a great view. The cottage photos do not do justice to the nice kitchen and laundry facilities available. Used earplugs at night, so train and power plant activity was not a problem. Great 'home base' for day trips to Pictured Rocks Lakeshore, waterfalls along Route 94, and Presque Isle Park. The beach was great for strolling, and children would enjoy playing in the sand during the summer. Marquette is a well-maintained little town that was fun to explore, and we enjoyed dining at The Vierling Restaurant. Would definitely stay here again if we revisit Marquette.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Ellsworth, Maine
5

Lovely lakeside experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Lovely "old style" camp with a view to die for. Homey, well maintained, squeaky clean. Well stocked kitchen. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Ferndale, mi
5

Magical Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family had the pleasure of spending almost two weeks at Saint's Rest. We were amazing at the beauty that surrounded us. Every day the lake would show us one of her many personalities. Our children (9, 4) loved waking up and immediately running for the beach. We spent afternoons flying kites, walking the beach, paddle boarding (rented one locally for a few days) out to what our son has dubbed "bird Island", swimming, building sand castles, laying in the sun reading and in the evenings we would roast marshmallows and watch the sky. We also celebrated our anniversary and had friends and family over to celebrate with us. The pictures are deceiving, as Saint's Rest is very spacious and our favorite spot was on the foldout couch- you were awakened by the sounds of the seagulls and the sunrise daily and each was unique and beautiful. As soon as we walked into this place we knew it was going to be perfect for us. It was better than that; it was magical!!! We cannot wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Ohio
5

A Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Location, location, location… Saint’s Rest is situated on a lovely stretch of Lake Superior north-facing shoreline in a quiet, residential neighborhood but is minutes from downtown Marquette and a short beach walk to Presque Isle Park. So many great hikes nearby, too, including Wetmore Pond, Little Presque Isle, and The Nature Conservancy’s new Echo Lake Preserve.

We went in November and the temps were a bit brisk but I could spend hours and hours on the pristine, sandy beach in warmer weather. The entrance to the road is at the Upper Harbor dock and we saw a number of freighters arrive and depart.

A week’s stay was less expensive than a moderately-priced hotel. The cottage was clean and the spacious kitchen was well-stocked with everything we needed. It’s great to have a washer and dryer on site and to go home with a suitcase full of clean clothes.

It was a treat to read the family’s history and see historical photos. It felt much like staying at a friend’s house. Reserving the cottage was hassle-free and Robert was prompt and helpful in answering questions. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Mound, MN
5

Certaninly one of the most beautiful places on our planet!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our stay at Saints Rest this fall was outstanding. We witnessed all moods of Lake Superior.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Minneapolis
5

Sweet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This cozy house feels like a home, and is perfect for getting away from civilization--a deserted sandy beach with unsurpassed views, well-equipped kitchen, comfy living room and beds. But what a great surprise that you can also get a fine meal, excellent baked goods, or even a chocolate martini 10 minutes away. We took a long walk on the beach, climbed stairs up Sugarloaf Mtn. for a world-class vista, and even swam (in September!). Hated to leave; will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Michigan
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The best location and price ever. Very reasonable rules and expectations by the owners. Could not have asked for anything more from a rental. Felt like the place was clean. That means a lot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Macomb, MI
5

Peaceful Week on the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed at the Saint's Rest for a week while moving our daughter into NMU. What a wonderful week it was. As soon as we pulled up and saw the view my husband said "book this again for next year". The place was perfect. It was clean and had everything we needed. The beach was one of the best beaches in the area--soft sand that goes out as far as you can walk. You can walk the shore line to Presque Isle Park or as we did a couple of days run through the park as the entrance to it is just 3/4 of a mile at the end of the street. The view is spectacular and there are windows all around to enjoy it if you don't want to wander outside. The availability of a washer and dryer was a huge plus for us since we were moving our daughter to college, we packed all her stuff, but went lignt on our clothing. We were close to everything Marquette had to offer when we needed it, yet it seemed we were in our own little world away from the hussle and bussle of the real world while we were at the Saint's Rest. I guess the best thing I can say is we will be back next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Saint's Rest, on Secluded Lake Superior Beach Front Near Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409843vb
1-906-361-4005
Marquette Upper Peninsula Michigan
Shawano, WI
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Saints Rest was our first vbro experience, and I have to say it will not be our last. The owner of Saints Rest is a joy to work with and the biggest joy is getting to stay at his property. My husband and three sons enjoyed everything about our vacation at Saints Rest. The cabin is very clean, cozy, and had everything we needed. The veiws from it are awesome and the sounds with the windows open are very relaxing, even the train, which is not loud at all. My boys spent hours just playing on the beautiful sand beach right outside the cabin and playing with the neighbors dogs. We will be back to Saints Rest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As a homeowner, I am also very pleased with the VRBO website. However, I am a little surprised how much Vacation and Summer seem to go together. Maybe the website just appeals to people looking for a summer experience, but even with next summer already getting booked, there is very little activity in between. I know that the other seasons have their pluses, like witnessing autumn storms from the comfort of a warm cottage, watching the rollers break against the islands out front, sometimes spraying up over the top of them! Winter is quiet, with no train traffic until shipping season begins again. And springtime is spectacular on sunny days when the ice breaks up and shoals form. The only thing missing from that picture is a polar bear! Whatever the time of year, Marquette is always a short drive or bike ride from the house, offering a great variety of cultural, shopping and culinary experiences.
Helpful votes: 1/2