Brevard cabin rental - Rustic Red Cabin Overlooking Quiet Pond
Rustic Red Cabin Overlooking Quiet Pond
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Brevard Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

This rustic Red Cabin is located in the heart of Cedar Mountain just down the road from Dupont State Forest. Only minutes away from Jones Gap and Caesar's Head State Forests. After an exhilarating mountain bike ride or hike, come back to this quaint little cabin to rest and enjoy the privacy of the mountains. Brevard is only 11 miles away and is a great place for shopping, dining and entertainment. Asheville, Hendersonville and Greenville, SC are each less than an hour away. Great music, pottery, art, shows are all a part of being in this unique area up in the mountains.

We're in a great location and setting for your mountain getaway. There's a large front lawn to play on or picnic with your family or friends, and a screen porch with great view of the pond. Sit back and enjoy the cool fresh air of the Blue Ridge Mountains. (The pond is for viewing and is not available for swimming, fishing, or boating) - it is very relaxing just to sit on the front porch and enjoy the view. There is a table on the porch where you can eat or play games or just relax.

The cabin has two bedrooms that are on the main level; one has a queen bed and the other a double bed. There are two bathrooms on the main level. The bedroom to back back has a queen bed and the bathroom is next to that bedroom - which forms a private suite. The second bedroom with a double bed is very close to the other bathroom.

Upstairs is the loft area with an additional double bed (that is antique and a dash smaller than a regular double bed) and a full twin bed that can be used for sitting as well. There is a small game/play area upstairs too. You have to come down stairs for the bathroom - the loft is not very large - but cozy.

There is a small stone patio out back with grill and sitting area, to gather around as you are grilling out. Plenty of room to park several cars on the property. Our wood burning fireplace has been rebuilt and is up and running - good news for all!

Keywords: Pond, view, mountain bikers, rivers, rustic cabin,loft,screen porch,lawn, fishing, trees, heat & air,outdoor recreation,quiet,get-away,relaxing,easy access, paved road,picnic table,cedar mountain, dupont state forest, view,pretty place, raven cliff falls, waterfalls,fire place, creek, patio, party, games,golf.

More Details
Hide Details

My summer time as a child were always spent in Cedar Mountain. I have great memories of all the fun I had playing in the creeks, collecting rocks, square dancing and so many things I couldn't do anywhere else. I went to Brevard Music Center as a teenager through college age. My 4 children grew up in the Red Cabin during the summers and one time we lived there for about 2 years. We have very good memories here in Cedar Mountain. I'm a local to this area now. I enjoy playing my fiddle/violin and teaching Mark O'Connor's new violin/string method in Brevard through Transylvania Youth Strings - a non-profit organization I founded in 2010. I perform in a small band called Joe Pye and we play in many of the beautiful weddings that are held around here at 'Pretty Place', Faith Chapel on Stone's Lake Road, in Dupont Forest and all over the area. We also play every so often down town, and for private functions. I am very fortunate to get to live up in the mountains full time, it's a beautiful place to be everyday!

Ellen Yarborough-Lee purchased this cabin in 1988

My mother found this little cabin for us back in 1988. It is very special in so many ways, there is no way to really describe how a simple little cabin could mean so much to me. Hope you find the time to slip away and see what I'm talking about.

11 Reviews of Property 409629 in Brevard, North Carolina

Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
4

Old cabin with modern convenience

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very cute and quaint cabin with a great location next to Dupont State Forest. Loved the working fireplace, the modern kitchen amenities, and the view of the pond. Only complaint is that the heat did not work well on the first floor. Cabin would not get above 60-65 degree no matter now high the heat was turned on. However, plenty of blankets available and comfy couches! Owners were wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Columbia, South Carolina
5

Charming Cabin in a Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My fiancé and I, along with a couple of our friends stayed in the Red Cabin rental mid-September for a weekend. It was easy to find which I liked, because I've rented cabins before that we got totally lost trying to get to. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The cabin itself is rustic but not too old feeling. The beds were nice. Plenty of room for a group of 5 people for the weekend. We also loved the location, it's not far at all from town or from Dupont Forest and all of the waterfalls. The only thing we didn't like was we had no access to the pond. My fiancé and his buddy were about to go crazy watching all the big fish jump and not be able to go put a pole in the water! Apparently the owner of the cabin no longer has any rights to the pond, so all you can do is look at it. That being said, the cabin is very comfortable, the screened in porch is excellent, and we would definitely rent this cabin again. Wonderful vacation!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Winterville, NC
5

Great summer getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our visit to Red Cabin was wonderful. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful and the furnishings comfortable. I found the Red Cabin to be just rustic enough for my taste. (I enjoyed the Dish TV and Internet service.) I am so glad that the owner allowed pets so that our feline family member could come on vacation with us. I am already looking forward to a return visit. Many thanks to Ellen (owner) for her hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Raleigh, NC
5

Exactly what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It was a short weekend trip and we found the cabin to be exactly what we were looking for. It was clean and stocked with fluffy towels and soft linens. We had two adults and four kids (ages 3-10) in our group. There was plenty of sleeping, though we had to draw straws on who got to sleep where. (The kids all loved the loft.) All the beds were comfortable, the ten year old even proclaimed that it was the best sleep of his life. The porch was a lovely place to sit while looking at the pond and taking in the fresh air. We spent the day in DuPont Forest hiking to the waterfalls. We only stayed for two nights so we were really appreciative of the proximity of the park. We didn't get around to checking out any of the restaurant recommendations the hosts left (very thoughtful!) but I do recommend stopping at the produce stand (Whistlestop?) on the way to Brevard. Thanks again, Ellen, for a comfortable, hassle-free stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Fort mill sc
5

Sweet place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Love the rustic theme! Beautiful view across pond looking into mountains. Very easy access to DuPont Forest. Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
5

Perfectly Sweet Little Red Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What a weekend! My boyfriend and our Great Dane celebrated Thanksgiving at the Red Cabin. It was quaint, cozy and perfectly charming. The kitchen was great to cook in, the fireplace provided great ambiance and the beds were fluffy and cozy. After a Thanksgiving of feasting and football, we rock climbed with Fox Mountain Guides on Friday. Our dog tagged along and we all had a marvelous time. The following day the three of us journeyed to Asheville for lunch at the Tupelo Honey Cafe and a brew at the Thirsty Monk. We loved the warmth and friendliness of every North Carolinian and fellow tourist we met. And it was so great to come home to a cozy quiet cabin that felt like our very own. It was perfect! Thank you, Ellen!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Alabama
5

Babymoon Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Red Cabin. It was a perfect relaxing vacation together before our first born arrives in April. The cabin itself is rustic enough to feel you are truly in a cabin in the mountains, but has all of the amenities you will need (wifi, LCD TV, central heat/air, full kitchen). It was so peaceful to sit out on the screened in porch overlooking the small lake in the mornings. The drive into Brevard from the cabin takes about 15 minutes and we were able to drive to Asheville in less than hour. The proximity to Dupont State Forest is a huge bonus for nature lovers. Tons of hiking/biking trails and several awesome waterfalls. My wife and I will definitely be visiting again in the future (as parents!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Miami, Florida
5

Family of 5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were a family of 5 with 3 children ages 7, 9, and 11. The photos were an accurate representation of the property. It was a charming cabin and you could tell there was history within those walls. It was about a 15 minute drive into Brevard and provides great access to Dupont Forest. The owner was very helpful through the entire process and tended to a request that we had about the AC within a very short period of time. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to someone that wanted experience a historic and charming cabin. We really enjoyed our stay and it was our home away from home! Thanks Ellen for providing the opportunity to enjoy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
South Carolina
4

Enjoyed our stay at the Red Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family of three, plus our dog, really enjoyed our stay at the Red Cabin. The setting is serene and beautiful. The property is attractive and well-maintained. The cabin was very clean and nicely furnished. The screened porch is a delightful place to catch the breezes, and there is ample seating for dining. We used the grill on the stone patio to cook one of our meals, and it worked just fine. The kitchen is adequately equipped for meal preparation, although it would have been nice to have a toaster. The location is very convenient to hiking, lakes, waterfalls, fishing, and generally enjoying nature. Its proximity to Brevard (about 10 miles away) also allows for shopping, antiquing, dining out, etc. There are a few terrific restaurants in Brevard if you don't want to cook all of your meals, and it is a fun town to explore on foot with a small, but nice historic district. We briefly met one of the owners and spoke to the other a couple of times on the landline phone. (We did not have cell phone service at the cabin.) Both of the owners were very nice and inquired as to whether we were finding everything to be satisfactory. My only complaint is that the mattress on the master bed is too soft and the boxspring seems to be wearing out. It was not easy to get a full and good night's sleep. The mattress on the bed in the second bedroom seemed very comfortable for our son. We were happy to find such a nice cabin in a good location where we could have our dog with us. Our dog had a wonderful time throughout our stay, and the owner was very accommodating about negotiating a very reasonable pet fee. We thank the owners for sharing their cabin with us, and would recommend the Red Cabin to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We appreciate your thoughts about the red cabin. We got a toaster, and really are glad you recommended this.
We will check the bed after our next guest leaves, we had 2 really good ratings on the bed, and we feel that the beds are the most important part of a vacation, so we will make sure the mattress and bed are firm and comfortable.
Hope you come again. Thank you for your great comments! Ellen
business
Red Cabin - Bike Ride to Dupont Forest - Beautiful Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409629vbi
Brevard Asheville Area
Atlanta, GA
5

Red Cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We (3 adults) recently rented the Red Cabin during Memorial Day week to hike and sight-see in the DuPont & Pisgah Forests, Brevard, Asheville, and Hendersonville area. The cabin is perfectly located: nestled partly in the woods and partly facing a pretty pond on a not highly-trafficked road, it is nevertheless easy to get out and about. The cabin itself is rustic-looking, as advertised, but has amenities inside to make for a comfortable and pleasant stay. We did our own cooking and were able to manage with a very nice set of cooking pots and pans, and other kitchen utensils. The screen porch is wonderful, with a large enough table for dining and for enjoying the frog serenades in the evening! The setting was very quiet and peaceful (no one seemed to be staying in the much larger house nearby) and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The owner of the cabin stopped by to make sure we had what we needed and supplied some very helpful directions and suggestions for things to do. We would definitely rent the Red Cabin again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1