Bodega Bay house rental - Welcome to Bay View
Welcome to Bay View
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bodega Bay House Rental Photos and Description
Remodeled Home with Bay View, 2 Bedrooms, 2 baths (Sleeps 4-6). fenced yard, spa

Don't Forget To Read ALL 36 Of Our Reviews!

Spring Specials Thru 4/28 thru 5/31/14 :

$225/night or $210/night for 3+ nights, $1275/week

Would you enjoy the cozy pampered feeling of an inn but prefer the privacy, convenience and space of a home? Welcome to 'Bay View'!

This recently remodeled coastal cutie is perfect for one or two couples (and comfortably sleeps 5 or 6 adults). This spacious 1500 sq ft remodeled home has an open floor plan with views from most rooms (including the kitchen). Bay View's décor is best described as sophisticated beach, with artwork from Sonoma Coast artists throughout the home! The home's layout allows you to visit with guests in the newly updated kitchen, living/dining room, bar area, and sunroom while enjoying the view of the bay. Curl up on the large leather sectional sofa and watch streaming, Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime and DVD/BluRay movies on the flat screen HDTV or enjoy a book in the overstuffed chair by the cozy blue enamel stove.

There are 2 beautifully decorated bedrooms, each furnished with a queen size bed and heated mattress wrapped in premium cotton sheets for chilly nights. There is a spacious main bathroom with private access from both bedrooms, a large granite vanity, and heated towel rack! A cozy double bed with a memory foam mattress provides additional sleeping space for an extra guest, and a great place to relax and enjoy the view or watch movies. A second full bathroom and laundry is conveniently located off the main living space.

For the cook there is a recently remodeled large fully-equipped kitchen with a 5 burner gas stove and double electric oven, and separate fridge and freezer units for ample cold food storage. The 10 foot glass mosaic topped bar opens to the great room and provides a fun place to sit and visit with 'the cook(s)' and enjoy a glass of Sonoma Coast wine.

Relax in our enclosed sunroom that leads outside to the large sunny fenced yard where you will find the seasonal fire pit/conversation area, a gas BBQ, and hot tub! At times you will hear the ocean waves, fog horn and seals playing in the distance. You can always smell the clean ocean air the minute you step outside!

“Bay View” has beautiful views including Bodega Bay and the road to Bodega Head. The view changes constantly with boats heading out to sea during the day and returning home at night. During the full moon the bay glistens. However, when there is no moon the stars fill the sky and the bay sparkles with lights from the area inns and the returning fishing boats.

Centrally located, the 'Bay View House' sits on ¼ acre at the north end of the town of Bodega Bay. Close to the Ocean, the Bay, and Town our location provides convenience while still providing privacy and solitude. We are less than 5 minutes from Everything! (the restaurants, trails, Bodega Bay, Bodega Head (whale watching), Bodega Habour Golf Course, Porto Bodega (charter boats), Chanslor Ranch (ocean view horseback rides), Doran Beach, and entrance to the beautiful Sonoma Coast State Park (comprised of miles of sandy beaches). Getting to the beach or bayside is a 20-30 minute walk (3 minute drive). The Children’s Bell Tower, a gift from Italy in honor of Nicholas Green and the trails surrounding the monument that lead to Bodega Dunes are only a few minute walk from the home. Continue on this path and you will pass an old Cypress tree where Monarch Butterflies stop during their yearly migration. As you travel through the dunes to the beach you will see vernal pools which change with each season. There are many things to explore both on foot and by car. Whether you spend the day exploring or just relaxing, you are sure to enjoy our cozy coastal retreat.

Other amenities include ample parking, free long distance calls, Streaming Netflix-Hulu Plus-Amazon Prime Video, Blue Ray/DVD player, movie library (including The Birds of course), area guide books, binoculars, Wi-Fi, and CD/IPod/Mp3 stereo

Keywords: Home

More Details
Hide Details

Coming to the Sonoma Coast every year for the past 25 years I dreamed of someday calling this amazing area home. In 2004, after being diagnosed with MS, I decided it was time to focus on my dream. So after watching the area real estate listings diligently for the next 7 years (for just the right financial opportunity and fit) it finally happened . Christmas Eve 2010 we decided to pack up the dog and take a road trip to check out the home as soon as it was listed. It was in total disrepair from years of neglect. The outside of the house from the roof down was rotten. The inside was better, but required much work. I loved the layout and location of the home. I have always loved interior design and decorating in addition to any kind of DIY activities (both structural and creative)...and decided to accept the challenge. Three years of work and a lot of weekends later... The Bay View is now a cozy coastal retreat. The home has given me a place to be creative and relax while escaping the Sacramento Valley heat. It has been a true labor of love.

Janice purchased this house in 2011

We love the Sonomoa Coast! When we found the Bay View House (in spite of its condition at the time) we fell in love with the central location that is less than 5 minutes to town and restaurants, the Sonoma Coast Beaches and Bodega Head (our favorite place to go) We also loved the large 1/4 acre fenced yard and of course the hillside view of the bay that is framed by trees and a small valley (providing constant changing scenery, including night time activity of boats returning from sea). The open floor plan was another plus that enables you to visit and enjoy the view from the entire living area.

We also loved the large yard (a rarity at the coast). One of our favorite features was a pleasant surprise...the temperature/weather relative to the position of the home! Bay View is located in a micro-climate (known as the sun belt) which is often clear even when the coast is foggy. Additionally the position of the home allows the yard protection from the chilly ocean winds. The yard is often sunny, and the temperature can vary 10-20 degrees from the front to the back of the house! The sun heats the home through the large windows on chilly days!...But if it is too warm, simply open the front windows and the ocean breezes quickly cool the home. Eco-friendly heating and cooling! We often escape the fog banks, but are still close enough to hear the ocean waves and sea lions play in the distance.

37 Reviews of Property 409607 in Bodega Bay, California

'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
average rating of 5.0 based on 37 reviews
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
Ukiah,
5

family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My family needed a beautiful, restful get away that provided easy access to West Sonoma County. We found it in the Bay View House. My children traveled from Boston and Seattle and were delighted with the comforts and access to the ocean and bay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
5

Quiet location, huge yard, perfect layout for a relaxing getaway weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were looking for a place to get away and recharge our batteries. We stayed over the Valentine's Day\President's four day weekend and had a wonderful time. The property is thoughtfully decorated and the kitchen is a dream to cook in. We enjoyed sitting out in the backyard watching our dogs play ball and roll around in the lawn. You are five minutes from everywhere you want to go in Bodega Bay, perfectly located and very quiet surrondings. Planning on a return trip this summer when it is stifling hot in our neck of the woods. To the beach we escape!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Michele! We were fortunate to find such a unique central yet peaceful location with a yard too! Glad we are able to share it.
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
5

An excellent home to relax and enjoy some time off.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
A beautiful home that has been given an exquisite touch by the owner. A warm and cozy home that made you feel comfortable and relaxed. The home owner was a pleasure to speak with and provided timely feedback to all our questions. We really enjoyed our time in Bodega Bay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: John, Thank you! We strive to make the Bay View a place to unwind and relax. We want our guests' vacations to be as enjoyable and care free as possible!
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
San Francisco, California
5

Delightful, thoughtfully stocked and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
A delightful home on the north end of town, convenient to all the attractions of the area. The home is well stocked, and decorated quaintly without being kitschy. The enclosed back yard is a big plus for small dog owners. Despite the relative proximity to Hwy 1, the home is very quiet and private.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks! We love our location (best of both worlds) providing both convenience and solitude. We were also fortunate to find a place with a large yard to fence for both our human and furry guests!
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
5

Great Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was an adorable home in a perfect location. The owners thought of everything and outfitted the home with a gourmet kitchen stocked with all the necessary cookware, wonderful local art and a great view. It was the perfect place to relax, play games, eat and rest between trips to the ocean. I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Adorable and charming are words we hear often! Thanks.
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
5

Great get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This property was all that the pictures indicated and then some! It was exceptionally clean, and I feel the housekeeper is to be congratulated, as well as the owner. We've stayed at several houses at both Bodega Bay and Sea Ranch, and this one was the best.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful recommendation. Wow, "best" leaves me speechless! We strive to make our home cozy and clean. Glad you enjoyed it!
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
Plymouth, CA
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Perfect house for a getaway, clean, all of the amenities of home and tastefully decorated. Located just seconds from the ocean and the harbor which you can see from the deck and living room. Would definitely recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks! We enjoy watching the boats coming in and out of the bay from the house both day and night and the short drive to the beach also!
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
5

Clean, Comfortable, Close to Everything :-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at the Bay View House in March for 5days. We had a wonderful time!!! It was soooo close to everything... Horse back riding, kayaking, shops, the beach! My favorite thing to do was sit in the sunroom/sun porch with a cup of coffee n a good read. Really needed a balance of fun n down time - we got it. Can't wait to go back!! We highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
5

Wonderful place to escape it all!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were invited to a wedding in Sonoma, and neither my fiancé nor myself had ever been to this area of California. My fiancé decided he wanted to stay in a home rather than a hotel, and at first I thought he was nuts. I'm so glad I decided to trust his judgement! This home was perfect! The home and the grounds are immaculate, and beautifully decorated. Janice, the owner, has thought of every little detail...down to a brand new kitchen sponge with each new tenant. She called shortly after our arrival just to insure we arrived safely and everything was to our satisfaction. We spent the first night with a glass of wine in the out door spa...the perfect way to relax after a long day of travel! The beds are incredibly comfortable, complete with warmers, if you need them. There are flameless candles set on timers...that really set the mood. Everything you could possibly need is there...she really has thought of every detail. The house is located very close to local restaurants and beaches...and a short drive to Sonoma. Very convenient. We keep telling everyone the house was what made the trip so enjoyable. We were able to relax and enjoy our vacation at our own pace, without noisy doors slamming and kids running around. It was incredibly peaceful! We can't wait to visit this area again...and we definitely hope to stay in this home again next time. Thank you, Janice, for allowing us to stay in your home, and making our trip so memorable!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We want the Bay View to be a peaceful, relaxing, and comfortable retreat. Glad you enjoyed our special touches!
business
'BAY VIEW' FROM CHARMING *5* STAR HOME W/LARGE YARD & SPA! FISH FEST SPECIAL!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409607vb
+ (916)849-0455
Bodega Bay North Coast California
Davis, CA
5

Wonderful, clean, exactly as described!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I rented this house before my wedding which was in the area. The house is beautiful, comfortable, clean and amazingly well equipped! Janice has thought of everything- the beach house is a perfect place to relax. If I can relax there days before my wedding, I know you can too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway