Harbor Springs house rental - Main living area
Main living area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Harbor Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

Location! Location! Enjoy the tranquility and solitude of a north woods cabin while so close to downtown Harbor Springs! Relax in our warm and inviting timber-frame home and enjoy the natural surroundings. A great base for all the nearby 'Up North' attractions. Ideal accomodations for a couple, or a couple families. Two first floor bedrooms, one with a queen, the other with a twin over full bunk bed including a twin trundle. The second floor includes a master bedroom with a queen bed, and an open loft room with entertainment center and queen hide-a-bed. Both floors offer a full bath. Up to nine people can sleep in comfort. The full kitchen contains all the conveniences of home. The massive fieldstone hearth and woodstove add to the rustic feel, while the high speed wi-fi reminds you that civilization is close at hand. A plasma big screen with stereo and DVD is provided for your entertainment.

Keywords:

I'm an active duty Air Force pilot from Michigan, husband of a wonderful lady, and father of two smart boys who hopes to one day retire to our house in Harbor Springs. We enjoy our home away from 'home' when leave allows, and my family has a place of stability during the lengthy deployments.

Harbor Springs is a wonderful community in the truest sense of the word. The people are warm, genuine, and welcoming. There may not be a better place on earth to enjoy four distinct, varied, and beautiful seasons. The long, sunny summer days and natural air conditioning of Little Traverse Bay. The uncrowded, undeveloped sandy beaches. The smell of fudge. Fall colors that would leave a New England leaf-peeper breathless, and miles of empty roads and paths by which to enjoy them. Three months of real winter, complete with downtown sleigh rides, a great town sledding hill, a municipal ice rink, and the best skiing in the midwest. Watching the world wake in spring. Marvelling at the wildflower colors on display while out for a morning walk in one of Harbor's nature preserves, then passing through clouds of lilac on the walk back through town. Mackinac Island. The Little Traverse Wheelway bike path. Wilderness, Petoskey, and Burt Lake State Parks. Fishing the Bear River or Walloon Lake. Sailing Little Traverse Bay. Hiking the North Country Trail. Biking the Tunnel of Trees. Headlands dark sky park. Golfing some of the finest courses in the nation. The opportunities to enjoy the unspoiled outdoors are practically endless. This is the place I wish I'd spent my childhood, and I'm hoping to give that experience to my two young boys.

You won't find another property that combines the solitude and privacy of the North woods while offering such convenience of proximity to town and recreational opportunities. We love the feel of the wood stove in the winter. The house has such a warm feel, and lounging with a book under the skylight in the loft is so relaxing. I love to have my morning coffee on the upper balcony, listening to the songbirds and looking for wildlife in the woods. We particularly like that we can park the car and access nearly all of our favorite activities by bicycle.

21 Reviews of Property 409360 in Harbor Springs, Michigan

Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
5

Sister's Weekend

Sister's Weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This house was just awesome for us. Everything was clean, plenty of linens, extra items in the cabinets if we needed it. Perfect assortment of toys for the little one. And the house was big enough that we were able to hide from each other as needed (we are sisters you know), yet still have plenty of room to be together. Would definitely come back to this home, because that's what it felt like...home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
5

Cosy Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
What a great place! Up to date, clean, lots of space with a log cabin feel. Went away for a ski weekend with couples and had a great time. Minutes from the slopes and great to go back to such a cosy place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Windsor, ontario
5

Roomy and many extras!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a treat! Everything in the house was in working order. Description super-accurate. I would also add that there was a crockpot at our disposition as well as a nice fire pit. Laundry machines as well. Owner extremely helpful in providing extra info on hikes and activities as well as answering all questions. Very neat and spacious. You won't regret it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
San Antonio, Tx
4

Harbor Springs

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The location was good for us to participate in many local events and play some wonderful golf courses. The owner suggested several places to visit and we enjoyed each one. The weather was surprisingly beautiful and we really enjoyed our time here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
4

Wonderful vacation for grandparents and grandkids

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This cottage is deceptively close to downtown Harbor Springs, but still has plenty of room to feel away from it all while playing amongst the pines. The kitchen was fully stocked with every kind of utensil and pot imaginable, and we could have used a new towel every day and never used up all the available ones. Truly everything you will need for your stay. Bring your own DVD's and MP3 player because there is no cable or satelite in the unit, but there is a TV and DVD player (or enjoy a week away from everything!) The lack of TV turned out to be a blessing because we spent our time enjoying our grandchildren and the wonderful location and house! The Harbor Springs Zorn BEACH became our everyday swimming beach, and is a two minute drive or lovely walk from this property. The owners were responsive, helpful, professional and honest! Our security deposit was returned within a week. All around a great deal and a memorable week !
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Schaumburg, IL
5

Very nice place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed our stay here. Owners were very welcoming and made us feel right at home with advanced tips on places to go, things to see and of course the nicely furnished home/cabin. Loved the wood beams, stone fireplace and overall layout. Saw deer and wild turkeys in the yard, which are not at all common where we come from.

Hoping to return again someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Oakville Ontario Canada
5

Perfect kick off to family reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Perfect hideaway in the woods, but close enough to anything you could want to do! Perfect location for family reunion, with relatives meeting from Canada and the US. Just lovely and planning to return next summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Columbus Ohio
5

Pleasant Stay in Harbor Springs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We found our stay at this property to be wonderful in many ways. Extras were available for our use ... the home cozy ... and rooms spacious. Two adults and five children spread out comfortably. We used the pull out couch in the loft, ate most every dinner in, and enjoyed the comfortable living room. Of course, the trip to Harbor Springs was quick and made it easy to take trips in for evening beach play, ice cream and browsing the shops. Also, when assistance was needed (the gas grill needed a new propane tank), the property manager was prompt, courteous and helpful. Enjoyed every part of the home and the trip!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Dallas, TX
5

Perfectly Appointed Cottage in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family just spent the 4th of July week in this lovely Harbor Springs home while attending wedding festivities for my cousin and his Michigan bride. From the moment we arrived, we knew we'd chosen the right spot! The bedrooms were all great. We slept in the master bedroom upstairs, a very large room with a great big closet and a lovely private balcony that looks out onto the lovely backyard and the woods beyond. The closet would be a walk-in except that it sits under the slope of the roof and the ceiling descends at a steep angle; nonetheless it was plenty big for our toddler's pack'n'play and worked great as her "bedroom" for the week. The downstairs bedrooms were perfect for my parents (they slept in the room with the Queen bed), and for my sister and her kids (in the bunked twin over double with trundle). Lovely big living room, the kitchen and dining area were plenty big for us, the sleeping loft/entertainment room upstairs was a perfect spot for the older kids to read books or watch a video to wind down, and the first floor back deck was great. And the backyard, just behind the house and surrounded by picturesque woods, was perfect for playing in. On our first morning in the house we saw a family of deer (three does and a brand-new faun) walking through the trees just on the edge of the yard!

The house had just about everything we needed - plenty of cookware and utensils, dishes, silverware... all that jazz. It was great to be able to do plenty of loads of laundry while we were there, too! The property manager was awesome and very responsive to all of our questions and needs.

The five minute drive into Harbor Springs was lovely and we loved the town! So cute and plenty of lovely shops to check out, lots of ice cream and fudge to sample, and friendly folks everywhere we went. Harbor Springs and this lovely wooded cottage were the perfect summer getaway! We hope to visit again when there's snow!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Home (3bed, 2bath) Nestled in Woods and Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409360vb
+ (530) 278-6724
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family and I had a fantastic time at this charming home. We had more than enough space with 4 adults and 2 kids. The owner was quick to respond and very informative about things to do in the area. The home was very well stocked, super clean and in a great location. Lots of bonus features too like toys for the kids, sleds and a beautiful fireplace. We'd recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2