Traverse City cottage rental - View facing river. Large new deck and gas grill. Upper deck from master bedroom.
View facing river. Large new deck and gas grill. Upper deck from master bedroom.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This unique cottage is off the beaten path yet minutes away from the beautiful, historic town of Traverse City! Stay and relax next to the tranquil Boardman River. This one-of-a-kind location offers all kinds of activities including: kayaking, tubing, hiking, swimming, and fishing to name a few. I offer guide services for most all of your adventures (if requested). I will take the time to make sure your stay is the best possible. I can help you get to know nature, learn how to start a great campfire for smores, or leave you alone to enjoy the solitude of this pristine area in God's country. Give me a call or e-mail for more information and list of activities.

Thank You, Richard

Cottage Details:

*3 Bedrooms and sofa

*Open floor plan

*Natural wood fireplace with all the wood you need

*Full Kitchen

*Large deck overlooking the Boardman River and your own personal creek

*Private balcony off the main bedroom over looking the river

*Laundry room-washing machine/Dryer

Amenities

*Dishwasher

*Central Air

*Wireless Internet

*Heat

*Complete Kitchen

*Bonfire Pit, Open Pit BBQ*

*Picnic Table/ Reclining Chairs on Deck

*Outdoor Hot Tub Overlooking River

*Cable TV

*Enclosed Screened Sitting Area

Activities

*Kayaking

*Tubing/Rafting

*Hiking

*Fishing

*Guide Services Available (for above if wanted)

*Swimming

*Bird Watching

*Painting/Photography

*Solitude for Writing

Free Range eggs are provided when the Chickens are co-operating. Just down stream is the 1/2 acre garden where you can enjoy the experience of farming. If you choose to help out, and possibly take the time to enjoy this, when harvest time comes, we'll send you some fresh veggies!

Come and enjoy this unique and beautiful place up North! A true taste of Pure Michigan!

Keywords:Pure Michigan, Cherry Festival, Wineries, Beaches, Traverse City, Kayaking, Fishing (German Browns, Brooktrout, Salmon), Golfing, Swimming, Mountain Biking, Hiking, Restaurants, Shopping, Rafting, Tubing, Camping, Shopping, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Color Tours, Water Frontage, Recreational, Photography/Painting/Viewing, Skiing, Snowmobiling, Snowboarding, Ice Fishing. Guide Service Available

More Details
Hide Details

My family absolutely loves the outdoors and we also live on the Boardman River down stream. We enjoy kayaking, gardening, hiking, and bird watching. We take our two dogs for long hikes on the state land while looking for new exciting finds that the woods have to offer. We are also excited to share this with others who share our passion for the outdoors. This cottage is a unique place!

Richard purchased this cottage in 2012

I purchased this property quite honestly because I have been here most of my life and I have found it to be in one of the best locations in the area. I love the outdoors but like the fact that I can be in Traverse City quickly with a beautiful drive to get there. The wildlife, fresh air, and of course the Boardman river being steps away, well you just can't beat it. I see all types of birds , deer, fox, partridge, well it goes on and on. Truly it has all the flavor of the now well known 'Pure Michigan.' And how about the Fall Colors

Wildlife including: deer, turkeys, partridge, rabbits, bobcats, and ducks. Birdwatching: Piliated woodpeckers, eagles, hawks, owls, hummingbirds, and orioles. Hiking, fourwheeling, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, cross country skiing. Beautiful view of river. Kayaking, tubing, fishing, and swimming. And lets not forget the fall colors! Also we have the Chery festival in July, the Horse show in July, and the Film festival after that!

27 Reviews of Property 409273 in Traverse City, Michigan

Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
average rating of 4.962963 based on 27 reviews
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Reese,Mi
5

Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful , restful. We even had some woodpeckers come a knockin` ! The Naughty Cat was a pleasant experience. We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cottage was wonderful. We stayed with another couple here and loved it. It was really clean and had everything we needed including an unending supply of firewood!! Photos were accurate, surroundings were beautiful, owner was wonderfully helpful. We did lots of wine tasting and hiking along with horseback riding at a nearby stable. The weather wasn't the best but it didn't slow us down. I would recommend this listing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Fun on the Boardman River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is more than a cottage. It is a lovely home and the owner makes you feel like a welcome guest. It was everything advertised and more. We would come back again in a heart beat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Look no further...rent this!!! GORGEOUS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Book this now! My boyfriend, our german shepherd and I stayed here for a short week in September. Every aspect of this place exceeded our expectations. Let me break it down for you.

1. Richard is a gem. I received a phone call from him right away when I had asked for more information via HomeAway.com. He's extremely helpful, knowledgeable and easy to work with. After two days of being on his property, he never bothered us once, until I sent him a text asking for some insight as to where to go/what to do in Traverse City. He was spot on. Richard knows the area better than anyone and no matter your style, can make your trip perfect. I really, truly feel that way. So...once you book this be sure to use him as a resource (whether you're looking for rugged outdoor activities or fine dining, i.e.). Or, if you want to be left alone because you know the area already, Richard will do just that.

2.) THIS PLACE IS GORGEOUS!!! I mean gorgeous!!! I have been around the world and consider this to be my new haven (my boyfriend and dog would agree). I should also mention that I live on a beautiful farm and was still taken aback by the beauty of this place. The pictures don't do it justice. The flowing river, the bubbling brook on the side of the property, the hammocks that are perfectly placed, the fire pit down along the river, the bridge that crosses the river, the trees, the wildlife, the trails, the deck overlooking the river...I could go on and on.

3. The cottage is impeccably clean. I find this to be very important and was thoroughly impressed.

4. The place has everything you could need. Whether you want to cook on the grill, pop open a glass of wine, watch HD TV, do a load of laundry, etc...you will find that Richard has thought of everything.

5. The rooms are large, airy and extremely welcoming. You will feel very at home here.

6. Because you are extremely close to downtown (10 minutes) going into town is easy. We traveled all over, yet felt so great about coming back here :) that we spent a lot of our time at the cottage.

I honestly can't say enough great things about this place. Just go and you will know exactly what I'm talking about. We are booking it again for our extended family. When we left, my boyfriend said, "I'm going to miss this place." We truly felt like it was "ours" while we were there.

The sadness we felt leaving is only eclipsed by the joy we feel in returning here.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Boardman River Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cottage was clean and welcoming. 8 adults stayed and enjoyed our visit. Good fishing, fun kayaking and evenings around the fire. Fun for all ages! Hope to visit again soon.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is one of the most beautiful places in Northern Michigan. Richard, the owner is first class and this cabin has everything needed for a GREAT vacation / stay. Fishing, swimming, hiking in the creek, bonfires, sunsets, relaxation, it has it all. My wife and I had our 2 children 3 and 10 yrs old along with my parents and there was plenty of room for the 6 of us. The can is immaculate....and the views are gorgeous...we found ourselves staying at the cabin most of the time cooking meals and enjoying the surroundings.... Richard delivers fresh eggs to your door every morning when the chickens cooperate, first class service from a first class owner. Every review here is correct, this place has it all. Our kids loved hiking in the woods and up the creek getting muddy and just being kids....There is tons for all to do and its a short drive to stores, grocery, traverse city, etc. We will make this a yearly trip. Richard, the owner, is excellent and helps with anything you need to make your stay perfect. Thanks again Richard for sharing your little slice of heaven with us !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Sunbury, Ohio
5

Relaxing and Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The other reviewers have it right. This vacation home is isolated, yet close enough to Traverse City without travelling far to enjoy the numerous eateries and tourist attractions. The peaceful Boardman river flows below the cabin to add to the serenity. However, what put this vacation over the top was the friendliness and assistance we received from the owner. His intimate knowledge of the area allowed us to revise our itinerary on many occasions and allowed us to allocate our time wisely. Then there were the free-range eggs, cooled by the swiftly flowing river, that he provided for us every morning. It was his personality and friendliness that put this experience over the top. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Gorgeous Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The many positive reviewers have it right -- this place was fabulous. My husband and I stayed there with two other couples, six adults total in the house, and we had plenty of room to congregate and a separate room for each couple. While the inside of the house is nice (including a fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer - a big plus for a vacation involving hiking and water sports), the outside is where it shines the most - a large fire pit, a huge grill right on the porch, two hammocks, a hot tub, and a river running right through the front yard.

We expected to be spending most of our time in Sleeping Bear, but enjoyed the house so much that, besides a long dune hike and a dip in Lake Michigan, we spent much of our trip relaxing at the house.

The owner, Richard, lives right across the river and was a great balance between being helpful and giving us space to enjoy the property. On our final day there, he loaded us all up into his truck at 7:00 a.m. in the morning and drove us to a boat launch to go river kayaking back down to the house (yes, he has kayaks and paddles for 6 people!). It was my first real kayaking excursion and it couldn't have been better - the water practically carries you back. We saw lots of kayaks, canoes, and fishermen float down the river in the two days we were there.

This place has all the comforts of home and a cabin in the woods, and all 15 minutes from Traverse City. I'm sure we'll be back.

One consideration is that the parking area is across the river from the house and there are a few steps up to the house. It wasn't too strenuous, but if you have any mobility issues you might want to talk with the owner. It sounds like Richard owns another property nearby with easier access, so if you're interested in being able to drive right up to the door, you should ask him about whether that place would be a better fit. It might also be nice if you have a large party and need two houses for everyone to stay in.
Owner's Response: Thanks for writing such a wonderful review! Your group were a pleasure to have stay! I always encourage guests to take a kayak run down the river it is such a wonderful time and even a first timer will find it a thrill! There really is so much to see and due at the cottage and I am so glad that your group took advantage of the time you had here and enjoyed a lot of what is offered. The bonfires and the swimming in the river is a great bit of fun. Thanks again and hope to see you all again soon! Richard
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

The Perfect Getaway Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband, parents and our 4 year old golden retriever spent a long weekend here and had the most amazing time. The location was perfect. We were far enough away from ‘the city’ but close enough to make trips for shopping, golf and winery hopping without having to be gone all day. The house is set back off the road and is in the most perfect spot. The sounds of the river are so tranquil and peaceful. It’s hard not to be relaxed here! Richard, the owner, is VERY accommodating and friendly. He keeps his distance but is available by phone if you need anything at all. The house has almost anything you’d need. We grilled and cooked each night, utilized the comfy chairs and the deck every day and couldn’t have had a more relaxing vacation. I’m sad we didn’t have more time, however, it’s nice to know that we have a perfect spot to vacation to again though in the near future. You won’t be disappointed renting this gem in Traverse City. We can’t wait to go back! This time though, we’ll spend longer than 3 nights. Thanks, Richard! You were great!
business
Three Bedroom, Two Bath Cottage on the Boardman River W/Hot Tub,Fireplace,Air
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409273vb
+ 231-645-4999
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

DELIGHTFUL GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
So much to say about this charming cottage and its beautiful surroundings. It is situated in the woods overlooking the Boardman River. The cottage is clean, well kept, and has all the conveniences of home! There is a gas grill and comfy lounge chairs outside on the deck. We were fortunate to enjoy beautiful weather the days we spent here, so sat outside as much as possible, so we could savor the calming and relaxing sounds of the river flowing, and the beautiful sounds from the birds singing. We saw an occasional couple canoeing or kayaking on the river. We enjoyed shopping in Traverse City, golfing, and visited wineries on the Old Mission Peninsula. These places are not too far to drive to from the cottage. This is a great place for bird watching and photographing nature.
My husband and I, along with our daughter, son-in-law, and their golden retriever spent 3 pleasurable days here. Shortly after our arrival, we received a very warm welcome from Richard, the owner. He gave us information about the property, and cottage, and supplied us with plenty of fresh eggs! Before he left, he made sure we had everything we needed. Richard respected our privacy throughout our stay, and was readily available when we had a question or needed something.
It was a memorable few days for all of us, including Hogan (golden retriever), who loved Richard's visits! And, Hogan appreciated the abundance of sticks to play with! We are already looking forward to our next visit there. A sincere thank you to Richard for providing a serene and tranquil environment for this getaway!!!!!!!
Owner's Response: To Hogan's owners and family. It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests stay at the cottage. When I receive these types of reviews it makes it all worth while! To hear about the stay at the cottage and the day trips to "the city" is really something special. You all are welcomed back anytime providing you bring Hogan! Best wishes thru out the year, enjoy the rest of the summer, and hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Richard