Waimea - Kamuela cottage rental - Dining room and entry from kitchen
Dining room and entry from kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Waimea - Kamuela Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Located 3 miles out of town on the sunny side of upcountry Waimea, the Carriage House Cottage as it is often described, provides an ideal location for exploring the beautiful Island of Hawaii. Beach goers will enjoy the short ten minute drive to Hapuna and Mauna Kea beaches, while those who want to take to the road and explore all the island has to offer will find this desirable location an ideal choice.

Located in the heart of the famous Parker Ranch, nearby historic Waimea provides you with stunning pastoral views, unique shops, terrific restaurants and the small town Paniolo charm famous throughout Hawaii.

Located thirty five minutes from the Kona airport, and an hour and fifteen minutes from the Hilo airport, this central location provides easy access to the entire island including the famous Kona coffee district, Hawi, the Kohala and Hamakua coasts, as well as Hilo and the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Waimea is also the most convenient location for those who wish to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and visitors center.

The carriage house is a fully detached private guest cottage on a third acre lot within the South Kohala View Estates Subdivision. With off street parking, private entrance and fully furnished accommodations, you will find this an excellent choice for your next visit to Hawaii Island.

These are just a few of the comments we often hear from our guests. 'Wow, this is lovely' 'It looks just like the pictures' 'It's so clean' 'The location is so convenient' 'It is so well designed and appointed, I could live here' 'You should be charging more' :)

We're confident you too will enjoy the Carriage House Cottage.

Keywords: Charming cottage. Private. Central Air-conditioning.

Fully equipped. High speed wireless. HD TV

More Details
Hide Details

My wife was born and raised in Hawaii, while I was raised in the San Francisco Bay area. We enjoy gardening, walks along the coast, sunsets at the beach and tinkering on the house, just to name a few.

Brett Kennelly purchased this cottage in 1993

Although I was raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, my wife was from Hawaii. As a child growing up in Hawaii, she always dreamed of living in Kamuela (Waimea) We purchased the property while still living in CA and planned to build a rental home. After living here, we've come to love this very unique place and decided to stay. Based on responses from guests, we believe you will feel the same.

Charming and Cozy, the carriage house is your home away from home during your stay on Hawaii island.

16 Reviews of Property 409170 in Waimea - Kamuela, Hawaii

An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Excellent Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was a real find, beautifully maintained with everything you would ever need to make your stay comfortable including a washer/dryer and parking is provided right on the property. The owners supply beach towels, beach chairs etc. for trips to the beaches. Although on the owner's property it is very private. As others have noted it is located on the main road but with the central a/c and well built windows we never found that it disturbed us plus the bedroom is on the end away from the road. It is located about half way between the beaches and the town of Waimea which is very convenient as there are restaurants, grocery stores and farmer markets in Waimea to get supplies but only 10 - 15 minutes down to the coast to the beaches. Also located on the dry side which can make a huge difference. Good base to explore the north end of the island, can even do a day trip to the Volcano Park. We were there as our son and his wife just had a baby and were very close by but their place was too small to stay with the mother in law already there. We will not hesitate to stay in this unit again on our next trip to see the family. The only people I would not recommend it to is someone who cannot handle stairs as it is on the second floor and requires climbing stairs on the outside. The owners Brett and Susan are extremely helpful with any questions you may have but respectful of one's privacy. All in all a perfect place to stay for someone who wants an immaculate quiet place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Renton, Wa
5

Very nice place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was a very nice place and the owners are great. I would definitely rent that place again and recommend it to others. Be aware the cottage is above the garage and there are many stairs to climb.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Great, new, private spot close to Hapuna and amenities of Waimea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed in the carriage house which was fully stocked with all the basic kitchen items you'd need to prepare meals, a large master bedroom, and pull-out couch. The large unit is brand new and the owners have clearly put a lot of care into the space. After all, they lived in it while the main house was being constructed. This would be great for a family or for a couple looking for a few nights in a relatively affordable place close to Hapuna Beach and all the sights to see on the north side of the island.

The accommodations are on the west side of Waimea - a 5-minute drive into town for shops and restaurants and 20-minute drive to the beach. The carriage house is located right on the highway so if you're very sensitive to noise you might find that is a factor. But given that the bedroom was furthest away from the highway and that the owners had put triple pane glass in the unit it didn't bother us.

The owners are great. Very friendly but respectful of your privacy. If you like Waimea or you prefer not to spend the big bucks on the resorts this is a great spot to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Weimea Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Very nice unit in a convenient location, close to good beaches, and good selection of dining opportunities. Waimea has a fully stocked grocery store and several gas stations which make it an ideal base to explore the north coast of the Big Island. We would stay in this unit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Los Angeles
4

Great Base for North Shore Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This one-bedroom/one-bath rental provided us with a very clean, private and comfortable place to stay while we were vacationing on this side of the Big Island. Lots of amenities, and the owner was very gracious. Not the kind of place to stay if you want a mai-tai-sipping-lanai experience, but great as a home base for this side of the Big Island.

Mahalo, Brett and Susan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Springfield, MO
5

Karla and Ronnie

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved our stay at this beautiful carriage house and would stay there again. It was just as it appeared in the pictures, clean and well stocked. We had everything we needed, Brett quickly toured us of the property and was very accommodating to our needs. We had golf clubs and scuba gear that he let us store down below and we knew he was available if we needed him. Nice shower, TV and d├ęcor. We thoroughly enjoyed the Waimea area since it is centrally located to Kona and Hilo. A beautiful rainbow greeted us and the townspeople were friendly. It was neat to have a cooler to pack our lunch in, beach towels, condiments to cook with and laundry facility with the works. We enjoyed our home away from home. Beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed having our own quaint little place without a bunch of people around. We loved the dinner for 2 at Jade Palace in Kamuela after we got our groceries at Foodland, enjoyed driving the coastline and stopping at a different beach each day for lunch. I wouldn't reserve a lot of time at Volcano National Park, plan to go to Akala Falls and do the hike. Thanks for the visit to Hawaii, we hope to visit again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

Absolutely Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The Carriage House was fabulous! A perfect central location for easy access to the Kohala Coast, Kailua/Kona, and star gazing at the observatory. Brett was available to help us with anything we needed, but respectful of our privacy and vacation time. The Carriage House was more beautiful in person than I expected! Such attention to detail and craftsmanship. The road outside can get a bit distracting during rush hours, but the well insulated doors and windows kept things quiet. I was also surprised and impressed with the amenities. Spices, condiments, coffee, sunscreen, aloe, bottles of water, were all appreciated. Brett asked us for suggestions if anything was lacking, but we couldn't think of a thing! We didn't use the cooler, beach chairs, or beach towels, but it was generous to have all available for our use.

This rental is located over the detached garage of a home in a residential neighborhood. We felt very safe and comfortable, as if staying with relatives or good friends. The price was EXTREMELY reasonable and I feel fortunate to have found this gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Bellingham, WA
5

Great Place to Explore North End of Hawai'i

Great Place to Explore North End of Hawai'i
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Wonderful place to stage exploration of Northern part of Hawai'i. It's perfect for a couple and you won't have to bring anything but food -- a lot of which is available at the local farmers market. Great, helpful owners.

One of the best furnished rentals we've ever stayed in on the big island. Merriman's in town is great for lunch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

A Real Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The Carriage House is comfortable and well equipped, perfect for relaxing after a day at Kona, Hilo, the beach or Hawi. It is very near Waimea for gas, food shopping and restaurants, and about 40 minutes from Kona Airport. Two marvelous beaches, Hapuna and Mauna Loa, are only 10 minutes away. We enjoyed the nearby restaurants, Red Water, Merriman's and Pau.
The owners are very welcoming and helpful.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 9-night stay in both this charming accommodation and interesting area of Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
An Absolute Gem! Ideal Location for Exploring Hawaii Island.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p409170vb
808 896-6165
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Kauai
5

Excellent acommodations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My stay at the Carriage house was extremely satisfactory. It is conveniently located, very close to Waimea town and all the amenities there. The cottage is immaculate and you will not find a nicer place to stay. The owners are very gracious hosts and make your stay as comfortable as possible. I give this 5 stars and encourage folks traveling to Big Island to call Brett and Susan for availability before you look at alternatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3