Little Gasparilla Island house rental - Your Private Vacation Beach House, 'The Rum Runner'
Your Private Vacation Beach House, 'The Rum Runner'
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Little Gasparilla Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This tropical paradise offers both beach access and boat dock access on this bridgeless barrier island. Relax and enjoy some 'R & R' in this lovely 4 Bedroom/2 Bath house on stilts, which sleeps up to 10 people very comfortably. You will have 2 King bedrooms, 1 Queen bedroom, and 4 twin (bunk) beds.

Enjoy the wonderful Gulf View sunsets from the large screened Lanai at treetop level as well as from the greatroom, dining area, and kitchen. Explore the island with the electric Golf Cart included in your rental. Fish off the community dock, where you can also dock your boat (if you bring or rent one--must be 21' or shorter). Enjoy the huge lower deck with hammock and chairs for cool nights of relaxing. Keep the kids happy with two satellite TVs, two DVD players, a stereo/CD/iPod player, games, jigsaw puzzles, books, and more. Check out our SPECIAL FEATURE: A 2- or 3-person CANOE with ice chest and dry box.

Our property managers will provide you with a packet of information to help you get settled in to your 'home away from home'. They can help you arrange for transportation to and from the island and answer any questions you may have. ***New feature: You can arrange ahead of time for meals to be delivered and waiting for you in your refrigerator/freezer! Also, they can provide you with a disk which will allow you to connect to a local Dial-up (slow speed) Internet service, if you wish.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

In 1984, we bought a lot on this beautiful island for a vacation home. After 20 years, we sold the lot and purchased this wonderful house with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico. We hope all our renters enjoy their stay and all the amenities of our 'home away from home'.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

We live most of the year on the east coast of Florida, and we enjoy the Atlantic Ocean; but our favorite areas are along the west coast of Florida, especially on LGI, where the waves are more tame, colorful shells are plentiful, and the fish and shrimp are great for catching and eating. Quite often, you can see dolphin frolicking in the Gulf and the Bay. [Please remember NOT to take any live shells; these little animals need to stay in the water in order to survive.]

Fishing and boating are wonderful along the coast and within the waters between the barrier islands and the mainland. This is the 'Tarpon Capitol of the World'. Our beaches are not crowded at all and you and your family will have fun exploring the island in our golf cart, which is provided for our renters' use.

We sincerely hope that your stay in The Rum Runner house will be a relaxing and memorable one. We have tried to include all the necessities for a carefree, enjoyable vacation in our spacious home on this 'old Florida' style island. Please leave us your comments in our 'Guestbook', which you will find in the greatroom.

To you and your family and/or friends: Happy Islanding!

13 Reviews of Property 40863 in Little Gasparilla Island, Florida

Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
average rating of 4.875 based on 13 reviews
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Miami, Florida, USA
5

Just What We Need for a great time to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Private Hideaway home, private beach full of beautiful shells to collect, secluded island far from distracted city light and noise. What else do you need but a guitar, a book or two and the people you love?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
South Florida
5

Great Vacation place...!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I highly recommend this property...clean and spacious...all the amenities, even chairs, floats and a canoe. If you want to relax or play your heart out...this is a great place...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Boca Raton, Florida
5

A little piece of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family had a wonderful reunion at Rum Runner. So much room for us all. The beach is beautiful. You have a little piece of heaven here. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
West Palm Beach, FL
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We spent July 4th at your house and it was the best vacation we ever had. It was so relaxing! Truly a fantastic get-away. We loved spending time with family, driving the golf cart, swimming, canoing, fishing, and especially not having to think about work!

Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you had such a great time at The Rum Runner house; and we hope you will come back to enjoy the island again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This is a great getaway home with all the conveniences, but still away
from all the hustle and bustle. Everything you need for a relaxing
vacation, beautiful beach, sunsets, and STARS! I highly recommend this
property!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I couldn't ask for a more inviting and relaxing place to stay. perfectly
siuated on the island too between the inlet and the ocean. really nice
accomodations...I've stayed here twice and I'll be back. thanks
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
West Palm Beach, FL
5

Really amazing get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We have had the best time relaxing on the porch, at the beach only a min walk from the house and on the hammock on the deck. romantic, relaxing, and serene. Couldnt have asked for a better vacation. Has all the perks of home (internet, tv, etc) but we found we rarely used them. We enjoyed each other and the view. We will definitely be going back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Land O Lakes, FL
4

family gathering

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We loved the house and had a wonderful family week. However, if I were the owners of this wonderful property, I would take a serious look at the management. The house needs a thorough deep cleaning. The trees need to be trimmed and the lot cleaned. The golf cart needs some serious service. We loved the island and the weather was nice--we certainly would go back again, but maybe to another better managed property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have asked our property managers to monitor the cleaning better and I am sure they will. The dead palm fronds were due to an unusual freeze we had, just before you arrived. They have since been trimmed and the coconuts now line the edge of our driveway. We leave the rest of the bushes to grow wild for an "old Florida" look. We prefer this to a manicured look because it complements the "beachy" atmosphere of our island. We hope you will visit the island again.

Owners of The Rum Runner
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This wonderful home is perfect for a happy, family-focused vacation. It easily sleeps 10, is child-friendly, has a great kitchen as part of the living area, is a one-minute walk from a wonderful beach, and has a golf cart which is way fun for transporting children and everyone. If you ever wish you could escape to an uncrowded, tranquil, family-oriented vacation, this is your place. The management company is extremely helpful with the logistics from the airport to the water taxi and island.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large 4BR Island House with partial Gulf View (Sleeps 10)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40863vb
561-676-6900 (Florida, USA)
Little Gasparilla Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
West Palm Beach, FL
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2004
  • Stayed: Jun 2004
We have had the pleasure of staying in this beautifully appointed home on two different occasions. The home is comfortable with LOTS of room, and to be able to see the Gulf from the deck made our time there worth it all. The beach is just a short walk away to join other guests in watching the beautiful sunsets. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay with no cars or traffic, you couldn't find a better place. We'll be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1