Annapolis Royal cottage rental - Quintessentially Nova Scotian!
Quintessentially Nova Scotian!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Annapolis Royal Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Quaintly Nova Scotian! A 1930's cedar-shake cottage, nestled in to the mountainside with a wide, close view of the Bay of Fundy!

The Bay of Fundy was one of Frommer's top global destinations in 2012! Nova Scotia was a Lonely Planet top pick for 2012!

In the fall of 2012, Annapolis Royal won the title of 'Cultureville' of the Maritimes. A short drive from the cottage will take you into the heart of this delightful town! Second place in this contest was Wolfville, just an hour's drive through the scenic Annapolis Valley and you're there!

Nature is big here in Nova Scotia! (Parkers Cove is no exception) You'll find mountains & valleys, oceans & lakes, bays & brooks, big skies & wide views, cliffs & caves, pebble shores and sandy beaches.

The cottage offers a respite from the busy world...almost a step back in time. Without TV or internet to distract you, the noise of technology is replaced with birdsong and the soothing rhythm of waves, the wind blowing through the trees and the babbling of the brook.

Watch our 'nature channel'! Gaze at the calming views of bobbing lobster boats on the Bay from a seat on the porch or reclining in the bed upstairs. Watch the seals watching you. And keep an eye out for porpoises and the occasional whale. Lots of sea birds and ducks as well as our resident eagle - a pair was spotted this year!

And then there are the crows....if they are not talking 'at' you, they are talking about you to their feathered friends.

Be sure to count them! Do you know the poem?

One crow sorrow, two crows bliss,

Three crows a letter, four crows a kiss,

Five crows silver, six crows gold,

Seven crows a secret never to be told!

Walk the trails behind the cottage by following the red arrows which mark the path that runs along the brook to the 'bench of contemplation'. Even on a hot summer day, you can rest in the quiet coolness by the forest stream. Deer may make a morning appearance.

Red arrows also mark the short cut and the lowland path which runs above the rock garden. Not a challenging hike but a nice walk through the woods. We all know how good that is for the soul!

Walking sticks are leaning by the front door or can be found in the garage.

Forget fast food~ feed your soul with all that is available in the area - the catch of the day, organic produce, local wines and our delicious spring water at the cottage. There are wonderful restaurants in the area and an incredible farmers market on Saturday. Prepare your meals in the cottage kitchen or take it easy and have the fish market just down the road cook your lobster for you!

The cottage is small but cosy ~

Inside the front door, you'll find hooks to hang your jacket, hat or bag. Below there is a built-in bench to perch on or disperse your load of shopping bags or shore finds. Shelves below the bench offer storage for your shoes or what ever you choose. You'll also find games such as Scrabble, Cribbage, Checkers, Backgammon and Cards shelved there.

In the relaxing room, feel free to rest your feet on the table as you slouch back in the comfortable couch and enjoy the view. Pillows and throws add to your repose. A great place to enjoy a impromptu nap.

The eat-in kitchen features the original cottage cupboards, full size refrigerator, an electric stove, a microwave, toaster, blender, mini-grill, coffee maker and an electric kettle. Dishes, glassware, silverware, cooking utensils, tea towels, pots and pans are all there for your use.

There is a storage room off the kitchen that leads to the back door and the herb garden. Its a good place to stow luggage and coolers.

First floor bedroom offers a double bed and a small closet under the stairs. The original wooden walls are painted white and the wooden floor is a nautical blue. View from the window is of the woods, very green and calm. Open it and enjoy fresh air. There is also a fan available.

Full bathroom that is just steps away of the kitchen features a shower with great pressure. A washer and dryer is there for your use or feel like a local and use the clothes line. You'll find a laundry basket and clothes pins. Also a hair dryer and of course, lots of towels.

Upstairs, there is a bedroom with a double bed. A 1/2 bath is tucked under the eaves. Whitewashed wooden walls and a finished wooden floor make for a cozy space. Windows on all sides so views of water and woods plus great cross breezes. There is a small closet, a chest of drawers and shelves where you'll find books and cds. There is also a cd player and a clock radio. Rest your suitcases on the trunks for easier access. Also for your convenience, a hair dryer and a fan.

Out of doors, a front porch beckons. A 'shore road' bench made by my neighbour makes a comfortable perch. Guests have enjoyed coffee, wine, even meals here. Others have used the porch to meditate, do yoga, write and paint.

Shore access is granted by my neighbours. I will show you the paths to use when you arrive. Take the bucket and do a bit of beach combing and see what you can find. You never know what washes up with the Fundy tides!

You'll find a friendly community along the road. Take a walk in either direction and enjoy the views. Don't be surprised if someone waves at you or stops to chat. You might get invited in for a coffee or a lobster dinner! The wildflowers that grow here are incredible. Pick a bunch for the cottage.

Bring art supplies, yoga mat, journal, camera, books, binoculars, hiking boots, golf clubs - you never know what you'll be inspired to do!

I live just down the road, 1.2 km - close at hand if you need anything...like warm coats to go whale watching or help cooking a lobster;)

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 408555 in Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
average rating of 4.928571 based on 17 reviews
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Easthampton, Massachusetts
5

Where Heaven Meets Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A stroke of good luck to have found this very special, healing spot. Surrounded by woods on three sides, with a magical rushing stream and waterfalls behind the property and glorious Bay of Fundy views in front of it. Loaded with charm and Nova Scotia character inside and out. Peggy is a most thoughtful host who has put her unique and caring touch on this place that sets it apart from your usual rental. A real home away from home and more. I found much serenity, rest and inspiration here and will return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Southern Ontario
5

Red hat lady

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is my 4th visit to the cottage. I was very fortunate to come in the glory of fall this stay.The autumn leaves turning to jewel shades of reds, golds and oranges as my week went on was truly amazing .The beauty of nature was all around as we hiked and drove in the area.We had a lovely day in near by Annapolis Royal ,visiting the well stocked library,had a lovely Latte' at Joanne's bookstore and cafe' ,then walked the board walk to view the colourful hills with the morning mist hanging over them.shopping in town for great gifts for family was also wonderful...local crafts amazing. I once again enjoyed a day at the Spa Middleton and afternoon high tea in Centervile. The Highland games where on as well ...so seeing men in kilts was another highlite! I will be back....the views and relaxation at this wonderful,cozy ,clean cottage should not be missed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

great family vacation

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Great weather and what wonderful sunsets. A perfect holiday for us all.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Rain and fog didn't dampen the fun!

Rain and fog didn't dampen the fun!
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a terrific time despite the weather. Thank you for everything.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Nova Scotia is a lot like Ireland

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
 
It was lovely to meet you too! Thanks for the 2 weeks! We had a great time despite the weather!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Where do you live?
5

Ian, Pat and Lucky's visit to Parkers Cove, Nova Scotia

Ian, Pat and Lucky's visit to Parkers Cove, Nova Scotia
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented Peggy's cottage on the Bay of Fundy for four weeks in July. What a fantastic experience. The cottage was spotless, very comfortable, and had everything we wanted, including a fabulous view of the bay. The front porch is ideal for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. Not only will you see the sunset over the bay, you will meet the locals as they take their evening stroll. We were even invited to a July 4th party at the neighbors! Peggy's cottage is only minutes from the town of Annapolis Royal where grocery stores, museums, restaurants, and of course the Saturday market are located. The cottage is also well situated for day trips of whale watching, hiking, and visiting the south shore. But the best part is you get to come home to the peace and quiet of this charming cottage after a busy day and relax on the porch while the sun sets. Our dog Lucky enjoyed it too, but his favorite things were playing on the rocks by the bay and walking in the woods by the stream behind the cottage. Thanks Peggy and Rex for your hospitality. We'll definitely be back. Ian and Pat
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Cochrane AB
5

A quaint and relaxing spot.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at this cozy rustic little cottage on Shore Road for a week in May. The owners were so very gracious to open the cottage early to accommodate the request even though it was a bit early for them to open. Rex and Debbie were very helpful with directions to trails, places to see and getting us firewood so we could have a fire in the cozy sun room on the cool days. The cottage was clean and very well set up with everything we needed to ensure our stay was perfect. I love the recycling program! Only 20 minutes from Annapolis Royal also made it a perfect place to start any day from. The view from the cottage was so stunning! The sunsets and ebb and flow of the tides were spectacular to watch from both the sunroom and the upstairs bedroom windows which also made it a great place to hang out for an afternoon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Thunder Bay, ON
5

Northwestern Ontario Resident

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cottage was very nice and very cozy. The kitchen was well stocked for the variety of meals we prepared. It was also great to have the on site washer/dryer. The glassed in porch was a comfortable spot to relax and view the beautiful sunsets. I'd love to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
Southern Ontario
5

Sisters Summer Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
4 sisters gathered from all across Canada to spend a memorable sister reunion at this adorable cottage across from the Bay of Fundy. From morning coffee in the relaxing room to a glass of wine and sunsets over the Bay.
We all really enjoyed our week spent in Parkers Cove . We were able to relax and unwind in true Nova Scotia fashion.
Many exciting area events happening during the week we stayed!
Art--The artist painted thru out the town of Annapolis Royal the weekend we arrived . We watched them paint and we could later view the beautiful results at the live and ever changing art auction at the Legion! Wonderful views of the city and gardens to see and take home a colourful memory!
Scenery- We enjoyed the South west area of NS ,site seeing daily ,off to Peggy's Cove , Mahone Bay with the lovely scenic view of the 3 churches, Chester and more.. Lighthouses and Tearooms, shopping at local markets and small scenic towns.
Food- Enjoying Fresh Fish and Seafood along the way! Tea and treats.
Theatre- viewed a fabulous movie at the local Theatre ....hope to see a live play next time!
Every corner seems to hold a more scenic view than the last! There was something for everyone!
The cottage was perfect for 4 sisters to reunite and unwind, read and relax...We hope to return each summer for more fun and memories! Truly wonderful!!! Safe and secure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Nova Scotia Cottage - Bay of Fundy Views and Forest Trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408555vbi
Annapolis Royal Bay of Fundy
London, UK.
5

A true refuge.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a charming reteat from our real life, which we didn't realise was that tiring. A well equipped place, which is very commfortable. Sitting in the sun lounge watching the sea is captivating, the seals, the various plummiting sea birds, two marvelous unphotographable humming birds and the glorious sea eagle.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway