Point Lookout house rental - Private beach directly across from Chesabelle
Private beach directly across from Chesabelle
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Point Lookout House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Chesabelle is our Belle of the Bay. This fully renovated beach house is stylishly appointed with stunning views across a small estuary into the Bay. The house features an open floor plan for easy entertaining. See diverse wildlife including, herons, swans, ospreys, bald eagles, and pelicans as you cook, read, or relax on the screened-in porch. Or, grab a beach chair or towel and head for the private sandy beach just steps away. Kayak or bicycle - the world is your oyster here.

Back in the house, the open floor plan, complete with a well-equipped kitchen, dining room, and sitting room with TV and porch + deck allows a family or group to be together whether cooking, playing games, watching television or just relaxing. The wood burning stove makes winter days at Chesabelle as enticing as summer days. Enjoy a weekend wine tasting at nearby Woodlawn plantation - Slack wine dot com.

A short bike ride away is Point Lookout State Park, a Civil War site. Today the park, which is located on the point where the Chesapeake Bay and the Potomac River meet, hosts miles of protected land set aside for biking, kayaking, boating, fishing, camping or enjoying nature as well as a museum that provides a historical perspective on the region. Or charter a boat at one of many local marinas for a day of fishing on the Bay. Another nearby historical site is St. Mary's City (10 miles), the original capital of Maryland.

Visitors are 25 minutes from dining and shopping on Solomon's Island or in historic Leonardtown. Or enjoy one of several local marina restaurants. Want a day trip away? All that the nation's capital has to offer is a short 80 miles away.

Collect shells and beach glass while walking uninterrupted for miles along the sandy beach. Unlike typical cheek-by-jowl beach houses, Chesabelle offers its visitors direct Bay views while nestled on a 1/2 acre of land. Enjoy rare, unimpeded waterview privacy and access so close to major cities and amenities.

Keywords: Totally renovated; open floor plan; sweeping views across Bay; chic beach style

More Details
Hide Details

I love to create beautiful beach houses of all types for people to enjoy to the fullest.

Daniela Bostic purchased this house in 2008

A fabulous place to be away, be active or just relax...and so close to Washington, DC

The sound of the waves soothes the soul!

16 Reviews of Property 408472 in Point Lookout, Maryland

Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
5

Wonderful space for our team retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My small company was looking for a place outside the city where we could have our team retreat and do some yearly planning. We reserved two of the houses including the Chesabelle. The houses were comfortable, gorgeous and the perfect alternative to a corporate retreat. The host was wonderful to point us to some great catering close by. No one wanted to get back to work because it was so lovely and comfy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
Flemington, NJ
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our first family vacation in five years and it was absolutely perfect. We loved Chesabelle, it was a wonderful cottage with everything one could need or want. The bikes, beach chairs, kyaks, linens and beach towels were all an added plus!! The cottage is decorated perfectly and is kept immaculate! Our family loved spending time on the screened in porch together watching our dog, Rusty play outside. AND the fact that Rusty was able to come with us and was an extra special bonus. We loved having a private beach, looking for shells and sea glass. Even our teenage kids were happy to be tucked away from the hub bub of evryday life and be able to relax , enjoy nature, kyak, fish and crab, but mostly our family. Thank you to Daniella and Peggy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
5

Family friendly getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family, along with another, had a wonderful stay at Chesabelle. The location couldn't be better! The kids enjoyed running around on the spacious lawn and playing in the hose, and of course...the beach. We made use of the kayaks provided and spent lots of time playing and relaxing. We brought along our city dog (country at heart) and she had so much fun running around the property and enjoying the outdoors! The decor is especially nice, modern and tasteful. Beach towels and chairs are provided, which we found very convenient. This is a lovely, light filled home that is clean and comfortable. We hope to visit again soon!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
Ohio
5

Chesabell Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at Chesabelle was quite lovely. We biked to Point Lookout Park and also walked along the park beaches. We enjoyed a meal at Spinnakers and also at the Brome Howard Inn. The Inn was particularly memorable as the food was delicious and the atmosphere most relaxing. Visits to Piney Point, St. George Island and Solomon's Island were fun.
The house has everything we needed and really much more. It was clean and appeared as the on-line photos suggested. My only issue was being bitten by what I am not sure, but the bugs certainly seemed to like me!! Next time more insect repellent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: The one disadvantage of being so close to nature is the bugs. Nature is wonderful but the pests are not! Insect repellent is a good idea if guests are hiking through tall grass or the woods. Insect repellent helps avoid chiggers (and ticks). A shower immediately after a hike helps, too. For guests who are not from the South, chiggers can be an unpleasant experience leading to itchy red welts. You won't find them on the beach but they await you on hikes so through wooded or areas that have not been mown so be prepared.
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
BETHESDA MD USA
5

Great Family weekend!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Beautiful house with all the amenities . We are looking forward to our next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
Hanover, PA
5

Secluded beach paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our time at the Chesabelle was absolutely wonderful! The house is surrounded by the sounds of nature. The beach is very secluded and peaceful. Chesabelle was very clean and beautifully decorated, very classy, yet, very homey. This is our second stay at Scotland and has quickly become our very favorite vacation spot. It is very evident that the owner takes much pride in her properties and has always answered our questions thoroughly and quickly. I cannot recommend this vacation rental enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
5

Gem of a house on the Chesapeake Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house looks small from the outside, but wait until you walk through the door. Very artistic and fashionable furnishings with all the amenities of home. Well maintained and very clean. Would comfortably sleep 6. It was just 2 of us staying and we had the MOST comfortable bed we've ever slept in, seriously (in the bedroom with the sliding door). WOW! The owners were very prompt & friendly in responding to our inquiries. The views of the Bay are wonderful and you have access to a private community beach. We built a bonfire, collected sea glass and relaxed on the sand. Too cold to swim. There are also kayak's for your use very conveniently located at the beach. We didn't try since winds were sustained at 15 mph gusting up to 25 mph. Next visit (yes we will return) we hope to venture out on the Bay. Owners provide bicycles and riding around was safe and fun. Nearby sites to visit are Pt. Lookout State Park (Lighthouse open 1st Sat.'s in June, Aug., Oct. & Nov.), several Vineyards, St. Mary's Historic City, several State Park's for birding, hiking, biking, fishing, boating and swimming. We highly recommend a lovely Italian Restaurant in Solomon's Island called DiGiovanni's Dock of the Bay. A stop at Buzzy's Country Store should not be missed around 4:00 - 6:00 PM.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
Pennsylvania
5

Chesabelle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a house that provided the thoughtfulness one expects from friends' hospitality (and rarely finds!). The owners' refined taste in decoration, furniture, linens, beds.... is impeccable. This is a beach house that, after a long journey, instantly provides a pampered respite from one's travels. There was nothing to do but sit and relax. No sounds of traffic, only of nature. IT was nice and clean (pets are allowed and I am not a pet person, but not one pet hair was found!). A cardinal greeted us with a Good Morning song each day. We send our condolences to the owners, who have to look out onto that eyesore of a four story white house. a small blight on the landscape, but there are still plenty of wide, wild lovely vistas to enjoy, and that monstrosity could be, perhaps, considered entertainment. We loved our weekend at Chesabelle. Both days were spent at a wedding at Woodlawn, another idyllic setting. Thank you for providing us with such a lovely getaway. We would recommend it to one and all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
WhereIhangmyhat,USA
5

Serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I have had the unique opportunity of being able to reside in just about every rental property Peggy has in this rare shoreline community. Hers are places uniquely set apart from any other "Vacation Rental" you will ever experience, as they possess a design of the casually elegant "barefoot house"; smartly appointed with extraordinary attention paid to every personal detail and need. Most charming are the recognizable nods to the European Boutique somewhere in each abode.
Whether relaxing on the porch or deck from a shoreline walk or snugly immersed in a good book inside the cozy interior, Chesabelle will lift you from within and transport you to the expansive and elegant quiet of the Chesapeake....
I return to her often in lovely memories and actually..... never tiring of her gracious integration with the surrounding landscape. Thank you for your exceptional vision as it is a gift worth opening and engaging in time and again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Chesabelle - Belle of the Bay. Sweeping Views. Sand. Style.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408472vbi
+1 571-217-3659
Point Lookout Chesapeake Bay
Amsterdam, Netherlands
5

fantastic house, amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
we loved our stay at chesabelle. we were two couples and one baby and the house was perfect. it is very well appointed and we were very well looked after by the owner peggy. she even sourced a highchair for us so we didnt have to bring one from europe. the location is amazing, and we loved kayaking on and swimming in the bay. it is quite some distance to the nearest shops but once you get used to this it's no problems whatsoever. peggy was also very useful in advising us activities to do in the area. top class all round!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway