Cole Valley apartment rental - First Parlor and portion of second parlor
First Parlor and portion of second parlor
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Cole Valley Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This charming Victorian flat is light and spacious and has recently been remodeled. The second parlor features a 50' flat-screened HDTV and DVD player. There are two bedrooms, a bathroom and a wide hallway.

This neighborhood that includes Haight Ashbury and Cole Valley is one of the most desirable in the city. You can start your day at one of the six espresso cafes within three blocks of 740 Shrader. My favorite is Reverie Cafe; and for brunch, lunch or dinner go to Zazie's, a french bistro on Cole Street. Wander up and down Haight Street and into unique shops. Stop in at one of the very best independent bookstores, Booksmith, which brings writers to the neighborhood and sponsors many community-oriented events.

Spend some time in Golden Gate Park and go to the California Academy of Sciences and visit with the penguins and see the amazing aquarium. The CAS cafe may be just the place for lunch. Across the way is the De Young Museum which has good food as well as an outstanding art collection and special exhibitions. Alice Waters of the famous Chez Panisse restaurant in Berkeley raised the bar on museum fare some years back. Lucky for us!

Keywords: This charming Victorian flat is spacious and light with a double parlor, two bedrooms, one bathroom, large eat-in kitchen with new SS appliances including a Bertazzoni gas range. The kitchen and a bedroom look out upon a lovely garden and brick patio. The front parlor looks out upon ferns, jasmine and Vinca Major, as well as a Sycamore tree of dramatic proportions.

Some of the amenities include a large collection of books and art, children's books and toys.

More Details
Hide Details

My introduction to San Francisco was in the sixties when I worked on a surgery ward at UCSF. My free time was spent hanging out in North Beach and favorite places: City Lights Bookstore, Vesuvio’s Café, Enricos’ and Café Trieste. After sojourns on the Monterey Peninsula, Washington, D.C. Vietnam and North Carolina, I returned to San Francisco to work as a professor in the UCSF School of Nursing

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1977

Haight Ashbury was the neighborhood where I wanted to live, and I fell in love with 740 Shrader Street, a house built in 1897 by a well-known artist of the day, Nellie Burrell Scott who was married to Wisner Gillette Scott, an engineer with investment in the mining industry. He was also a very civic-minded gentleman who gave the opening address to the West Coast Defense League meeting in Seattle in 1916 during WWI.

740 Shrader has been a work in progress all these years, and I take great pride in the high quality of maintenance and improvements. Music has been a passion throughout my life, and opera is my favorite musical form. I especially enjoy chamber and classical, music as well as Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Count Basie and Joni Mitchell. Collecting books is another passion; my library includes an extensive collection of books about military history, war and peace. This particular interest derives from an 18 month period in 1967-68 when I worked for the Agency of International Development as a nurse adviser in South Vietnam. Other interests include politics and art. My travels have taken me to Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, Central America, and Mexico. I was a board member of Haight Ashbury Improvement Association for a number of years. What a sweetheart! Bogey is a friendly Shih Tzu and resident of 740 Shrader. When he was three months old I went to Phoenix to pick him up on the advice of a friend. On July 14th, 2011, his friends came over to celebrate his 6th birthday.

16 Reviews of Property 408044 in Cole Valley, California

Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
El Paso TX
5

Wonderful VRBO

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The scent of jasmine and a charming red door greeted us every time we returned to this VRBO. We opened our door to sunny yellow walls and warm wood floors. If we were lucky, we received a greeting from Bogie, resident Shih-Tzu. The patio was blooming with vibrant colors. We are literature lovers and appreciated the variety and abundance of books in every room. The property was clean and met all our needs. The owner was easily accessible. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt this was the perfect location for us. We were able to easily walk to Golden Gate Park to visit the Academy of Science, Conservatory of Flowers, de Young Museum, Botanical Gardens, and Japanese Tea Gardens. We took a Muni to Embracadero Center to see the Exploratorium and walk the Pier, to visit the Palace of Fine Arts, the Legion of Honor, Chinatown, and other neighborhoods. We highly recommend Christopher Elbow chocolates, Little Star Pizza, the farmers market on Divisadero Street on Sundays, Molinari Deli, Mojo Bicycle Café... The City Pass was perfect for us as it included many attractions and the Muni/trolley. We could not find parking on the street and had to utilize a parking lot a couple of blocks away. The charge was $20 for 24 hours. Everything we wanted to see was in walking/Muni capability. Muni App - Transit 511 was helpful. The visit and host were wonderful and we hope to come again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Cheri, for your very kind review. It was delightful having you and your family as guests, and I hope you come again soon.

Best regards,
Joan
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5

Wonderful light-filled apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
THis place was cozy, bright, and spacious. Filled with awesome books. Well-equipped kitchen. Perfect location. Joan was great at every point. Would definitely stay here again!
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
5

Beautiful home in the Haight.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The rental home is beautiful. Joan is a gracious host. And the resident pup Bogey is just the icing on the cake. We could not have asked for more perfect place to celebrate Thanksgiving with our family. If we are ever in San Fran again, we will surely be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
-
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Great location. Near public transportation, if you use Zipcar, there are two places within a couple of blocks with multiple cars in each. A relatively inexpensive parking lot if you're driving a car. Whole Foods and other shopping within a couple of blocks. Joan, the owner, is very helpful with all information about the area area. The apartment itself is perfect. Great kitchen, lovely patio, comfortable beds and all very charming. The pictures are very accurate. We would definitely rent this apartment again when we are in San Francisco and would recommend it to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
Altadena, CA
5

Recent Guests from L.A.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful time at Joan's lovely Victorian flat. It is centrally located near the plentiful shops on Haight St. and Golden Gate Park. It is also a short walk to the train which can take you to all parts of the City. This was a great experience for my husband and myself, along with 3 teenagers. A place for everyone to sleep and something for everyone to do. I enjoyed reading in the secluded patio before everyone woke up. The flat was charming and well-stocked. We would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
Dublin
5

comfortable family stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We (my wife and 2 teenage children) stayed at this property for 5 nights in early July.
The house was wonderful, beautifully furnished and with an excellent location.
We used it as a base to explore greater San Francisco (visiting Stinson Beach, Muir Woods) and to live in the city. We played tennis in Golden Gate Park and used the muni to get downtown. There were some excellent restaurants within walking distance and a Whole Foods store to pick up groceries.
Joan and her playful dog, Bogie, were always at hand to answer questions and to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
The house is well maintained and has everything you could need.
We would stay again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
Netherlands
5

Very nice apartment; great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a good stay! We spent 3 nights here to enjoy SF. After having spent 6 nights in New York in a hotel it was so nice to stay in a home again! The apartment is spacious, and well equipped. The small garden is nice to drink a beer and get some sun (if there is any). We and our kids (14,12 and 9) also loved the large television screen where we watched Escape from Alcatraz the evening prior to our visit. Joan was very generous and the kids were allowed to borrow her 2 steps to race from the hilly sidewalk, and the football to play a bit in Golden Gate park.
Public transportion was very close by, as were many shops. The people from the bike shop on Haight St were also very helpful and had excellent bikes in all sizes. We cycled a full day through Presidio, over the Golden Gate bridge, to Sausolito, and then back by ferry to SF.

The only potential drawback is the fact that one could hear the other renters in the apartment on the second floor- this was a family with young kids who woke up early and started running around. It didn't bother us at all but it is good to know that things may get a bit noisy in this lovely old house.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
5

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a great apartment in a fantastic location. We had a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Deborah, for your review, and I'm glad you liked the apartment as well as the neighborhood.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were so sorry to be staying only four nights in this picturesque and very interesting part of San Francisco. Public transport was very convenient and service good, with buses running often to many other suburbs. The apartment was very comfortable and clean with lots of space to spread out. Cooking and clothes washing facilities were impeccable. Joan was very helpful and easily contactable. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this wonderful, well appointed apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Charming Victorian Flat with High Speed Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p408044vb
415-387-0894
Cole Valley San Francisco
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband, sister, brother and his wife stayed at Joan's place for four days. The apartment is a perfect size. It is in close proximity to Golden Gate Park, Haight Street, and you can easily get to many other neighborhoods from her place. The kitchen is fully equipped. The garden in the back is also lovely. We didn't get much use out of it because we weren't there for long periods of time. Parking is difficult, but there is a parking lot about two blocks away on Stanton that charges $11 a day. We will be headed back to San Francisco in two years, and if this place is available, we will absolutely stay here again. Joan is a wonderful host!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you as guests, and I'm glad your family reunion was such a success. I look forward to seeing you again
Helpful votes: 1/1