Vila Praia de Ancora cottage rental - The Guest House and Mill Tower from the pool
The Guest House and Mill Tower from the pool
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Vila Praia de Ancora Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Secluded, very tasteful 2+1 bedroom self-catering accommodation next to old mill

Two cottages set in immaculately kept gardens offering self-catering accommodation for 4 to 6 people. The estate is tucked into the bend of a river, has a swimming pool and is within walking distance of a variety of beaches. The property is at the end of a rough lane and quite secluded, offering a high level of privacy, yet the town of Vila Praia de Âncora is conveniently close for restaurants, shops and other amenities. The mill that gives the property its name is beautifully restored and visitors have the use of the ground floor to play table tennis. Nearby are the beaches of the Costa Verde, and the historic Minho region offers fantastic opportunities for touring a corner of Europe that is still relatively unknown and unaffected by the worst excesses of modern development, although a new motorway network provides easy access to airports and major cities. A great place to relax for a romantic getaway, or to take the family for a seaside holiday that's just off the beaten track.

Beaches: The family seaside resort of Vila Praia de Âncora is 2km away, and it's possible to walk to it by fording the stream in the garden then following a quaint village lane. Either side of it, the many safe, clean beaches of the Costa Verde stretch for miles - surf beaches, sandy, rocky, wide, discreet, family, romantic beaches - you can go to a different one each day to suit your mood. At Afife there's a surfing beach (and surf/body boarding lessons); at Caminha there's a beach with one side on the Atlantic, the other on the River Minho; or you can hire a ferryman to take you out to a deserted island; on Serra de Arga there are fresh mountain pools and waterfalls; and there are also warm, sheltered river beaches on the Rivers Lima and Minho.

Touring the countryside and historic towns: For rugged, wild countryside, visit the Peneda-Gerês National Park, or go further to the Douro Valley. The village lies at the base of Serra d'Arga (784m), and the villages and country lanes in its hills offer a landscape from an earlier era. There's a wetland nature reserve at Lagoas, in Bertiandes. History, churches and monuments, culture and nightlife abound in a dozen towns within a short drive, or for more sophisticated entertainment, there's the Casino at Póvoa de Varzim. For the more active, there's karting, canoeing, surfing, 10-pin bowling, fishing, cycling and horse riding. A visit to the World Heritage City of Oporto is a must, as are the traditional local Romarias, with folklore, singing, dancing, decorative crafts and the famous cuisine of the Minho region. And there are restaurants galore, serving the famous Minho dishes.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 407420 in Vila Praia de Ancora, Portugal

Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
average rating of 4.428571 based on 15 reviews
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
5

Relax in this charming idyll was just the ticket..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Having spent the last 2 weeks at this delightful spot and I can only agree with other other reviews here. This really is the most relaxing place for a family holiday – its location means that you are near enough to beach, supermarket (both approx 25 min walk) and the town of Acora but at the same time you really feel in the middle of a secluded rural idyll. The location of the house is perfect for those who want to explore the Minho/Northern Spain further which has a lot to offer – lovely green countryside, quaint old towns (some in full in fiesta mode) and nice restaurants and unspoilt sandy beaches – the only issue we had was to motivate ourselves to leave the tranquillity of the gardens and the pool. The house in comfortable – but we spent most of the time outside enjoying swimming/badminton and table tennis and generally lazing around on the lawn or by the stream doing very little. We had fantastic weather for the whole time and even managed to swim in the Atlantic! Rachel was a very welcoming courteous host and full of good advice and local knowledge.the booking process was simple and straightforward.
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
5

Relaxing in this rural idyll was just the ticket..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Having spent the last 2 weeks at this delightful spot and I can only agree with other other reviews here. This really is the most relaxing place for a family holiday – its location means that you are near enough to beach, supermarket (both approx 25 min walk) and the town of Acora but at the same time you really feel in the middle of a charming secluded rural idyll. The location of the house is perfect for those who have the energy to explore the Minho/Northern Spain further which has a lot to offer – lovely green countryside, quaint old towns (some in full in fiesta mode) and nice restaurants and unspoilt sandy beaches – the only issue we had was to motivate ourselves to leave the tranquillity of the gardens and the pool. The house in comfortable – but we seemed to spend most of the time in the gardens enjoying swimming/badminton and table tennis and generally lazing around on the lawn or by the stream. We had fantastic weather for the whole time and even managed to swim in the Atlantic! Rachel was a very welcoming courteous host and full of good advice and local knowledge. The booking process with Bergen was quick and simple.
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Everything was wonderful

  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The holiday was fantastic and the accommodation was a delight. The garden is beautiful, and with the river running through it, well, we were speechless.
Rachel was very helpful too.
Everything was wonderful.
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
4

Idyllic and tranquil spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful week staying in the most beautiful setting but the photos do not do justice to the wondeful surroundings. The ownwer, Rachel, strikes the perfect balance of being helpful and available when required, whilst leaving you to enjoy the gardens ( and stream) , swimming pool and mill (with table tennis) as you wish. We appreciated the idyllic setting in the most stunning gardens and had breakfast and supper eating out on the lawn. There is so much to explore in this area that is not destroyed by mass tourism. We ventured into the national park and swam in natural pools with a waterfall as well as going by ferry to Spain for a seafood lunch. We would love to return one day as it is a very special place indeed.
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
4

Relaxing vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Reading the positive reviews from the other guests we have to agree with any single aspect.
We also enjoyed the whole setting: the absolutely beautiful garden, the pool, the natural surrounding, the river and all of the facilities (like table tennis) and of course Rachel, the aimable and thoughtful host.
Even our two teenage sons kept themselves pretty busy,enjoying the company of the dogs Boris and Scott and trying to win a table tennis match from their father
(they came close ...)
Because of the strong wind it was too chilly at the (beautiful) beach. The perfect weather to visit the lovely places at the river Lima and Minho! Ponte de Lima, Caminha, Valenca are cosy and picturesque cities, worth to visit several times.
As a summary: we love to come back - for Moinho do Enchao, the landscape,
the weather, the people and the food.
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

A true idyll

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We really had a lovely time and have no criticisms at all. Rachel was lovely, the dogs were great - and my boys still talk about them as one of the highlights of our whole time away! The property was comfortable, with everything there we could need. The pool was excellent, as was the access to table tennis and badminton - I felt as if I'd travelled back to some idyll in the 1920s or '30s! We loved the area, too.
Helpful votes: 1/5
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

So much to do

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
A really cosy house and beautiful garden. We enjoyed the pool vey much and our 6-year old daughter learnt to swim there. We were grateful for Rachel's hospitality and many suggestions for things to do, like Market Day in Caminha, the best beach in Afife, and the many great restaurants. We loved the dogs, Boris and Scott, and found the river and weir absolutely charming. We hope to come back again and again.
Helpful votes: 0/4
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

The most relaxing holiday we have ever had

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Tahnk you for letting us stay in your beautiful house. We have had such a lovely holiday. The garden and pool have provided great relaxation and the surrounding area offers so much activity that we could stay another month and still not do everything. My first experience of Portugal has been fantastic.
Helpful votes: 0/3
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

What a romantic setting!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The river and trees provide a perfect backdrop for the house. It was very hot here in mid-August, many forest fires and Rachel watering the lawns daily. The pool was a firm favourite, along with Paço beach. We enjoyed Caminha, a sweet historic town, and Ponte de Lima, inland with its river beach. The route there around the back of the mountain is a great scenic drive, as is the coast road from La Guarda in Spain north to Baiona. Viana do Castelo was our favourite, though, with its views from the funicular railway and great restaurants. But we mustn't forget Café Cê, a short walk from the house, for its friendliness, cheap lunches and table football.
Helpful votes: 0/3
business
Country cottage in beautiful riverside gardens close to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407420
+351 917056366
Vila Praia de Ancora Viana do Castelo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Beautiful picturesque setting

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing week in this beautiful, picturesque setting after a busy wedding week in the Douro Valley. We were transported into a true idyll. Thank you, Rachel, for your welcome and advice.
We all enjoyed the train journey to Porto and the Port Wine lodges. We came back laden with Port, and market day in Caminha enabled us to stock up on table linen, shoes, etc. There were lots of things to do, and some great towns. The two dogs are lovely, and the swimming pool is great.
Helpful votes: 0/2