Villars-sur-Ollon chalet rental - Chalet in early summer
Chalet in early summer
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Villars-sur-Ollon Chalet Rental Photos and Description
A self-catering chalet located 100m from the piste

Chalet 'Chante-Clarine'' is a recently built luxury self-catering chalet, in a stunning year round setting. Located near La Barboleuse, just outside the resort of Villars, the chalet is actually only 100m from the nearest piste and close to a cable car. Ideal for winter and summer holiday rental, with marvellous skiing and walking. Linen and towels are included and the chalet is professionally cleaned before and end of each stay.

11 Reviews of Property 407226 in Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland

Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
4

2 family holiday in February

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We (2 families of 2 adults and 2 teenagers each) stayed in this beautiful chalet for a week in February 2013. The chalet is positioned up a winding road off the main road between Gryon and Villars, and the views, especially as the sun hits the mountains on the far side of the Rhone valley, are absolutely stunning. At the time we visited, there was thick snow but the road was always passable although 4 wheel drive or snow chains are a must.
The chalet is well appointed with a double height living area on the "ground" floor and bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs. The kitchen is well equipped and we were easily able to feed 8 hungry people each night, sitting at the refectory table to eat then moving to the lounge area to watch satellite tv or DVDs or to play the board games that were provided, or to read one of the books that have been left.
The skiing area is extensive, and we were able to reach a blue run within 5 minutes of putting our boots on in the garage. At the bottom of this run, there was another 5 minutes walk to the gondola that brings you up to the top, and from there, it was possible to link to the whole area of Villars and then Les Diablerets, although this was quite a ski safari, using 10 different lifts.
For non-skiiers, apart from relaxing in the chalet, it was possible to sledge or to walk along paths in the snow.
The only criticisms are that it seems to be virtually impossible to reach anywhere without a car (although there are taxis - but they charge Swiss prices) from the chalet unless you fancy a 20 minute walk. it's not great for apres-ski unless you walk up or leave your car in the car park at the bottom and you need to be up early to get a parking space at the car-parks in Villars!
For the property itself, the mezzanine area that provides additional sleeping space (more than the beds for 8 downstairs) is great but anybody berthed there must wait for the lounge to clear before going to sleep and must be prepared to brave the stairs to get to a bathroom!
Overall, this holiday worked well for us as a group of 8, with 6 keen skiers and 2 not-so-keen or non skiers. There was plenty of hot water, underfloor heating, a separate log stove, nice towels and lots of peace and quiet.
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
5

Excellent, cosy but spacious chalet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed for a long weekend, 4 adults and 4 children, aged between 7 months and 2 and a half years. The chalet was exactly as described and was very warm and cosy, yet spacious and had everything we could need with demanding little ones in tow. We felt very at home and were very comfortable and with nearly a metre of snow outside it felt quite magical.

The contact with the owners and onsite contact person was always very friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend the chalet for others with children. We'll hopefully be back in Spring/summer some time soon.

Jodie, James and family
Owner's Response: We are always pleased to welcome back returning renters. Its a great place to come for walking and relaxation out of the ski season.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
5

Half Term 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
What a fantastic Chalet. It is really hard to overstate the 5* quality of the Chalet and facilities. It was lovely and warm, and the log burner sat idle, & experience has shown that usually it's the only warm thing about some chalets!

As for the skiing, we had fantastic snow (2 foot on Tuesday night / Wednesday), and fantastic spring conditions on the Friday.

It is certainly a drive to the skiing Chalet, with two main Gondolas to chose from, La Barbeleruse and Villars offering plenty of parking and good access to the Blue runs and rest of the ski region.

We used the 4 downstairs bedrooms to sleep 9 + Cot, the mezzanine was just used by the kids.

All in all a lovely Chalet, with regular and helpful communication from the owner, who answered all our e-mails promptly and helpfully.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
Oxford, England
5

Great chalet for a skiing holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
The chalet was wonderful to return to at the end of a day's skiing in the region, and was exactly as described on the website; very comfortable and spacious.

With the late-afternoon sun falling on the balcony, this was a perfect place to have apres-ski cocktails, while admiring the view of the French peaks across the valley.

In the early evening, the younger members of our party could enjoy watching a DVD on the home-cinema system, while several of the grown-ups checked their emails via the wi-fi broadband connection, and others enjoyed using the luxuriously equipped kitchen. Fresh bread and cakes from the breadmaking machine became firm favourites.

Beautifully warm underfloor heating kept everything cosy, although it was convenient to use the attached garage as a cool beer store.

Chalet Chante-Clarine certainly made an excellent skiing base, and we can imagine how nice it must be during the summer months. In fact, we have an idea to get three of our classic-car owning friends to join us in a convoy there, and use it as a base for exploring some of the mountain passes and the short trip to Mont Blanc.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/13
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
Hedgerley
5

Lovely chalet, beatiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Spent a week here in summer, supposed to be three days but location, chalet and company so good we stayed on for a couple days. Views magnificant, rooms huge, living areas very comfortable, extremely well equiped, hard to fault in any way at all. Would go back tomorrow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/10
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
Temple, TX, United States
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Visited the chalet for 4 nights in May-June 2009 on vacation from United States. Booking process consisted of directly transferring funds into owner's account. Registering your trip at homeaway.com prior to booking provides travelers insurance (it is free to do and I recommend this), but the owner eased my apprehension with the payment process by contacting me directly by phone and exchanging multiple emails. There were no issues with booking. The owner was easy to contact, very cordial, rapidly responded to emails, and provided additional information about the home and location that proved to be quite helpful.

The home is located about 1 mile up a winding mountain road from the community of La Barboleuse, just a couple of miles from the nice town of Villars, and a comfortable 30 minute drive from the heart of Montreux. La Barboleuse has a small grocery market, bakery, and several restaurants. Villars is a larger community, well-known for its skiing, with many more restaurants and a larger grocery market.

The newly built home is 3-story with a small one-car garage. You enter on the 2nd story which contains the living room and well-equiped kitchen, as well as stairs to access the 3rd story loft. The living room has large floor to ceiling windows that look out to a large back deck and the mountains beyond. There is a large flat-screen television in the living room with DVD player and a collection of movies to watch.

The 1st story contains all 4 bedrooms. (There are 4 1/2 bathrooms in the home!) The beds and linens are extremely comfortable. 3 of the bedrooms have doors out to a ground-floor terrace.

Overall, would recommend the place to anyone.
Helpful votes: 5/11
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
Wiltshire
5

Wonderful Location snd Chalet for a skiing holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We stayed in this beautiful chalet for the very end of February beginning of March this year. There were seven of us from two families. When we walked through the door we all gasped at the fantastic view and the delight continued as we explored the Chalet. The owners have created a holiday home which caters for everything. The chalet is extremely well appointed with all the comforts you could need. It was so lovely we only ate out on the one occasion! We had everything we needed right there!

The skiing was superb, with the most enormous amount of snow. You could walk to the piste and ski back to a point about a 100m from the chalet.

Would throughly recommend both the chalet and the resort. We too hope to go back next year. With many thanks to the owners for all the care and attention they have lavished on their gorgeous property, which has enabled the rest of us to have fantastic holidays!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/11
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
Nantwich
5

Excellent Swiss Chalet and Ski Resort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We all had a fantastic week in this superb chalet, excellent location, literally ski in and ski out. The massive plus for this chalet is the breathtaking views in both the main living room and the various bedrooms. Our camera is full of different sky lines against the mountains!

Best days skiing was on the Glacier, recommend to anyone staying here to take a trip up, but head up early and make the day of iskiing in this area. The glacier has a board park. The glacier is included inthe lift pass for free if you buy a pass for 5 days or more.

Overall we will be definetly be returning to the Chalet next winter and if we can find time, try to book for the Summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/10
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
Welshpool, Powys,UK
5

Fabulous chalet for winter sports or summer walks.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We stayed here in February, a party of 10 making use of all 4 bedrooms and the two beds on the mezanine there was more than enough space for everyone.
The chalet is exactly as described, the ultimate in luxury and equipped to the highest standards throughout.
Views from the chalet really are magnificent.
Ski or board hire available at very reasonable rates in the village. Supermarket, really good bakery and a few bars close by with a wider selection in Villars just a couple of miles away.
Skiing was great for both beginners and those more experienced in our party.Two ski schools, very easy access to the piste either a couple of minutes walk from the chalet or by the cable car from the village below.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/11
business
Luxury modern Swiss chalet- spectacular panoramic views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407226
+44 01753643238
Villars-sur-Ollon Alps of Vaud
London
5

A beautiful chalet with breathtaking views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
This chalet is very luxurious has been finished to the highest standards and as it is only recently built it is impeccable inside. We stayed for a week at the beginning of February and skied every day. There were 10 of us and it was perfectly comfortable for that number of people. Two people shared the pull out sofa beds on the Mezzanine level, which was surprisingly private. The chalet has everything you could require, including all equipment to fully self Cater and many extra luxuries such as a TV, DVD player, automatic blinds and under floor heating. The living area and rooms downstairs have breathtaking views over the mountains and there is a lovely wood fire to cosy up to.

We were able to ski in and out of the chalet when there was plenty of snow and as the snow reduced slightly at the end of the week, it was only a short walk with our skis to the main piste. I am a beginner and the area was excellent for this, with a good variety of beginner slopes and two separate schools from which to take lessons.

It is worth having a car as without skis it is a bit of a walk down to the shops, although there are snow shoes which would be lots of fun for a walk down the slopes to get the bread. When there is lots of snow it is worth having car chains if your car isnt 4 wheel drive as the road up to the chalet crosses the piste a number of times.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday which though very active, was also incredibly relaxing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/11