Kailua Kona house rental - Spacious and uniquely designed 4 bedroom home with 2 separate living areas.
Spacious and uniquely designed 4 bedroom home with 2 separate living areas.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

•._.• Best location in Kona! •._.•

Please compare our location to others!

Large 4 bedroom home Perfect location Lots of extras Beautiful and uniquely designed 2 story home with 2 separate entrances, perfect for 2 families, a few couples, or a large family traveling together.

Nothing about this home will remind you of a 'Condo' experience!

Most all other large homes are either miles from town, or in less disireable areas near White Sands. Truthfully, the only 2 beaches in town (Kahalu'u and White Sands) are very small, and very crowded...most visitors may likely only go to these 2 beaches a few times. So, Why stay in that neighborhood? (We strongly recommend Hapuna Beach for a full day at the beach - please look it up, and you'll see why!)

Our home is centrally located, and a perfect base location for your Big Island visit!

¤ Managed by a family on island, so we're always just a phone call away if needed!

•._.•

Our home is EXTREMELY well equipped, and we are glad to help with any questions or recommendations regarding activities, beaches, restaurants, or shopping.

We're even glad to do pre-arrival grocery shopping for you, so you can just relax as soon as you arrive!

You get the entire home! Great for groups, extended or multi generational families, or couples / friends traveling together!

Uniquely designed, each floor is a Home in itself! The 1st floor features an open floor plan with a large Great Room (47' LED TV and Blueray) with vaulted ceiling and a sliding door to the huge covered lanai. There is a Full Kitchen with everything...including a dishwasher! Large Dining Room (adjoining Great Room), and 2 Full Baths (Master and Hallway) and 2 main floor Bedrooms (King & Queen), each with a sliding door to the lanai). Plus there is a full laundry area, complete with folding counter in the 1 car Garage...Yes, there is even a Garage!

A pull out couch can add up to 2 more guests, but is (honestly) best for young adults or children. 2 additional floor futons are available too.

Second floor is very tastefully designed, with slate tile, Koa trim, and Vaulted ceilings too. The Great Room is large, open, and has 3 large windows for great breezes. There is a 32' LCD TV and DVD player in this Great Room. Add to that, the genuine Koa wood Breakfast Bar, the dining area, the nicely appointed Kitchen, and a large covered Lanai, and you have a great area for entertaining or having great conversations! Upstairs Master bedroom (King) has full bath, walk in closet, and sliding door to private Lanai view. 2nd bedroom (Full) has large closet and sliding door to main Lanai area. There is even a 2nd Laundry with a full sized washer & dryer behind louvered doors too.

Keywords: vacation home, vacation, large, town, Kona, Kailua Kona, beach, 4 bedroom, spacious, house, family, couples

More Details
Hide Details

We've been operating another Kona vacation rental for several years now, so we know how to make sure you enjoy the home.

No 'bare bones' rental here, you will feel like you are staying at a friends house.

We are fortunate enough to have several groups return for 2nd, 3rd, and even 4th visits so far, and many more have become great friends as well.

(We do use other sites, and have numerous reviews posted, but we are new to this site!)

I'm originally from the Chicago suburbs, and relocated to Kona after visiting here - - and knowing that this was the place for me!

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

We felt our home's location was the best, and it's design was very unique. It is basically an upscale 'up / down' Duplex type home, and you get the entire home. We spent many vacations at Vacation Rentals, and we feel that (by far) your expectations will be exceeded with what we provide, and our honest presentation of our homes.

After a day of activities, you can come back to a well appointed home, in a a peaceful setting with a large and private outdoor area to enjoy. Many guests have commented that the 'comfort level' far exceeded their highest hopes, and that the many extras we provide made it feel like home.

We live in Kona as well, and are glad to meet to give advice or suggestions.

13 Reviews of Property 407213 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Fremont, CA
5

Great House and Great Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
While ours was a large group of 5, myself and my son's family. This house was ideal, and we based that on our experiences in visiting Hawaii. We have had some lows and disappointments, but Glen knocked it out of the park. This house and our hosts made our visit so enjoyable, and we felt more like family than renters. The hospitality was excellent and I would recommend it highly, if ever visiting the Big Island again and with two families I would rent this place again in an instant. The house was very clean and well maintained, Glen was in constant contact with us, mostly to offer help or tourists spots to visit or avoid. Thank you Glen, we hope to visit you again.

H
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mahalo Henry, We're glad you appreciated everything, and it was a pleasure having your family as guests! Take care, and we hope you can all come back for another visit sometime very soon.
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
McKinleyville, CA
5

This house is wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
What a vacation house! This house has it all! We had a great family vacation at this home. It was stocked with so many items - even the bathroom cabinets were stocked. The free Internet made it possible to stay in touch with the Mainland (darn it)! Great parking and oh the beds! So comfortable and great linens also. The BBQ area made eating outside so easy. The outside furniture is perfect for reading a relaxing book. Walk to the end of the short paved road and you might see tide pools complete with big turtles! Alright there was only one - but it was huge. Don't over think or overlook this home...just book it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Gerry, Mahalo for the review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed your Holiday visit! We look forward to your return in September. Aloha!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Sacramento
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I couldn't wait to leave this review. Glenn and Ray have really made their vacation home a true home way from home. When you arrive it feels like they actually live there and just left for you. The house is completely stocked with everything you need whether it be kitchen cooking supplies, beach equipment and plenty of bedding for everyone. We were really impressed with the attention to detail and notes that were left all over the house. Most importantly Glenn and Ray were quick to respond to questions and were always wiling to give advice on things to do. They live in town which makes getting a hold of them very easy. This is a great house that easily accommodated our group of ten and probably one of the most affordable places for what you get. The house is one block from a rocky beach, where there are gorgeous sunsets nightly. Truly a vacation we won't forget and will definitely be back soon.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you again Dan, It was a pleasure to have your family as guests, and I enjoyed getting to meet you all. Have a great New Year, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Warmest Aloha, Glenn
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Best Place To Stay (Flipkey)

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is absolutely the best vacation rental available for a reasonable rate. The owners have provided everything from paper goods and soaps to boogie boards, towels, snorkel equipment, coolers, and beach mats. When we arrived, we were amazed to find fresh fruit, drinks, and snacks to help us settle in. The cupboards were full of canned and dry goods in case you don't want to run to the store right away. Every pot, pan, dish, plate, cup, glass, you could want are right there. Same with all of the cooking utensils and small appliances...it's just like you are in your own kitchen (or better). Want to spend the day away from the house? Just use the coolers, blue ice, ziplocks, and plastic containers that are provided. Glenn was even generous enough to allow us to borrow a cooler for the Hilo part of our trip and return it on the way to the airport!

The location is perfect. Just outside the tourist part of town, but close enough to run to the store (Walmart, Safeway, etc) at a moment's notice. 20 minutes North are excellent secluded beaches, and 5 minutes south is the excellent snorkeling beach, Kahaluu.

The two floors have separate entrances so they can be used privately if two families are traveling together. We wondered if it might be a problem with our family of six (2 adults, 4 children), but we just had our older children ( ages 16 and 18) stay upstairs, and they felt like they had their own private apartment. We used the downstairs for family time and meals. It worked out great!

I just can't say enough good things about this rental. We will return.
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Best Vacation Home In Kona! (vacationhomerentals)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
All The other reviews are very accurate. These are outstanding people. For example: Rich had heard that I was having trouble with my back , so he immediately came over with a tube of "biofreeze" to help eliminate the pain. He wouldn't take any money...he was just concerned for my well being. Kelly Not only is the house beautiful & furnished with anything you might ever want or need---they also checked on us several times to make sure we were doing well & had everything we needed. Our daughter who is not well, was with us also & even on the days she wasn't up to getting out, she had a wonderful time relaxing in that beautiful setting & listening to the birds off the lanai. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Kona. Barbara
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Ten Star Vacation Home! (vacationhomerentals)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
If I could give this beautiful Kona home 10 stars I would. It was perfect for the 5 of us. Very well stocked and beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and lots of space in the living areas to move around and not be on top of each other. And having 4 bathrooms was wonderful. The owners were so kind and sweet and provided us with everything they said they would and more. I highly recommend this home for your next stay in Hawaii. You won't be sorry. The location is great, near town but off the main drag so it's very quiet. Short walk to a beach and short drive to another one. And the home is clean, clean, clean!! And very reasonable rates. You can't ask for more.
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Best House In Kona! (vacationhomerentals)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have stayed at many rental homes in the kona area and this is by far the best. Everything you could want is there. Model home clean, quality home furnishings, bug free, comfortable, quiet. The house is close to town, but in a nice residential neighborhood. The perfect upscale, family home. Peaceful, with amazing views from the upstairs deck. Downstairs, you can pick fruit in the yard and enjoy the lovely flowers and tropical trees. We rented both units for seven of us. My husband and I brought our adult daughter and her boyfriend, and our three teenagers. Everyone was happy with the house. Teenagers were happy, almost a miracle. The house had wi-fi, board games, scuba gear, boogie boards, tv's in all the rooms. Mom appreciated the dishwasher, washer, dryer and the overall cleanliness of the whole house. The bedding was soft, new, with comfortable mattresses. We did not need to use the air conditioner, because the fans were so effective. Most houses have fans, but they are usually cheap, wobbly, and noisy. These fans are silent and are operated by a remote. Top of the line in both design and function. The decor is so much nicer than you normally see in rental homes. This is tasteful, not tacky. They have a lock box, so you don't have to worry about locking yourself out. They also have off street parking. The driveway can fit severall cars. The garage also offers a recycle center, so no feeling guilty tossing cans. The owners were so nice and welcoming. They went out of their way to make this an amazing trip. Tourist informaton, snacks, lots of helpful notes. Our only concern is how popular this house is going to be. We want to stay there again on our next Hawaii vacation.
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Amazing! Ready To Go Back! (vacationhomerentals)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Thank you Ray and Glenn! Your property exceeded all our expectations ! Your advertisement that it is well stocked is an understatement. Not only was there enough food in the cupboards to last through any emergency we also had medical supplies to treat any minor mishap. Decorating for Chrstmas was a special touch and being greeted by the lit tree a heartwarming site. The beds were so comfortable and linens colorful. I really appreciated your well organized garage full of boogie boards, coolers, snorkel gear, beach chairs, beach towels and laundry facilities. The decks with barbecues, comfortable furniture and tiki torches made our meals a treat. Thanks for your advice on things to see and do while visiting the Big Island. Our whole family enjoyed it so much and we'd love to come back. We will definitely try to rent your home again.
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Felt Like Home-Only Better! (vacationhomerentals)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We were welcomed by the owners like we were honored guests. Seven of us stayed five days and the kids loved searching for all the edible goodies our hosts stocked for us. And then the wine and other yummies for the adults. We rented the whole house and had tons of room. The upstairs bedroom and living room were great, but on the warm side so we had to use the aircdonditioner at night. The short walk to the shore from the house was lovely -- just the thing for a sunset stroll. Walking into downtown Kona was about a mile and a half. I loved the decor: kitch old Hawaii, yet tasteful and cozy. Owners were on the spot to answer any touristy questions. Just like having your own concierge. All emails and money dealings handled promptly and personably. Having owners nearby is so much better than an agency or absentee owner. Don't hesitate!
business
Best Kona Location! ~Large Private 4 Bedroom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407213vbi
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Best Hosts Ever! (vacationhomerentals)

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I should have written this review months ago. Shame on me. We travel around the world and stay in all sorts of properties. We can honestly say that this was one of the best ever. Great location, beautiful house, wonderful coquis, and without doubt the best hosts ever. We will always try to stay here when we visit. Glenn and Ray, thank you for everything. The coffee lady at Costco sold us some of the best coffee we ever had. It will be a sad day when we run out. And thank you again for the turtle you got for Isabela. She still loves it. I am confident that you will enjoy your stay at this property!!.