Reykjavik apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay nights
 

Reykjavik Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The apartment is located only a 5 minute walk from the downtown Reykjavik where you can find a large variety of restaurants and shops. It is located on the 11th. floor in a 12 floor building with a fantastic view over downtown of Reykjavík including a ocean view as well. The apartment is in a building for senior residents(over 55 years) and therefore the atmosphere is very relaxed and you don't have to worry about any noise from other apartments. It is a very spacious 1 bedroom apartment with a large bedroom, kitchen with refrigerator and microwave, bathroom with a shower, large living room and not to forget the balcony with furniture and a great view over downtown including the most famous church in Iceland, Hallgrímskirkja. The apartment was renovated in the beginning of March 2012 and the renting includes towels, linens and cleaning.

Keywords: Flat,apartment,downtown

15 Reviews of Property 407196 in Reykjavik, Iceland

1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Bellingham, WA
5

Reyjkavik Aerie

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
An eagle's nest location with wonderful views and a very helpful owner, this apartment is even more spacious and bright than photos can show. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
5

Nice, nice, nice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This review is overdue - my husband and I spent six nights here in November, 2012. As other reviewers before and since have noted, it is a great place. We visited just as an incredible storm hit (rain and 50-70 mph winds) that kept us in the apartment more than we had hoped or anticipated. We were grateful to be in such nice surroundings and to have such a great view of the weather from up high.

We loved being so close to everything (including the car rental place right across the street and nearby grocery stores) and having a nice kitchen in which to make almost all of our meals. The apartment has every necessity, is very comfortable and the views are terrific.

Anton was great. He cheerfully picked us up at the bus staion at 6 am (and ncluded a little tour of where to get groceries, rent a car, etc.) and took us back on our last day, and also checked on us during the storm. He was really nice, helpful, easy to connect with, and easy-going. Represented Reykjavik very well!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really liked the apartment. The location is great. A short walk to all the shops, the harbor, Harpa and Sun Voyager.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Greenwich, CT USA
5

Excellent vacation experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The process to rent was very easy! The place had a great view of the city and of the Bay and it was conveniently located near the center of the city! It was very comfortable and spacious. We even cooked breakfast and did laundry there. The WiFi connection was very good.

Anton was very nice to pick us up late to drop us at the apartment. He also told us about the grocery stores nearby and did a very good explanation of the apartment and surroundings.

This apartment is perfect for travelers who like a nice quiet place to relax after a long day of exploring.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Dallas, TX USA
5

Incredible views and location! Well appointed and BETTER THAN PHOTOS! An amazing rate too!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It was a pleasure arranging our stay at Anton's Reykjavik apartment and we're happy to have found him and his place. Anton is a friendly host with prompt and courteous email communication. I would encourage any potential guest to contact him to learn more about his apartment.

Anton's apartment is practically perfect in every way! The location and views are spectacular. It is right on the water and adjacent to the metal viking ship sculpture (The Sun Voyager, or Sólfar, by Jón Gunnar Árnason). You're in walking distance to all of downtown Reykjavik. And if you plan on going a little further, Anton will even let you borrow bicycles! The bikes are nice with helmets, bags, and locks. If you desire travelling even further, then check out the Procar rental car agency next door and take advantage of the free parking at Anton's building.

The configuration is fantastic for two guests, and the floor plan is roomy and comfortable in every aspect. It's very clean and the decor is fresh and updated. Actually, the photos do not do it justice. The rooms are much larger and more beautiful than what the photos depict. We visited in July, and the apartment was bright and sunny all the time. We opened the patio doors and windows to welcome the pure, refreshing Icelandic air. Remember to enjoy the balcony, which overlooks the city.

The apartment building has a calm and quiet atmosphere. But it is not completely silent, which is a good thing. If you sit on the balcony at night, you can hear the distant chatter of revelers and bar-hoppers a few streets away. But once you're inside the apartment, you aren't bothered by any noises at all. Also, please note that this is not a place for loud parties or rowdy guests. The neighbors are respectful and quiet, and we reciprocated.

Anton's apartment is well appointed in every way. It is well stocked with linens, towels, kitchen items, paper products, and basic toiletries. There is also a strong wifi signal and a nice tv. The decor and furnishings are all laid out in a thoughtful manner. There is plenty of closet and drawer space, and the clothes washer came in handy too. Take advantage of the full kitchen by dining in some nights. There is a grocery store and a convenience store all within walking distance. When you stop by the grocery store, you may want to buy bottled water. The water in this building has a sulfur smell, which I hear is not uncommon in Reykjavik.

We would stay here again and recommend it too family and friends!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Washington, DC
5

Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I just returned from our visit to Iceland. We stayed in this apartment for 4 nights and absolutely loved it! The apartment was very clean, in a great location (walking distance to everything and next door to the Kex Hostel for live music/drinks & touring pick-up), and had fantastic views. Meeting up with Anton was very easy and he gave us a great tour of the neighborhood so we would know where things were located.

A few perks of the apartment that haven't been mentioned:
-a great hair dryer was located in the bathroom
-a few freebies (coffee, tea, sugar, flour. ketchup, jams) were in the fridge

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and you don't have to be over 55 to say here (we are both 32).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
United States
5

Great Reykjavik Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I stayed in this amazing apartment for 4 nights during July. I cannot say enough good things about Anton, the apartment itself, the location, and the price comparable to our other options. Most parking in Reykjavik appears to be metered so, having a great location in downtown within 5-10 minutes walk of most things is key. Anton met us punctually right at the apartment (we drove in from the airport) and was very kind in getting us situated and introducing us to Reykjavik, including the best locations to shop for food, etc. The actual apartment has a great view of the city and is 5 minutes walk away from the famous Reykjavik church as well as RIGHT next to the famous metal viking sculpture on the coast. The location was superb for seeing Reykjavik as well as being able to drive to most locations we were interested in outside of the city.

Thanks Anton!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Northwest Arkansas USA
5

Awesome views, clean centrally located apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wow! Incredible views from both sides of the apartment, one facing the water and Viking Sculpture along the sea wall, the other facing town as shown. Short walk to all sights, grocery store and restaurant. Anton met us at the bus station and drove us to the apartment - helpful in all aspects via email and upon arrival. Very clean, safe and quiet building with off-street parking. Highly recommed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
Ad
5

Anton's apartment

Anton's apartment
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We rate Anton's apartment very highly. He met us at the bus terminal (even though it was past midnight) and explained everything that we needed to know about the apartment and the locality. It is only a few hundred metres from the main city street and has a good view of the harbour. The building is quiet and secure so we could leave our computer and other valuables with confidence. The apartment is as described. It is not super-luxurious but quite comfortable and clean. We stayed for six nights and would use it again if we return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
1 Bedr. Apartm. Downtown with Superb View from the 11th Floor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p407196vbi
003548636847
Reykjavik Iceland
South Africa
5

Excellent accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Stayed here for 4 nights. It was everything we required from a holiday apartment, very clean and well maintained. Anton was waiting for us as arranged and explained everything regarding the apartment, supermarkets, etc,etc. We could not have wished for a better location and the apartment was very well equipped. The apartment was bright and sunny and always pleasantly warm. (we switched off all the heating except 1 radiator at the front door and it was cold outside) All in all, very comfortable accommodation with a great view and in a location that is close to everything. Highly recommended, stay here, you will not regret it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway