Union Pier cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Union Pier Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms

Situated right across the street from a white, sandy beach (the quietest beach in Harbor County), this renovated shabby chic cottage makes an ideal vacation spot. You enter this charming house into a large, spacious living area that includes a wood-burning fireplace, dining table and antique furniture which provide a cozy, comfortable feel. The windows, skylights and lofted ceilings throughout the house flood the space with light. This beach cottage sleeps six comfortably and includes 3 queen beds. Also included in the rental are free wireless internet, cable TV, an outdoor shower, and two outdoor grills (gas and charcoal) as well as table games for adults and kids alike.

Union Pier is just an hour and ten minutes from Chicago and five minutes from New Buffalo, MI. Union Pier has a seasonal farmer's market with fresh local fruit, vegatables, meats and treats, great restaurants and wonderful antique shopping, spas, art galleries, golfing and wineries nearby. Plenty of fun activities to do during your vacation including visiting Warren Dunes State Park.

Keywords: Beach Cottage, Beach, shabby chic, Lake Michigan, SW Michigan, Union Pier, Beach, Summer, cottage, Harbor Country, sunsets, lakeside, lake, cozy, vacation rentals in union pier mi, cottages for rent in union pier mi, Union Pier Mi

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 406461 in Union Pier, Michigan

'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Oakland County/Michigan
5

The Ivy is a gem!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Ivy is an idyllic gem of a house located within a very short walk of the most gorgeous Lake Michigan beach. The owners have perfected the art of the shabby chic style with added sophistication in the well appointed kitchen complete with temperature controlled wine fridge and almost anything one would need in a kitchen. We had fun staying in and cooking as well as sampling the local restaurants. There were so many clever decorating ideas in this adorable house that my daughter and I couldn't help but take lots of photos. The entire house was very clean and the comfy beds were outfitted with crisp, fresh clean linens. The newly remodeled bathroom is lovely. Our whole week was wonderful! I hope this can be my new home away from home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
chicago
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 4 stayed here in late July. The house is very nice, as nice as it looks in the pictures. The location was great, about 3-4 houses from the entrance to the beach. It's important to note that the beach access in this part of Union Pier is down about 35 steps from the access point. The beach was beautiful and never super crowded. The house is also walking distance to some restaurants and little shops. Overall, we had a great week and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The owners were very responsive to all my questions and took care of things in a timely manner. I highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Bartlett, IL
5

Week vacation at the Ivy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay was excellent - location, location, location! Super close to the beach and was easy for my 3 kids to walk to and from throughout the week. Screened in porch is awesome and the bathrooms are plenty big. The cottage has everything you need to enjoy a relaxing vacation with your family. It was really nice to stay in an updated and well decorated cottage in Union Pier! Highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Where do you live?
5

Girls' Week of Relaxation and Fun!

Girls' Week of Relaxation and Fun!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I just returned from a wonderful week at the Ivy, where I hosted friends and relaxed. This is my second visit to this cottage; a friend rented it for a week last year. However, last year, it had the old bathroom and only two bedrooms. This year, I was thrilled to find a third, larger bathroom and a second full bath. The original bathroom was remodeled to perfection!

The house has every amenity from home including a modern kitchen and comfy beds with wonderful sheets (I ordered a set for myself while I was there). It’s only a short walk across the street to the McKinley Beach, which is one of the quieter ones in the area. You can also easily walk to local restaurants, grocery stores, and coffee shops.

The owners were kind and attentive to us, answering several questions before and during our trip right away. I felt like I was in very good hands during my stay.

During this particular week, it rained almost every day, so I felt lucky to be at the Ivy, where I could relax and enjoy myself despite the weather. My friends and I will definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

Wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My daughters, my son and I needed a little vacation...I loved the look of this shabby chic cottage. It looks exactly like it does in the pictures. Jodi was super flexible with my dates and always responded quickly to my emails. My kids loved it and so did I. Loved cooking in the kitchen and playing games in the dining room. We walked to the beach every day (less than 5 min.) The grocery store is close, and she provided is with good restaurant recommendations! I would like to keep coming here every year! Thank you Jodi!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I stayed at the Ivy for a long weekend and really enjoyed my stay! The homeowners were very accessible both before and during my visit, and went above and beyond to make the experience a good one.

The location is perfect to access the beach (5 minute walk), the grocery and a few restaurants. It is easy to see that a lot of thought and care was taken in making this getway feel like home! The Ivy is very clean, comfortable, and well-stocked with the amenities needed. I would definitely recommend to others and hope to return again myself someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Schererville, Indiana
5

Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family & I just loved staying at the Ivy.It is so close to the beach.
The whole stay was so relaxing
Really loved the kitchen and the outdoor grills. We made dinner every night.
Complimentary wine was such a nice touch.
I would stay again especially since there will be third bedroom.
The weather cooperated but we did do a trip to St. Joe - childrens museum
Thanks again for making this vacation so great.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Missouri City, Tx.
5

Fun in the Sun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wonderful little cottage!! Loved the short walk to the beach. Cottage had everything we needed to feel right at home. Owners very responsive to questions/concerns. Loved staying there and highly recommend it as a home away from home!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
St. Louis
5

Thoroughly Impressed By The Ivy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I have been coming to this area for the past 11 years, including four visits with our girls -ages 13 and 10. Hands down, this was the best lodging experience we've had. One of the factors that made us choose The Ivy was the owner's attentiveness, responsiveness, and overall organized approach. This was proven time and again throughout the process, including during our stay, when we had a few "on-the-fly" questions that were answered promptly. There is definitely a feeling that the owner is hands-on and cares about your experience.

As far as the cottage itself, "impressive" is the best way to describe it. My wife is an interior designer by trade, and tends to have higher than normal standards for whatever lodging choices we make. In this case, she recognized within 5 minute of our arrival that The Ivy matched those standards. From the outside it looks like many of the other cottage choices in Union Pier, but on the inside it is modernized while still retaining character, well-appointed, and surprisingly SPACIOUS. We literally grew out of our previous cottage as the girls got bigger, but with The Ivy there was never an issue with having ample space. I would classify the bathroom as relatively normal size, as it is on par with other rentals in the area. The kitchen space is excellent, and we were able to save $$$ by staying in and cooking most of our meals (including using the bbq grill on the deck). The value of having a washer & dryer cannot be overstated - it allows you to pack lighter and keep things cleaner in general, especially if you are doing the beach or other outdoor activities. The living area is also larger than expected, which thankfully allowed everyone to feel like they could spread out when needed (an overlooked but necessary option on family vacations).

You can walk to the beach in a matter of a few minutes, and the access point has steps (which is a nice bonus that makes it infinitely easier when hauling beach gear). You are within a 10-15 minute walk (both north and south) of markets and cafes, and of course right in the center of Harbor Country so driving to any of the points of interest takes minimal time.

We would HIGHLY recommend The Ivy, and will plan to stay there again on our next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
'The Ivy' - Renovated Beach Cottage/Steps from the Sand
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461vbi
217-636-3338
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Barrington
5

Susie and Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at the Ivy for 5 nights with our three kids (ages 15, 13, and 9). The cottage is a charming "shabby chic," clean, and well-equipped, with all of the amenities of home. The pictures were reflective of the actual space. We made most of our meals at home and the kitchen had everything we needed to accomplish that. We enjoyed sitting on the screened-in porch, grilling out on the back deck, playing Monopoly in the air-conditioning on a hot night, and watching movies on the BluRay. The beach is super close, which was very convenient. We could run home to make lunch, grab a book, or use the bathroom. We spent a night by the campfire at the beach without consequence, as another reviewer mentioned too. The cute little town is close enough that our older kids were able to walk there for doughnuts on Saturday morning. We also kayaked and even rented a jet-ski out of New Buffalo to ride down to the Union Pier beach for the pick-up and drop-off of our riders. Fun! We went north to eat Mediterranean fare outside at Cafe Gulistan. The food was excellent; even our kids enjoyed the lamb and shrimp. And, we ate at Redamack's, which is a perfect (very casual) place to eat with young children. We also did a little bit of antiquing. Our kids actually had fun looking through rooms and rooms of old stuff, but I can imagine this being a great activity on a fall day over a girls weekend.

The owners were incredibly hospitable (leaving a bottle of wine for us upon our arrival), responsive, and accommodating. During our stay, we had a few questions, and the owners got right back to us with the help that we needed.

The only other note that I would make is that, for a family of 5, the bathroom is kind of small and maybe not quite "up to par" with the rest of the cottage, but that would not keep us from returning. There is a shower out back, so my kids would often shower there (albeit in their bathing suits!) after the beach.

Thanks for making our vacation so comfortable!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1