Galle villa rental - View of the house from the beach
View of the house from the beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Galle Villa Rental Photos and Description
Western style beach house sleeping 6 comfortably.

The architecturally designed beach house is unique in the area being one of the few contemporary, western style houses. Sleeping 4-6 people comfortably, this beautiful beachfront getaway allows families or couples a holiday within minutes of all that Sri Lanka has to offer. Experience the exciting local cuisine (curries, seafood and tropical fruits), unbelievable diving and swimming, or just sit back on the deck, and watch the sun go down.

The house is equipped with two well appointed bedrooms with ensuites and modern amenities including dishwasher, 6-burner gas stove, air conditioning etc. Bathrooms are complete with seaviews, and a view of the stars in external bathroom. The house also has free WiFi for guest use.

Private access to the beach, a lovely sea lagoon about few minutes walk, green turtles feeding on the reef in front all provide something for everyone. Surfing for all levels at Unawatuna beach only ten mins walk away. Bars, restaurants and 5-star spas less than 5mins with historic Galle only 10 mins.

Things to do: Sight seeing and activities

The southern beaches of Sri Lanka are famous for their surf and fabulous fishing spots. The house is only moments away from Unawatuna, and ten minutes from Galle by tuc tuc where you can book scuba, surf and or fishing trips.

Sri Lanka is also famous for its precious and semi-precious stones with jewellers available to make pieces on request. Take photos along so you are well prepared if this interests you.

Travelling inland, you can visit a number of very important and lovely temples passing rice paddy fields and tea/cinnamon plantations along the way. Spa and health facilities are available in a number of the 5*star hotels locally including the Fortress Hotel at Kogalla or the AmanGala in Galle.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 406461 in Galle, Sri Lanka

Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
average rating of 4.714286 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
-
1

Nice house in a horrible location

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The house is nice but not as nice as it looks in the photographs. The house is clean and well looked after by the lovely staff who are always around to look after you. The outside bathroom is pretty but located the other side of a brick wall from a horrendously busy road. The noise certainly takes away from the peace and tranquility of the photo! The location, right on the beach, is dramatic. The waves crash against the garden wall. I would worry about taking small children here as the sea is dangerously strong. You cannot swim here. The only swimming available is in a lagoon where you are never deeper than waist high. Good for children here though although you have to negotiate the beach to get there and at high tide it is difficult. There is a high wall and a gate which separate the house and garden from the main coast road which roars with traffic 24/7. We did not like the house and would not recommend. It is expensive for what it offers.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
5

WANTING SOMETHING SPECIAL - MARLEYS' IS FOR YOU

WANTING SOMETHING SPECIAL - MARLEYS' IS FOR YOU
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I just wished to pass on Jo and my thanks for allowing us to stay at Marley Beach House we both had a really lovely time.

I think you already know that you have found something special with Marley, not just the house but the whole package? A special mention must go to the house staff, they catered to our every need and more. They cooked curry, crabs the size of bin lids and lobster the size of a small dog - wow.

I am not saying we are jealous - but we're jealous.
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
San Francisco Bay Area
5

Excellent Place! Must stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This beach house is beautiful and we would definitely recommend or stay here again. It looks just like the pictures. Wish we could have stayed longer. The house staff- Nalaka and Harshi are the best and very friendly. Lara and Ranga are most accommodating and very helpful.Great bunch of people.

If you want a relaxing place to stay - this is your place.

Tess
San Francisco
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
Colombo, Sri Lanka
5

Perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The house was wonderful! My husband and I took the front bedroom, connected to the indoor bath with an ocean view. Our friends took the back bedroom connected to the outdoor bath. Our two girls used the daybeds in the tv room. Plenty of room and privacy for all. Those 3 rooms have a/c. The great room (dining area and kithchen) has ceiling fans and the walls slide completely open to the deck. Incredible view from the deck! The staff was attentive and available; the banana smoothies served with breakfast were the best! Nice casual restaurants/bars within walking distance. Gentle swimming area sheltered by a reef a short walk just around the point to the west. Easy drive to Marissa, a great swimming and boogie boarding beach, and into Unawatuna and Galle. Weather in April was HOT so the a/c was nice. One night a big thunderstorm blew through and weather the following day was cooler and breezy. Highly recommend Marley's beach house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
dubai UAE
5

second vacation at Marley's

second vacation at Marley's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
As this was our second trip to marley's, 2 years after the initial trip, we were looking forward to enjoying the simply comfortable and easy going way of life at marley's. the house is well maintained and well managed by the onsite staff who go out of their way to make the stay so enjoyable.

The addition of the day bed on the outdoor deck was a perfect place lounge and while away the evenings and watch the thundestorms out on the sea. on days when we wanted to do nothing but chill out, it was pefect.

Sitting at the end of a small cove, the villa is private, but connected, and close to so many local attractions such as the tea plantations, temples, the lake and the towns and villages closeby, which was great for the days whene we wanted to go out and explore.

the beach is narrow, and the sea pretty rough, but being able to walk along the sand to close, more calmer waters to wade through, is easy...

The home cooked food arranged through the housekeeper (brough in from across the road so as to not create a mess in the kitchen) was so delicous and fresh, all from local produce bought on the day, or chosen by us to have cooked.

its a great hideaway for a couple, but even for a family, with the TV room tucked away, it could be a great space to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
Karachi, Pakistan
5

Return to Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My partner and I stayed at Marley for almost 2 weeks over Christmas, New Years eve and into the first week of January. It was the most magical, time stopping vacation ever. I had arrived from a stressful work few months with extremely high cholesterol levels with a list of what to eat from the nutritionist. With the warm, welcoming hospitality and silent invisible help of the housekeeper/cook, I was provided the most delicious, simple, healthy, organic meals fresh 3x a day to help with my dietary requirements. Marleys location along the cove with its own private beach and garden provided the best space for outdoor workouts and runs along the beach daily. The accomodation is bright, open, really well ventilated, chic, contemporary and perfect for a design person like myself. Marley was the best combination of minimalist style, south eastern hospitality and coastal serenity in a clean, well maintained beautiful environment. Subtle, gentle, modern and yet sexy .The owners love for Marley and Sri Lanka is felt throughout. It was an experience we will definitely return to, repeatedly. Sheer magic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
Dubai, UAE
5

Marleys Place... Recommended !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Friends and I stayed at Marleys for a week and it was fantastic. Fresh fruits were served every day during breakfast. The staffs were more than happy to help out in any way they could.

The rooms were always kept clean by the staff which was nice.The kitchen has refrigerator, microwave, washing machine plus everything else imaginable that you might need in the way of dishes, glasses, utensils. The bathroom has a bathtub and heating/cooling system which is quite necessary. All rooms have A/C to make sure you get a good night sleep ready for the next day.

The place is very private and away from the public and other hotels so you have the beach all to yourselves. There's nothing more relaxing than having a fresh juice and fruit while enjoying the sound of the waves as the place is just right next to the shore. And not to mention the lagoon nearby which was beautiful.

And if you're into bags, dresses and other souvenirs, a tuk-tuk can easily be arranged to show you around the city.

We are planning to visit Sri Lanka again this year and we'll definitely stay at Marleys !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
Doha, Qatar
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
The owner, Michelle, gave lots of information and tips beforehand (shopping, sightseeing, massage, …). She even phoned us during our stay to see if everything was all right.

Michelle also arranged the airport pick-up by Papa, who also owns a tuk-tuk and is only a phone call away to take you exploring.

The villa is gorgeous , with a fantastic outdoor bathroom.
It is very much like being in a hotel but without other people and with the staff all to yourself. It is the ideal solution to go on holiday with children.

The housekeeper, Ranga, is a fantastic cook. We ate the most wonderful curries but he can also do western style food, and special dishes for the children. We never had to worry about shopping for food.

Papa and Ranga are always happy to please and gave good advice on places to visit and are very good with children.

We would recommend this villa to anyone wanting a really special holiday.

Thank you for the wonderful time, we hope to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
paris france
5

Absolument enchanteur

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Une touche de français pour cette villa de rêve !
Tout est vrai dans ce qui est écrit.
Michelle s'occupe de tout et Ranga et son équipe sont divinement efficace.
Demandez tout et vous aurez encore plus.
Que du bonheur !!!
Attention aux courants pour se baigner; ne pas s'éloigner de la "baignoire" indiquée.
Thank you Michelle and Ranga !
Dilightfull and so lovely
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, architect designed, absolute beachfront and ten mins to Galle Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406461
+61 439721193
Galle Southern Province
italy
5

Vacanze da sogno

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Posso dire di essere un viaggiatore professionista ma raramente ho trovato un posto così incantevole.Una casa situata di fronte a un mare che incanta,una tranquillità che vi svuota da ogni pensiero.La casa é perfetta per il clima ,accogliente arredata con grande gusto e con tutto per farvi sentire veramente in vacanza .NO PROBLEM potrebbe essere il motto della casa,qualunque desiderio é accontentato,da un pesce freschissimo a gamberi mai visti,da un van per una gita di uno o piu giorni alla frutta freschissima, tutto a vostra dispisizione su semplice richiesta.
L' isola é meravigliosa mille cose da vedere e tutte una grande sorpresa.
Rimarrete meravigliati dall' eleganza delle spiagge di Galle.
Lì anno prossimo ci sarò senz'altro
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1