Chelem house rental - Our beachfront in the summer!
Our beachfront in the summer!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Chelem House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our home is exactly what you're hoping for! Here are the 9 reasons this home stands out from the others.

1) TRULY BEACHFRONT. Not 'close to beachfront' or 'ocean view.' Your back yard is made of sand, and there is nothing between the house and the ocean except our own sandy beach front lot. Our lot is 250 feet long, and other than our house and pool, it's all sand!

2) HUGE PRIVATE POOL. One of the largest in the area. Most pools in our area are considered 'plunge pools.' Ours is possibly the largest private pool in the entire region. It is 40 feet long and 16.5 feet wide (12 meters x 5 meters). It also includes a children's area that is knee deep for adults and perfect for toddlers and young children.

3) THE AMENITIES YOU NEED TO STAY IN TOUCH WITH THE WORLD: DirecTV (with all the premium movie channels), Free Wireless Internet, and a Cell Phone included in your rental!

4) A UNIQUELY DESIGNED, WELL BUILT HOUSE WITH AIR CONDITIONING in both bedrooms. Most homes in this area are older 'box' homes that are 20-50 years old. Our home was built in 2004 with top-shelf building materials, including a lot of tile in the kitchen and bathrooms. It has a unique architectural design, including 3 beautiful columns that support a shaded back patio overlooking the ocean.

5) EASY ACCESS from Cancun or Merida. Cancun is a 3.5 hour comfortable, inexpensive bus ride from Merida on a major highway, and Merida is only 30 minutes away. Our home is located in Chuburna, the best (most tranquil, best beach, closest location to the bigger towns) location on the coast north of Merida. It's 15 minutes to Progreso, which has a large (Wal Mart owned) 'everything' store and a cruise ship pier and malecon that you can see from our beach! McDonalds, Starbucks, Home Depot, Wal Mart and more are only 30 minutes from your door in Merida.

6) GROUND TRANSPORTATION IS PROVIDED for you! Our property manager will pick you up or drop you off at the airport in Merida and will be happy to take you to Wal Mart, drop you off at the mall or another tourism site, and do whatever you need for your entire stay! There is a fee for these services. By the way, our property manager has a law degree from the University of Mexico, lived in Nashville for 10 years, and speaks perfect English.....she'll be 5 minutes down the road from you during your stay!

7) SAFETY. We're in the state of Yucatan, which is absolutely, positively the safest location in all of Mexico. Look it up. Check the stats. It's safer than Cancun, Playa del Carmen, and where we live in the USA.

8) OUR HOUSE IS NOT LOCATED ON A HIGHWAY. We live on a quiet, sandy street. Many homes in this area are located right on the major highway that passes by. If you have dogs, children, or just want to take a peaceful walk from your house, it may not be possible from many homes in this region. We also have a fenced in back yard that provides a little extra peace of mind for those of us with pets and small children- no need to worry about them wandering off with a fenced in yard!

9) We also own a Toyota 4 Runner that can be rented by the day for a very economical rate- just $55 per day (including insurances) or $250 for the week. As the home renter, use the car 1 day for free for each week you rent (exact 'free' days to be determined 1 month prior to your arrival)! You'll pay nearly $100/day for a family vehicle renting from the airport in Cancun or Merida- we used to pay that much as well- that's why we finally ended up buying a vehicle and passing along much of the savings to our renters.

Just a couple of years ago we were looking for a rental home for our family to spend some extended, quality time together. During our time on the coast north of Merida, we visited all the towns and many homes. After seeing all of the coast, we felt that Chuburna was the ideal location because of its beautiful beach and proximity to Progreso and Merida.

When we discovered that our current home was for sale, we knew there would never be a better location for a beach home. The only thing it was missing was a pool! So we added a huge pool in the back yard, and now we have the perfect home on the beach!

Our house was built to North American standards, including heavy construction, pleny of excellent lighting, and 3-prong electrical outlets everywhere in the house.

We have 2 large bedrooms. The first is a master bedroom with king size bed (Spring Air Mattress), its own bathroom, and its own door to the patio and beach. The second bedroom has two double beds, and both bedrooms have their own new A/C unit with remote control.

The kitchen and living area are an open floor plan. The kitchen has tile countertops, plenty of space, and small bar that overlooks the kitchen. The living area has comfortable sofas and a full dining room table and chairs.

Most importantly, this entire home is built with incredible beach, pool, and ocean views, and it all leads to your perfect oceanfront location! We have outdoor chairs for adults and children, beach loungers, and a full patio chair and table set.

Our yard is completely made of sand. In the front yard, we have a number of coconut trees and a banana tree. The back yard is the same. Feel free to take a nap on the sand under your beach front coconut tree!

This home is all about the beach, ocean, pool, and being outside. It's about relaxation and rejuvenation. You'll never take a vacation that is more stress free than having your own beachfront home with private pool in a cute Mexican beach town!

In Chuburna, you'll find a number of convenience stores and small restaurants serving some of the best seafood you'll ever taste....and it's all just a short walk down the sandy streets from your home!

Keywords: Beachfront, beach front, sand, sandy, oceanfront, ocean front, pool, private pool, ocean view, ocean, sea, swimming, wifi, internet, a/c, air conditioning, swim, home, house, bungalow, casita, swimming pool

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Minnesota and have three children and three dogs! Matt oversees a Christian Ministry that creates partnerships between churches and communities all over the world. Gina is a Physical Therapist. Both of us love our children, our three dogs, and our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

We love to drive all the way from Minnesota to Mexico to spend time in our favorite corner of the world. We've been to every continent other than Antarctica, and have decided that our beach home location is our very favorite place

You simply won't find a home to rent that has a better combination of location and amenities than this one. I know this to be true because we've spent time living and working in this area, so we know exactly what North Americans expect to remain connected with the world, but we also know North Americans are looking for when it comes to convenience, relaxation, and most importantly.....a house on the beach!

23 Reviews of Property 406224 in Chelem, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Spring and Summer Dates Available!
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 23 reviews
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Minnesota, USA
5

Beautiful ocean memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Imagine your relaxing beachfront decisions… grab flip flops to walk sandy white beaches in the morning at low tide to collect from millions of shells, or stroll barefoot mid-afternoon when the warm waves roll in at high tide, or watch in awe as the sun sets in bold hues over the ocean for magnificent photos friends will envy. Do you swim or jump salty waves or serenely gaze out to sea, leaving all thoughts behind of snowy weather back home! Or relocate to the gorgeous pool right outside your patio to relax on a floatie, or lounge with a book under the shaded porch with cooling trade winds blowing.

Off the main square, we bought a stack of freshly made tortillas for under $1. A short jaunt away in Chelem, we easily chatted with local business owners from the US and Canadian expat community - Soma’s had poolside dinners and weekend breakfasts under a thatched roof (we savored on Italian build-your-own night), next door Lizard Joe’s brings in music gigs, Tacomaya’s owners also super friendly (by Bull Pen), the crafts shop along the main road also had a “garage sale like set up” including freshly made cinnamon rolls and hard cheeses. For shopping…borrow the car or take the local bus into Progreso to leisurely stroll along the long boardwalk, watch the fishing boats, and barter with the handy phrase ¿cuánto menos? – meaning how much less (and I’m willing to playfully dialogue with you in my limited Spanish!). We went on a Sunday afternoon, experiencing an intergenerational gathering of friendly Mexicans casually visiting as kiosk/shop vendors sold their goods. Driving south on 261 - halfway to Merida - are ruins at Dzibilchaltun, which include a temple, chapel, stone village remnants, museum of artifacts, and cenote with lily pads where we dangled our feet for fish to nibble our toes.

This was my fifth vacation in Mexico, but my first away from resorts, and I was so pleased and relieved at the cultural feel of living in the midst of a foreign country in safety, along with amazing accommodations. Matt and Gina have created such a comfortable beach house with modern conveniences including wifi, and readily available for ideas to make our stay absolutely wonderful. Veronica is so fun, and made the airport pick up and buying groceries so easy. What a gift turning these photos into real experiences filled with joy for lasting memories…thank you so very much!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
5

Tranquil and Authentic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I have traveled to Mexico several times over the past years, and I must say that this is the most authentic Mexico experience that I have encountered. The small fishing village of Chuburna (where the beach home is located) is charming, friendly, and the real authentic Mexico (not a resort region). People are friendly and very welcoming and it feels safe ( I traveled here with two friends for a girls week away).
The beach home is delightful from it's sparkling, clean pool to literally being located steps from the ocean. The house is well stocked, clean, and updated with all of the necessities we Americans deem as necessary such as WiFi, A/C, Satellite Tv/DVD player, and a greatly equipped kitchen. The use of the car was wonderfully simple and I appreciated the ability to drive to where we wanted to go. Veronica as well as Gina made the travel arrangements so very easy and were so willing to answer my many questions both before the trip and even during. Veronica went out of her way to check to make sure we had all we needed during our time at the house. My girl fiends and I enjoyed many long beach walks, shell collecting, expeditions to Progresso and Dzibilchaltun, swims in both the pool and ocean, and walks into town for fresh tortillas and meals out. We thought Soma in Chelem was a fun place to eat as well as Los Delfines in Chuburna.
I have no hesitations in highly recommending this as your vacation destination. Go with the intent to relax, slow down, and be submerged in a culture very different than our own. I cannot wait to go again and introduce my husband and kids to this delightful home and fishing community.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
MN, USA
5

Lucky to be by the Sea!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If you desire a peaceful, gorgeous, authentically Mexican, ocean vacation adventure, this is the place for you! Being my first time in Mexico as an adult, I didn't know quite what to expect. The genuinely friendly, helpful property manager Veronica met us at the airport, took us to Wal-Mart, gave us a tour and generally made for an easy transition from American life to Mexico. I would recommend either learning Spanish before you come (I knew just a little), bring a translation book to use in the stores and restaurants, or brush up on your charades skills :) The modern, charming beach house, set in a quiet location, was very clean and well-stocked with basic necessities. The owner was very prompt in answering our questions. My friends and I enjoyed many relaxing walks on the beach, collecting lovely shells and photographing the beautiful ocean scenery. We soaked in the warm sun and swam both in the sandy bottom ocean and crystal clear pool (thanks to Carlos the pool guy!). Watercolor painting the amazing ocean view from the back steps was also a highlight for me. It was great fun shopping for well-priced souvenirs in Progresso along the boardwalk for my 4 kids at home. Someday, I would love to bring my whole family back here. In the meantime, I hope that you will choose this ideal vacation place for yours!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Edmonton,AB,Canada
5

Sun and sand

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We escaped the cold snowy Alberta winter, for 4 wonderful relaxing weeks in Chuburna. The house was great, beautiful pool and the sound of the surf was awesome.
The wifi worked very well, we could keep in touch with family and friends. We were so happy to have satellite tv so we could watch the Super Bowl , ( how boring that was ), but we found we didn't watch very much tv at all,so nice to sit outside.
Gina had all the answers to questions l had before we got there, and both Gina and Veronica were very prompt to answer any questions while we were there also.
All the staff they have to look after the house are very polite and friendly, Carlos kept the pool in great shape, and he even climbed up and got us coconuts from the tree, and opened them for us so we could drink the water. Such nice people! English is very limited in town, so having a dictionary or an iPad for translation is very handy. We even had Roberto bring fish right to the house, ( in ice and in a big cooler ) got lobster,sea bass and shrimp from him and it was really good!
Having a vehicle available is handy, for major grocery trips and other sight seeing trips.
We golfed at the Jack Nichlaus course, El Jaguar , and it is absolutely beautiful! It's pricey- about 250$ Canadian with club rental and caddy ( mandatory ), but we all thought it was worth it.
We took a trip into Merida on the bus, it's very easy, and costs 55 pesos return. The bus will go right to the centre of the city. Lots to see in Merida, there's a big museum at the beginning of the city, which we unfortunately didn't go to, but heard it is very good!
This time of year is quieter in the area, so the local restaurant hours are limited, we found they closed around 6. We ate at Pescaderia Cristo Rey a couple times, and at Los Delfines, and they were both very good, we also went to Soma's in Chelem for breakfast a few times, it was fantastic! Fresh oj, and great eggs beny! Emiliano, the waiter at Soma's lives in Chuburna, about 2 blocks from the house, and he is also a massage therapist. He will bring his table to the house and give massages there. So nice! He set up in front of the patio doors, so we got massages listening to the surf, so relaxing! He charges 350 pesos for an hour. We had him come over twice- great deal!! He's good and very professional .
Thanks Gina and Matt for sharing your beach home, and Veronica for being so friendly and helpful.
We look forward to returning!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
5

Peaceful with modern conveniences.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This house has internet, tv, a microwave and an awesome pool! That should make everyone happy. The living areas are very comfortable. The beds were a bit hard, which is typical, but the extra pillows helped with my back issues. My husband thought the bed was great.

There were enough dishes for cooking. The washing machine was a nice plus. Everything worked!

There are several little shops within easy walking distance to purchase basics and snacks. We picked up about half of our food from the nearby shops. It was awesome having the ocean right outside the yard. It is quite shallow with a sandy bottom - great for kids.

A very friendly black dog adopted our house as his. I contacted No Mas Perritos (Facebook) to get him neutered and vaccinated ($200 pesos to neuter a street dog). Turned out he is actually the neighbours dog! Oh well. .. he was still nice to hang out with. Consider helping out a street dog or two while you are there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Indiana
5

Indiana Vacationers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The pool is just like an infinity pool, it is beautiful. The view of the pool w/ the beach is fabulous. The bathrooms are very modern as the entire house is! It is a very quiet area, the beach is quiet, the streets are safe enough to walk at night and the town square is only a couple of blocks away. The people are friendly and there are many wonderful restaurants w/in walking distance. Overall a wonderful experience, we brought our two young children and we cannot wait to come back, hopefully this same time next year!
The property manager and owner are very nice and helpful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Austin, Texas
5

Excellent Place for Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I travel to Merida for business and found this to be a wonderful home for the weekend. There were 4 of us who enjoyed our short stay out of the hotel and city center of Merida. The location is very quiet, peaceful and secluded. We had a peaceful time in the house and outside looking at the beach while enjoying the wonderful pool. Everything was readliy availale for us. Thank you for letting us enjoy your place, I can't wait until the next time. WIFI is wonderful and not always avilable in these remote locations. A big plus for us to be able to stay connnected to work and family over the weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Quebec, Canada
5

wonderfull family time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a wonderfull week there with our two teens.
The house is very functional, clean, confortable and away from the crowds but close enough to everything we needed.
The village of Chuburna is quiet, safe and everybody was nice and welcoming.
The view was great and we enjoyed just sitting or walking on the beach for the Sunset.
The pool was incredibly large and deep, with a secured baby part for those with small children. We played for hours so we didn't suffer from the heat.
Some nice and affordable restaurants just 5 min walking with the local fishing of course. Los Delfines was our favorite. We appreciated also the bakery offering fresh and hot bread and pastries.
Merida is just 50km with the highway and Uxmal is less than 2hrs.
Veronica, the manager on site, was realy helpful, specialy when we locked all our keys (house and car) in the house. We called her and she sent us the pool guy very quickly to unlock.
Wifi worked well to plan our visits around and even if we didn't watch it that much, TV has many channel choices in Spanish and English.
Thanks to Gina the owner who answered to all my questions and offered us a priceless family vacation opportunity.
We defitely recommand this beach house!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Redmond
5

A piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Since arrival, this place is magical.
We spent a month relaxing in the beach, in the pool and visiting the neighboring Chuburna, Chelem, Progreso and Merida.
The house was great for our family; the pool was perfect for our girls to keep practicing their swimming. The beach, how can describe it, really there were no words to describe it, tranquil, warm, inviting.
The people around the area are very friendly and helpful. Veronica, the property manager, was always very friendly and helpful as well as the folks who maintain the property.
Food in the area is great; we got fresh fish from “Cristo Rey” in front of the Church as well as fresh tortillas from the tortilla-store next to the elementary school.
Definitely we’re looking forward to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring and Summer Dates Available!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406224vbi
+ 2182607132
Chelem Yucatan
Duluth, MN
5

Excellent Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My new husband and I loved it here! Private and peaceful enough to avoid crowds and tourism AND close enough to cities, attractions, and community if that's what we want! Super helpful property manager, and excellent recommendations from owner. We loved the pool (very clean, big, and beautiful) and used it every day in addition to our "backyard" bech walks. We do recommend that you know some Spanish to stay here as this town and those closest are not SUPER English otiented! Highly recommended location overall!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1