Joshua Tree house rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Joshua Tree House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

All you will hear are the birds in this serene desert home and walled garden,--your own oasis. This beautiful owner-built pueblo-style home opens out into beautiful vistas in all directions. Walk to the front porch and enjoy the walled garden full of cactus, desert plants, fruit tree, herbs and (in season) vegetables. Go through the french doors off the bedroom and enjoy the private outdoor shower and bathtub nestled into the side of 'Coyote Hill'.

Just a six-minute drive from the entrance of the Joshua Tree National Park, and ten-minutes from the shops and restaurants of the 'village' of Joshua tree, you will feel like you are just where you want to be. Nestled into the foothills of the Little San Bernardino Mountains, this sparsely populated neighborhood boasts of wonderful walks, hikes and wildlife viewing opportunities, right here.

You will enjoy the fully appointed kitchen, beautifully furnished master bedroom and bath with unique interior stucco walls, and many other handbuilt touches. It is kept sparkling clean by Piper who owned a bed and breakfast in Hawaii for seven years, and currently helps take care of several other vacation rentals in the area.

Keywords: Pueblo-style house nestled within walled garden

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 405801 in Joshua Tree, California

Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
California
5

Wonderful desert hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A lovely cottage, very clean, with a fun outdoor shower.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
3

Great location, but...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Location, location. This vacation rental is located very close to the Joshua Tree National Park west entrance. And if that, plus a lower-cost rental, is important to you, then this is your place. But if you would like a few amenities, such as a coffee maker and a microwave, then move on. You won't find those here. Some would call this rental quaint or funky. We would say, in need of work. The bath, especially, needs a deep cleaning and a plumbing upgrade. The sun-dried bath towels seemed great, but as soon as they got a bit moist you knew they had mildew. Nasty. The rug in the bath smelled strongly of … well, you get the idea. The VRBO description that this home is “kept sparkling clean” and has a “fully appointed kitchen” is a pipe dream.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: My first response to this is did these people review the right place? There most certainly IS a coffeemaker, well stocked with filters and even an extra pot for the decaf crowd....there's a juicer, and a blender and all manner of kitchen items. There isn't even a rug in the bathroom...and all the plumbing is quite new and works perfectly, I can find no mildew anywhere. I met these guests in the middle of their stay and they told me everything was "perfect". It would have been a perfect time to ask me where the coffee maker was (in the cupboard), or to ask for additional towels, or address any of these issues, but they had no issues. I don't know what else to say, except to say to read through the scores of reviews that say otherwise.
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
New York, NY
5

What a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We loved our stay. Piper is a very warm, welcoming host. The house was "sparkling clean" as advertised, it has many nice details and is very comfortable. Also, the kitchen is very well equipped. Only small drawback was that the dirt road the house is on is not that well maintained, so you have to drive very slowly, but the better to appreciate the landscape.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Quilchena BC Canada
4

Coyote's rest - close to Joshua Tree Park

Coyote's rest - close to Joshua Tree Park
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Clean, spacious, comfortable, great library, nice walled yard is a work in progress but is very private and enjoyable. Quiet neighborhood. The house was well furnished but did not have a microwave and the bed is a double that is just OK for comfort. I wouldn't have wanted to sleep more than a couple of nights on it. Overall, all we expected and a good value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
lancaster, sc
5

a most relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
from the moment you enter the garden gate, this house nestled in greenery feels like home. very clean and tastefully decorated and only minutes from the park and village of joshua tree.coyote rest has everything you need for a very relaxing stay. the road to the house is dirt but easily drivable in a economy rental car. highly recommended, I will stay there again and again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Huntington Beach
5

First vacation with our dogs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I spent four nights in this cute house. Our two little dogs where also quite comfortable exploring the walled garden with koi pond. It was a very hot time of year but we felt cool inside without air conditioning. I washed my hair every morning outside in the tub. The place is a great value, casual, and comfy. The long sand road into the property was no problem but might be daunting in the dark for those not expecting it. Just go slow and enjoy the scenery. Great Wall of books to enjoy!
Time for new cushions on the front porch chairs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
San Diego
5

Quiet, Peaceful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I'll keep it short and sweet. The studio was very clean, well-equipped. The area immediately around the house is extremely beautiful. Many rabbits, quail immediately outside. Morning visits from a hawk. Evening visits from a couple of coyotes. Amazing starscape...including excellent view of the Perseid shower. All in all, the perfect place to hide from civilization for a week and write. Would definitely rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Oakland, CA
5

Absolutely gorgeous desert oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house is an absolute joy. Piper has a gorgeous garden oasis that is so quiet and peaceful on top of beautiful hills overlooking the desert and right near the park. The house was clean and beautiful, and has a wonderful kitchen and great natural light, yet still held cool temperatures during the day. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Home sweet home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Cozy and comfortable. We felt very much at-home, and there was plenty of room of one adult, 2 kids and a dog. Location is perfect -- right between park entrance and town. Felt private, but not isolated. We took morning walks around the neighborhood and saw rabbits, quail and lizards. Stocked up on groceries from supermarket in Yucca and cooked most meals, but also had a wonderful dinner at Crossroads Cafe in Joshua. Really enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Joshua Tree, Six Minute Drive to the Park, Quiet Desert Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405801vbi
(760) 366-9819 (California, USA)
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Beautiful Retreat Exceeded Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Coyote Rest is the perfect place for a romantic getaway for two under the star-filled desert skies or for use as a base-camp to explore Joshua Tree National Park during the day. The property is homey, quiet, comfortable, and has all the amenities, including a large kitchen. It's a beautifully decorated and well-appointed place with two porches and a koi pond in a beautiful, relaxing walled garden. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The bed was comfortable and looks out onto the back porch and a rocky cactus garden. The neighborhood is pleasant to walk through and my dog had a great time sniffing and discovering her new surroundings. This place was so peaceful and relaxing, I returned to work refreshed and energized. We plan on returning again just so we can try the outdoor shower and maybe sleep on the back patio under the stars.

Piper is the very friendly "person to talk to" and she is available for any emergency. She made sure we were comfortable and informed about the place, including a map and directions to reach the house. We tried Sam's Pizza and Indian Food on 29 Palms Hwy. and were very pleasantly surprised at the delicious selections (mild, medium and spicy) including multiple varieties of naan (Indian bread).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway