Olivella villa rental - Villa in the evening
Villa in the evening
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Olivella Villa Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 5 Bedroom Home near Sitges with Large Garden,Terrace and Swimming pool

Escape civilization in Plana Novella. Enjoy stunning views of the mountains and peace and tranquility rarely found along the Spanish coast. Located in a secluded neighborhood in the middle of a national park, only 6 miles to popular beaches and 8 miles to the beautiful town and beaches of Sitges. Swimming pool, child-friendly 5 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms; hardwood floors throughout, a large (45m2) living room with double-high ceiling and fireplace, large open modern kitchen, 3 terraces including a romantic secluded one off the master suite. Completed to the highest standard in 2008, it is fully equipped w/ broadband internet, WIFI, Wii video game console, sat TV, stereo, A/C, central heating, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, induction stove, convection oven, microwave, 2 fridges, and BBQ. Recently added petanque/bocce court for leisurely afternoon fun. Plana Novella is also home to the famous Buddhist Temple. The region is well known for its wine & cava production. Surrounded by vineyards, visits to local bodegas and wineries are possible. Come celebrate any holiday in Garraf!

Garraf region: Garraf is Catalunya's second smallest comarca but packs a lot into its 184 square kilometers. Situated on the Costa Garraf, just south of Barcelona, the region's beautiful coastline includes 25 kilometres of large sandy beaches and tiny secluded bays almost hidden beneath rocky cliffs.

The Parc Natural de Garraf in the east covers 13,000 hectares. The low limestone peaks of the Garraf massif create a wild landscape and habitat for a number of rare and protected species like the European fan palm, Mediterranean tortoise, wild boar, and red fox.

The Parc Natural de Garraf is full of paths for walking and cycling, as well as many caves just waiting to be explored; Jafra Natura based in Olivella runs guided activities at weekends. Other activities on offer in the park include group workshops and courses in astronomy at the Observatori Astronòmic del Parc del Garraf.

The region's historical monuments include seven castles that date from the 10th to 17th centuries.

Things to see - Sitges: Just down the coast is the old fishing town of Sitges. When Modernista artist Santiago Rusiñol moved there in the late 19th century he was instrumental in putting the town on the artistic and cultural map, by hosting festes modernistes in his home and studio, Cau Ferrat, which is now a museum and gallery. Cau Ferrat is situated in a lovely old quarter, Racó de la Calma (literally, ‘quiet corner'), just along from another important cultural site, the Museu de Maricel, housed in the Palau of the same name built in the early 20th century for an American millionaire. The museum also encompasses Rusiñol's friend and fellow artist Ramon Casas's house, and has collections of art and sculpture spanning many centuries and styles, as well as an interesting exhibition of maritime artifacts.

Sitges continues to be a magnet for creative minds and one of the favourite subjects for artists is the 17th-century Baroque church of Sant Bartomeu i Santa Tecla.

Things to see - Vilanova i la Geltrú : Vilanova i la Geltrú is the comarca's capital, situated in the southwest of the region. It is one of Catalunya's principal fishing ports and became known as ‘Havana Xica' because of the number of buildings from the ‘Americanos' period. The main town centre is concentrated around the Rambla Principal which is lined with café terraces, all the main shopping chains and the occasional Modernista building. Slightly further north is the arched Plaça de Vila, which leads off through narrow back streets and small squares to the old town centre of la Geltrú and its medieval castle. The Barri Marítim has many attractions such as Ibero-Roman ruins, a defence tower, a lighthouse and a fishermen's market and harbour, where visitors can join locals to greet the fishermen as they return from their day at sea. The town also has 5 beaches and if you are looking for somewhere to cool off there are some pleasant parks and gardens such as the Jardins del Parc Gumà i Ferran with waterfalls, and shady trees.

Golf

There are two golf clubs in Garraf: Club de Golf Terramar in Sitges is an 18-hole par 72 course situated on the coast with large practice areas, as well as tennis courts and a swimming pool, while Escola de Golf Portal del Roc in Vilanova has a par 54 pitch-and-putt course.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 404803 in Olivella, Spain

Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404803
+34 686984430
Olivella Garraf - Costa Dorada
5

Wow, what a wonder...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
We spent a week at the villa over the holidays with friends and family and simply had a wonderful time. The littlest ones had plenty of outdoor space and a giant sandbox, and the teen-agers loved going into Sitges, the nearest fishing village, just down the road. The adults preferred the peace and quiet on an otherwise busy Spanish coast.

Although the villa is located near the beaches and towns of the area, it rests in the middle of a national park, surrounded by natural landscape as far as the eye can see. The drive up the mountain from the coast has amazing views of the Mediterranean.

The house and grounds themselves are impressive. The house is very modern, with every amenity. Everything is new and well maintained. The owner is a native English speaker, very agreeable and was available to answer questions throughout our stay, which was comforting since our Spanish/Catalan skills leave something to be desired.

I would absolutely recommend this property. We even found a small local restaurant named Desu in the same neighborhood that served great game and local dishes.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the fabulous review. We aim to please and are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Cheers, Richard and family.
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404803
+34 686984430
Olivella Garraf - Costa Dorada
5

Fantastic luxury villa in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Modern and very luxury villa in the beautiful mountains - fantastic views over the mountains and situated in a beautiful Spanish village. Villa with all types of modern facilities, and so clean and well-maintained. Garden was lovely with beatiful palm trees and the pool.

We - a Danish Family with 4 children - spent a week in this fantastic house. We had such a relaxing holiday away from the busy daily life.. Our children (teenagers) enjoyed the sun and the pool (they loved that we had our own pool, not staying in a big hotel with a lot of other tourists) and we all stayed a lot in the beautiful garden.

And - important also:): the kitchen of the house has everything needed to make food - but if you want to go out in the neighbourhood: the village has 2 restaurants, one very typical Spanish one in a garage with lovely food and such a nice famliy and another with a German owner, also fantastic food, more international.

And to make you safe when you order this house: we will give the owner our VERY best recommendation: he is SO sympatic and very humorous and he gives you all the information you need. He answers every question you have before arriving and also during your stay.....and his description of the villa is very accurate. He is a very honest person.

We will certainly like to go there another time - and the coast and nearby towns as Sitges takes only 20 minutes to reach in a car.
Owner's Response: Great guests make for great holidays. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
business
Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404803
+34 686984430
Olivella Garraf - Costa Dorada
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fabulous, simply fabulous

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Dear Richard and Alice,

What a beautiful house, beautiful surroundings and amazing views of the surrounding park. The nature all around us and walking/biking paths through the park made it truly a joy.

We were able to completely relax and be away from it all for several weeks during this fabulous holiday.

We felt very at home in the house and had all the facilities we needed. And plenty of space for the kids to run around. We also appreciated the short drive to the beach towns of Sitges and Castelldefels.

Thanks for all your help before and during our stay. We give our best recommendation to Villa Alicia!

Joan and family
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404803
+34 686984430
Olivella Garraf - Costa Dorada
Zurich, Switzerland
5

Wonderful villa, perfect holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We spent a week in this villa in October 2011 and truly had a perfect time.
The house is very modern, kept very clean and in a perfect condition. So is the pool area as well as the garden.
The villa offers everything that a family can enjoy a holiday. Since October still was quite warm we even could enjoy the pool and its amenities every day of the week in perfect weather conditions. The kids were excited by the sandbox, trampolin and the toys available at the house.
The location in the middle of the Garraf National Park in 'Plana Novella' is ideal for being a bit away from the busy areas of Sitges or Castelldefels. But still all the touristic hotspots throughout the Penedès or even Barcelona are easy to reach.
Although a car is necessary.

The owner as well as the person taking care of the house on a regular basis were always reachable and very helpful in answering our questions. Before travel we received very helpful driving directions and written instructions/informations about all you need to know about the villa. Thank you once more Anna and Richard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking such good care of our home. We try to provide plenty of information about the property and surroundings so that visitors feel at home and familiar with the area. We travel quite a bit with our kids and have come to appreciate the extra effort that we aim to give others. Cheers!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404803
+34 686984430
Olivella Garraf - Costa Dorada
Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
5

Our Stay Could Not Have Been Better.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Our stay at this villa was a wonderful experience. The house is spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable, and clean. The owners did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one. In addition to the kinds of amenities one usually expects, a book and video library was available as well as places to work or just stay in touch through the internet if desired. The house is especially child friendly with a beautiful yard and play area including a trampoline, etc. The "kids" bedroom has an extensive toy collection and our granddaughter loved the opportunity to play with toys that were new to her.

The owners went out of their way to make sure we understood how everything worked and provided a number where they could be reached at any time if we had questions. He also kindly provided printed sheets of directions to local attractions and places to visit.

The area around the villa is beautiful and restful but busier activities are but a short distance away in Sitges (wonderful beaches, restaurants, and other attractions) and Barcelona where we spent a number of days visiting the touris attractions one wants to see.

I would recommend this property without reservation. We had a wonderful time and the villa and the thoughtful and kind service provided by Richard and Alice were in large part responsible for the enjoyable time that we had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Since the villa is also our main residence, I believe we are able to provide a more complete experience than most rental homes. Cheers, Richard and family
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Villa in National Park, near Sitges, 12min to beaches, 30min to Barcelona
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404803
+34 686984430
Olivella Garraf - Costa Dorada
Scotland
5

Relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We stayed in this lovely house for a week in October. The property is spacious and luxurious and maintained to a very high standard. It had everything we needed for a quiet and relaxing break. Our small son really enjoyed spending time in the pool and on the trampoline and running around the garden. The property is in the middle of the national park and so would suit walkers and mountain bikers, although you would have to be a fairly useful cyclist as many of the roads round about could be described as challenging! Sitges and Barcelona are within relatively easy reach and there is also local beach about 15 minutes drive away. A great place to chill out and enjoy watching the sunset as you barbeque!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the kind words. We are glad that your son's Scottish blood could enjoy the "refreshing" pool in October! Richard, Alice and the family
Helpful votes: 7/7