Alfama apartment rental - Unit 1 - Window overview ALFAMA RIVER VIEW & ROOFS- NEXT 28 TRAM STOP - FREE WIF
Unit 1 - Window overview ALFAMA RIVER VIEW & ROOFS- NEXT 28 TRAM STOP - FREE WIF
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Alfama Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Romantic STUDIO - Sleeps 2

This lovely and romantic GROUNDFLOOR STUDIO (38m2 ) is located in the District of Alfama, one of the most typical districts of the historic center of Lisbon, an old and quiet part of Lisbon, with its narrow and cobble stones streets, near 28 Tram Stop.

The apartment, at a second floor low, with one room and one living room, It is full of sunlight and has marvelous view to the Tagus River, the roofs of the medieval neighborhood and to the convent of S. Vicente.

With a nice window and light, nicely decorated and fully equipped whit Wireless Internet and Cable IPTV, were you have everything to cook, Microwave, hair dryer, iron, DVD, etc., and most important of all, a nice place to spend a romantic holidays in this marvelous city

Right next the apartment there's Lisbon famous market - Feira da Ladra – that is held every Tuesday and Saturday where you can find antiques, music books, dresses, you can't miss it.

Nearby, 50 m from the door, you have the famous tram number 28 that covers the sightseeing tour of Lisbon 's hills: The Moorish “Alfama” with its restaurants where you can feel the fado, “Graça district ” with its traditional commerce, “Baixa district ” heart of the city (Downtown) or city canter, “Chiado district ”, “Estrela district ”, “Prazeres district ”, a complete scenic route.

If you enjoy walking, the flat is a short walking distance from all of these other picturesque district neighborhoods, especially of Baixa and Chiado.

Nearby you have all kinds of traditional commerce, high standard shops (at Chiado) and access to the train to the beaches around Cascais (in Cais do Sodré metro station).

Most of all, you will be very much welcome and received whit a traditional Portugues warm and with a sweet welcome pack surprise :-D

To appreciate Alfama is to walk the streets and wonder where you are, at times getting lost. It is on a ground floor . Ideally located, Very peaceful, All mod cons, Tastefully decorated, Discount for long stay, Completely renovated, Near to Feira da Ladra, Castelo and Miradouro de Santa Luzia.

Details for Maigic Window over Tejo 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2, 1 Bathroom

1 room and livingroom studio,whit lots of windos and light, nicely decorated and fully equiped whit Wireless Internet and Cable IPTV, were you have everything to cook, Microwave, hair dryer, iron, DVD,etc, and most important of all, a nice place to spend a romantic holidays in this marvellous city .
More Details
Hide Details

I was born and raised in Lisbon, Alfama is my passion. Come and discover the secrets of this village, inhabited by real and authentic, in alleys and streets where one can listen to fado flavored sardines.

Maria Pereira purchased this apartment in 2008

Lovely Romantic apartment at a second floor , with one room and one living room in Alfama, one of the most typical districts of the historic center of Lisbon. It is full of sunlight and has marvelous view to the Tagus River, the roofs of the medieval neighborhood and to the convent of S. Vicente.

'Find something that you make with passion, then find someone to pay you to do so, this is one of the keys to personal fulfillment,' said Confucius. And because I believe that I live in the best city outside of South America, it is my great privilege and honor, to give my guests a unique and unforgettable experience, than it is to live in one of the most typical and ancient neighborhoods of Lisbon. The last village of Lisbon: Alfama.

25 Reviews of Property 404624 in Alfama, Portugal

Maigic Window over Tejo
average rating of 4.173913 based on 25 reviews
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
Portland, Oregon
5

Excellent location in the Alfama

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
For a taste of old Lisbon, this apartment is perfect. The charming narrow streets and the friendly locals of this district are not to be missed. A great bakery, a local cafe/bar are steps away. Great stay!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm happy that you’ve liked !! It was nice to have you here too :-) You are very much welcome

All the best
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
1

If you want a nice view and nothing else...

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My friend and I chose this space because of the advertised free wifi, historic area, and view of the ocean from the window. I carefully looked over the reviews, all of which had wonderful things to say and were recent. I emailed the owner, Maria, who gave some more details about the apartment. She claimed that it was a 7 minute walk from a nearby metro station and that she would wait there as long as needed to let us in.

My friend and I arrived in Lisbon and made our way through the metro station, arriving at the suggested station. From there, we had not been given any directions to get to the apartment. The streets were very close and narrow, winding through the houses, shops and restaurants. We had to stop and ask for directions many times. It took us a good 20 minutes to walk uphill and find the apartment. No one was there to let us in. My friend called Maria, who said she would be there in 30 minutes time. She arrived an hour and a half later to let us in.

It became evident that she did not take good care of the space. She seemed very surprised about the large area of mold that had spread across the ceiling (about two square feet), but claimed she would have "the girls" come up to take care of it. She also let us know that the hot water heater may be faulty, and if our showers were cold, we could text her and she would immediately get in touch with someone who would arrive in ten minutes to replace it with a new one. The wifi was also not working. We were able to connect to the internet, but we could not get online. She told us that she would contact the internet provider soon and get it fixed. The area also felt very unsafe.

Maria gave us a magazine of Lisbon, "from 2013," actually from 2009, that would help us with any questions. She also told us about a supermarket inside the station we arrived in. The magazine was extremely unhelpful, and there was only a small cellphone shop inside the station. I visited an internet cafe and emailed her about the problems, and when I returned hours later to check to see if there was a response, she had not emailed us back.

The mold on the ceiling was not small by any means. It is a health hazard that she did not take care of. My friend and I made other living arrangements, and though I emailed her two more times about returning her key and trying to get some of our money back, she did not respond and still has not responded to any messages my friend and I have sent.

Do not stay here.
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
Stockholm
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This has by far been one of the best choices of accommodation. The apartment is perfect for a solo trip or a couple. It's in the middle of Alfama but within walking distance to a lot of attractions in Lisbon. It's very well equipped with everything from kitchen appliances to a washing machine, very cozy and with great views from all windows. It might not be suited for people with moving disabilities since it's not very big and the steps are steep and narrow but the climb is well worth it for those who can manage.

Wireless internet works perfectly, TV with digital box as well, air conditioning and a heater, towels and storage.
It's divided into two parts, one where the double bed is and one living/dining area together with the kitchen. There is also a small sofa in the living area and a bookshelf with a few books and useful brochures about Lisbon.
The bathroom is small but nice and clean.

Great weekly rate for the location and comfort of this lovely gem, wouldn't have found a better hotel for a great stay in Lisbon! It's clean, comfortable and really more than enough for one person. You feel like a local!

Two nights in and I feel at home here. It's a pity that some of the previous guests have broken some things, that's very disrespectful towards the owner.
Maria is a great host, who patiently waited for my arrival very late in the evening and even kindly carried my heavy bag up the steps of Alfama. She answered my emails promptly and provided great information about how to get here and what to do around the area. She speaks very good English and is a lot of fun. Maria, anytime you're in Stockholm, you're welcome at my place! :)

All in all, I cannot recommend this place enough. I don't think I would stay anywhere else and I will tell all my friends about it! :) I'm having a great stay in a lovely apartment and I'm very happy that I found it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
5

The nice place to be in Alfama

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
It was the second time I stayed in this apartment in Alfama (Lisboa, Portugal) and I really enjoy the place. The apartment is small but convenient for 2 people, clean, well furnished and Maria is a very welcoming person who knows everything on the suburb.
But most of all the apartment is right in the middle of everything ! Need a glass of Vinho Verde at 11pm ? no problem, the first grocery store is 5 min away. In addition, the sunrise above Tagus is simply magnificent : I could just go there for a cup of coffee looking at the sunset.
All in all : I really love this place and it's a good bargain to stay in Lisboa. I strongly recommend !
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for you lovely words :D
It's your fantastic energy that make my place so nice :d You are very much well-came any time. Warm Regards and a brilliant 2013 :D

Maria
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

thank you for staying in this wonderful flat.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Dear Maria,


I would like to thank you for staying in this wonderful flat.
Lisboa is very nice and I'll come next year so I can say good bye and see you next time.

Kind Regards,

A.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
5

A perfect stay in Lisbon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My boyfriend and I had a lovely time in Lisbon, and part of that was thanks to the wonderful apartment we were staying in. It was in a great location- just 5mins from the nearest metro and 15mins ish walk to rossio. Alfama is a great place to be, with beautiful cobbled alleyways and a plentitude of restaurants, fado houses and cafes. It is however quite a maze, and so we were thankful that the apartment was generally quite easy to find- and for Maria's help with directions.
The apartment in itself was perfect! Clean and compact, light and airy, with all the amenities you could need. Lovely views onto the harbour and the neighbourhood street below.

Maria herself was the perfect host. Great communication initially in meeting us off our bus from the airport. She provided some great tips in places to go both locally and throughout Lisbon. She was on hand if for whatever reason anything went wrong (it of course didn't). And she even bought us some of the most exquisite custard tarts we have ever tasted from the pastry shop just round the corner of the apartment.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough for a private, cosy and comfortable stay in Lisbon. And if we were to visit again (which I hope we do soon), we would jump at the chance to stay here again! Thank you Maria!
Owner's Response: you are verry kind :-) It is I who thank you for your kind words and especially the way you have treated our loving home. You will be always welcome, and hope to be with you very soon, Lisbon and I look forward for you. Thank You soo mutch !!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
3

estancia en alfama

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
La estancia fue muy buena. Aunque el barrio no sea muy turístico está muy céntrico. La casa está puesta a todo detalle y es muy acojedora. El aparcamiento es un problema ya que no hay sitios que no sean de pago y los que no son de pago están en malas zonas. Nos rompieron una ventanilla del coche en último día y nos robaron varias cosas.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
4

Loved this studio in Alfama!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
What a great little studio apartment this is. It's right in the thick of Alfama - all cobbled alleyways, narrow lanes and fish restaurants - and it's near a pasteleria (pastry shop) selling those delicious Portuguese custard tarts.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and bright, with a view to one side of the harbor and, to the other, of the authentic neighborhood that is Alfama. Although compact, the kitchen was well-equipped for cooking at home, and there was a neat shower room (no bath, but no problem there).

It also must be said that the landlady, Maria, was warm, welcoming, helpful, flexible, speaks great English and can recommend great local places to visit.

We would not only recommend this studio for a single traveler or a couple, we would actually choose to stay in the same apartment if we ever return to Lisbon.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback :-) Also for you lovely words, your sympathy, and for the way you've treated "our" little Palace in Alfama". You are very much wellcam Hope to see you both son in Lisbon :-D
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Such a lovely place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I spent almost 3 weeks at the studio in July this year and l had an amazing time! The city is so lively, the Alfama area gives you a home-like feeling with all those nice neighbours smiling at you everytime your paths cross. The beautiful surroundings and the central position makes the studio the ideal spot if you intend to get to know Lisbon by foot.
The studio itself si very cosy, it's clean, nice and trendy decorated - and there's nothing missing in the kitchen, so you do not have to worry about bringing anything with you.
There's joy filling the air, fresh colors all around in the room - just waking up in that environment makes you feel good and comfortable ready to cope the day with a big bright smile on your face.

Maria is very very nice too, her welcome was so warm and hospitable.
I simply loved the time spent there and I would anytime return to it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for you kind words, they mean the word to me :-D
You are very much wellcame any time, me ans Lisboa will be here for you again, i'm sure :-D

Best of luck

Maria Alfama
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Maigic Window over Tejo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404624
+351 919584621
Alfama Lisbon City
5

Excellent...highly recommend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I am an American who spent a significant part of my childhood living in Lisbon, but this apartment in the heart of the rather ancient Alfama district gave me a new experience of Lisbon. I have rated the property as excellent, because considering the location and the price, the accommodations were, overall, well suited for our stay. For future renters, however, I would like to point out pros and cons.

Pros:
The location! You are about 7 min. walk to the Castelo Sao Jorge. There is an excellent bakery very close by (we ate breakfast there almost every day!). Five minute walk gets you to Santa Apolonia metro station and from there you can go anywhere in Lisbon (or to the train stations at Rossio or Cais de Sodre which will take you to Sintra and Belem respectively).

The view onto the river is picturesque.

Having a washing machine is practically a must have for a long stay. It came in very handy.

We loved cooking our evening meals with the fully functional kitchen. Even used the rotisserie attachment for the oven! On our way home from a busy day sightseeing we would stop by the grocery store in Santa Apolonia station for supper supplies--like Frango Assado (you must try frango assado!).

Maria was very welcoming, and very quick to respond to any request that we had. For example, the internet went out one morning and by that evening it was back on again!

Cons:
This is a very small studio apartment. The steps leading to the second floor are very steep, the entryway is narrow. The shower is also very small, very narrow. If you are a large person or have difficulty walking this may not be the apartment for you (the Alfama is literally built onto the side of a hill). I would recommend putting glass doors on the shower...it would make it much more comfortable.

Let me sum-up. Lisbon is the city of my heart! I will always highly recommend it! I loved staying in Alfama. I loved seeing, hearing, smelling everything! The apartment is fairly represented in the pictures.

Obrigado e boa viagem!

Here's what we did while we were there:
- Baixa shopping and Santa Justa elevator
- Overlook at Santa Luzia (don't buy breakfast there--expensive!)
- Castelo Sao Jorge
- Sintra: Moorish Castle, village, hiking
- Parque de Nacoes, the oceanarium, Vasco da Gama mall
- Watch SL Benfica play at Estadio da Luz
- Belem (pasteis!!!)
- Obidos
- Feira da Ladra (thieves market)
- Boca do Inferno
- Cabo da Roca
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I'm the one who as to thank you for your kindness and for the loving way that you have treated "our" apartment.

I also thank you so mutch for your excellent suggestion, I will surely follow:-D

Thank you for still passionately way and kind words that you use to describes how your connection / passion for Lisbon, which as I understand and share.

You are always welcome, whenever you want, and now, as frequent travelers still have free 2-day stays over 1 week (10 nights), as well as gift certificate cleaning fee to all your friends who come to "our" place recommended by you:-D

the best of luck always

Obrigada, Lisboa manda vos Saudades

Maria Alfama
Helpful votes: 1/1