Wausau cabin rental - Great Room overlooking lake sleeps 3 (queen sleeper sofa+) cooled by ceiling fan
Great Room overlooking lake sleeps 3 (queen sleeper sofa+) cooled by ceiling fan
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Wausau Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-7)

Tastefully restored 1930's rustic cabin with 100 ft of frontage on 14 acre quiet, no wake Knight Lake, only 20 miles from Wausau or Tomahawk, with rentals from May into October.

The 'Hemlock Hide-Away' Cabin features fieldstone fireplace, vaulted knotty pine ceilings, skylights and expansive front windows overlooking undeveloped shoreline and western sunsets. Compact twin bunkroom sleeps 4, with additional comfortable sleeping space in the Great Room for 3 with twin daybed and queen sleeper sofa. Electric baseboard heat and wood burning stove.

Screen porch with sitting area exudes privacy surrounded by towering hemlock pines and shoreline view. Fully equipped kitchen and inside plumbing; full bath with walk-in shower, sink and flush-toilet. There's even an outhouse for anyone who wants to bring back the good ol' days!

Glorious surroundings for nature lovers interested in hiking, biking, birding, fishing, swimming, or just lounging lakeside on a loveseat swing with a good book... a perfect spot for writers, spiritual seekers, or escapees from the heat of the summer south.

For grandparents, here's a chance to recapture the memories of summer vacation in the northwoods in an 'On Golden Pond' like setting. Couples, friends and families can break away from the distractions of work and high technology and soak in a summer week, month or season finding restoration in the beauty in nature and relationships.

Rentals are primarily offered by the week, 6 nights (Friday 3 pm to Thursday 11 am); Other options and Weekends when available, with 2 night minimum. Private dock and use of boat + gas grill included with rental. Fish for bass, northern, crappie and bluegills.

Keywords: Rustic Cabin, Northwoods, Quiet Lake Retreat, Vacation Rental, Lakeshore Rental Property, Romantic Get-away, Lincoln County, Fall Weekend Lodging, Fishing, Biking, Swimming, Hiking, Birding, Seasonal Rental, Monthly, Weekly or Summer Cabin for rent,

More Details
Hide Details

Mark and I are retired health care professionals living in nearby Merrill, 15 minutes south of the cabin. We spend much of our summer at the lake with our golden retriever, Sadie. Mark was an avid mountain biker and cross country skier judging the local terrain to be some of the best in the midwest. Although a disability has modified activities and brought early retirement, we still enjoy the lake surroundings for biking, hiking and swimming. Participating in a shoreline restoration project on our lakefront property which is the first of its’ kind in Lincoln County has been an exciting experience dovetailing with our philosophy of environmental sustainability and protection.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1994

While still in the workforce back in 1994, we jumped at the chance to purchase a cabin in this beautiful spot so close to home. Many evenings during the workweek, we enjoyed supper on the grill, enveloped by the evening breeze across the lake and watching the sun set.

There are a total of 2 year round homes and a few sparcely used summer cabins on our dead end road that enters along the east side of the lake, which makes for little traffic passing through.

Another cabin with ideal views of the lake came up for sale and sparked the dream of a rental business in retirement and the goal to promote the quality of the peaceful environment of this precious and dwindling resource. The friendly spirit and support of the neighbors and has made this dream possible.

Some of our favorite things to do at the lake:

•Watching the fish surface to feed in the evenings and listening to the breeze through the pines or a chorus of frogs as an early summer evening approaches.

•Detaching the floating dock and trolling out to fish or swim from the raft.

•Lounging in the water, floating on rafts

•Relaxing in the love seat swing watching for eagles, heron or deer feeding on the shoreline

•Family bike rides through back roads to the Mennonite store in Gleason for an ice cream cone or old fashioned bulk candies

•Sipping Coffee or iced tea on the screen porch cooled by the lake breeze

•Looking up at night to spot a barred owl peering down at us from the pine branches right just above our heads

•Gazing at the night sky illuminated with a harvest moon or stars undimmed by city lights.

The cabin has been a wonderful guesthouse for visiting friends and family.

Some of our most precious memories of time with our kids are centered here, including story telling around the campfire, graduations and 4th of July celebrations.

13 Reviews of Property 404297 in Wausau, Wisconsin

Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
cambridge il
5

dale terry

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
everything was just as advertised. the cabin was so warm & comfortable. the lake was perfect with the trees just starting to turn. a great couples get a way. owners so accommodating. we highly recommend this stay & hope to be back ourselves.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a beautiful time it is here in fall too! It is always sad to realize it's almost time to close up the cabins for the season, but when the nights begin to freeze the water must be shut off and cabins put to bed for winter. We'll look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Madison WI
5

Great for Baby Boomers, Relive your childhood trips up north in this Great Cabin on a private lake.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Having had a month full of work, arriving here was like ending up in a different world.
The fishing and hanging out around the camp fire was all we needed.
Our hosts were more than we could have hoped for and our cabin was all that we ever wanted.
Built in the 30's, clean, quite, spacious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Madison WI
5

Great for Baby Boomers, Relive your childhood trips up north in this Great Cabin on a private lake.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Having had a month full of work, arriving here was like ending up in a different world.
The fishing and hanging out around the camp fire was all we needed.
Our hosts were more than we could have hoped for and our cabin was all that we ever wanted.
Built in the 30's, clean, quite, spacious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Madison
5

Hemlock Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Everything was GREAT! The cabin, th beds, the dock and rowboat. We even had two playful doggies.

The make was clean and almost felt private. the owners were friendly and helpful.

We hope to go back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, Nellie the old yellow lab who belongs to a year round neighbor seems to scout out the folks who are dog lovers and befriend them. She is the belle of the lake and our golden loves to swim with her. Sure glad you enjoyed your "retreat/vacation" on your almost private lake!
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
5

AMAZING VACATION!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This cabin is so much more beautiful than even the pictures can do justice. Irene is a joy and I am thrilled to have been able to contact her about this cabin and meet her. I found this little hideaway whilst looking around for a private lake vacation spot for my boyfriend and I to relax for a week in and once I saw it, I fell in love, but once I was THERE, I never wanted to leave. The scenery is gorgeous, the lake is so serene, and there is so much privacy for two. It really is an escape from reality, but with the comforts of home. The fireplace and firepit are great, the hot running water is a perfect convenience, and yet, it is all in the middle of such a tranquil and private landscape that you feel like you are in paradise. My boyfriend and I loved it and will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We agree it is amazing that in spite of the fact there are other cabins nearby, there is a sense of being on a private lake. We look forward to having you back any time your spirits need soothing!
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Harrisburg PA
5

ROMANTIC VACATION GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great location! Very quiet,away from all the hustle and bustle of daily lives. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. We saw bambi and it's mommy. So cute! and some other wildlife like turkeys and I believe a blue heron. The cabin was clean and very comfortable. Very well stocked, from linens and blankets to kitchens utensils to kitchen features. Created such a warm and cozy home feeling. The fireplace was a wonderful feature creating a romantic setting and also created some heat to take the chill off. If I could have stayed I would have. We absolutely loved the fire pit area and spent a good deal of time there overlooking the lake, just relaxing and enjoying each others company. The owner's are absolutely wonderful people and truly make you feel welcome. Very much appreciated. We would highly recommend this cabin when searching for a home away from home. Loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you were able to enjoy the week in spite of this cool, rainy Spring!
We found out that the doe that was camping out in the middle of the road was watching over an injured baby owl who has now been rescued. You two were wonderful guests and we hope you'll fly in again when you get the chance.
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Fort Collins, CO
5

Wonderful Cabin for a Wonderful Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I found the Hemlock Hide Away (and Lakeside Cabin) via Google, when I was researching ways to get my husband and his brother back to Knight Lake to relive some childhood memories for my brother-in-law's 40th birthday. As it turned out, there were three families going on this trip, and Irene and Mark's two cabins would suit our needs perfectly. Not only were the cabins very comfortable and clean, Irene's connection to and appreciation of the local history was heart warming. We spent the week fishing, canoeing, exploring, swimming, celebrating two birthdays (7 and 40!), and visiting with neighbors that my husband and BIL hadn't seen since the 80's, when they were just kids. It was a very special week for all of us, reconnecting with each other and meeting new people, and Irene and Mark's hospitality was the icing on top of this birthday week cake. I hope we can return to Knight Lake Cabins soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Morton Grove, Illinois
5

Breathtaking......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My friends and I have been going on cabin trips for about 9 yrs now and I am confident to say that this place by far is the best I've been in....and that's the truth. This place is a "get-a-way" from it all place. It's peacfull, private, serene and beautiful. We picked this place because of its description but upon arrival, the description does not give it justice. It's BETTER!! It's not just the cabin but everything else around it and it's location. It was wonderful. We were all amazed and just wanted to take everything in. I'm not over exaggerating, it's that beautiful. Stay here If you're looking for a place to reflect and reassess or just be away from it all....and when you arrive....open your eyes and take in every second of your stay. Also, If you get the chance, go and meet Sadie :) Thanks again Irene and Mark, you guys are the best!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! It is truly rewarding and encouraging that with VRBO we have connected with guests who prize the kind of experience that we have to share. We look forward to having you back! ~ Irene and Mark
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Minneapolis
5

Perfection in the woods...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin was absolutely perfect. Irene couldn't have been nicer. The cabin itself was in fantastic shape, all well cared for and clean. The composting toilet was way cool as well. The flotable dock was really fun as were the row boat, canoe, and paddle boat. The lake was beautiful to swim in. We couldn't have had a better time at the cabin!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We were glad that you chose our cabin for your Golden Eagles reunion. Happy to hear that it was a fun time for everyone. Mark and I really enjoyed hearing the laughter from the floating dock anchored out in the middle of the lake. Hope you were able to get some hiking in on the Ice Age Trails nearby as planned.

Thanks so much! We would love to see you again. Best wishes till then! ~ Irene and Mark
business
Knight Lake Cabin | Come to the Quiet! |Summer-Fall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p404297vbi
+1 715-218-4910
Wausau Central Wisconsin
Madison, WI
5

Girl's Weekend

Girl's Weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
PERFECT!!! My three girl friends and I, all in mid-upper twenties, were planning a trip to country fest, but when funds got tight for a couple, we decided to rent a cabin for a few nights. We could not have asked for anything more perfect. The owners met us there upon arrival and gave us a grand tour, including how-to instructions for the toilet. And even popped in to make sure all was well during the weekend. The cabin was perfect for the 4 of us, plenty of sleeping room and we spent a lot of time in the kitchen too. The lake was beautiful, with our prince charmings aka bull frogs, singing for us at all hours of the day. We used the paddle boat a little bit, but mostly used the pier and dock to catch up on our sun. There was nothing we needed once we got to the cabin, it has it all!!! We would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing week or weekend. We are going to try to make it a yearly event!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The "prince charmings" are still singing and waiting for their kisses, hoping you'll be back before long. We are too!