New London house rental - Front of House with 2nd Story Glass Deck
Front of House with 2nd Story Glass Deck
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

New London House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Maximum 10)

This is the perfect place for your family vacation! Newer home built in 2006. Features 4 full bedrooms, 2 full baths, one 1/2 bath and an outside shower/dressing area.

Enjoy the view from the upstairs kitchen featuring modern stainless steel appliances, granite countertops and a large island with a sink and room for dining. The open floor plan features a large dining room attached to the kitchen with a table to seat 8-10 and a large family room with a sectional sofa, mounted plasma television and gas fireplace . Off of the family room, step onto the 2nd level glass front deck which offers panoramic unobstructed views of Long Island Sound! Grill on the provided natural gas grill or relax while watching the Long Island Ferries and submarines make their way in and out of New London Harbor. On the same floor, you will find the Master Bedroom with a queen bed, a full bath with a glass enclosed shower and 2 person whirlpool tub.

Downstairs you will find 3 large bedrooms, all with full closets and dressers. Two of the bedrooms have queen bedding, while bedroom three is a designated bunk room, sleeping 4. Perfect for the kids! The jack and jill bathroom has a double vanity and a shower/commode area separated by a pocket door for privacy. On this floor you will find a washer, dryer and access to the backyard and enclosed outdoor shower area.

Walk across the street to your own PRIVATE beach area, where you can crab along the seawall, fish off of the rocks or enjoy the serenity of Long Island Sound. If you prefer, 100 paces away is the sandy, private, family-friendly association beach which has 4 separate beaches, one providing a platform raft with diving board.

Within walking distance is Ocean Beach Park featuring mini golf, kiddy rides, carousel, classic car show, boardwalk, ice cream and SO much more. We are also within 20 minutes from many attractions such as Mystic Aquarium and Seaport, Harkness Park, US Navy Submarine Museum, Pequot Museum, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods Casinos.

Our home is 10 minutes off of I-95, 2 hours from Boston and 2.5 hours from NYC. Amtrak Shoreline East and high speed Acela both stop at New London Station, only a 5 minute drive away from us.

Keywords: House, Beachfront, Waterview, Private Beach

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of 4 who stumbled upon the area on a family drive in 2004. We have spent our summers here since we built our home in 2006. We love the serenity of Neptune Beach and the convenience of being in New London which is close to so many attractions.

6 Reviews of Property 403892 in New London, Connecticut

Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403892vbi
New London Connecticut Shore
Virginia
5

Our all-time favorite vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have rented waterfront houses in New London, Niantic, and Stonington, as well as houses in Orlando, Naples and Las Vegas, and by far our recent 11 night stay at this beautiful Pequot Avenue home was our best experience! As other reviews have noted, the pictures do not convey the true beauty of this property. The second story deck is huge and offers amazing views of the Thames River where it opens into Long Island Sound. We could see Fisher's Island and Long Island and five working lighthouses, including one just down the street. The river traffic is always interesting, especially the submarines, and the sunrises and moonrises over the water are spectacular. New London had a schooner festival our first weekend and we had the best seats in town. The deck includes a natural gas grill and plenty of comfortable, sturdy seating and table space, and even has a retractable awning for shading.

The house is spacious and extremely well-equipped, including a high end washer and dryer set. The kitchen is large with a double oven and all the kitchenware you might need. The kitchen, dining, and family room are in one grand room with views and access to the deck. The master bedroom also opens to the deck and the master bath has a jetted tub as well as a separate shower. The three bedrooms downstairs provide two queen beds and four sturdy bunk beds. We had up to 8 people staying at the house and it never felt crowded.

The house is well-appointed with higher end furnishings than we usually see at vacation rentals, and the wall-mounted plasma TV was very nice on those few occasions when we weren't enjoying the deck, beaches or great restaurants suggested by the owner. In addition to access to sandy beaches a mere 50 yards or so down the street, there is a private waterfront seating area directly across the street that proved very popular for peaceful listening to the waves. It also allowed for great pictures of the Ledge Lighthouse.

We had many admiring passersby as we enjoyed the deck, including some who said we had a beautiful house (we wish!). Anybody who has the good fortune to stay here would feel the same. It is truly a beautiful home in an amazing setting. The owner, Sarah, was very accommodating and her local contact Paige was extremely helpful with the tour, including the private beaches we would have access to. All in all, a wonderful experience and this house will be first on our list the next time we have a chance to visit CT.
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our home. September is such a beautiful month in New London, and Neptune Beach is the perfect place to enjoy it! Please come back, and we will have the fireplace ready for your arrival!
business
Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403892vbi
New London Connecticut Shore
Weymouth MA
5

Fabulous again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the second year in a row for us to experience this wonderful place. It still amazes us that we feel right at home the minute we step into the front door. All you need to bring are beach towels because everything else is there. The weather was great (only rained one day) The baby, who is 16 months old, had the run of the second floor. We brought gates and she just had a ball. The closet in the master suite is definitely big enough for a porta crib, so she had her very own room. The view is still spectacular so we spent a lot of time sitting out there watching all the boats and listening to the waves crashing against the rocks. The place is very handy to all the sightseeing places around. We suggest Mystic for sure. It is a great place to shop and we highly recommend the Mystic pizza. Yummy! Thank you, Sarah and Tom, for sharing your magnificent home. We will definitely be returning. I dream about the outdoor shower all year!!! Again, the photos do not do the house justice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Barbara, we so love having your family enjoy Neptune Beach! I know that you are creating special lifetime memories with your loved ones, and hopefully your granddaughter will grow up knowing our home as her special summer vacation place. Counting down until next summer already!
business
Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403892vbi
New London Connecticut Shore
Rochester, NY
5

Wonderful rental property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property was even nicer than the description and pictures. We rented in the same area 2 years before, and this home far surpassed the quality of the previous rental. The view was beautiful and the house was furnished and decorated better than most rentals. The property was clean, well maintained, and had a fully stocked kitchen. It was close to the private and public beaches. We saw 2 submarines going to Groton one day. It was awesome! The owners gave us ideas of where to eat and shop, which was very helpful. They were always eager to answer questions prior and during our rental time. Our family couldn't have been more pleased. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so thankful that you had such a great vacation experience at our home. We love sharing the beauty of Neptune Beach and our wonderful city of New London with everyone!
business
Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403892vbi
New London Connecticut Shore
Weymouth MA
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The sound of the waves, the soft sandy beaches, the outdoor shower, the submarines going by as you had your coffee on the very expansive deck, the best whole belly clams at nearby "Fred's Shanty", the washer/dryer, the jacuzzi for two and the cleanest home ever. What more could you ask for? The description and photos do not do this place justice. It is just spectacular. The owner was more than helpful and gave us a list of great places to eat,shop and sight see. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away, relax and just enjoy easy living. It is also very kid friendly. We all want to go back again. My family wanted to know why we had to leave.We were all very sad to drive away this morning. Thank you to the Killion family for sharing their home. If you decide to rent this place, you will not be disappointed. Oh, I forgot, it is impeccably decorated.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Barbara, it has been such a pleasure dealing with you. We are so glad that we were able to make your trip down memory lane such a success! We, too, have many wonderful memories that have been created at Neptune Beach. We appreciate your taking such great care of our home and hope that you will return in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403892vbi
New London Connecticut Shore
Nantucket, Ma.
5

Outstanding views and a private beach! What's not to love?

Outstanding views and a private beach! What's not to love?
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We have spent the past four academic years (Sept. - May) in this house and have loved it! The view from the second floor deck is to die for, and the house is very new so in really good shape. It is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need including central A/C for those dog days. Did I mention it has a great view? It has been perfect for us with lots of room so its easy to get away for a little quiet time. The area is in a lovely part of town surrounded by mostly high end homes and from the deck you can see five lighthouses, as well as all the boat traffic (including submarines) going past on the Thames. Its an upside down layout so the living space is on the second floor. Did I mention the view is outstanding? There is a nice, and private, sandy beach right next door and it too has outstanding views. The owners have been extremely easy to work with and very responsive if something wasn't right. Unfortunately we have to move due to family reasons, otherwise, we'd be back again. You'll love it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks, Tobey! It has been such a joy to share our vacation home with your family! We know how much you, Lucy, Wyatt, Colin and even Max enjoyed your time in New London. Our home is always open to you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful New Beach Home Overlooking Long Island Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403892vbi
New London Connecticut Shore
Ct
5

Great family vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family of 6 enjoyed a wonderful holiday week-end at this home. The home looks like a picture from a catalog while still managing to be comfortable. We grilled and ate while watching the boats and sunsets from the spacious deck. The beach was clean, safe and never overwhelming crowded. On the cloudy day we took a quick ride to Mystic and visited the Seaport did some shopping and had dinner. The owners have thought of everything you could possible need.
Owner's Response: Renee, thank you so much for taking such good care of our home. We love sharing it with you! We have spent time there both apart and together, though we prefer the latter of the two. Come back anytime!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1