Widecombe in the Moor cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Widecombe in the Moor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Total escapism amongst the iconic tors of the Dartmoor National Park, Devon

At Holwell Farm Cottages you can find large, luxury, 5 star farmhouse, self-catering, holiday cottages, (sleeping 6 to 8 people), located in the heart of the Dartmoor National Park, South Devon.

Holwell is Dartmoor's most prestigious collection of quality Holiday Cottages in an utterly stunning location between the famous land marks of Haytor and Widecombe in the Moor.

Set in over 500 acres of designated 'Environmentally Sensitive Area' farm and open moorland, Holwell enjoys panoramic views that take in the Becka Valley, Hound Tor, Holwell Lawn and Bonehill. Holwell really is the ultimate Dartmoor Experience at any time of the year.

At Holwell you can choose to do as much or as little as you like ...

Walking the moors; Cycling the byways; Riding high in the saddle; Fly Fishing for Sea Trout; Climbing the Tors; Hawking & Falconry or - Enjoy the silence ... the clean air ... the star gazing ... and being in another world!

Children of all ages and dogs welcome.

Holwell Farm breeds Pedigree and Heritage Dartmoor Ponies; you are welcome to view the herds if you are looking to buy a child's pony or for driving/showing.

Hawking & Falconry: Holwell is the perfect location to fly a wide selection of magnificent birds of prey. You can fly 1-1 with Eagles, Hawks, Falcons and Owls in this amazing natural hunting territory.

A Rich Wildlife at Holwell: Holwell is a unique habitat for a wide selection of rare flora and fauna including; Lapwings, Curlews, Snipe and Woodcock.

A herd of Wild Red Deer can regularly be spotted for keen stalkers.

Fox and badger are prolific hunters on the farm.

Marsh Fritilary Butterflys and Elephant Hawk Moths are abundant in the mire.

A host of unusual mosses, ferns and orchids are also in evidence throughout the year.

Details for Saddle Tor 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, 4 Bathrooms

Saddle Tor has been converted from the original Threshing Barn and has a feature ground floor bedroom built in what was the old 'Round House'. This is the largest cottages at Holwell and boasts four large bedrooms each with kingsize beds and an ensuite shower/bathroom per bedroom. The cottage is in the upper part of the yard configuration and has parking directly outside the cottage and a garden area inside a granite wall with breathtaking views over to the famous landmark of Hay Tor. Inside, Saddle Tor has a huge open-plan kitchen/dining/living room with a central vaulted ceiling across which spans a galleried landing connecting the two upper floor bedrooms. The extensive living/dining area has a feature open fireplace. Together with Chinkwell next door, these two cottages are ideal for larger gatherings as they have their own drives and are separate from the other cottages. Between them they can accommodate up to 14.
More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 403817 in Widecombe in the Moor, United Kingdom

5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
5

Amazing time at Holwell Farm !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had an amazing time and felt like being in paradise :)
Thank you!
Owner's Response: thank you ... glad you enjoyed yourselves
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
5

Holwell Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family fortnight in heaven was at Holwell this year! Our family loves to explore wild and magical countryside from a warm and comfortable base, and Holwell Barton certainly provided that for us. We transplanted the whole family, including 2 dogs, 2 horses, 2 ponies and 2 children, from Hampshire to Dartmoor with incredibly little trouble, and as soon as we arrived the children asked to return next year - they hadn't even taken the time to look around properly! The house was welcoming and beautifully presented, views to die for in every direction, and the welcome pack made sure that the holiday could commence immediately. The very large kitchen and living space was perfect for entertaining all the family and friends we invited to share our heavenly holiday, and we even managed to produce Sunday lunch for 15 people. The children were all enchanted with the piglets racing around the farmyard, totally free range, as well as the chickens, dogs and beautiful red Devon cattle. The local town of Bovey Tracey offered all day to day needs within 15 minutes' drive, and there was also a fantastic little farm shop about 10 minutes away. This mean't that, although Holwell feels deliciously remote, nothing is really too far away, making the holiday that much more enjoyable for the caterer. Two very good pubs within 10 minutes in Widecombe came to the rescue on various occassions when I went on strike! Riding across the moor in any direction was a complete treat, and even my son asked to ride every day. All in all, we couldn't recommend this wonderful Dartmoor farm more highly, and will definitely return as soon as we possibly can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
Padstow
5

Take your horse on holiday to Holwell!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
“We have just returned from the most amazing riding holiday at Holwell. I was surfing the net looking for places to stay with horses on Dartmoor and as soon as I came across Holwell, I knew I just had to go!



Although we were really looking forward to our holiday and it all sounded so perfect, I was worried that it may not live up to our expectations. I needn’t have worried. Not only is Holwell a rider’s paradise but from the moment we arrived, we felt so welcome and Philippa and Sebastian were so accommodating to our needs, helping out in any way they could to make us as happy as possible. I had a slow puncture and they sorted everything out for me, contacting the local garage and sorting it all out.



On arrival, our horses were put in a lovely field, right by the super smart stable yard with everything you could want. We didn’t need the stables as it was summer and ours are living out but if you did want a stable, they are first class.



Just when we thought things couldn’t get better, our accommodation in Hay Tor was even better than it looks in the pictures on the web site and had everything you could possibly want; really comfortable beds, comfy sofas, well equipped kitchen and power showers, but the best bit was, as we are completely horse mad, the Stable Door (!) out on to the terrace, where we enjoyed breakfast and early evening drinks soaking up the incredible views and planning our ride for the next day.



If you are looking for a truly perfect riding holiday, then Holwell is the place to go. The riding is unsurpassed and not hard to find your way around as the Tors help you keep your bearings. We took a photocopy of the OS map which I had marked in advance (Philippa was very kind and helped us plan our routes) and we didn’t get lost once (mainly down to Lilli’s great map reading skills – I was in a trance most of the time, not believing we were actually doing this!).



The best thing about the riding from Holwell is that there is such diversity, one minute you are on the Moor, then you are in magical woods, or along picturesque bridleways that seem to go on forever. We took picnics on every ride and would have ridden all day, every day but we only took one horse each! We rode at all different times of the day and wherever we went it was quiet, even on the very small stretches of Devon country lanes. It was so peaceful. It was perfect”.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
Surrey
5

Second visit but not my last

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Excellent accommodation, delightful scenery, photographers paradise. Fantastic walks, animals to die for, and it you want to "get away from it all", this is the place for you!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
The Netherlands
5

Perfect stay in Dartmoor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed in the Hounds Tor Cottage for 1 week, a beautiful renovated old building which was originally a stable for the horses. The interior is of high quality and lots of beautiful original details. Even on rainy days it's a pleasure to stay. The farm is situated in the middle of Dartmoor national park. You can walk to the Tors and enjoy the beautiful nature , especially in spring when wild flowers coloured the hills purple. The farm is huge, a lot of ground and space for the animals. It is a pleasure to see pigs enjoying there mud bath. In the end the pigs will go the butchery, but the welfare for these animals during their live is really amazing and an example for other pigfarms. The meat you get from the butchery is very tasty. It is a very quit place, no sound, no traffic at all. We loved it even our 3 teenage children, they didn't even care that there was no mobile phone connection possible.

M.Bierens
The Netherlands
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
LONDON
5

Oasis of peace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Our party of 8, aged from 12 to 68, accompanied by six dogs stayed over the May Bank Holiday. We walked the moors, climbed the Tors and feasted on homegrown beef, Spring flowers were everywhere: whole hillsides of bluebells, and banks of primroses beside the woodland streams; the dogs chased shadows and in turn were chased off by the goose. Huge meals on the huge "Aga" style cooker, before melting into a comfortable sofa by the open log fire. Splendid views from every window reminded us that we were in a unique and privileged location, deep in Dartmoor National Park. A perfect weekend, one we will long remember.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
Baughurst
5

Fantastic holiday with our dogs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
From the minute we arrived at Holwell Farm, we felt relaxed. Travelling with dogs can be tricky, but Phillipa made us all feel welcome. We stayed in Haytor Cottage and the facilities were super with a range cooker and wood burner for the chilly March nights.

The views are stunning and the night sky is unbelievable. We were pointed in the direction of lovely walks for us and our dogs.

Our holiday experience continued when we returned home with Holwell Farm pork which had been cut to our request with lots of fabulous crackling - it was cooked with ceremony for Mother's Day and was pronounced just like pork used to taste. We also brought home some bacon and sausages which were equally wonderful. We will be putting in a regular order.

I anticipate that we will return to Holwell again and again. Loved it...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
nottingham
5

Excellent - truly a 5 * experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed for a week in March and had lovely weather. The whole set up of Holwell is idyllic, from the excellent standard & presentation of the cottages- cosy log fires, luxurious bedrooms with beautiful farmhouse kitchens- to the picturesque views of the moors and Tors.
We have a toddler and a baby and can honestly say the break made a refreshing alternative to a Package sun sea & sand holiday! There is loads to do locally,lovely villages /shops /walks & if you want beaches they dont come prettier than these.
There are ponies/donkeys/ducks/geese/piglets/calves roaming around as well as the owners' rather well fed basset hounds. Can definatley recommend the home reared & produced sausages- delicious!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
United Kingdom
5

Wonderful Holwell

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We returned to Holwell for the second time this year and rented all the cottages so that we could celebrate my husband's birthday with family and friends.
What a success! We walked over Dartmoor and had lunch in North Bovey, then walked back again over a few tors. The children played with the farm animals and roamed around the farm and up onto Haytor.

Holwell was a lovely this year as last, warm, still in great condition, with very comfortable beds and good facilities. The internet was not working again but in a way it was nice not to have to keep checking emails for once.
We will keep returning to Holwell, we love it there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Star Holiday Cottages on a farm on Dartmoor, Devon; dogs & families welcome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403817
+44 7590009751
Widecombe in the Moor Teignbridge
Cotswolds
5

Superb way to spend New Year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Our extended family party of 7 (and one toddler) stayed at Saddle Tor for 5 nights over New Year. We had a wonderful time. The building was incredibly spacious, modern and comfortable (the beds guaranteed a perfect nights sleep!). Philippa and Sebastian were helpful and ensured we were well catered for. We settled ourselves in and enjoyed the wood burning fire as it was foggy and bleak outside. When the fog lifted, the views across the moor to the Tors was beautiful. The toddler loved meeting the farm animals - especially the piglets! All in all everyone agreed that it was a huge success and that Holwell was a big hit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children