Sausalito house boat rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Sausalito House Boat Rental Photos and Description
House Boat, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Right on the water in Sausalito, minutes from the Golden Gate Bridge, this light-filled floating home is ideally located for touring The City, Muir Woods, and Napa Valley wine country, as well as the Marin headlands and local beaches. That is, if you can pull yourself away from this cool little serene retreat where the water seems to hypnotize you.

There are 2 kayaks and 2 bikes to explore the waterfront and bike paths, and the kitchen is well-equipped for preparing easy meals. A dishwasher, soap, paper towels, and some cooking staples are provided.

It's a smaller one-bedroom, but vaulted ceilings , lots of natural light, and openness to the water combine to create a feeling of spaciousness and closeness to nature. The attached deck leads out to a small floating dock, which is a great place to sit and look out across Richardson's Bay.

The bedroom has a queen-sized bed with a memory-foam mattress that is very high-quality and quite comfortable. There is open shelf and closet space for storing your clothes. Fresh linens and bedding are provided. The 1 bathroom is in the hallway and equipped with towels and has a bathtub/shower.

The living room has a big comfortable couch and a desk chair, with a high chair at the counter. Meals are usually taken while sitting in the living room or at the counter. There is NO TV, but Wi-Fi is provided for your laptop, as well as a good sound system to plug it into. And, a good assortment of books makes this a great place to do some reading.

In a floating home, some slight movement can be felt if the wind is up or people are moving around, but it is not like a regular boat, rocking about. Also, it takes about 3 to 4 minutes to walk down the wooden dock from the parking lot, past all the eclectic houseboats, and down a sometimes steep ramp (depending on the tide). There are usually carts available to carry your things.

Call or email now and have a unique and memorable experience!

Keywords: Floating Home, Houseboat, Waterfront, Marin County, America's Cup

More Details
Hide Details

This is one of the most scenic, culturally diverse, and exciting places to live or visit.

14 Reviews of Property 403677 in Sausalito, California

Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
5

Lovely Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
It was a short time spend at Jay's float house. But we had such a fantastic time!! Such a fresh atmostphere to be in a house with water as it's surrounding. There are books for every type of readers :-) to enjoy on the dock. Everything was so homey, we cooked dinner and played Scrabbles! The bed was heavenly. And waking up to calm mirror reflecting water on the dock ended our perfect get away. THANK YOU for such a lovely place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
North Vancouver, BC
5

Tranquil waterfront oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My partner and I had a wonderful stay at this brightly painted, well-equpped and utterly charming houseboat. We were blessed with sunny weather - the view from the living room out onto the deck and the harbour is to die for on a sunny day. Everything we needed was provided - it would be an additional plus if an ironing board and iron could make their way onto the houseboat. We used both the kayaks which are very stable, excellent for first-timers, and the bikes. Jay thoughtfully obtained a 2nd bike for us - thanks Jay. There are many fine restaurants around although we chose to eat in one night to enjoy the houseboat more fully. If you like to dance, we highly recommend the Seahorse Bar in Sausalito. The night we were there it was most a local crowd who were very friendly. We had a blast. Thanks Jay for a memorable weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Portland, Oregon
5

Bike & Ferry to the Louis Vuitton Cup Races

Bike & Ferry to the Louis Vuitton Cup Races
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a perfect location for us to bike to Sausalito, board the ferry, disembark @ the Ferry Building, then bike to a number of places to watch Artemis and Luna Rossa race. We did that back to back days and on the last day, took the Blue and Gold Ferry that departed from pier 39/41 so we didn't have to ride clear down to the Ferry Building. We were expecting cousins from Berkeley for dinner that night and the extra time allowed for prepping. My cousins loved the place--it was fun to play host. A picture of the dock and all the potted flowers, plants and foliage should be included somewhere with this property as that in itself is an asset. Was a joy to walk the dock. Thank you so much for renting it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
marysville, ca
5

romantic weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I rented the houseboat for, as the title says, a romantic weekend with my girlfriend.
The houseboat has a 'lived in' appearance, not in any way bad, but not a sparkling place to sleep.
It was a very comfortable and quiet place to stay for the weekend and the neighbors always greeted us with smiles when we passed them on the 100 yard walk along the deck to the houseboat.
What can I say, it's a great change from what you experience in a hotel room.

If I would have had more time to plan I would have picked up some groceries to try out the kitchen. As it was we just used the microwave for some restaurant leftovers.

Diana, the property manager, was very flexible on our arrival time to meet up, and also was helpful and provided some good tips on local restaurants.

So yes, this place has my recommendation.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Cape Cod
5

Vacation on houseboat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Diana was great. She was very accommodating and Jay's suggestions were excellent. Bed was extremely comfy.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Michigan
5

Wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We loved this unique experience to stay on a houseboat! This was our first trip to Sausalito, and we had no idea a whole neighborhood of houseboats existed like this. We should have stayed longer to take advantage of the bikes and kayaks, but everything was in good order and the owners were very easy to work with. We ate dinner at Salitos and really enjoyed the atmosphere and food there. We would definitely recommend this property to others, especially if you're looking for a different experience from a regular hotel room!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Hanover, MA
5

Sausalito Floating home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at this location for 3 days and found it to be perfect for our needs. The owner was more than helpful and accommodating at all times. Dianna went out of her way to be sure we were comfortable. The houseboat was clean and equipped with anything we needed including 2 bikes and kayaks. It is easy to get to a supermarket or downtown Sausalito or the highway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Sebastopol, CA
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Better than any hotel or B&B. Leave your stress at home. What a perfect getaway and a superb location! Everything was just as advertised. Hostess most accomodating and goes above & beyond to make sure everything is 'ship shape.' Would stay there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Winfield, IL
5

Sensational Get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Had an absolutely wonderful stay! The house-boat was perfectly cleaned and prepped for our arrival, and our hostess was more than accommodating! Taking the kayaks out to see the seals, water fowl, and just the beautiful landscape is a must! Plus, biking to the town for some ice cream or some groceries is super fun and easy. It was the perfect escape, yet, still close enough to San Francisco that we could pop over if desired. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cute, Comfy & Affordable Floating Home, Minutes to the City
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403677vbi
+ 415-763-9476
Sausalito The Bay Area
Fort Collins, Colorado
2

Not quite ready for VRBO

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I've used VRBO for many years and have never had a bad experience until now. This property has potential, however, needs some TLC before it lives up to the standard of a property on VRBO. The positive aspects of this property were the kayaks, the uniqueness of being a houseboat, and the bed. The negative aspects were no electricity, no flushing toilet, a front door that did not open during low tide which required being able to climb over the deck in the back to get to the dock, and the bikes provided. The other suggestion to other's looking at this property is to remember that it is about a mile from downtown so you either need to rent a car or plan on public bus or walking. Do not plan on using the bikes provided because they are unuseable.
Owner's Response: The electrical supply line to the houseboat ruptured on the 2nd day of this guest's 4 day stay. The owner was on scene within 15 minutes . There was no power to the kitchen, and other outlets and lights were browned out. Later we realized that the electric sewage pump was also affected, so the toilet was out of service. We offered to pay for them to stay at a motel nearby which they declined, and we refunded half of their total rent. An electrician has since repaired the line and everything works fine now. This was an unexpected problem that could occur at any vacation rental.
The front door is fixed.
People are using the bikes all the time, and I use both of them all the time, so we're not sure what the problem was with the bikes.
Helpful votes: 1/2