Columbia Falls farmhouse rental - Front of the house (hidden from road by thick bushes).
Front of the house (hidden from road by thick bushes).
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Columbia Falls Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Very charming farmhouse plus log cabin/guest house on five acres. Grassy meadow surrounds the buildings. Orchard with old trees, sweet walking neighborhood, five minute walk from fly fishing in the river. Drive to Glacier Park and be home in 15 minutes after a day of exploring. Famous pies baked on request. Vintage bike collection allows you to go for a ride on the tree-lined road. Most guests like to nap on the deck on the chaise lounge or read a book in the hammock in the orchard. Five minute drive to small lakes for swimming. Columbia Falls is one mile away and has the best antique-ing in the flathead valley. Seven miles to the west is Whitefish, if you're looking for an upscale dining experience and lovely city beach. The sun stays up until very late in the summers...the days stretch on and on in the nicest way!

Keywords: Lots of breathing room, 5 acres about a mile out of town, old growth trees, walking neighborhood, near the river, 15 miles from Glacier Park. 'Professional decorator's home....charming touches. Vintage bike collection, movie collection, wi-fi, cable, phone! Bonus sun room on the main house sleeps 2 more if you like!

More Details
Hide Details

Native Montana Gal, worked in California for 32 years on movies and as professional interior designer. Owned a coffee shop in Seattle in the 80's. Love traveling and hosting people....love hospitality. And seeing to all the details that make a stay really enjoyable. The house is decorated in a friendly and comfortable and fresh way. You'll see!

The Owner purchased this farmhouse in 2007

I love the property. There is something magical about the place....everyone says so! When I leave the city and come here I feel my shoulders drop and I begin to relax. There is a lot of fresh air here and usually, the first few days, people are sleepy in a good way! I've spent 5 years restoring the house to its original state...polished wood floors, wavy old glass in windows. Nice convection oven for baking and heated tile floor in renovated bathroom.

I love the quiet and way the air smells from the fir trees and the birch. I love to walk on the tree lined road. It is a walking neighborhood and you'll find lots of friendly people on your walks. When the weather is right we have small bon fires in the orchard, run up the road to Lion Lake for a quick swim on a hot day. Or Echo Lake or Whitefish Lake or Dickie Lake. There's a lot of water around these parts! 7 miles to Whitefish or 20 minutes to Bigfork for upscale dining. Really great thrift stores and antiques stores in our town, Columbia Falls, a mile away.

Having the log cabin allows guests to spread out and take a private moment on the trip! We also mow a crop circle in the meadow of chest-high grass...you can recline there, and stare up at the Big Sky. It's a great place to practice doing nothing!

16 Reviews of Property 403276 in Columbia Falls, Montana

Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Concord, MA
5

We love it here! Farmhouse, Loveshack, fresh peas and raspberries, hammock, bikes, Jean and Sugar!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of five stayed at Jean's Montana homestead for 5 nights and it was the best accommodation of our Big West Vacation! The place is large enough that we were able to host a family of 4 quite comfortably and happily for an overnight. Jean is a kindhearted and generous woman who intuitively knows when to be visible and when to disappear (she stays on the property in her own princess hut).

This was the perfect base camp for our Glacier National Park Expeditions. I'm so grateful to have stayed at Jean's place because it was the center of warm, happy, family memories for us. It is worth every penny. Thank you Jean!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Nashville area, TN
5

Wonderful place...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Coming to Montana for family vacation was special, but being able to spend it on this property made it much more so. This beautiful property is well located for our trips to Glacier, as well as seeing some of the other local sights/eateries. It is so restful, with plenty of spots on the grounds for downtime or playtime with the children. There was more than enough sleeping arrangements for our sizable family. It was also such a nice feature to be able to prepare meals using the kitchen. Jean was so welcoming to our family and our kids loved her! She was always available for assistance, and provided us with useful resources for our adventures. We look forward to coming back and enjoying Montana again in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
West Coast, USA
5

Clean, Nice Place with Great Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Love Shack is your place if you are looking for a clean, nice, low-key place to stay with lots of room. The owner, Jean, is a whirling dervish/treasure trove of information, and she was incredibly helpful, not just in suggesting places we might visit, but also in doing things like building a fire for us in the fire pit and even buying cutting boards when we mentioned we didn't see any in the well appointed kitchen.

This is a place for someone who wants space and neatness and a house with character; it is not for someone looking for luxury accommodations. The high-rent district is up the road in Whitefish, a cute mountain resort town with lake views. But we thought it was great to be in a good house in a real neighborhood so close to Columbia Falls, with its grocery stores and gas stations. Relatively easy access to Glacier (west side) from the house, too.

Would definitely recommend the Love Shack.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Blaine, WA
5

Enjoyed our 3 night/day Farmhouse stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and I called out of a last minute necessity and Jean really helped us out. The place was very cozy with an interesting mix of interior designs and antiques. It was very quiet and private and a perfect place to come back after some wonderful, although very strenuous hikes in Glacier. The bed was comfortable and the heated floor in the bathroom was a nice warm touch! We highly recommend this place and Jeans hospitality to any party numbering two to ten.

John & Betsy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Cincinnati, OH
5

Great place & "landlady"

Great place & "landlady"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time at Jean's place. First off, Jean is a fantastic "land lady". She is available if/when you need her, makes excellent pies (& cookies), provides treats from the garden (what is in season, fruit/veggies) and provides suggestions on things to do (such as swimming in a nearby swimming hole where the water is >50 F - i.e., not glacial temperature) and restaurants (she even called to make reservations for us!)

The place is very clean and charming - it's an older building with character, but everything works and there are all the modern conveniences (dish washer, microwave, heated tile bathroom floor, cable TV, etc). Before arriving, our groups biggest concern (there were 5 of us) was bathroom access for those in the Love Shack, but it worked fine as whilst the half bath is not "in" the Love Shack, it is very close (just across the deck - it's just like crossing an outdoor living room). The kitchen was well stocked with equipment & supplies, there were "communal" spices available for cooking. Beds were comfortable & Jean was willing to "move beds around" in the Love Shack for our group.

The location is very convenient - in between Whitefish & West Glacier. Getting to the West side of the park is super convenient... easy access to Apgar, MacDonald Lake, Road to the Sun (park entrance is 15-20 minutes away). East Glacier is maybe 1.25 hours away via US 2. You can get to Saint Mary's & further North on the East side (Many Glacier or Waterton) either via the Road to the Sun or via US 2 & US 89 (we found the time to be about the same either route... Road to the Sun may have construction delays & is windy/twisty, but gorgeous, but US 2 is a pretty drive which is longer distance, but you can drive faster with something like a 65 mph speed limit). Many Glacier was a bit more than 2 hours away via car, Waterton was close to 3 hours. So the whole park is accessible, but be prepared to drive (it is a gorgeous drive) if you want to go to the East side.

Net, great land lady, location & amenities.. We had a great time & if we ever go back would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Palm Harbor, FL
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of 4 has just returned from a week's stay at Jean's lovely farm home. We used it as our base for exploring many parts of Glacier park and the surrounding towns. It was a perfect fit for our family in many ways. First, we needed a place that could accommodate our young children (ages 2 and 8). Jean's fields, orchard, yard with sprinklers and wading pool, and gardens provided the perfect entertainment options for them to experience the "country life" and allowed mom and dad to relax on the comfortable outdoor furniture and watch them while reading or relaxing. Jean bought a "pack and play" just for our visit so our toddler could have a place to sleep and she even let us borrow it for 2 nights when we went to stay on the east side of the park. Our daughter loved Jean at first sight and Jean was so accommodating with daily producing different fun things for the children to do to occupy their time (croquet, a wagon she bought just before our stay, paints and markers, a bucket of balls, etc.). We had a bonfire with smores one night and enjoyed barbeque on the grill another night all with Jean's assistance. In addition to exploring the national park, visiting the farmer's market in Whitefish, spending a day riding the alpine slide and gondola at Big Mountain, trying out a couple local breweries, and eating ice cream floats at the old fashion soda fountain in Kalispell, we also found several beautiful outdoor activities close by on those days when you want to get out for a bit but don't want to make a whole day of it. Our children were happy to walk down to the creek nearby, wade in the water, and play with rocks. Jean blew up rafts for us one day and took us to a nearby lake. We also found wild berries nearby and she provided buckets for us to pick as many as we wanted! Our best memories come from the pies Jean made (have we heard that one before!) and from just the overall feeling of well-being and relaxation that comes from staying at her home. We wish that we were much closer than Florida so that we could return more often, but this is the place that we would come back to every year if we can possibly arrange it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
California
5

A relaxing and fun stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just completed a five day stay at Jean’s place and had an absolutely lovely time! The property is lovely—with a cottage, a love shack, a sun room and beautiful grounds that include a well set-up bon fire area! The house was well furnished with furniture, utensils, linen/towels, tv, wifi, big dvd/books collection. Everything was clean. The house is well located—20 minutes from West Glacier and just 9 miles from the town of Whitefish. There is a 24 hour grocery store ‘Super1’just 10 minutes drive away. All this already makes for a comfortable stay.

But what really impressed us was the excellent service provided by our host Jean. She really went out of her way to make our stay more enjoyable. She baked a delicious blueberry pie and cookies to welcome us; she would often leave basket with freshly picked strawberries for us on the porch; she gave us several recommendations for things to do and places to go to; e.g. When we asked her for suggestion for good cafes, she even procured us the menu and left it on the fridge! She fixed 5 bicycles for us and recommended we ride it to a nearby river. I can go on and on. She really did look after us! On her recommendation, we bought and burst firecrackers and it was tons of fun!

Bottom line: stay here!! Thanks Jean!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Northern California
5

Wonderful Memories Made...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The Love Shack compound was the perfect home base as my family of four enjoyed a wonderful vacation exploring the town of Columbia Falls and Glacier National Park. Our trip was full of amazing memories and here’s some of the sweetest: Jean - Our Hostess with the Mostess, Sugar the dog, delectable grilled fresh caught trout, comfortable & cozy “love” log cabin, coffee in bed, oh so yummy huckleberry pie and pancakes, local antique stores, Going-to-the-Sun Road drive, hiking and rafting in Glacier National Park, farmer’s market in Whitefish, campfire under the stars, ATV ride, canoeing at the lake, breakfast at Many Friends Cafe in West Glacier, heart-shaped rock collecting by the river, and sunset bike rides down the country lane. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Chester, MT
5

So relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This is officially my favorite place to stay in the Flathead Valley. The hostess is great, the love shack is comfy, the setting is magnificent, and the location is perfect. I was so relaxed and comfortable that I didn't know if I should do stuff or stay and veg out. We finally pried ourselves away to drive up the north fork of the Flathead River on a scenic drive to Polebridge....put it on your list.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Love Shack! Farm House + Log Cabin on Five Acres & Orchard!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p403276vbi
510-292-5847
Columbia Falls Glacier Park
Concord
5

Patti, Concord, Ohio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
I have stayed in the Love Shack twice, which indicates how much I enjoyed it. Th owner was very attentive to our needs and provided some coffee and snacks upon our arrival. The home baked pies were the best ever. The cabin was perfect for two people, decorated very nicely, and had a space heater for the cold nights. I have stayed twice and will definitely do so again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway