Wailea condo rental - 400 yards (4 minute stroll) to the most amazing beaches in the world!!
400 yards (4 minute stroll) to the most amazing beaches in the world!!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Wailea Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, Ocean and Mountain views (Sleeps 4)

BE one of the FIRST to enjoy our GORGEOUS OCEAN VIEW, from our NEWLY RENOVATED, NEWLY DECORATED, VERY GREEN, very sound proof, 2 Bedroom, 1 1/2 Bath Condo, just a 4 minute walk to the nicest Beach on Maui, Keawakapu! Also check out our newest condo right next door, Annie's Place #509234

Take a nap or read a book looking out on lawn, woods, and ocean as the living room patio doors 12ft x 8ft open a grand 8ft x 8ft onto the lanai and lawn. This is our dream home we have named 'Honu Place', and it will become yours.

The condo is appointed comfortably and tastefully with travertine floor throughout, granite counters in both the kitchen and bathrooms, and local artists work adorn the walls. 'Green' Columbia Cabinets and solid pine doors were used to keep the unit 'off-gas' free, along with other green products to furnish and renovate our condo. New soundmaster windows, soundboard dry wall, and pine extra thick 4 panel interiors doors provide a quiet environment.

KITCHEN:

Enjoy cooking on a brand new stainless steel induction range, washing dishes gazing out at the ocean, preparing your vegetables on granite counters with plenty of light, and clean up is so easy with the ultra quiet Bosch dishwasher. You will find just about everything you need whether you want to cook or just go out, as the area is filled with many wonderful restaurants.

LIVING ROOM/ DINING ROOM:

Relax on one of the ergonomic chairs listening to the Sony surround sound using your own iPod, play some cards on the Hawaiiana Ratan Dining Set, browse through our DVD library and select a 3D Blu-Ray, look through the many HDTV cable stations, or watch Free Prime Time On Demand to enjoy on the 55' LED LG TV. And any of these activities will feel like you are outdoors, as the new stacking patio doors open up the wall to 8 ft x 8 ft. of outside living among the tropical birds and plants..

MASTER BED ROOM:

Fall into our Organic Essentia 100% Latex Memory Foam Mattress with no off-gassing. Google it to learn more.

Two extra long twins make a western king, firmly connected and made up with King sheets and bedding, you will be very comfortable. By request the beds can be separated and made up with separate linens as well.

Before falling asleep, watch the 42' LED LG TV with HDTV cable, or you can access your Netflix or Hulu accounts, along with access to Youtube, Pandora, and more.

HALF BATHROOM:

And during the night, just walk into the half bath in the small master suite rather than leaving the bedroom. We are one of the only two units in Keawakapu that has a 1/2 bathroom which is very convenient.

GUEST BEDROOM / OFFICE

Either sit down and put your feet up on the super comfortable Ekornes ergonomic chair or sit at the desk while you take out your laptop to do some work, catch up with email, or print directions to a local restaurant. If you prefer a larger screen, just connect to the 26' Samsung LED HDMI monitor/ TV and Cable. And if you need to make it a bedroom, just open up the Queen Size Organic Essentia (totally Green, no petro chemicals at all) Murphy Bed which is housed in a gorgeous cherry and woven bamboo motiff.

FULL BATH ROOM:

When you are in a hurry to make that dinner reservation after beaching it, 2 of you can fit comfortably in our newly designed shower. Grohe shower heads on both sides maximize the efficiency for those who would like to share.

AREA:

Keawakapu Beach is very much OLD HAWAII. Rent a kayak or go swimming across the street, or walk to the south along the beach for 3 miles passing a mile of private multi-million dollar homes, then stroll on a path at the ocean cliffs and beaches passing some of the nicest hotels on the island. Walk north to find Kamaole 1 Beach and fronting our building is a nature preserve and the Kihei Boat Launch where boats leave for snorkle tours and more. There are many shops and restaurants in Wailea and Kihei which are literally a few minutes in each direction. This area is also warmer and less rainy than other locations on Maui, and less windy than North Kihei.

Please note:

There is one flight of stairs to the front door although the lanai is on the ground floor at the lawn.

This is a NO SMOKING building. Sorry we do not have an elevator or a pool.

Keywords: Condominium,Maui Beach Condo, Keawakapu Beach, Kamaole 3 Beach, Wailea Beach, Best Maui Beach, South Kihei, Green Apartment, Steps to the Beach, Renovated

More Details
Hide Details

Rick is in the computer industry, and Susie retired from Health Care Research when our 3rd child was born 21 years ago. Rick enjoys windsurfing, and both of us love walking the beaches, snorkeling, and the nature of Maui. With Rick still working, we can't spend all of our time on Maui, so we will be renting out our place approximately 6-8 months a year. After a total demolition and renovation, we want to share with you an apartment which is clean, mold free, green, and stocked to the fullest for a very comfortable stay!

Susan Fraenkel-Cattell purchased this condo in 2011

We have been traveling to the Hawaiian Islands for 27 years visiting Rick's parents living on Oahu. During this time we always visited the Keawakapu area of Maui, and it became our favorite place in the world. Finally, May 2011, we closed escrow, purchasing our Maui dream home, Honu Place! August 2011 we demolished the entire apartment to its bones. Susie has managed and coordinated the entire project creating a space that we think you will love as much as we do.

This is a very unusual condo building for this area. It was built in the 70's to house the contractors building a very large resort up the hill. Only 16 units, twelve 2 bedroom, 2 one bedroom, and 2 studio apartments make up this complex. Because of its small intimate size and woodsy surroundings, it feels very private and secluded.It has a large lawn, woods, and a bamboo grove. The views are lovely with palms, mango, and a sweet ocean view above the trees creates old Hawaiiana. It is quiet, off the beaten path yet just minutes to many stores and restaurants, and the best part, just a 4 minute walk to the nicest beaches on Maui. Rick and I enjoy a walk daily either south, for a 6 mile round trip walk on the beaches, or to the north along the nature preserve and Kamaole Beach Park 1. Often we grab a cup of coffee at the lovely 5 Palms or Sorentos on the beach, or walk to the Four Seasons for one of their fresh fruit smoothies. Other days, we take our snorkels with us for a morning snorkel at Keawakapu or walk to Ulua for variety. Snorkeling is wonderful at these or many other beaches. When the waves are good, a little boogie boarding (supplied in unit) is great fun too. Besides some people who kite and windsurf in Kihei, it is only a 20 minute drive to Kanaha Bay, world renown windsurfing and kiting spot with nearby rentals. In the evening we enjoy the many bars and restaurants with good live music just a couple of minutes away.

24 Reviews of Property 402988 in Wailea, Hawaii

Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Kelowna, B.C.
5

Perfect location and space!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We arrived to a friendly and informative welcome from Theresa! And it just got better and better! We loved this home because it was just that,a home! The kitchen was beautifully finished and well equipped. And the double headed shower was an incredible luxury capped off with the bonus half bath. The condo was spacious and cozy at the same time. Afternoons with the shade pulled on the patio and evenings with a drink watching the sunset were what truly made this place extraordinary! Finally the mapped shortcut to the beach was a short and easy walk even carrying a kayak and paddleboard. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us! We would already have booked next year with you if it was available! I hope we can come again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Victoria, BC Canada
5

Best Value for Dollar

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Beautiful condo with everything you need to enjoy your stay in Maui. Short walk to the ocean. Beautiful ground level lanai. The king size bed was very comfortable and the condo was very clean and updated with all the modern appliances and amenities. The owners have really thought of everything and more. This is probably one of the best value for price that you're going to find in Maui. I would definitely stay here again....and it is quiet....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Pueblo, Colorado
5

Maui's Best!

Maui's Best!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Honu place is absolutely amazing! Better than described! My wife and I spent our two week honeymoon here and we couldn't have been happier! Susie and Rick have provided every amenity imaginable to make your stay comfortable and memorable. It is beautifully remodeled and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect, set slightly back from South Kihei Rd and a five minute walk to Maui’s best - Keawakapu Beach, Honu Place is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. Just minutes away from shops and dinning in both Kihei and Wailea! Honu Place is a true hidden gem and one of Maui’s best kept secrets. We can’t wait to stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
5

First class

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I have used vrbo a few times in the past with mixed results. I guess one persons interpretation of what they are offering is very different than mine. This place exceeded my expectations. The quality and quantity of items available was a real bonus. From the appliances to the comfortable bed, couch and chairs I felt at home. I am hoping my next visit to the island this place will be available.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
5

Lovely condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I was looking for a place to stay in Maui that was not a noisy hotel. This condo was perfect. It's in a great location, just steps from the beautiful ocean and at a great price. The condo was well appointed, everything in it's place and was very clean. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone.
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Auburn, Ca
5

Loved everything about this condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
WE ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS CONDO! THE LOCATION, THE VIEW, AND ALL THE AMENITIES!
Great beach a block away, wonderful food nearby, and a pristine unit. We stayed two weeks and still not long enough! A real gem!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Redwood City, CA
5

Look no further - this is the IDEAL place to rent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My new favorite place on Maui!! If you want every need met, every luxury thought of and taken care of, being in the BEST location on Maui (in my opinion) - you have found it with this gem of a condo. EXTREMELY affordable, this beautiful, updated, comfortable & modern condo is the place to rent. You will feel like you're at home. The owners have thought of everything. Seriously, it sounded absolutely wonderful online, but it was even BETTER than we expected.

The kitchen is fully stocked with modern appliances (even a Vitamix!), beautiful granite countertops, tile flooring, ice maker, etc., etc., etc. Everything has been thought of.

Living room: From the large, flat screen TV (with Blu-Ray), to the comfortable couch and chairs, an awesome room with an even more awesome OCEAN view. We loved the large (excellent quality) sliding door out to the lanai, which slides open almost the entire width of the wall. We would leave the screen door open and locked, along with the front door screen open and locked which created a nice cross breeze. There are ceiling fans in every room, too. we spent every morning drinking our coffee on the lanai just gazing at the ocean.

Susie thought of every possible need you might have - providing beach chairs, a beach umbrella (what a necessity!), boogie boards, 4 large beach towels, and even 2 coolers for those long days on the beach (cold beer anyone?), which is literally a 4 minute walk. So nice to WALK to the greatest beaches on Maui without having to load up the car, drive and park, hoping you didn’t forget anything. If you did forget something, walk back and get it. THAT easy!

We will be back - hopefully very soon!! THANK YOU SUSIE!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Sisters, Or
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
WE found the place, if anything, more special than described.The owner was helpful and friendly.
The kitchen was very well equipped. I particularly enjoyed Keawakapu beach,Five Palms and Sorento"s restaurant, all within easy walking distance. I would most definitely recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review Dan and Kirby!! We will do our best to keep our standards high, and we look forward to having you back soon!! Aloha
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
San Francisco
5

HIDDEN GEM in Kihei!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I can highly recommend 'Honu Place' as a tranquil, comfortable, beautiful place to stay when visiting Maui. It is beautifully remodeled, tastefully decorated and peacefully quiet! I loved sitting out on the lanai with my coffee in the morning gazing at the beautifully groomed lawn, flowering bougainvillea and deep blue ocean. The location is ideal too, set back from the main road yet easy access to Keawakapu Beach and Wailea. With beach walks for miles, swimming, snorkeling and water sports close at hand, I can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wailea Beaches, Green Renovated Condo, Ocean/Lawn Views, A/c
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402988vbi
415-577-3021
Wailea Maui
Richland, Washington
5

Truly Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We loved our beautiful condo experience at Honu Place. The owners have made every effort to consider our enjoyment and convenience. The decor was thoughtul and pleasing. The supplies and appliances are very new and well maintained. The tile floors and granite counter tops make the unit easy to maintain in the "beachy" climate. We appreciated the quietness of the location--near the beach but not right on the main highway. The location is very close to beaches, trails and restaurants--walking distance for many of those. We did need some help upon arriving and Susie and her husband were very helpful and courteous. Closet and storage space for the "beach equipment" and our personal belongings were well planned and arranged. We would definitely stay there again.!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathy for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that it matched your expectations of Honu Place.
We also like the private and local feel of Keawakapuu . We are looking forward to your return visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2