Alexandria bungalow rental - Second story bungalow with a private deck and hot tub. Its a lovely space!
Second story bungalow with a private deck and hot tub. Its a lovely space!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Alexandria Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4 adults)

Lake Blackwell...where you can create memories to last a lifetime!

Our vacation rental on Blackwell Lake will offer you spectacular second story views any time of the year! Landscaped steps and beautiful flower gardens lead you to our two bedroom bungalow, which is located 10 miles west of Alexandria. It's quaint, cozy and offers all of the comforts of home. The master bedroom has a queen bed, 6ft. closet and a restful decor. The second bedroom is small with a comfortable fold out bed. There is a pack'n'play available for a small child. The kitchen and living room are open to each other and offer a homey feel.

Out the front door is a private deck with an umbrella table and gas grill. A 5 person hot tub rests on a lower deck for you to relax in anytime of the day or night.

Down the hill at the beach you may swim, sail, kayak and canoe or just float! Fishing off the docks or boat is a wonderful way to fritter away the day. A late night dip in the lake followed by a campfire, s’mores and star gazing is a great way to call it a night.

During the winter months, feel free to bring your ice fishing equipment, snow shoes and cross country skis. Please leave your snowmobiles at home since we offer a quiet retreat and our neighbors are non snowmobilers. This is billed as a quaint, quiet retreat.

Keywords: lake, woods, quaint, sailing, swimming, kayaking, fire ring, hot tub, canoeing, fishing, country, quiet, cross country ski trails, ice fishing, private deck, downhill skiing nearby, newly redecorated, electric fireplace, biking, lakeside deck, wireless internet, second story cottage, bungalow, apartment, gardens, beach, swimming raft, near village, near organic strawberry farm, Runestone Park the birth place of America

More Details
Hide Details

Barry and I have been married 40 years. We built our rustic home and raised our 4 great children here. Now, we have 9 grandchildren who are our pride and joy.

We are a family that loves to travel and experience different cultures. We've been blessed to visit China, Peru, New Zealand, Mexico & more, but our favorite place on earth is HOME!

The Owner purchased this bungalow in 1982

We are 10 min. off of I-94, 120 miles from the Twin Cities and 100 miles from Fargo, ND.

Alexandria is in the heart of lake country and as our area motto says, 'Easy to get to, hard to leave!'

Our peaceful little lake will offer hours of fun. We have boats of all kinds for you to use during your stay at no extra charge. The tipi in the woods is sure to enchant. Bird watching, deer sightings, wild turkey parades and the distant howel of a lone coyote or the hoot of an owl are not uncommon occurances. Our favorite outdoor sounds involve the laughter of our resident loons.

We are near Andes Tower Hills ski resort, Kennsington Ruinstone Park, Golf courses, Antique and Boutique shopping in Alexandria and in season, you can pick your own organic strawberries less than a half mile away!

Alexandria offers small town entertainment such as bike trails, bowling, mini golf, go carts, many restaurants, movie, summer stock and community theatre. You'll have check out Big Ole and the Runestone Museum and our Maritime Museum to catch up on some local history. Did you know that Alexandria is the birthplace of America?!

13 Reviews of Property 402839 in Alexandria, Minnesota

Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
4

Great relaxation in a cozy bungalow...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed here a few days ago (February 5-8th) and had a great time. The bungalow had everything we needed for our stay. Even though it was super cold when we were there, the hot tub felt wonderful! The owner was very sweet and accommodating and very respectful of our privacy. We would love to come back in the summer and enjoy the lake.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
5

Our stay at the Bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Bungalow was a wonderful weekend get-a-way spot. We enjoyed snowshoeing in the woods behind the property, looking out at views of the frozen lake, and sitting in the hot tub. The Bungalow had everything we needed in terms of towels, linens, dishes, etc. and the place was very well maintained. I would definitely recommend the Bungalow if you're looking for a quiet retreat away from the city and are also interested in some outdoor activities like skiing or snowshoeing. Barry and Glen were very helpful and prompt with answering any questions we had ahead of time, as well as during our stay.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: All we can say is, "Thank you for choosing to stay with us!" We wish we could control the weather!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
Illinois, United States
5

Wonderful Place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family spent 10 days at the bungalow. We loved it! Everything was clean and all that we needed was provided. Barry and Glenaris were wonderful and very hospitable. Our three boys loved fishing on the lake and caught lots of fish. We loved learning how to sail and Barry was extremely helpful in teaching us. My youngest son and I camped out a night in the Tepee and loved the adventure. The Kayaks, and Hot tub were perfect. Our boys also enjoyed finding all the gnomes around the property. Beautiful place, relaxing and very peaceful place, We would highly recommend it. We had a wonderful vacation!!! Thanks for the great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
St. Cloud, MN
5

Great Central MN Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I took a long weekend at the Blackwell Bungalow and will certainly be back. Cozy, clean, and perfectly appointed for a couple (maybe two) or a small family, the bungalow was a great place for a relaxing lakeside getaway--even during one of the yuckiest seasons in Minnesota. Cross-country skiing and snowshoeing information and equipment offered by the attentive owner--who was exceedingly respectful of our privacy--but we opted for reading, movies, and relaxing in the jacuzzi. The kitchen was perfect for our needs (if you go in to Alexandria, check out Two Guys Take-and-Bake, you won't be sorry) and the fireplace was a great.

We really can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
San Francisco, CA/USA
5

Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a lovely stay at the bungalow. We were there the last week of February and had a great time exploring Alexandria in the wintertime. The bungalow was a perfect place to stay- a cute little bungalow with a beautiful view and all the amenities for a quiet and relaxing getaway. The kitchen was great for cooking our meals and the bungalow was warm and comfortable. The outdoor spa was the perfect apres-ski with a gorgeous view and the sounds of birds chirping in the trees, and it was awesome that we could walk out the back door, ski around the neighborhood, and check out the sacred tipi. The nearby Runestone Park had beautiful x-country ski trails as well. The owners were very helpful and gave us advice about skiing and snow-shoeing. Very hospitable people, and also respectful of our privacy. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway, this is the place. We are looking forward to our next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
St. Cloud MN
5

A wonderful place for a get-away in Central Minnesota

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed 3 nights and wished it was longer. A beautiful property, beautiful lake view and a perfect spot for a get-away weekend or week. We look forward to coming back in the summer. Comfortable, clean, nice attention to details and very helpful, fun owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
Twin Cities, Minnesota
5

Paradise for Kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We enjoyed a two night stay with Barry and Glenaris in early September. We caught more than a dozen fish and had the lake to ourselves. The kids played in the Teepee and the fort. They loved spotting the gnomes throughout the gardens. The unit was comfortable and clean. The hot tub was a great way to relax. We hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
Montevideo MN
5

Lovely experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented this property over Labor Day. It was a beautiful setting. The cottage was nicely decorated and everything needed was furnished. We relaxed in a lovely hot tub under the stars. Would absolutely recommend. The owners were wonderful people! We will definately come back next year and plan to stay longer next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
Fargo, ND
5

Perfect bungalow for a getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Thank you so much for making our getaway sooo enjoyable and relaxing. My husband and I rented their spot for the first part of our honeymoon and we couldn't ask for better. The grounds were gorgeous and lake spot was beautiful. Glen and Barry were so accomidating and made our stay perfect. I would recommend this getaway to anyone and everyone! We loved late night hot tubbing and morning kayaking and have already discussed a trip back for next summer. Thank you so much for everything. Our marriage couldn't have started out better.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quaint, Lake View Second Story Retreat with Hot Tub & Deck. Best suited for four
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402839vbi
320-267-9840
Alexandria Minnesota
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
5

A week to rememeber!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and I enjoyed a one week stay at this marvelous retreat. We have nothing but good things to say about the bungalow and it's proprietors, Barry and Glenaris. Barry and Glen are such wonderful hosts and make your stay even more enjoyable. The lodging is very clean and comfortable and included every possible thing you could think to want or need during your stay and if it wasn't there, they would try and provide it. The Hot Tub was a very relaxing end to days of swimming, kayaking and fishing. Oh and don't forget the sailing. If you are new to sailing, Barry is more than willing to give you a crash course and help to guide you in the right direction to sail. I would recommend this get away to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2