Savannah house rental - Welcome
Welcome
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Savannah House Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This is a beautiful two story home in the heart of the Historic District. Built in 1870 for John Houston, this home has been lovingly restored and is only one block from Forsyth Park. River Street, antique shops, and numerous parks are a short walk or bike ride away.

Our home includes original hardwood floors, central air, three fireplaces, two bedrooms each with a private bath, a fully equipped new kitchen and powder room on first floor. Other amenities include washer/dryer, ceiling fans, TVs. Crib available. The home is beautifully furnished. Also, has a private, gated courtyard for dining or just relaxing.

Parking is non-metered in front of the house.

Keywords: 1870 Townhouse

Being a resident of PA, Savannah became a regular visit due to our son being a SCAD student. We visited once to often and decided that Savannah should become our retirement. home. Our son moved on to California and we stayed here.

My wife, Betsy is a retired school teacher and I retired from a retail business. We still have a summer home in PA.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

We fell in love with this home due to its proximity to the Historic District and Forsyth Park. We walk everywhere. Always something to do or see. Great friendly people. Even being close to the beach. Our princess home needed a complete going over but still had its 1870 bones. We like to think we helped bring her into the 21st century.

The first time we stepped foot into our home my wife said I could live here. The house was charming but needed lots work. The courtyard made it all worthwhile. We spent many a day painting, having new a/c and heating installed, roof, bathrooms and the kitchen. The most fun was finding the antiques to place in our home. It all worked.

27 Reviews of Property 40150 in Savannah, Georgia

Savannah's Historic District
average rating of 4.962963 based on 27 reviews
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Grand Rapids, Michigan
5

Historic Home in Savannah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
Great location, gracious owner, beautiful home. We stayed with another couple and each had enough room without getting in the way. Forsyth Park is almost across the street and you can walk to the downtown area without a problem. The back patio is an excellent spot for an afternoon drink. The home has been renovated but retains the "old feel" but with modern conveniences. Highly recommneded.
Helpful votes: 25/26
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Marshall, MI
5

Wonderful house and location. Very accomodating owners too!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We arrived on Christmas Eve, and met one of the owner, who was dropping off fresh cut flowers-what a nice welcome. The house is very tastefully appointed. There is a charming half bathroom downstairs, and two full bathrooms on the second floor.

My husband, who is a tea drinker, really appreciated the instant hot water faucet in the kitchen. The house has every kitchen gadget known to man, and we wanted for nothing. It has cable with many stations, but we spent the majority of our week-long visit site seeing and experiencing the great neighborhoods.

The house is only a block from Forsyth Park (which is stop 5 on the trolley), and only 22 blocks from River Street (with some blocks being very short ones). We both loved walking throughout the historic district & we walked the round trip to River Street at least once each day.

Larry and Betsy were wonderfully willing to answer our questions regarding churches in the area, etc. The house is within walking distance to the cathedral, so we were able to leave our car parked at the house curb and walk for services without worrying about parking once we got to mass.

When we return to Savannah we will definitely consider staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Niceville FL
5

Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We enjoyed our visit very much. Our host, Larry was very helpful and easy to work with . We liked the fact that the townhouse was isolated from all the hustle and bustle but near everything in the historic district. It was very well equipped and comfortable. We enjoyed the walks in Forsyth Park with our little dog. The restaurant recommendations were great and were within easy walking distance . We highly recommend this home
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

A Completely Delightful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We very much enjoyed staying at the John Houston house in May 2013 and it was very pleasant working with Larry, Betsy and Ariel. Their warmth, helpfulness and friendliness made the whole process a breeze. Regarding the townhouse, we couldn’t have been more pleased. It is everything VRBO says it is and more! The house is charming, spacious, beautifully appointed and thoroughly provisioned. My sister-in-law said that in her 12 years of renting holiday houses, she has never stayed in a place so well supplied. Everything was neat and clean as can be, and all appliances, etc. were in fine working order. We made good use of the charming and private patio each evening after a long day sightseeing. She and I agreed that it seemed as though we were staying in the beautiful home of a friend—not in a rental. This was underscored one evening when we couldn’t open a jar of soup for our dinner. My sister-in-law went out looking for help and found it in one of the lovely neighbors—who invited her into her own kitchen to find the tool to open the jar. The location of the house is superb too and street parking was always easily available just outside the door. It was also nice to able to walk anywhere in town if we wished. Of course we loved Savannah. It is uniquely beautiful and interesting. I must say, I have never seen and smelled so much jasmine. Heavenly! We also took Larry’s advice and drove to Beaufort for the day. What a treat. We ate at the Beaufort Inn, which we would heartily recommend to others. All and all, the stay could not have been better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Charming townhome in perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
we traveled to savannah with another couple for St. Patricks weekend. Larry was so easy to work with prior to our trip. The house exceeded our expectations. We loved that it was historic yet modern and very comfortable. The caretake was very accomodating by letting us drop our luggage while the house was being cleaned. We could walk everywhere and loved that Forsythe Park was just down the street. The street was quiet and beautiful, we love walking under the spanish moss.
The courtyard was perfect for a cocktail and we loved the complimentary bottle of wine, it was the perfect start to our weekend. We all fell in love with Savannah and cannot wait to return!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful house!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Belleair, FL
5

Savannah Townhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I would like to thank you for a wonderful stay in your charming Savannah town house. Ariel greeted us and gave us many valuable tips for our visit and your accomodations exceeded all our expectations. We were most comfortable and felt as if we were guests in the charming home of old friends. We especially liked all of the personal touches and the tasteful decor. I will definitely recommend your home to friends and hope to again visit in the future. Belleair, FL
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Leesburg, Georgia
5

Absolutely Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My mom, 2 sisters and I celebrated my 40th birthday in this beautiful townhome (6-16 thru 6-19). The trip was a gift from my husband. He did a great job picking this townhome out for us. It was super clean and very cozy!! Thank you for allowing us to enjoy this townhome!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Miami, FL
5

What a charming place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Charming mix of antiques and contemporary upgrades in the kitchen, baths, etc. I chose the property based on the previous reviews. They were very helpful in making the decision of where to stay. My college friend and I are enjoying the comfort of space, convenience, and a "home" feel to celebrate another birthday milestone.

The owner couldn't have been more responsive and timely in getting arrangements finalized. His ability to accept a two night stay (premium price, but worth it) sealed the deal. Keep in mind 2 pm check-in when making arrival plans. Street parking requires good parallel parking skills!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Martinez, GA
5

Wonderful Location and Owners, Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed in this charming townhouse for a week in June 2010 with our 8-year-old twins and their 5-year-old sister. It was only the 2nd time we'd been to Savannah and our first time renting a historic home. I was apprehensive to say the least. From the moment we started the process, however, Larry (the owner) was fantastic. He answered every question, sent us a packet of fun stuff to do with the kids,and was generally as helpful as could be. He accommodated us in every way possible. The house itself was beautiful, filled with period pieces and details and stocked with books on the area. The neighborhood was lovely, and free parking was never an issue--important because we had to drive the older kids to camp every day. That said, when going places in the city, we didn't ONCE drive--the location is ideal, and we could walk to City Market, the River, any place in the historic district we wanted to go. Perhaps the most charming aspect of this utterly charming house is that you can walk out the front door, look to your left, and see the famous fountain of Forsythe Park. Our kids were delighted by the flowers and ferns in the house courtyard. They loved wandering the historic district and romping in Forsythe Park. My husband and I enjoyed the romance of the city, which is strong enough to shine through the presence of three kids! Savannah is a lovely city, and this house and its kind and helpful owners will let you enjoy it to the fullest. I've recommended it to everyone I know who's going to Savannah.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Savannah's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40150vb
(717) 475-1668
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Martinez, GA
5

Wonderful Place, Fantastic Location, Awesome Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed in this charming townhouse for a week in June 2010 with our 8-year-old twins and their 5-year-old sister. It was only the 2nd time we'd been to Savannah and our first time renting a historic home. I was apprehensive to say the least. From the moment we started the process, however, Larry (the owner) was fantastic. He answered every question, sent us a packet of fun stuff to do with the kids,and was generally as helpful as could be. He accommodated us in every way possible.

The house itself was beautiful, filled with period pieces and details and stocked with books on the area. The neighborhood was lovely, and free parking was never an issue--important because we had to drive the older kids to camp every day. That said, when going places in the city, we didn't ONCE drive--the location is ideal, and we could walk to City Market, the River, any place in the historic district we wanted to go.

Perhaps the most charming aspect of this utterly charming house is that you can walk out the front door, look to your left, and see the famous fountain of Forsythe Park. Our kids were delighted by the flowers and ferns in the house courtyard. They loved wandering the historic district and romping in Forsythe Park. My husband and I enjoyed the romance of the city, which is strong enough to shine through the presence of three kids! Savannah is a lovely city, and this house and its kind and helpful owners will let you enjoy it to the fullest. I've recommended it to everyone I know who's going to Savannah.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway