Old Town (Grassmarket) apartment rental - Storytelling bedroom
Storytelling bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Old Town (Grassmarket) Apartment Rental Photos and Description
A distinctly Scottish, luxury four star 1 bedroom self catering apartment.

Our self catering Storytelling Apartment (Visit Scotland 4 star), distinctly Scottish in nature is situated right in the centre of things on Edinburgh's Royal Mile - the heart of the historic Old Town. A great base to explore Scotland's capital city. The main attractions – The Castle is a 10 minute walk up the Mile and Holyrood is 10 minutes down. You do not need a car when based here.

The flat comprises a comfortable lounge (with sofa bed) overlooking the Royal Mile, a luxurious double bedroom, brand new shower room and separate fully equipped kitchen. Ideally suited to 2 people the apartment is an excellent base for a romantic weekend however with sofa bed it can accommodate up to 4. Please note the apartment is on the 2nd floor (US 3rd) in a traditional tenement and there is not a lift.

Included in the price are all taxes, electricity and gas, bed linen, towels, internet broadband access and a welcome basket with wine, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, croissant.

The Storytelling Apartment is the ideal Edinburgh festival flat. Like the city itself it is compact but full of memorable features. Set in a traditional stone-built tenement on the Royal Mile, it retains a distinctly Scottish flavour with modern additions designed to help you relax. So you can visit Edinburgh attractions Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle on foot then drink in the atmosphere of the Royal Mile from your window seat.

Where is Edinburgh’s Storytelling Apartment? You’ll find our luxury flat in the centre of Edinburgh’s historic Old Town. It’s the perfect location for a Scottish holiday or base to explore Edinburgh. Many of the best attractions in Edinburgh are less than 20 minutes’ walk from the Storytelling Apartment which sits halfway between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace.

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 400424 in Old Town (Grassmarket), United Kingdom

Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
New Mexico, USA
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed in the 3rd floor “storytelling apartment” for one week (May 18-24) and the combination of wonderful owners/landlords, superb location, and outstanding accommodations made for a lovely time. The apartment is neat and clean, but not lavish. Located on Edinburgh’s Royal Mile (at 8 High Street) one is within easy walking distance of many of the area’s attractions. Eateries, bars, the famous ghost walk, and shops of all sorts line this area of the city. Our favorite restaurant is Pizza Express, up the hill, toward the castle, then left on North Bridge Street (23 North Bridge). It’s rather expensive for a pizza joint though.

From EDI (airport), take bus #35 to 8 High Street on the Royal Mile (cost, £1.5 which is the cost of any bus journey to one destination; always have exact fare). You may choose to take the airport shuttle (cost, £3.5 and for use on that journey ONLY). You will arrive at Waverly Station and from there you will walk (15 minutes) to the apartment. Much of the walk is uphill so you are the judge regarding the walk. Taxi fare, one way from airport to the apartment, is approximately £25. Bus #35 is an hour’s journey while the shuttle takes about half the time. Later on, you may elect to spend £3.5 and get an ‘all day’ bus ticket – we did so and rode all around the city one day. Purchase tickets from the driver, always have correct change/fare; take your receipt for future use that day. Check out the King’s Theatre to see what’s playing (bus #27).

The apartment will accommodate 4 people quite easily (double bed and a convertible couch in separate rooms) – TV, fireplace (gas), shower, clothes washer, dishwasher, and a small but fully equipped kitchen makes the place a perfect apartment for your stay in this fabulous city. Bring your iPad, Wi-Fi is free and works great. The dwelling is equipped with appropriate ‘plug-ins’ so no need to concern yourself with that issue while here.

Friendly landlords (Fiona and Beth) complete the picture, they are fabulous! Have a great stay and enjoy your “digs” here…nothing more to say. Have fun.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I stayed at the Storytelling Apartment with my 2 children in March and it couldn't be more perfect. The location is top notch right on the Royal Mile with a convenient store just below.

Upon our arrival, Beth met us at the apartment and was so friendly and welcoming. She walked us through the apartment amenities and made sure we had everything we needed. The apartment was spotless and decorated with many "Scotish" touches such as books, art, and DVDs.

The apartment is even better than in the website photos. Three of us were very comfortable using both the bedroom and pull out couch. I would absolutely stay again and Edinburgh is now one of my favorite cities I'm sure partly due to this wonderful apartment.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Winter Harbor, Maine
5

What a find!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This great apartment was beautifully appointed and set up. The location was so perfect that we never needed a car for our 6-day stay. We were able to walk everywhere. We did genealogical research, visited (free!) museums, took in bits of the Story Telling festival next door and went out in the evening to pubs for live music. There are two bagpipe makers within a block's walk and my husband was able to comparison shop for his new set of smallpipes - after talking to a local piper performing nearby. We used "Fiona's Favorites" list as a jumping off point and explored from there. Just sitting on the window seat in the living room was entertaining as we watched the world go by below on the Royal Mile. You will know that you have been to Edinburgh and Scotland after staying here. Even after almost a week, there is still SO MUCH to see and do. We want so much to return and pick up where we left off.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
New Hampshire, USA
5

SPECTACULAR APARTMENT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband and I stayed at this perfect little apartment for 5 nights in July. The apartment is just as charming as it's owners, Beth and Fiona. Beth greeted us with croissants and flowers. The place was immaculate and we loved the layout of the apartment. The bed was very comfortable and having a washer was indispensable. The location is perfect - right on the Royal Mile - you can walk to virtually anything in Edinburgh from here! Our favorite restaurant was Ondine which we would highly recommend for anyone who savors gourmet seafood. Beth and Fiona were wonderfully gracious hosts assisting us in locating parking for our rental car and recommending the best that Edinburgh and the surrounding area has to offer. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Edinburgh!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
5

A great short break in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We have spent three wonderful day in your lovely apartment. It was spotless and had everything we could possibly have needed - perfect for a couple. We found its location absolutely right for discovering Edinburgh and its history - right in the centre but surprisingly quiet. We took the bus only once - to view the Royal Yacht Britannia - fantastic. The rest of our time was spent walking and wearing out the park benches just looking at the views - trees, buildings and your mountains. We shall return having researched Edinburgh and all things Scottish. Your list of 'Fiona's Favourites' was really helpful and thanks to the books in the apartment, we now know so much more about this lovely country.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Mainz, Germany
5

You’ll want to come back – we sure will do

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The cosy and comfortable Storytelling apartment (perfect preparation and warm welcome by Fiona and Beth!) is located at the most scenic and vivid part of the gorgeous city of Edinburgh. Chilling on the window sill with a shot of whisky in the glass and taking a look down over the Royal Mile makes you sure that poetry is actually a part of reality – and vice versa. Check it out!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Manchester
5

Perfect base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Great apartment in a fantastic location. The apartment is clean, fresh and welcoming and the location couldn't be better.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Sydney, Australia
5

What a story we have to tell!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We found the Storytelling Apt on the web last year - how lucky were we! The apartment's location is so central, within easy walk of Waverley Railway Station and offered us everything we needed for a homely stay in Edinburgh. Fiona's wonderful "book" of information on what to do, where to eat and where to shop was invaluable. All the little touches like the fresh croissants, jam, coffee and teas and toiletries were so welcoming and the information left for us on events happening during our stay were so helpful. The lovely white linen and comfy bed ensured we were well rested. We were lucky enough to be in Edinburgh for the Royal Higlands Agricultural Show as well as Armed Forces Day - what a sight it was to see the parade passing beneath our window. Don't miss Camera Obscura, Mary Kings Close, Royal Yacht Brittania and, of course, Edinburgh Castle all of which are serviced by the efficient Edinburgh hop-on, hop-off buses. Thank you Fiona for being part of our wonderful holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Sattel, Switzerland
5

Great base for exploring Edinburgh!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This apartment is small but LOVELY! It was incredibly clean and is obviously well maintained. The owner provided lots of information about the area and we were very happy with her suggestions on places to eat and things to do. I will recommend this property to anyone who will listen. We enjoyed the castle, shopping on Princes street, the Museum of Childhood, Festival Theatre and so very many lovely places to eat and drink!
We have two small children and we tucked them into bed early so we could enjoy our wine and dinner in the main part of the house. We slept on the sofa-bed (but the main bedroom mattress is way more comfortable so next time we will transfer the kids to the sofa bed later in the evening!.-) And, oh yes, there will be a next time!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Knoxville TN USA
5

Window seat for the Queen's Tea, oh my!

Window seat for the Queen's Tea, oh my!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Fortune smiled on us for our first trip to Edinburgh in the form of Storytelling. The Queen was in residence and although I'm sure our invitation got lost in the mail, it was delightful to sit in the window and watch 3000 of her royal subjects proceed, the men in dress kilts and the ladies in heels & hats, always hats, down to Holyrood for tea. And we watched them return, shoes in hand and hats in bags, to the pubs to let the experience soak in.

We loved the apartment, the location, the attention to detail throughout. Traveling light, the clothes washer was very much appreciated! And access to the internet again - just like home :)

Edinburgh was just as special as everyone says! Within 3 blocks of Storytelling were castles, tartans, bagpipes, musicians, pubs... Couldn't get any better than that. And as Beth reminded us, you only have to carry your luggage upstairs once! :)

Our favorite road sign says it all: "Haste ye back!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6