Hilo house rental - Lopaka's Front Entrance
Lopaka's Front Entrance
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Lopaka's Family Lodge is a new, beautiful, and immaculate unit in a tropical setting located right above downtown Hilo. It is a spacious (800 sq. ft.) 1 BR, 1BA and comes with everything you need including washer & dryer. The private entrance is up a short six step stairway. The lodge is separated from the owner's residence by a walkway and large patio providing privacy to each unit.

The lodge is nestled in a lovely neighborhood where cool mountain breezes and a 200 sq. ft lanai (covered patio) await you at the end of a hot day! You'll be 10 minutes from downtown Hilo, 15 minutes to the mall for shopping, and 30 miles from the volcano viewing area!

The lodge's kitchen includes all the modern conveniences: dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, refrigerator, range, garbage disposal, blender, rice cooker, salad spinner, and more. The lodge's owner provides free coffee, tea, creamer, sugar, and Truvia. You can dine at the breakfast bar or dining area.

The beautifully decorated bedroom has a queen bed, new desk with comfortable cushioned chair, free WIFI, walk-in closet, and clock radio/alarm with CD player. There is also a twin day bed with trundle in the living room that can accommodate two guests.

The laundry area in the lodge is equipped with a new stackable washer and dryer. Laundry detergent (unscented), bleach, dryer sheets, and stain remover are provided at no additional charge.

Even the bathroom comes fully stocked with soap, shampoo & conditioner, blow dryer, curling iron, beach towels, beach mats, and sun screen.

If you decide to stay in you can watch a movie on the TV and DVD in the living room area.

THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO SMOKING ALLOWED IN THE LODGE!

A designated smoking area has been provided outside the lodge in a covered area.

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

43 Reviews of Property 372652 in Hilo, Hawaii

Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
average rating of 4.9534883 based on 43 reviews
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
5

Winter Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our second winter at Lopakas and we enjoyed every minute and will return again in 2015. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai almost every morning. The view from the lanai is awesome and reveals most of Hilo. The location is also great as it is close to the University and its activities, to downtown and our favorite restaurant, Cafe Pesto, and provides easy access to the highways leading to other parts of the Island such as Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, to Kona and to Kohala where we spent a number of hours whale watching this past winter. We found the owner to be very accommodating and easily accessible. In our opinion, Lopaka's is a can't miss home away from home to spend time on the east side of the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
5

An excellent stay in Hilo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I highly recommend Lopaka's for anyone looking for comfort of a home away from home. The unit is extremely clean, well stocked with various household items, and conveniently located for exploring Hilo's side of the island. We felt very welcomed and did not want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Olga!
I appreciate your very helpful review.
You were excellent guests and I will look forward to your family returning soon....hopefully next year.
Aloha nui,
Bev
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
Redlands, CA
5

Beautiful Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Lopaka's and had a wonderful, relaxing, and memorable time! Bev was a wonderful hostess, always available when needed, yet we felt we had plenty of privacy. (We wished we could've had more time to get to know this wonderful lady!) The lanai was a beautiful place to have coffee every morning and watch the sunrise. Be sure to check out Rainbow Falls which is only about 1 mile away. The home is just as beautiful and clean as it looks in the pictures (no false advertising! :-) ) We took time to visit several places on the Big Island, but also enjoy our little home away from home. We would highly recommend Lopaka's Family Lodge! (Bev, I already miss Samson and it was so nice to chat with you a bit before we left!) Mahalo, from Scott & Beth
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui loa Scott & Beth for your positive comments!
It means a lot to me to know that I've accomplished my goal. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful experience here, and hope you will return someday soon. It would have been so much fun to get to know you better. Samson will be watching for you. :)

Ke Akua pu a hui hou,
Bev
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
4

One bedroom apartment adjacent to owner's residence.

One bedroom apartment adjacent to owner's residence.
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is an one bedroom apartment that is separated by from the owner's residence by a wide covered porch and walkway. It's located in a calm neighborhood. The term "lodge" seems off but perhaps it makes sense in the context of the owner's family.

The place is meticulously maintained. All the light switches are labeled, all the appliances seem to be the best and the newest and so is the dinnerware and cutlery. There are books and board games to enjoy.

There's a very pleasant view of the airport and ocean from the back porch.

It was a less private than I expected from a vacation rental - it was unclear to us beforehand that we'd be staying adjacent to the owner.

We did have to wash the towels and bedding when we got there. Not because they weren't clean, but because they were so strongly scented it was unpleasant and made us both cough at night. With the wonderful washer and dryer there this was quick and easy, however.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mahalo Michiel for your sincere review. I appreciate your comments.
I am sorry that your experience wasn't perfect. I am rethinking my property description to make it more clear that the lodge is adjacent to my property. This has never seemed to be an issue. However, I don't want anyone to be disappointed with their choice. I do try to balance the privacy needs of my guests with the need to address any concerns they may have. I may have overdone this in your case.
I'm not sure what product was used that gave the bedding and towels a strong scent. I will be checking with the housekeeper to be certain that only unscented detergents and dryer sheets are being used. I wish you had brought that to my attention, because you should never have had to be the one to correct it. I will certainly be checking all of the bedding and linens before the next guest arrives to be certain this never happens again.
I'm glad that you at least enjoyed your time in Hilo, and otherwise found the rental satisfactory.
Aloha,
Bev
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
Southwest Louisiana
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I can't say enough about our stay at Lapaka's Family Lodge. It is in the perfect location for exploring the Hilo side of the Big Island. Bev is the perfect host and thought of everything. The house is very attractive and has everything you could possibly need not to mention how clean it is. You can not go wrong staying in this house. You will be glad you did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Ray & Pat,
It was great having such nice folks as guests. Lopaka's is the perfect place for the perfect people. Please come back soon.
I hope Beatyrest is still making that mattress, otherwise you'll have to come back to get a good nights sleep again.
Aloha,
Bev
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
St.Gilgen-Austria
5

The Place to stay on the Big Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved Lopeka's! If you want an amazing accommodation, this is the place to stay on the Big Island. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything one can ever need. From Guidebooks, kitchen utensils, beach towels, extra blankets to washing utensils there is not one thing we missed. You will be surprised at what extras you will discover! This really is a home away from home! The Garden was lovely with all the different kinds of fruits. There even was a fruit basket on our arrival.
The owner Bev was courteous and helped us whenever we needed it. She just thinks of everything and is such an excellent host!
The place is a good base for exploring the whole island! Especially since the Saddle Road is in such a great condition now. You can be in Kona in just over an hour. We loved to stay in a place that is away from all the hustle and bustle, but is still in driving distance to most attractions.(Volcano National Park, Waipi'o Valley, Mauna Kea etc.) It is such a lovely quiet neighborhood and we felt very safe!
We plan to return to the Lopaka's Family Lodge if we get a chance to return to the Big Island!
Thank you for the great hospitality!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Christian & Caroline,
Mahalo nui loa! I appreciate your excellent review and rating, and for mentioning how close we are to everything. It is good to know that the Saddle Road is such a great way to get to the Kona side of the island. The last time I drove over (several months ago) it wasn't complete, so it sounds like they've finished the construction.
I would be happy to see you return to Lopaka's one day; perhaps for another anniversary.
Fondly,
Bev
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
5

We loved Lopaka's!

We loved Lopaka's!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a wonderful stay we had at Lopaka's Family Lodge! E komo mai, welcome, is how you are greeted by the owner, who showers you with the Aloha Spirit! I believe this was the cleanest, best maintained VRBO that we have had the good fortune to call home......away from home! We also love Hilo! We found so much to do on the east side of Hawaii, two weeks was maybe not long enough! I would recommend this property to all, and would love to return again! Bev-Ke Akua pu a hui hou.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Aloha Susan & Bob,
Mahalo! It doesn't seem sufficient to simply say thank you . I appreciate your review, but mostly I appreciate all you did while here at Lopaka's. The timing couldn't have been more perfect for two such as you to arrive on Lopaka's doorstep. I will indeed look forward to your return, and hope it is soon. Samson says he will too.
You are correct, 2 weeks isn't long enough to see everything. You need at least 3 weeks to do that. Let's make a plan.
Your Hawaiian language skills are impressive!
Ke Akua pu a hui hou,
Bev
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
5

Loved Lopaka family home especially Bev and Samson!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were really lucky to have found such a welcoming and warm home to stay at while in Hilo. The condo was more than anything I could have asked for. Bev and Sampson (her dog) takes very good care of property and thinks of everything that you will need during your stay. Everything from her furniture , appliances , kitchen cutlery and utensils might be some of the best I've seen at a rental home. The space is perfect for a couple or a couple with a small child. I will definitely return to the Lopaka family home when I visit Big Island again. I wish I could have stayed longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo!!
I appreciate all your positive comments, but most of all I am so appreciative of all your very helpful PT tips. I want you to know that I have put them into practice with very positive results. I wish you much success in graduate school, and many blessings in your life.
Aloha!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
Arzona
5

Lopaka's Family Lodge is a 10!

Lopaka's Family Lodge is a 10!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We decided to extend our visit to the Big Island with a 3 night stay in the Hilo area to see the sights. We choose Lopaka's Family Lodge and were very happy with our decision. The lodge was spacious, extra clean, and very thoughtfully stocked. We particularity enjoyed the deck where we spent the majority of our time while at the lodge. Bev's high standards are evident and make a guest's stay extra comfortable. She was very welcoming and helpful during our trip planning. We would recommend her retreat to anyone wishing to stay around Hilo area.

While enjoying the Hilo side of the island, our family experiences included horseback riding with Na'alapa Stables in Waipio Valley, ziplining at Umauma Falls, sunset boat to see the lava with Lava Ocean Adventures, and visiting Volcano's National Park. All receive our highest rating for experiences! We are very happy with our decison to stay longer after diving in Kona.

For dining, we enjoyed Hawaiian Style Cafe in Waimea, Tex Drive In for Malasadas in Honokaa, Hilo Bay Cafe (twice for dinner), Moonstruck Patisserie for breakfast goodies, and Poke to Your Taste for lunch in Hilo. We also enjoyed the Hilo Farmer's Market and Big Island Candy.

We are grateful to Bev for graciously sharing her peaceful retreat with our family
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your very thoughtful review, and for the suggestions that will be so helpful to future guests. They are invaluable in showing how much there is to do on this side of the island. You managed to take in quite a bit in only 3 nights stay. Hopefully you can return some day and spend some time snorkeling with the sea turtles at Calrsmith Beach Park. I'd love to have you back.
Mahalo nui and Aloha oe,
Bev
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hilo - Lopaka's Family Lodge - Hilo Walk to Boiling Pots
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372652vb
Hilo Hilo District
5

stay here and lack nothing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family (of 4) had a wonderfull stay at Lapoka's Family Lodge. From the warm greating from Beverly when we arrived untill we left. The lodge was spotless, well organized and everything was clearly marked right down to the light switches. It was very comfortable and was in a great location to see everythig we wanted to see during our short stay (volcano,rain forest etc.) We all thought it looked even beter in person than it did in the pictures. We were very pleased with all the extras that were available to us (at no extra charge) such as big bright and new beach towels (in fact everything looked new), beach mats,reading materials, travel books about the big island, laundry soap coffee, teas ,mamy spices etc.
Shortly after we left, we received a call from Beverly notifying us that we forgot a charger for on of our cameras and asking for an address where she could send it.....wonderful service from a wonderful person.
Our only regret is that our schedule didn't allow us to stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui loa for the excellent review! It was a pleasure having your family here. There is a saying in my family that if you visit someone, and then leave something behind when you leave, it means you want very much to return one day. I hope you will return some day.
Aloha,
Bev
Helpful votes: 1/1