Brinnon house rental - THE HISTORIC BALCH RETREAT on HOOD CANAL. Simple elegance in nature's paradise
THE HISTORIC BALCH RETREAT on HOOD CANAL. Simple elegance in nature's paradise
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Brinnon House Rental Photos and Description
Historic simple elegance, shellfish, wildlife, & shell rich beach+Olympic Nt Pk!

Experience PUGET SOUND'S ONLY HISTORIC BEACH VACATION RENTAL on over 1,000 ft of privately owned, desirable Hood Canal waterfront. One of a mere few in the entire Pacific NW, yet in much closer proximity to Seattle and Tacoma. Nothing separates you from the beach, other than your expansive entertaining deck with attached beach stairs, so you are truly on waterfront that is rumored to be the closest to the water in all of Jefferson County.

Located on the widest expanse of North America's longest fjord, with the majestic Olympic Mtn's dramatically meeting the crystal clear waters of Hood Canal. Unobstructed, sweeping water and Mt Rainier views from nearly every room + Olympic Natl Park/Forest as the backdrop, creates a magical combination for those seeking unique charm, and ambiance.

Pay for 2, get 1 FREE.....April 2014, M, Tu, Wed stays FALL SEASON, & ALL dates WINTER Season!! More FREE nights next paragraph.

PAY for 3, get 1 FREE...MAY 2014, EARLY FALL Season, & FALL Season WEEKENDS!!

ADORABLE SEA LION PUP SEASON...APRIL-JULY!!

A popular romantic favorite with singles, couples, and honeymooners on 1-2 levels, yet comfortably accommodates up to 9 guests with 6 beds on 3 levels + 3 full convenient bathrooms, providing both time savings, and privacy.

STEP BACK IN TIME while observing wildlife the way it was meant to be viewed with The Dosewallips Wildlife Estuary in front, a highly desired portion of Hood Canal + expansive, constantly evolving water, and Rainier views. Feast on premium, plump, succulent oysters and shellfish rich beach, and former oyster farm. Northern Hood Canal location provides much healthier oxygen levels for marine life, producing superior shellfish. Old growth forest, and numerous, impressive cascading waterfalls. Indulge in premium, mouth watering crab, shrimp, clams, geoduck (yes, geoduck!), and mussels (limits/seasons apply). Plump and succulent oysters can be harvested year round.

Breathtaking day and night views are likely something you'll hold in your heart forever (see photos). Enjoy the serene covered balcony that is built into The Retreat, with old fashioned glider and zero gravity recliners, or gather on the large entertaining deck next to the waters edge. Large fire ring that looks out over the moonlit water provides a picturesque and heart warming way to complete your day, while listening to the wildlife 'chat' with each other on the beach.

NEAR WORLD RENOWNED OLYMPIC NATIONAL PARK and Forest (closest side to Seattle/Tacoma 1.5 hrs). Old growth forest with beautiful, cascading waterfalls that are tremendous fun to climb in and around, in addition to amazing picturesque hiking trails. Panoramic, forever views of downtown Seattle, Mt Rainier, Mt. Baker, the Olympic and Cascade mountain ranges + most of Puget Sound, all in close proximity. Picturesque and pet friendly Dosewallips State Park with historic logging train trail is a mere 3-5 min walk and pet friendly, as well as Olympic Nat'l Forest.

HISTORIC BACKGROUND....this quaint Nantucket waterfront charmer is in process of joining the National Historic Registry, and was constructed by T.B. Balch in 1920, one of the original founders of Brinnon. Located on the Dosewallips Wildlife Estuary, a MAJOR WILDLIFE DRAW and feeding ground. It is the best way to observe nature including the prized Roosevelt 'Brinnon Elk' herd that sometimes visit the yard. Bald and huge golden eagles with amazing wing that sometimes fly within 30 ft at eye level is truly something to behold, along with numerous bird varieties that are both beautiful and interesting to observe. Playful sea lion colony lines the sand bars with their pups while cute river otters and occasional beavers swim by. Whales sometimes pay an occasional visit too!

SUBMARINES AND MORE...Also unique to The Historic Balch Retreat is the interesting Trident Navy sub's that practice next to the Estuary ''shelf'' in the middle of Hood Canal. One of few places to view this unusual and interesting sight.

CANOEING, SWIMMING, BOATING, AND SIGHTSEEING.. Re-create fond childhood camp memories with the provided canoe that takes you even closer to the wildlife in front. Cool off and play in the waters of your Hood Canal beach during the warm summer months. Public boat launch at Pleasant Harbor Marina conveniently located less than 2 minutes away. Indulge in wine tasting, casino's, exceptional ice cream (Olympic Mtn Ice Cream, generally sold in high end Puget Sound restaurants), and sampling at unique distilleries. Visit quaint, historic seaports, some with gorgeous Victorians. Great day trips for Twilight fans or ferry to Victoria B.C., among many others, or soak in the soothing effects of your historic Hood Canal paradise. There is something for everyone. The list is virtually endless....

ROMANCE ABOUNDS...Intimate and popular with couples and honeymooners. Indulge with a romantic toasty fire, a relaxing indoor PANORAMIC jetted spa with amazing Hood Canal view (the moonlight on the water is truly inspiring), and expansive master suite, with luxury pillow top king bed. Reconnect on the unique cushioned leather double rocking chair for 2 indoors, or yesteryear rocking glider on the view balcony. Celebrate each other with so many appealing things to do together, or revel in total relaxation.

THE LITTLE EXTRAS... Natural and luxury soaps, body wash, shampoos, and lotions, accompanied by high powered zoom binoculars that bring wildlife and Trident sub activity up close are also supplied. Clam rake, buckets, oyster knives, and oyster gloves are ready to help you prepare your fresh from the water feast. So many amenities from beautiful stemware, and numerous spices, to built in magnifying mirrors in bathrooms, and romantic atmosphere by candlelight. We have attempted to provide items that will delightfully enhance your step back in time, including provided canoe. Fresh mint from your garden, or fabulous, plump, sweet blackberries on site mid to late summer for beyond amazing blackberry cobbler, pie, crepes, or the ultimate snack!

PREFER NOT TO COOK? Esquire magazine's #2 choice for 'Best Bar in America' is just a three minute walk at the Geoduck Restaurant. Additionally, The Half Way House Restaurant a couple of minutes away, is famous for legendary HOME COOKING, HOMEMADE PIES, and 2 for 1 steak night on Friday's! Pizza anyone?? Pleasant Harbor Marina makes a mouth watering pizza, along with hot sandwiches, salads, and homemade apple crisp with fresh Grannie Smith apples ala mode. Restaurants in Brinnon are reasonably priced, highly rated on TripAdvisor, and absolutely delicious!!

RAIN SHADOW positioning outside of the many convergence zones on Hood Canal can provide more favorable weather in many cases.

SENIORS AND THOSE WITH LIMITED MOBILITY. Our retreat is user friendly. A mere 3 steps down from the parking area, and 1 step up to the country covered front porch when staying on the well equipped main level. The charming ''blue room'' bedroom with covered view balcony entrance provides functioning with ease. The main level provides a large, open concept kitchen and dining, 1920 style bathroom with antique porcelain shower ring tub, private media room, and living room. . Since the home borders the waters edge, you can converse with those on the beach from the view balcony and lower deck.

Please REVIEW 'RATES', MINIMUM NIGHTS, & AVAILABILITY 'CALENDAR', then let us know the following for an accurate response:

A) Number of adults

B) Age of each child

C) Potential number of visitors or day guests beyond A & B. If none, please specify 'no visitors'.

D) Will pets accompany? Please state AGE and BREED(S) of each pet, and if spay/neutered. If none, please state 'no pets'.

We look forward to assisting you with stepping back to a much simpler time, and experience a magical combination that displays history, Olympic Nat’l Park/Forest, Hood Canal, and the best of the Pacific NW in nature’s paradise.

More Details
Hide Details

We have special interest in history, nature, marine environments, and travel, so were beyond fortunate to combine these favorite aspects into one historically charming and unique property. We certainly hope you have the opportunity to experience the wonders that we have, and would like our guests to feel they are staying in the well-appointed vacation home of a good friend.

Tori Galey purchased this house in 2007

We were beyond thrilled to locate a property that offered historic simple elegance (not a cabin) + Hood Canal waterfront on the widest portion of North America's longest fjord, with constantly evolving views, a premium former oyster farm, and DW Wildlife Estuary, with Olympic Natl Park/Forest surrounding. The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal provides the quality and ambiance that we look for in our personal travels.

See 'Why This Property' above.

46 Reviews of Property 399869 in Brinnon, Washington

Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
average rating of 4.810811 based on 46 reviews
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

Magical winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We spent two wonderful nights here and can't wait to come back. Awakening in the master suite to the winter sunrise across the canal was splendid. The home is well appointed and I felt like an invited guest. Everything was top quality and we never felt like we were getting the "rental equipment" while the good stuff was packed away. Sharp kitchen knives, a whole array of spices for cooking, comfy linens and abundant cookware, dishes and glassware. We were able to collect fresh oysters at low tide and enjoyed the many books and games on site. It was a very peaceful setting for us (2 parents and 3 teenagers and our dog). I especially appreciated the check-ins from Tori (by email) during our stay and the free wifi was a plus. Highly recommend this magical spot.
Owner's Response: It's nice to see guests noticing the quality touches that can be hard to find with every day vacation rentals, such as a yesteryear feather stuffed sofa, original leaded glass windows, hardware, and fixtures, plus many other quality and historic touches that add charm and ambiance. We definitely want those that stay to feel like a guest using a friends vacation home. Thanks for sharing! Sincerely, Tori and Wade
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

A gorgeous getaway on Hood Canal!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This house is beautiful, comfortable and perfect for a group getaway. It's right on the water, with a balcony and deck that are ideal for sipping coffee in the sun and listening to the sea birds. The entire place was immaculate, and the kitchen had everything we needed to make a delicious dinner. The dining table was also great for after-dinner games! We stayed in the master suite, and the bed was really comfy. Waking up to the sun rising over the Hood Canal was amazing - we'll definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Always a definite pleasure to see our guests discover the many wonders of The Historic Balch Retreat in nature's paradise, as we have. Morning tea/coffee while basking in the sun on the covered balcony, and taking in the wonder of the wildlife is certainly our version of heaven. Very sweet of you to let others know the treasured memories you have experienced, and the care taken to achieve this. Most Warmly, Tori
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
United States
5

Dreams realized

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Having been in the hospitality business, it can be a curse or a blessing when putting on the 'tourist' cap. As with any experience, we look (without meaning to) for the finer things to be wrong (dust missed, toilets not totally cleaned, etc). I can tell you without hesitation that this was a stellar wkend from start to finish. All that is described in the houses description was spot on. The house was wonderful, and fully appointed to the extent where much of what I packed was unnecessary. The house was pristine, and our wkend was one that will remain in my memory as the gold standard. Tori (the owner) was a dream to work with-it was obvious that her highest priority was fulfilling our every needs. The best compliment I can make (and I was hard put to narrow it to one highlight), is that we didn't want to leave, and are already looking at our calendars for a return visit. So please, do yourselves a favor and visit this lovely home. You won't be disappointed. We loved not only the house, but the kindness and caring that Tori put into assuring that ours was an unforgettable experience."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for pointing out aspects that travelers hold dear to their hearts, such as the low allergen environment/cleanliness factor, and providing the little extra's that you don't normally find in most vacation rentals. When guests are so terrific, one can't help but want to do everything possible to ensure a treasured experience. Your review was too kind. We hope to see you again soon! Tori and Wade Cole
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

A Beautiful and Relaxing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A Beautiful and Relaxing Stay
This wonderful historic home is beautiful. Everything about our stay was phenomenal . The house was wonderfully decorated and comfortable. It was immaculate and had everything you needed.
The views were amazing and kept us sitting out on the deck watching the wildlife for hours. We picked oysters at the beach each day. We went canoeing and hiking. We had an amazing time. The owner was very helpful on what to do and see and cared that everything was just right when we arrived. I am planning my visit again for next summer and for a much longer period of time.
Owner's Response: So nice to see that guests notice that we genuinely care about their experience, and that your stay was thoroughly enjoyed. A well appointed historic home with breathtaking views, amazing wildlife, and sweet, succulent seafood all on site, tends to be a popular combination. Do remember to book early for the Peak Summer Season when planning your return, as dates tend to fill quickly during popular time frames. We look forward to your return, and will always receive a warm, inviting welcome. All the best, Tori and Wade
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This incredible historic home had all the elegance if another time and all the comforts you could want. The property has beautiful and interesting plants, the owner couldn't have been more helpful on what to do and see and cared that we had a wonderful stay. It is quite possibly the most magical place I've been to around the Northwest yet. Sitting in comfort on the deck just watching a non-stop show the Sea Lions and Seals put on. We watched a Sea Lion right out in front bring up his catch of a very large salmon and saw him play with it before eating it. There is so much very close to do. We chose to stay and completely unwind.
This beautiful home was immaculate and had everything you could need. We are already planning our trip for next summer here and for a longer time.
Owner's Response: I've said it before and will say it again, we have some of the most gracious and thoughtful guests! The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal is our pride and joy, and it truly warms my heart when guests marvel at the magic of the many aspects. So pleased you could experience our little corner (or expanse) of nature's paradise. Be sure to book early to have your pick of the best summer dates, and thanks so much for taking the time to share. Most warmly, Tori and Wade
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful Family Getaway (VacationRentals411.com)

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My husband found this wonderful historic home on the internet and we knew immediately we had to give it a try. It was wonderful! Terrific views from every room, cozy beds, well stocked kitchen, phenomenal panoramic spa tub in the master, and lots of hot cocoa. My husband, mother-in-law, children and I enjoyed drinking hot cocoa watching amazing, WARM sunrises in Feb! Wonderful memories were made and will never be forgotten!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Girls Getaway Weekend (frm VacationRentals411.com)

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
From the moment we arrived Friday night until we departed Sunday morning our stay was just what we needed: relaxing, fun and memorable. We were met by sweet scent of the hanging baskets and beautiful flower gardens. Blessed with a low tide we gathered oysters from the beach and enjoyed them from the grill on the lower deck. At the fire pit we enjoyed not only the fire but yummy smores. The views from all three levels were truly incredible! It was almost as though the sea otters, seals and bald eagles were hired to give us a show. The interior was clean, comfortable and had old world charm with modern amenities andd the beds gave a great night's sleep, also. We would whole heartly recommend The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal for any occasion.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

5 star relaxation - great house in fab location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 5 travelled from Edinburgh, Scotland (3 children aged 10, 7 & 6) on a 3 week holiday to the Pacific Northwest. After a week in an RV along the Oregon coast, we were looking forward to a more comfortable and relaxing home from home after being on the road.

The house was everything we hoped it would be and we were not disappointed and had a fabulous time at the Historic Balch Retreat in Brinnon.

I was slightly worried before we got there as I had been told by so-called "experts" on trip advisor that there was not much to do around Brinnon and was advised to stay along the north coast of the Olympic Park. I am glad we did not. It is a great location to enjoy what is on offer in the Olympic National Park.

The house itself was excellent - very clean and comfortable and well-equipped - but what sets this apart is the location - as you can arrive at the house down a steep and short narrow lane, you can see right through the house onto the Hood Canal. This place is all about the views. If you are after rest and relaxation - this is the place for you.

The deck at the back of the house sits above the (tidal) Hood Canal and there are steep steps which take you onto the water. You are virtually floating on the Hood Canal! If wildlife is your thing, you are in for a treat, as In the space of a week we were blessed with seeing bald eagles, kayaked with seals and even got up close and personal to a family of sea otters who were swimming along the shore.

The kayak belonging to the house was a big hit and we had several paddles along the still shores with the kids squealing with delight as the seals popped their heads up as they swam around the boat. It was truly magical. If oysters are your thing - you cannot help but find them - there are bucket-loads of the things!

Evenings were spent toasting marshmallows and eating ice cream on the fire pit while enjoying a bottle of wine - it was certainly relaxing.

As for activities other than kayaking - there is plenty to see and do within a shortish drive. Port Townsend for whale watching (yes - we did see orca!) was about an hour away - and we went to Hurricane Ridge which is well worth a trip. Other excursions to Lake Crescent, Lake Cushman and the Mount Walker viewpoint are all within easy reach and to be recommended. We also went for some walks to some waterfalls - all within 10-15 minutes away.

Would I recommend this place to stay? Most definitely. We would love to go back!
Owner's Response: So pleased to see your long distance excursion from Scotland was a big hit!! Our centralized location approximately 1.5 hours from Seattle or Tacoma with 2 different interesting routes to explore on the way is definitely the perfect base to enjoy Olympic National Park and nature's paradise. Hours closer to Seattle and SeaTac Airport than the other portions of Olympic National Park, and with even more to offer. So glad you made a treasured vacation memory discovering our convenient, historic, and magical Pacific NW location. Warmly, Tori
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

Beautiful house, great views and lots to enjoy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful time at the Historic Balch Retreat. It is a beautiful house with great views. The house is so well furnished and the kitchen has all the appliances and spices I need for cooking. The lovely bottle of wine that greeted us on our arrival was such a thoughtful gesture.

We spent some time on the beach picking oysters and clams, and met some seals basking in the sun. There was so much to see and to do. The house is so comfortable that often we just sat at the balcony, watching the many types of birds and taking in the beauty of the place.

Thank you very much for providing us the opportunity to stay at the nicest holiday house we have been to.
Owner's Response: It is so nice to hear that your family of international travelers from Thailand found The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal to be the nicest vacation rental encounterd thus far. We take great pride in offering an experience that will be considered special, and treasured for a lifetime. Many of our guests are international travelers, and unable to bring much with them. Most seem to truly appreciate the luxury, and cruelty free shampoos, soaps, detergents, paper products, spices, wood for fires, specialty zoom lens binoculars, and other numerous items for guest use that are complimentary, and ensure comfort. Guest care is always the priority, so your step back in time is all it can be. We certainly hope to see you back on your next Pacific NW getaway. So glad you enjoyed!! Warmest Regards, Tori Cole - owner
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Historic/Romantic Waterfront..Seal Pups, Elk, Shellfish, Olympic Nt Pk+FREE nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399869
Brinnon Hood Canal
5

We love coming here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our second stay at the Balch house, and we'll certainly be back for a third. The property is fantastic - everything from the two decks to the firepit to the house itself. It's incredibly peaceful for relaxing and reading a book or playing a game with friends (both of which we did), and it's also close to activities if you'd like to explore nature for awhile. You can rent kayaks just up the road or go up Mt. Walker for exceptional views. We also were able to bring our dog, and it's an easy 5 minute walk up the road to Dosewallips park where we were able to get her exercise.

At night, you can't not make smores and sit back and listen to the seals in the distance. Bring some binoculars during the day - you'll be able to catch their heads popping up out of the water.

My tips:
1. On your way to the house, I recommend stopping and stocking up on groceries for your trip. There are small stores close by you can go to in a pinch, but you're going to get the best selection and prices by stopping before you get to Brinnon. If you're coming from Seattle and taking the Bainbridge ferry, I'd recommend stopping by the Central Market in Poulsbo, which is where we usually end up.

2. Bring sunscreen and bug repellent. Both the sun and mosquitos will get you. It's nothing severe, but always better not to be burnt or bitten if you can help it!

3. Try not to bring any work with you, but if you're like me and need to check in, the free wi-fi is incredibly useful.

All in all, we can't say enough good things about this house. It's now become our go to place to spend our "local" vacations. You won't be disappointed.
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us and others know how much you've enjoyed both stays at The Historic Balch
Retreat on Hood Canal. We look forward to the return of one of our favorite guests.

Since our goal is to provide the perfect historic waterfront getaway experience, we have located a high
powered set of sturdy binoculars with zoom lens, for guest use and enjoyment. Additionally, this is the
first time a guest has ever reported mosquitoes...but not to worry, citronella candles are now in place
on the deck, on the off chance mosquitoes should ever reappear. We also provide information in advance
as to what guests may want to bring, spectacular area sights, and helpful tips, so you can easily have
your plans and groceries in place before arrival. Thanks so much for taking the time to write!
Helpful votes: 3/4