Weeki Wachee cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Weeki Wachee Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps up to 6 people)

Experience ''old Florida'' and enjoy the quiet, laid-back lifestyle of the ''Nature Coast'' from this fully furnished, well maintained, two story cottage. The large tree shaded yard offers plenty of privacy with great opportunities for viewing an abundance of wildlife, including seasonal manatee, numerous shore birds, water fowl, birds of prey, and otters. Launch the two kayaks, and/or the canoe provided, and enjoy the paddle while you acquaint yourself with the scenic waterways that extend from the brackish water of the ''Mud River'', to the clear springs of the famous Weeki Wachee River, and the saltier waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Favorite places for sunset are at Bayport Pier and Pine Island Beach, both of which are about three miles from this awesome property.

Numerous recreational opportunities and wildlife experiences can be enjoyed from this area, including world class tarpon fishing in May and June, and scalloping in July and August.

There are several county parks in the area, including Bayport Pier with boat ramps and picnic facilities, Pine Island beach park, and Roger's Park on the cool, clear waters of the Weeki Wachee River. Florida's historic Weeki Wachee Springs Mermiad attraction, and Buccaneer Bay water park and canoe and kayak outpost are about four miles east, on Highway 19.

You need not venture far from this wilderness area to find quality restaurants, shopping, and medical facilities. The Tampa International Airport is only 57 miles southeast of this unique hideaway via the Suncoast Parkway (aka SR 589), and Walt Disney World is approx. 90 miles east, via SR 50.

More Details
Hide Details

I love the west coast of Florida, especially those areas that remind me of 'old style Florida' from my youth. I was lucky to find this unique property on Hernando county's 'Nature Coast'. To me, it's the perfect property for rest and relaxation, but it also offers a wide variety of recreational opportunities and wildlife experiences, some of which can't be found in most other counties in Florida. Scalloping is one of those favorite summer activities of mine that I am able to enjoy from this cottage during July and August, and Hernando county is one of the few Florida counties with an open scallop season.

Opportunities for kayaking and canoe adventures are available from this waterfront property located on a brackish water canal with quick access to the Weeki Wachee River and the Gulf of Mexico. About three miles west of this property at Bayport Pier is a nice county park with boat ramps, picnic facilities and a boardwalk. Charter fishing and boat rentals are available nearby, and there are a variety of public boat ramps and waterfront parks in the area that offer pier and shore fishing. Nearby Bayport Pier and Pine Island Beach are favorite spots for sunsets and picnics. 'Roger's Park' on the Weeki Wachee River is another popular county park with sandy banks and a public swimming area for those who prefer fresh spring water.

12 Reviews of Property 399834 in Weeki Wachee, Florida

Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
Fla
4

Great getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
All was awesome. Only wish the indoor fireplace was functional. Kayaked with manatees was incredible! Would definitely return.
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
Florida
5

Amazing Rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The "Mud Hole" was amazing! We had a wonderful time. Being right on the water made the view beautiful at all times and going out on the kayaks was a lot of fun. The rental was very clean and was stocked with anything and everything you could think of to make our stay care free. The property is also close enough to town to get anything you need but far enough away to feel private and secluded. The owners were wonderful and very easy to deal with. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

A little piece of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What can I say, this was the most amazing place ever. I am so sorry we only had 6 days here, as I could have spent 6 months here. It is so private, and yet close to restaurants and shops. The river is amazing, we saw plenty of Manatee, and even saw a mammy and baby. The interior of the house is so quaint and comfortable, even nicer than the photos show. The sunsets in Pine Island is something that my husband, two kids and I will remember forever. Just breath taking. We have been to Florida many times, but never to anywhere as beautiful as this. We would really love to come back some time. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to sample this wonderful vacation rental.
Maxine, Barry, Shane (16) and Aisling (13) from Ireland :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
Bethel, Alaska
5

Great Week at the Mudhole

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were in the middle of "Old Florida" at this great location near Weeki Wachee. The house and property has everything you need for a quiet getaway, plenty of privacy. It is a great spot for a fishing vacation or just canoeing and kayaking on the Mud River. Plenty of close places for hiking and bird and animal watching. Great yard with a grill, and everything you need to relax, we can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Fun times. Well appointed getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Two things really stood out for us. First, this location is great! Second, the house has all the stuff you could ever need to enjoy your stay. Great managers, clean home and it was easy to get to other attractions in the area.

If your'e into wildlife viewing, the paddle from this house to the Bayport pier was a really enjoyable time. We saw rays, a turtle, osprey, bald eagles, fish, cranes, herons, ibis and several others. Great times.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Excellent week at "The Mudhole"

Excellent week at "The Mudhole"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family just had the best week at the mudhole. It is problably the last family vacation my family will have before our oldest son leaves home and we couldn't have picked a better place. The Mudhole has everything you will need or want. It was so much better than staying at a hotel. Right on the river if you like fishing. The kids could run around and play without worrying about disturbing the people in the next room.... The yard is fenced and private so you dont have to stress over the kids being safe. The house is perfect. Plenty of room for a big family. I loved just sitting on the porch in the swing and just relaxing with my family. My hubby is a country boy and I am a city girl. This was the best of both worlds. We felt like we were in the middle of no where but it was actually less than 10 minutes from shopping and restuarants. There was plenty of different things for us to do with the kids. Weeki Wachee Springs is right up the road. Less than 5 minutes to the beach and swimming. Patti was excellent and a big help. She made us truly feel welcome. We definitly would love to come back next year ;)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Weeki Wachee

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had an absolutely FABULOUS time!!! While we had been told by many that there wasn't anything to do, it was just the relaxing and fun vacation we longed for! The Mud Hole was great and the kids loved canoeing and kayaking in the river. We adored the springs and the mermaid show. We loved Pine Island and went for 2 days!! We drove to Clearwater 1 day and although the traffic was attrocious, the beach more than compensated for it!! We highly reccomend this place for a laid back and enjoyable vacation!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Vacation get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I just returned from this lovely Vacation get away and am already dreaming of returning next year. The listing can hardly give this wonderful hideaway on the water justice!

The property is light and bright with activities within easy reach. We kayaked, swam and went deep sea fishing. We saw amazing wildlife, flowering plants and wonderful weather.

We cooked in some and strayed out to try a local restaurant or two. What more could a couple of Vermonters want during our own "mud season"?

Vickie
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
Ottawa Canada
5

Great Little Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This property is exactly as advertised. The house is very comfortable, very clean and extremely well-equiped. If you like to cook, this is the kitchen ffor you. Barbeque too. The house sits in a large, fenced in yard on a small river that is fun for canoeing and kayaking. We enjoyed watching the birds and manatees. The nearby Weeki Wachee river was a highlight - crystal clear and very scenic. The little beach at nearby Pine Island is a lovely place to spend the day. Good food too. There are several good restaurants close by. The Bayport is a local favorite and we ate there several times. The area is good for hiking and biking and fishing too from the local piers. The managers were very helpful both before and after we arrived. We would have no hesitation recommending this property to anyone who is looking for a truly restful vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Experience 'Old Florida' from a Charming Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399834
+1 352 238-0138
Weeki Wachee Florida Central Gulf Coast
Richmond, Texas
5

Great time at the "Mud Hole"

Great time at the "Mud Hole"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My daughter and I loved this place. Don't let the name "The Mud Hole" give you the wrong impression of this wonderful spot. The water is crystal clear and the surrounding vegetation is so tropical that you'll think you are in the Caribbean or something. We went to Florida to visit some family in the area and do something a little different as well. For us it was perfect. Plenty of room for us and still more room for family and friends. The house was very well keep and supplied. With canoe, kayaks, horse shoes, darts, fire pit, swing, dock and the river - what else could you want? Within a very short distance is Bayport where you can launch boats and then pull right up to the dock in the front yard. Also Pine Island beach is only minutes away. Fishing and scalloping are great. We really liked the help we got from Patti & Dale, the couple that looks over the place - if you have any questions about the area or want any recommendations on other things to do they will steer you in the right direction. To sum things up - My daughter Saige, myself and family had a great time and will do it again. Hope you make the choice and see for yourself. You won't regret it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5