Kula house rental - Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast also has plumeria
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast also has plumeria
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kula House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Ke Kihapai, is a charming home formerly known as 'Kili's Cottage', located in gorgeous upcountry Kula, Maui, and owned by a local Hawaiian family. Ke Kihapai, the Hawaiian word for small farm, boasts extraordinary views of the ocean and West Maui mountains, quiet evenings with starlit skies and is well stocked with breakfast goodies throughout your stay. There are three spacious bedrooms- two rooms offer queen beds and one has twin beds. Two full baths and a large space with a full kitchen, dining room table and television room. The house offers cable television and wireless internet service. In addition, there is a large lanai with Barbecue for outdoor dining and relaxation. The house offers private parking for two cars and a washer and dryer for your laundry needs. This agriculturally zoned property has numerous trees, and includes a variety of indigenous Hawaiian plants.

Upcountry Maui is a special place, with its warm days and comfortably cool nights, and Ke Kihapai is only a short drive to incredible sightseeing destinations, including Haleakala National Park, the Kula Botanical Gardens, Ali'i Kula Lavender Plantation, Surfing Goat Dairy, Makawao Town, Tedeschi Winery, horseback riding, golf bicycle riding all levels of hiking paths and zipline adventures are within minutes of the house. There are beaches 20 minutes away and approximately the same travel time to the Kahului airport.

Ke Kihapai is a licensed Bed & Breakfast by the County of Maui, Permit # BBMP 2009-0002

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 399684 in Kula, Hawaii

Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Macungie PA
5

Cool off in Kula

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 6 stayed for 2 nights. Wished it was longer. The home was as pictured. Well maintained, mountain side cottage type home. We really loved the cool night air and the fresh fruit. Views are beautiful. It is a bit of a ride to real town area but getting away from the condo areas was nice.
The breakfast food was a big help as we had just arrived from PA and were to tired to shop.
Coffee, tea, eggs, bagels, fruit, bacon, and cereal!
Kili was a great reference both before we arrived and once we were there. We did the Road to Hana on day one and had a blast. Dont miss the 3 Bears falls if you can climb down its worth it!
The white sand beach was beautiful. Volcano was a rain out. Take your rain gear, jackets, snacks and water!
Zip line in Pioholo was fun even for 82 year old grandpa.
Only thing we could have wanted in the house was a roll away as no one wanted to sleep with grandpa.
We hope to come back someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Berkeley, CA
5

Retreat from Maui's tourist zones

Retreat from Maui's tourist zones
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Kili was unfailingly warm and welcoming. Her house was immaculate and well-stocked, and offered incredible views of the countryside and flatlands below. The kitchen had all the necessary items for great cooking, including a blender to make fresh fruit smoothies (fruit provided by Kili) and coffee in the morning. A large supermarket is 5-10 mins away. While it took a little while (20 min) to get to the beach and most local eateries, the house offers great access to the crater and southern Maui. Kili was always happy to answer questions about the house, things to do, or places to visit. I highly recommend this spot if you're looking for a unique look at upcountry, away from the hustle and bustle of tourist Maui.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Simon,

Mahalo for providing this review. I especially appreciate that you enjoyed getting away from the tourist hustle and bustle. We love upcountry Maui and it sounds as if you and your family had a great time exploring our area.

With much aloha,
kili
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
5

Peaceful and Everything we needed for our Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Kili and Michael provided a beautiful home for my family to stay in during our vacation in Hawaii. We did much of the cooking at Ke Kihapai and I never found that I needed anything to accomplish my task. The property is absolutely beautiful and we will plan to stay again the next time we visit Maui.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui for your kind words. We hope to see you the next time you are able to enjoy your time with family and friends.

with much aloha,
kili
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Wantagh, New York
5

Long Island family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful home in Upcountry, Maui. Our only regret is that we didn't allow more time to spend on Maui, and in so doing, spend more time at Kili and Michael's vacation cottage home. The house had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. Kili and Michael left us with a beautiful basket of fruit, in addition to many breakfast foods to enjoy!!! Our trip to Maui was made even better by being able to rent from such wonderful owners!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
5

The Cottage under the Milky Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The other reviews definitely tell it like it is at the Cottage near Kula. After staying at this Bed and Breakfast, it will be hard to find another one as nice and comfortable...like it was your own home. I looked at many places in the Upcountry of Maui and the photos they offered but nothing in the on-line information prepared us for this wonderful, laid back experience under the stars.

Our son and his friend were amazed at how close and voluminous the Milky Way seemed to be as we lounged on the deck each night. The trees in the photo that show the home on site were in bloom with sweet smelling, white flowers and the walk around the property was so delightful.

Kili was extremely accommodating with the breakfast food including the fruit basket, coffee and the pop-tarts as requested for the boys. She even gave us numerous suggestions for places to visit including the black and red beaches, fun activities such as the Zip-line at the Piiholo Ranch, Seven Sacred Pools waterfall, sunrise at Haleakala National Park, and the Kula Bistro restaurant. Her directions to different locations were very helpful and accurate.

This cottage is perfect if you want to explore the Upcountry and the entire island of Maui especially the east side and then come home to relax and view the scenery, sunset and the sky from the side of the mountain. My husband and I wish we were still there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Bellingham, WA
5

The best rental ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have used homeaway.com many times, and this was by far our best experience. Kili is so warm, welcoming and helpful. We got in late at night, we were all exhausted, so to wake up to a fridge and pantry full of breakfast goodies was so very nice! The house was spotless, nice new-looking floors, well stocked in every way. The coffee drinkers among us loved all the coffee choices. VERY relaxing environment. We went to Colleen's at the Cannery in Haiku - best food all week and a repeat trip for us. Highly recommend. Paia and Makawao have nice shops, we hit Baby Beach which was great for little ones if a bit windy. Husband and M-I-L golfed at Pukalani and really enjoyed that, they said everyone was very friendly. Haleakala was only an hour away which was great for the sunrise commute. Visited the Kula Botanical Gardens - it had mixed reviews but I really liked it, especially the rainbow eucalyptus trees. You have to read the binder with the owner/operator's story, it's on the patio as you leave. Definitely a labor of love for one family. We also stayed in a condo in Ka'anapali later that week. I would recommend this house for couples, families, friends, you name it. Snorkel gear, boogie boards and soccer ball for active families, books, TVs, puzzles and games for the quieter set. We ate avocados from a tree in the yard - really, can you top that??? I had other people in Lahaina asking for the name of the cottage before we even left for the mainland, and I've recommended it to my parents who I think would really enjoy the peace and quiet. Loved the big deck, too. Thank you for everything Kili, don't change a thing!
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Cupertino, CA
5

Nice home in upcountry Maui

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We arrived on a windy sunny Sunday afternoon. The house was ready for us, the kitchen fully stocked, the refrigerator stocked with enough breakfast foods to last us for a week, and a large basket of fresh fruits on the dining table.
The house was more than big enough for the four of us, with three spacious bedrooms. The house has been remodelled recently and provided us with all of the ammenities.
The location is great for those wanting to visit and hike the various trails in the Haleakala National Park, only a 25 minute drive to the park entrance. The house is only 20 minutes drive from Kahului, and a good base for excursions to the Hana side of Maui. Most importantly, the house is in the country, away from neighbors and tourists, with great views of Maui's central valley and a superb place to watch the night sky.
The owner came over at our request to provide us with detailed tips of places to go, things to do and see, and "local" tips.
Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Richmond, KY, USA
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the coast, this beautiful property in upcountry Maui is the perfect place! The owner went out of her way to make the stay comfortable with beautiful flowers and wonderful breakfast selections. (She is also very knowledgeable about the area and willing to help in any way she can) The house and yard are simply lovely! And the back deck is perfect for bird watching, relaxing or star gazing. You won't believe how quiet it is!! This VRBO far exceeded my expectations!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
United States
5

Perfect Maui Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Great vacation home! We highly recommend this lovely, comfortable, well-stocked and spotlessly clean house. The location is terrific - we were looking for a place close to the airport ( 20 mins) and not in a high tourist, high traffic area. The days were warm, but because we were up in the hills, the nights were cool. We were 5 adults who did not want to stay at a resort but rather we wanted to be together in one space and to see what Maui was really like. We had just come from the Big Island and had stayed at some gorgeous houses, but this home was our favorite. The owner, Kili, was so welcoming and is such an extraordinary person that she made our vacation forever memorable. She filled the refrigerator with lots of food ( not leave the house for breakfast was terrific - instead, we munched on pineapple & fresh fruits, toasted bagels, ate omelets and yogurt out on the deck.) She also gave us wonderful recommendations for local restaurants that we never would have found on our own. In addition, she told us which beaches to go to, what towns had the best island shopping, etc., etc. - Kili ( and her husband Michael) know all things about Maui and are valuable resources. The photos are accurate, but can not show the charm of the property. From the large deck, which has a table & chairs plus comfortable loungers, you can see the water and beautiful sunsets, while you are in the midst of fruit trees and flowers and bushes covered with butterflies. We found that we were about 20 minutes from anything that we wanted to do. Child-friendly home too! We never got to drive the road to Hana, although Kili strongly recommended that we do so -- therefore, we shall return, and we would not think of staying anywhere but here. We cannot thank Kili enough for all she did for us. We found a perfect vacation home and we all feel we made a friend. Maholo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Ke Kihapai Bed & Breakfast Home in Kula, Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399684
Kula Maui
Brisbane Australia
5

Away from the Crowds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
If you are looking for a place that is removed from the tourist crowds, somewhere quiet, in a relatively good location to hit Haleakala, take off on the "Road to Hana", see the Lavender farm, close proximity to Makawao and some of Maui's best Winery's, than this is the place to stay.
Kili does a great job of making you feel right at home. There is plenty of room for a large family. There were five of us staying during our 6 night stay. The porch on the back is large and has plenty of views of the valley below and mountain above. Though there are several homes in the area, the noise was minimal and very little road traffic.
As a bread & breakfast place Kili provided more than enough food for breakfast during our stay, matter of fact we had to put some of it in the freezer becasue we couldn't eat it all.
Kili, kudos to you for a very special place, if we are back on Maui in the near future we will be booking our stay with you.
Thanks again for everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway