Gulfport cottage rental - Deck
Deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Gulfport Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage with Hot Tub, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Bring up to two pets free to this quiet Beach View cottage with large back yard that features a Hot Tub and screened cabana. There is a large deck where you can enjoy the glistening waters of the Mississippi gulf coast. Sandcastle cottage is located just 2 blocks from the beach.

Sandcastle Cottage was built in the 1930’s and has been completely renovated since hurricane Katrina. It sleeps 4-6 with a queen bed, 2 twins, rollaway and couch. Wireless internet is included.

If you have more than 5 guests please check out our 3 bedroom Whispering Sands Cottage (VRBO # #99667).

Sandcastle Cottage is decorated with beach style décor the living room features oak floors, wicker furniture, gas fireplace and entertainment center with flat screen TV.

The fully stocked kitchen is a cooking enthusiast dream with tile floors, granite counters, stainless steel appliances, and a Jenn-Air stove with convection oven.

Both bedrooms have hardwood floors, luxury linens and TV’s .The Master bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in closet and a Master bath with Jacuzzi tub and separate tiled shower.

The second bedroom features two twin beds and nightstand that were purchased from a cottage in Michigan that was the vacation home of the Western actor Allen Lane. He was the star of the Red Ryder movies in 1946 -1947 and was the voice of Mister Ed the Talking Horse from the 1960’s TV program.

The house is easily accessible with only 3 steps and the main bath has grab bars for stability and comfort height commodes.

If you like to walk, the beach is two blocks away with a fishing pier and sandy beaches. The West Side Park is ½ block, with walking paths, playground equipment and a splash pad for children. The Island View Casino is just 3 blocks away. The community center across the street has an exercise room that is open to the public daily at no charge.

The coast has many Championship Golf courses, 11 Casino’s, Charter boats, Schooner sailings, Take a Ship Island Excursion boat to spend the day on the white sandy beaches and enjoy the crystal clear waters of the barrier Island. If you enjoy dining out, downtown Gulfport has great dining and Oyster Bars.

Children will enjoy the Lynn Meadows Discovery Center, Gulf Islands Water Park, The Shrimping boat excursions, where most days the Dolphins swim along the side of the boat, and the park with the splash pad to cool off on hot summer days.

Take a day trip and enjoy the sights of New Orleans just 80 miles away or just relax and enjoy the deck with a good book or BBQ on the gas grill, whatever you decide to do you’ll love the Gulfport area.

If your family is large or you’re vacationing with friends the Whispering Sands cottage is just one house away and sleeps 8.

Keywords: Cottage, Vacation home, Walk to beach and Park, Pet friendly, Weekly furnished rental, Monthly rental, Snowbirds welcomed, Near Seabee base, Golf courses, Casinos, Cruising the Coast

More Details
Hide Details

We are from Michigan and have been coming to the Mississippi Gulf Coast for Vacations for over 30 years. We consider this area one of the best kept secrets in the United States. The weather in the winter is very much like our Michigan summers. Our orginal home in Gulfport we bought in 1999 and after Hurricane Katrina we purchased this home to renovate and live in while working on our original home. We kept this cottage for our friends and family to stay in when they came to visit during the winter months. The area is very quiet as very few houses have been rebuilt since Katrina. If you are traveling with pets, children or just want to relax the area is wonderful.

Nancy Mustaikis purchased this cottage in 2006

We grew up along the shores of Lake Michigan and wanted to be near the water. The Mississippi Gulf Coast has 25 miles of sandy beaches. The area feels like a small town but has all the amenities of the city within 15 miles. I love to grow flowers and my husband likes to drag race and we can do both all winter in Gulfport. Most important is there is no snow to shovel in the Winter.

We are concert lovers and car show people and there are plenty of both here every weekend. If we want to go to New Orleans for the big Mardi Gras Parades or catch a cruise ship for a week we are only 80 miles away.

33 Reviews of Property 399668 in Gulfport, Mississippi

Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
5

Great!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house is really nice. We enjoyed our stay. It is very clean and stocked with all the items you will need. We loved the extra touch of Christmas decorations. Don't hesitate to book this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
Merrill
5

Sandcastle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We enjoyed our stay, except for the weather. The location is perfect, the house was very homey & comfortable!!! We would recommend this to anyone - we plan to return to the area & stay at the same place. The master shower could be a little more powerful & the main shower could be a little lighter - but everything else was WONDERFUL!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
5

cruisin the coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
a very nice stay clean comfortable, I would recommend this to all my friends. the owners were great very nice to talk to
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
Westwego, LA
5

QUIET AND CHARMING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The home was just as pretty in person as it was in the pictures. It was exceptionally clean and well stocked with most anything that you might need except for groceries.

The neighborhood was quiet and we felt safe. The beach was 3-4 blocks away and the view of the beach was mainly obscured. Otherwise, the unit was just as described
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
jackson missouri
5

great getaway cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
wonderful cottage, just as described too. just the right size and located close to beach. I recommend this cottage
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
St. Rose, Louisiana
5

Nice Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very nice and comfortable. We felt right at home and the kids really enjoyed the splash park down the street. The beach was just a hop away. :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
seminole ok
4

softball mom

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Nice place. Had some bumps at first but it worked out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
United States
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home was absolutely perfect. I usually travel for business and my main priority is clean, followed by comfortable. This home scored an A+ on both of those. The location was great; walking distance to the beach and casino and just a few blocks from all the great restaurants downtown. The house had a ton of nice features like top notch appliances, plenty of linens, cooking utensils, DVDs and games. You could never leave the house and have a great time. We enjoyed the hot tub and grill as there are a number of fresh seafood markets in the area. I only had one very minor issue that might be an issue for a few. For some reason, while perfect during the day, the internet gets flakey after about 11 p.m. Unless you need it for work, turn off your computer and enjoy the vacation. If you do need it, stay here and just plan accordingly or go to one of the many nearby restaurants that have free wi-fi. Oh, and the owner was very accessible helping with the issue.

Like all the reviews before me, you shouldn't have any reservations about staying here. It was a big part of an wonderful vacation. We're already planning our next trip to Sandcastle Cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
Marthas Vineyard
4

charming and new

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This small but cozy has all the modern conveniences throughout. The living room furniture was very comfy to lounge on. And It was a mere 5 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to the Island View casino. We spent much of the time, sitting on the back deck, enjoying coffee or cocktails, watching the many birds feed upon the yard. I set up my chair so that I had an ocean view the whole time. Do bring your own source of music device for your listening desires. Its a quiet neighborhood and we felt very safe.The only thing that was bothersome to me was the very bright street lite that shines directly upon the backyard and jicuzzi all nite. It provides a safety feature but also takes away from the privacy of the backyard. It would have been nice to have been able to sit outside at nite with a candle or two without a major spot light shinning upon us. It was very clean and I would recommend this place for a couple or a small family of four.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review I'm sorry the city street light in the ally behind the house bothered you but we have no control over it, it is a Mississippi Power controlled light for neighborhood security. Thank you for the suggestion of a radio for the deck I will have my maintenance man leave one in the cottage.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandcastle Cottage - Hot Tub- Gulf View - Pets Stay Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399668vb
231-690-5918
Gulfport Mississippi
marietta, georgia, usa
4

Nice option to a hotel room

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really good experience---the house was nice and cool and the hot tub was fun, although not as private as it could be. Very nice kitchen and only a short walk to the beach---we had no problems at all, except for not being able to figure out the DVD player, not really a big deal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, I'm sorry the DVD player didn't work, if you had called I would have had my maintenance man replace it for you. The Hot Tub was a new add on this year to see if our guests would enjoy it. If you have any Ideas how to make it more private as there are no close neighbors I would welcome your suggestions.
Helpful votes: 1/1