Waikoloa Beach Resort townhome rental - Sunset on the Kohala Coast
Sunset on the Kohala Coast
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Waikoloa Beach Resort Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Our villa was newly refurnished last year, in a casual tropical island theme. It is ideally located, just steps away from the pool, tennis courts and spa. Our Hawaiian style townhouse is an end unit with windows on all four sides, airy 17-ft living room ceiling and no one above or below. Privacy is ensured with a bedroom and a bath on each level. We furnish wireless Internet, 3 flat screen TVs, and a DVD Player. We even have a surround sound system with an IPod dock. Grill fresh fish and enjoy fruit and vegetables from Kona's Farmers' Market in our well-equipped kitchen. Or if your idea of vacation cooking is simply brewing a cup of famous Kona coffee, then many world-class local restaurants await you.

Waikoloa Beach Colony Villas is a private, gated complex in the exclusive Waikoloa Beach Resort. It is on Hawaii's Kohala Coast with the Big Island's best beaches and weather. TripAdvisor has given Waikoloa Beach Colony Villas it's 2012 Certificate of Excellence Award. Waikoloa Beach Colony Villas is set among 22 acres of tropical landscaping and palm trees, and is right next to the 10th fairway of the Waikoloa Beach Golf Course. Our guests receive preferred discount rates at both Waikoloa Beach Golf Courses. You can also play tennis, work out in the air-conditioned fitness center, or relax at the tropical pools. One of the two pools features a unique lava rock waterfall and spa, the other pool has an 18' deep children's area.

Waikoloa Beach Resort is a destination resort centrally located on the Kohala Coast, 18 miles from the Kona Airport. It is designed around beautiful, palm-studded A Bay, two terrific golf courses, the Kings’ Shops & Queens’ Marketplace with many restaurants including Roys, Merrimans, a food court, shops, and two gourmet grocery stores.

At Waikoloa Beach Resort, the crescent-shaped A Bay offers a pristine sandy beach with sports activities and rentals, shoreline paths, a giant turtle refuge and ancient royal fishponds, all just 5 minutes away. Nearby at the Waikoloa Hilton, you can enjoy several world class restaurants, or at the world-famous DolphinQuest you can swim with friendly dolphins.

Next to the Kings' Shops, explore Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve with fascinating free tours. Hike or ride a horse to breathtaking hidden waterfalls or fly over the waterfalls and volcanoes by helicopter. Snorkel, swim, sport fish, or go on a day trip to see the volcano, lava caves, or the world's only zoo in a tropical rain forest. Or just relax on palm-fringed beaches or your own lanai.

You will create memories to last a lifetime in this tropical paradise.

Please be sure to check out our other VRBO listings at the WAIKOLOA BEACH VILLAS, VRBO Listing #349642, and our listing at WAIKOLOA BEACH COLONY VILLAS, VRBO #417099.

Keywords: Waikoloa Beach Resort, Resort Rental, Big Island, Condominium, Colony Villa, Golf Hawaii, vacation rental, condo, villa, Townhouse, resort,

More Details
Hide Details

We live in California, but love to travel to the Big Island several times a year, and love having our villa, as our home-away-from-home. We enjoy the variety of beaches on the Big Island and cannot get enough of exploring new places and hidden beaches. We love to cook, so you'll find everything you need to prepare gourmet meals. Our villa has boogie boards, snorkels & beach gear, tennis rackets, movies, and games. We'd love to have you as our guests.

Jim Freitas purchased this townhome in 2010

We chose Waikoloa Colony Villas for its superior spaciousness, architectural design, and landscaping. Waikoloa Beach Resort has a central location, with the best beaches and weather on the island. We love the natural beauty and incredible weather.

With two pools, a tennis court, walking paths, exercise room, and meeting room, the Waikoloa Colony Villas is a wonderful complex for families, couples, singles, young and old. This newer complex is close to the Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace of the Waikoloa Resort. We also enjoy the close proximity to many of the best beaches in Hawaii.

24 Reviews of Property 334360 in Waikoloa Beach Resort, Hawaii

Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Tacoma Wa
5

Excellent vacation spot.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We spent three weeks in this villa and couldn't be happier with our visit. The unit was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. We found everything that was advertised in the listing was provided... and it was all in good working order. There were two pools in the complex; both beautiful and well cared for. There was lots of shopping and restaurants within hiking distance. (I suggest getting a rental car because there are so many places you may want to visit on the Big Island)

We spent many days at Hapuna beach. A world class family friendly beach just a short drive from Waikoloa Village. Good quality beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, snorkel gear etc. were provided with the villa. The owners do a good job of communicating. They provided maps and very clear instructions which really helped us get oriented. (even the light switches were clearly labeled)

If you're looking for a beautiful and peaceful vacation you can't go wrong staying at the Waikoloa Colony Villas... and I'd bet this is one of the best villas in the complex.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Dennis! We are so glad that you enjoyed our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. Give us a call when you plan your next Hawaiian getaway. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Tucson, Az
5

Always Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The perfect space for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the villa and its great location and proximity to everything. The space is clean, well-thought out and includes everything we needed. Love the location!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Kelly! We are so glad that you enjoyed our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. Give us a call when you plan your next Hawaiian getaway. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Redwood City, CA
5

Girls Trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We left the husbands in California and went to the Big Island to relax, relax, relax. This condo is an excellent value and I will not hesitate to recommend it to others. The entire complex is very well-kept. We spent several afternoons at the pool and it was never crowded. Dinner at sunset at Lava Lava Beach Club on A Bay was wonderful (a little pricey -- go there for happy hour instead). The Hilton (and dolphins!) are a short walk from the condo. The condo is well stocked with beach toys like boogie boards, snorkel gear and an ice chest on wheels.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Shirley! We are so glad that you and the girls enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. Give us a call when you plan your next getaway. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Boise, Idaho
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
First off, my wife 2 kids and I were in a bind. Booked a B&B that was terrible and had to get out ASAP. Jim came to the rescue. With one call he arranged for us to stay in this fantastic condo on a last minute notice.

The condo is great, well appointed, and in perfect condition. There is plenty to do in the area. We went to the Hilton (within walking distance) just to view the beauty of the Hotel and see the dauphins. Lots of local beaches, a free hula show at a local mall, and the condo's pool and hot tub was a total bonus for just relaxing and enjoying our evening cocktails. I played the Kings golf course and noticed I was adjacent to the condo on one of the holes. Popped in real quick to grab a few refreshments and off again on my way.

Totally recommend staying here. I would again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Gary! We are so glad we were able to help you and your family enjoy your Hawaiian Vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
5

Exceeded Our Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just returned from a 9 night stay at this amazing villa. The pictures and descriptions don't do it justice. In addition to the plentiful amenities, the owner, provided us with a wealth of information before arrival. It was such an easy and smooth arrival. My husband and I love to cook ad the kitchen had all the necessary pots, pans, utensils, etc we needed. The villa was perfect for our family. The location to the pool was fantastic for our 10 and 13 year olds. We put the snorkel gear, boogie boards, and beach chairs to use as well. There was nothing we needed. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Tracy! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Awesome experience and beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I had such a wonderful time during our stay. The listing was exactly as described, if not better. The house was fully equipped with everything we needed, as well as additional items such as grilling materials, boogie boards, beach umbrellas, coolers, tennis rackets, etc. This villa was very clean and well-maintained with all modern appliances. The owner was extremely helpful in answering our questions and providing detailed descriptions and recommendations for our stay. They were also very accommodating and friendly to work with.

Just steps away from an amazing, secluded pool, we spend a few of our days simply relaxing near the villa. We also ventured to Hapuna Beach just up the road, the Volcano National Park across the island, to the Marriot's "A-bay" for kayaking and enjoying the sunset, and down the road to The Hilton for some shopping and sightseeing. One of our highlights was going to the Gathering of the Kings Luau at Mauna Lani, just a few miles north. We learned to hula, had an excellent buffet-style dinner, and enjoyed the luau story. There is so much to do and see!

This villa was perfectly located and we could not have asked for a better experience. We would highly recommend this property and hope to go visit again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Pam! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your Hawaiian Vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Alberta
5

Perfect: best of the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Everything was perfect. The villa itself was super quiet, yet swimming pool and tennis court just around the corner. For this reason alone our teenage boys (13 and 15) liked this place the best, compared to condo's we had before on Maui and Kauai. We all loved the space to spread out and it was the first rental in Hawaii where we did not find little critters in the house: super clean. We shopped at Costco but also made quite a few trips to Island Gourmet Market which was so close and in our opinion not expensive at all compared to prices we found in other locations. We visited Volcano and stayed there 1 night, could have easily spent 2 or more though, there was much to see and the hiking was awesome. The boys spent a morning zip lining, and I (mom) loved to explore Hawi at my own leisure without teenagers in tow. We hiked the trail down to the black beach at the Pololu Valley and drove back through Waimea: beautiful, beautiful drive. We visited Waikoloa, so glad we did not stay there, it felt dreary in the middle of nowhere. At Two Step we swam with turtles and had supper after at Bubba Gump: awesome view sitting outside and watch the boarders brave the very high waves. We have been to A-bay the first day which was nice and close by, but once we had been to Hapuna Beach we were spoiled and did not feel the need to see any other beaches. It was love at first sight: We have seen beautiful beaches on Kauai and Maui previous years, but Hapuna has it all. Great facilities, plenty of parking space, clean sand, warm water, gorgeous weather and fortunately safe swimming during our stay. The icing on the cake was the group of whales playing offshore! The last couple of days of our stay (14 in total) we spent at Hapuna, happily returned to the condo where the boys went straight for the pool while we stayed 'home' and relaxed some more. One morning we also walked the grounds of the Hilton: very happy to return to this villa away from the madness. Jim was very easy to work with and we will recommend this villa to anyone who is looking for a great base to explore the island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Riny! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
United States
5

Outstanding Big Island Villa - Great hub for your vacation activities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
One week is not nearly enough time to see the Big Island; however, this outstanding villa is a great place to act as a hub for your Big Island vacation. This villa is described perfectly in the VRBO listing. It was super clean, in great shape, and had everything we needed. Even the wi-fi Internet access worked the first time. The owners are great, and we highly recommend this villa! Though we did much more than what we wrote below, we wanted to share a few particular tips.

The villa is 30 minutes north of the Kona airport. The nearest gas station (to the Kona airport) is actually SOUTH of the airport. Remember that when you return your rental car (i.e., leave time to go back towards Kona about 7 miles to fill it up). By the way, a rental car is essential, and a 4-wheel-drive is not an unreasonable luxury. Access to a few historical sites and off-the-beaten-path beaches would be a real challenge in a sedan.

Here's a tip if you plan on cooking in your villa instead of eating out the whole time. Even though you likely will be tired when you arrive, make a grocery list and try and stay awake long enough to shop at Costco (if you are a Costco member) or Walmart right after you leave the airport. Both of these stores are SOUTH of the airport; the Costco is about 5 miles south of the airport and the Walmart is about 9 miles south. Though there is a grocery store in the Waikoloa Beach Resort (called the Island Gourmet Market in the Queens' Marketplace), I suspect that even locals laugh at how ridiculous the grocery prices are there. Expect to pay 20-30% more than mainland prices for groceries at the Costco or the Walmart, as opposed to about 300% more at the Island Gourmet Market. I will say this about the Island Gourmet Market-they have high quality groceries, and if you need some mayo and forgot to pick it up when you arrived, the $4.00 for the tiny bottle of mayo is a lot cheaper than wasting your time and expensive gasoline driving back into town for it.

We relaxed at two nearby beaches. The one nearest the resort is called A Bay and has coarse white sand and palm trees. The next closest beach is Hapuna-about 9 miles north of the villa. It has fine white sand and sun, a little more surf, and plenty of covered places for picnics.

We spent a long day at Volcanoes Nat. Park, about 3 hours south of the villa. On the way, we visited the Punaluu black sand beach. Wish we spent more time at the Park, though. Leave before dawn, and plan to return well after dark.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Steven & Kristina! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
Monroe, wa
5

Christmas in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place was beautiful! We had such a great time and Jim was great to work with. The condo had everything we needed. From all the beach gear, to tennis rackets, to laundry supplies. I would definetly reccommend this place to all my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kristie. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your Christmas vacation in Hawaii at our Villa. Come back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Luxury Villa *** Starting at $99/Night ***
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334360vb
(650) 224-4076 (California)
Waikoloa Beach Resort Kohala Coast
5

Beautiful, clean and well located!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed at this condo for 10 days and we thought is was the best, the location is great if you want to visit the Big Island, or if you want to stay in the resort and chill at the beach or the pool. We had everything we needed, from beach towels and boogie boards, to spices and a BBQ! We were only 2 but we could easily have been many more, like 4 (or 6 if some are willing to camp in the living room!!) since there are 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. The place is well isolated if you want privacy and very close to the pool and tennis court. This condo is clean and very well kept, from the linen to the cupboards.

This was, without a doubt, our best holiday ever! We felt at home the very minute we stepped in and we will definitely come back!

Jozie
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jozie! We are glad you enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation and our Waikoloa Beach Colony Villa. Thanks too for taking such great care of our place. You are welcome back anytime. Aloha, Jim & Leslie
Helpful votes: 4/4