Carlsbad house rental - A portion of the downstairs patio w/BBQ & seating for 12!
A portion of the downstairs patio w/BBQ & seating for 12!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Carlsbad House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

From both decks or the master suite you will be mezmerized by the ocean views, of Catalina, San Clemente & Coronado Islands, both in the morning dawn with deep blue hues & evening sunset with a colorful aray of purples, pinks and oranges. The house is very warm feeling visually, has a constant ocean breeze with window adjustment or can be warm with the sunshine, or Heat/AC so always comfortable. The house is not pretencious, but nicely decorated. The master is one large space with the dressing room together & open, with the bathroom tub/shower private. The upstairs has a nice size bathroom with 2 sinks and tub/shower, the south bedroom is very large, with a king size bed and has the most fabulous view of the ocean with french door onto the 400 sf redwood deck 'for breakfast anyone'? The north bedroom is also looking onto the ocean view, and has a queen size bed. Then you have what we call the 'long & cozy room', with another queen bed& a pull out queen bed. In between upstairs is a 'retreat' family area for kids to 'do their own thing' or 'play some chess or work a puzzle anyone'?

Keywords: Great for family, couples or small group get togethers & kids love it! (Big & Small) Lots of games, Wii, Xbox360, Game table & More! Sleeping for 8 adults 4 children & all four Bdrms have TV's, plus a retreat loft area with comfy down sofa, 2.5 bath, garage with ping pong table & dart board, (or can park in Garage too), plus 2 car driveway parking & ample street prkg, downstairs full kitchen w/ dinette for 4, plus dinning room seating for 6, (as well as 18 outside!), w/52' HDTV in living room, fireplace, and travertine throughout, master is downstairs, upstairs w/3bdrms & retreat onto 400 st deck above back patio all w/views, & 2 sink bathroom w/tub shower for a total of 2160 sq ft living space. The downstairs patio 'resort style' has tiled seating for 8 surrounding the gas BBQ, another granite patio set for 6, and lounge sofa & chairs, fire pit area, (so seating for 14 or more!), plus the jacuzzi! You will enjoy, have fun & relax with the extraordinary newly landscape

More Details
Hide Details

We are Susan & Gary and live just a few miles away, as having two houses and wanting to combine, left this one for you! I am in a family owed commercial landscaping business, and Gary is a Pharmacist. We enjoy entertaining, and traveling, and love where we live! Hope you decide to come and visit!

Susan Daugherty purchased this house in 2007

The house has a very warm and comforting feel, and the back patio fills you with a feeling of 'awe', with the wide open view to the ocean and pine trees close by to give that truly outdoors feel. When I was planning how to encompass this feel, we decided we needed all the fun amenities, so as the jacuzzi, built in BBQ with seating all around, fountain for ambiance and a firepit to cozy up to, and a 400 sf redwood deck above for another even better view! The area is easily accessed just up Alga Rd from the 200 year old road trailed by the Padres called El Camino Real, that now has everything you need, shopping, resturants, golf, then the beaches another mile to the west!! It's fabulous!

When I am at this home, it feels like being on vacation! Everyone who comes in, says the same thing, or just, wow, I Love your house!

42 Reviews of Property 351542 in Carlsbad, California

Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
average rating of 4.952381 based on 42 reviews
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Windom, Minnesota, USA
5

Wonderful Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our one week golf vacation to Carlsbad was enhanced with our stay at this very nice home. We enjoyed the room,patio, HOT TUB, location and all. Thanks Susan for making the "Fab Fores" vacation week special. We would certainly recommend the home for families, friends and golfers.
Owner's Response: Thanks guys! I really appreciate your quick review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house, as well as your "Fab Fores" golfing vacation here to San Diego! It was a Fab February as well here for you all from Minnesota!

Thanks again for choosing our home and hope you can make it back next year!

:) Susan
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Riverside, CA92507
5

Incredible place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We chose this place to stay for our annual church office getaway. The pictures do not do it justice. This was a beautiful place with a beautiful view.

Nine of us stayed here, which included a newborn, all the way to elderly people. All the amenities were excellent (decent kitchen, whirlpool, etc.). We would recommend this place to stay for large groups.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
5

Even better than home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The home is very beautiful and the owner made it a special stay for us. My Family (wife, son, daughter-in-law, two grandchildren (6 & 4) and mother-in-law) had plenty of space to have the privacy we like and the communal living we enjoy as well. We arrived to find fruit and a vegetable tray to start our stay. The hot tub was immaculate, ping pong table had plenty of balls and paddles, fuse ball table grabbed the kids and the male adults attention. The instructions were extremely well documented and helpful. I'd return to this home if the occasion presented itself.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, two young children and my sister & fiance just stayed here and it was awesome! More than enough space for 4 adults and two kids. The house is spacious and in a nice neighborhood that is close to everything, but we really didn't even have to leave. The outdoor patio with jacuzzi and bbq has the most gorgeous sunset views overlooking the ocean. The house has everything you need - we didn't worry about eating out at all (not something that's easy to do with little ones). Susan is very helpful and friendly and provides all the instructions from how to work the TVs to specific directions to parks, Legoland, SeaWorld, etc...(something we didn't take advantage of this trip, but next time!) BONUS - the game room in the garage! Kids LOVED it! Awesome family friendly, spacious, ocean view home - you can't go wrong. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay and yes, we would love to have you back again soon!
:) Susan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Minnesota
5

MILITARY RETIREMENT GUESTS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I rented the house for my family (9 total staying at the home) and they loved it. The patio area was the main attraction. The house was plenty big so they weren't all over each other and they had nothing but great things to say about the home. Future visits to southern California will be spent here provided the house is available. The price was outstanding compared to other rentals in the area, the owners are awesome, and they actually care about the occupants having a good vacation instead of making a quick buck. Susan, the home is awesome and that patio is beautiful, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
LAS VEGAS
5

30th Bday Get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
THE BEST RENTAL PROPERTY EVERY!! SUSAN WAS THE GREATEST!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE PERFECT HOUSE!! I CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great! I am so happy you liked the house! Thank you for the nice guest book note, it sounded like you had a really nice time and 30th birthday celebration! And yes, come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Riverside, CA92507
5

Administrator

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It's so wonderful house that cover everying.SPA,BBQ,Ping Pong table,nice kitchen---etc.I strongly recommend for experiencing by yourself. We will be come back. Thanks Susan!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank You & Yes, I hope you will come back soon! Susan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Arizona
5

This house is just as described

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family stayed here for a month this summer. All of our kids and grandkids were able to come visit and they all enjoyed themselves immensely. There was something for everyone to do right in the house (and garage). We also had a small mini-reunion (Carlsbad High School, Class of 1962). There were close to twenty guests for dinner in the patio.----PERFECT !!

The weather cooperated and every meal was eaten on the beautiful patio with a fantastic view of the ocean.

We plan to do it again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Kent, Ohio USA
5

Wonderful time in Carlsbad !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This property exceeded our expectations and allowed our family to relax & celebrate our son's DPT graduation ! The house was clean, comfortable and provided all the tools necessary for cooking & entertaining. Our favorite area to gather was the outdoor fire pit ! We also greatly enjoyed the BBQ, hot tub & spectacular views at sunset! No regrets, no complaints, only THANK YOU'S ! :0)
Owner's Response: Thank You John for the very nice review! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the house while here in San Diego for you son's graduation. We hope you will come back again sometime! :) Susan
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Feels Like a Resort W/Awesome Ocean Views & Sunsets!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351542vb
+1 7607163057
Carlsbad San Diego County
Kent, Ohio USA
5

Wonderful time in Carlsbad !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This property exceeded our expectations and allowed our family to relax & celebrate our son's DPT graduation ! The house was clean, comfortable and provided all the tools necessary for cooking & entertaining. Our favorite area to gather was the outdoor fire pit ! We also greatly enjoyed the BBQ, hot tub & spectacular views at sunset! No regrets, no complaints, only THANK YOU'S ! :0)