Capitol Hill apartment rental - Living Area Open Kitchen
Living Area Open Kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Capitol Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

This spacious and bright basement apartment is located in a historic Capitol Hill neighborhood just 6 blocks east of the U.S. Capitol. It's within short walking distance to the Capitol, House and Senate office buildings, Union Station and Eastern Market Metro, Museums, Shakespeare Theater, Restaurants, and Eastern Market, a local historic landmark. Perfect for vacation or business travel.

This is a fully furnished one bedroom, one bathroom apartment with extra sleeping area in the living room (queen size sleeper sofa). It has a complete kitchen (dishwasher, electric range, full size refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, utensils), bedroom (queen size bed, dresser, nightstand, linens), bathroom (towels, washcloths, blow dryer) and stackable washer/dryer in unit. Other amenities include Wireless Internet, 37' Flat Screen TV, and DirectTV Satellite (no telecom).

This is a non smoking apartment and no pets are allowed.

21 Reviews of Property 399152 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Would definitely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Terrific location! In the heart of lovely Capital Hill neighbourhood which provided a welcome sea of calm from the mall. Walking distance to mall, museums and monuments, as well Union Station and Eastern Market metro station. Only a few blocks to Eastern Market with several restaurants and coffee shops in the neighbourhood that are very good. We felt safe and comfortable in the apartment. Sandy and Joe were helpful, greeted us upon arrival, offered some local information. No need for a car when staying here. Plenty of room for our family of three. All emails were answered promptly. Our deposit was refunded within a couple of days of our departure. Would definitely stay here again.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Location-Location -Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a fantastic location, quiet, nice, safe neighborhood. All the accommodations you would need to make you feel like your at home. The Eastern Market subway station is just a few blocks away with a couple of coffee shops on the way Don't miss a chance to have pancakes at the cafe in Eastern Market. Just wake up, out the door, stop for a coffee, hit the subway and you were on your way to siteseeing. I took my 7 year old for 8 days and we saw everything in DC, including renting a car from the airport for a day and heading out to the Dulles Air/Space museum - a must see if you ask me. Thanks Sandy! for a enjoyable visit to DC.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Buffalo, NY
5

Great location, great apartment, great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The owners were there to greet us when we arrived. It was Inauguration weekend and were kind enough to "hold" a parking spot for us right in front of the apartment (free on street parking due to the weekend and then MLK, Jr. Day). They showed us around the apartment and recommended some local places for dinner. They were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Our security deposit was refunded within a few days of our departure.

We would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Convenient location and comfortable accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family (with 2 small boys) stayed for 4 nights in July. The location is great - it's a charming neighbourhood close to the Capital and is an easy and pleasant walk to the Eastern Market with all its great shops and restaurants. Sandy & Joe are lovely hosts (friendly and informative). They went out of their way to arrange a baby cot for our stay, which was great. The apartment is very clean and very comfortable. We were sorry to leave and I happily recommend this accommodation to others.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Perfect Capitol Hill Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This perfect Capitol Hill location was exactly as advertised. The apartment was modern, spotlessly clean, well maintained and had every amenity needed for our 11 night stay in DC.
The location was such a short walk to the Capitol building and Sandy and Joe provided excellent maps and information needed to explore the area. Sandy and Joe were very friendly hosts and willing to offer advise without being intrusive. Sandy lent us a pie dish to make an apple pie with our freshly picked apples from a journey to the countryside of Maryland.
We had bikes for the duration of our stay.This is an excellent way to travel in DC and were able to lock these safely under the stairwell at our front entrance.
I would thoroughly recommend this property and it's location in DC as the area has so much to offer-not only being close to museums, memorials etc but in a beautiful residential area with other attractions such as restaurants and the close by Eastern Market.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Great apartment, great stay DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband, adult daughter and I have just returned from a fantastic five night stay at Sandy and Joe's apartment. The apartment was exactly as shown in the photos, spotlessly clean and an ideal base for our sightseeing visit to DC. Sandy and Joe's added touches of bottled water in the fridge, tea/coffee, milk and sugar to start us off were much appreciated as were the maps, tour ideas, restaurant locations etc.

The apartment was a short distance from Union Station and Eastern Market Metro and was within walking distance of many of Washington's landmarks. The local restaurants gave us plenty of choice for dining each evening, as every taste was catered for, and local corner stores provided all we needed for breakfast.

Sandy and Joe's attention to detail, easy, secure booking system and prompt deposit return were excellent. They were most helpful and always available for advice but never intrusive. We would recommend without hesitation a stay in Sandy and Joe's apartment and we would love to stay there again should we return to Washington DC.

Margot, Ireland
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Bangladesh
5

Wonderful Stay in DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I rented the apartment for myself and my father on his first visit to DC. The apartment was excellent. The location was perfect for sightseeing, starting with the capitol building just 6 blocks away. Joe and Sandy were excellent hosts and the apartment was well organized. There is absolutely no reason to stay in a hotel when you can have a splendid experience in an apartment like this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Montesano, Washington
5

Wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Everything about our stay here was perfect. The owners greeted us when we arrived, giving us "the lay of the land" and showing us around the apartment. It is located about 5 1/2 blocks from the Eastern Market Metro Station, 6 blocks to the Supreme Court, and 7-8 blocks from Union Station. There are oodles of restaurants within blocks of the Eastern Market Metro. As for the apartment, the pictures are very accurate. There are 4 barstools, good sized kitchen, washer/dryer, and we had no problems with the wifi. I stayed there with my dad, and I slept on the blow-up mattress in the living. Even it was comfortable!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Fallbrook, CA
5

My New Favorite DC Neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband, 24-yr old daughter, and I just spent a lovely 8 days in Sandy and Joe's basement apartment. All of the necessary conveniences for a week-long stay are there as stated and Joe and Sandy are very friendly and helpful. We had a suitcase that did not arrive for 4 days and Sandy just "happened" to have an extra toothbrush, phone charger, bandaids and antibiotic (all were much appreciated!). We had planned on eating breakfast in, but discovered Jimmy T's, just 2 blocks away. It is a true neighborhood cafe, affordable and simple food, where the locals eat. We ate there 6 times. There are small corner markets within 2 blocks for fruit, milk, etc. and Eastern Market (an indoor farmer's market) is about 6 blocks away. A great flea market is held here on the weekend and the closest Metro Station is here. Capitol Hill Books is here and is a must for bibliophiles like our family.
Walking in the other direction, the apartment is 4 blocks from the Folger theatre (we enjoyed 2 events here) and 5 blocks from the Capitol and the Library of Congress. From there, it's an easy walk to the Mall or to Capitol South metro to explore everything else DC has to offer. This is my 5th time to come to DC and the first time to not be in a hotel near the White House. I would definitely stay here again, in this beautiful historic neighborhood, at Joe and Sandy's
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Prime Historic Capitol Hill Location - Walk to the Capitol
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399152
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We couldn't have been more pleased with the apartment, located on the most wonderful street and so close to everything. We felt more like locals than visitors. We are a family of 4, and there was plenty of sleeping options so that our teenagers didn't have to share a bed. The apartment was quite roomy, clean and well stocked. For being a basement apartment, it's light and airy with large windows in the front.

The best part were the owners, our new friends Joe & Sandy, whom we spent some time with while picking their brains for insider information and a family style Italian restaurant. Our only regret is that we didn't all go to dinner together that night... next time!

We highly recommend this apartment and it's owners for your stay, perhaps you'll even run into Babs. LOL
Helpful votes: 2/2